Databases
Below is a selection of databases that cover topics within the Environmental Engineering field of study.
All except the Pacific Environment Data Portal are indexed by Library Search, our discovery tool.
So for a broader search result you can do a keyword search in Library Search and then filter your results.
Or check out the individual databases listed below.
- JoVE Journal: Environment This link opens in a new window
JoVE publishes peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical and physical research. JoVE Environment includes methods and techniques for studying the Earths ecosystems, addressing environmental concerns, and protecting natural resources.
- Pacific Environment Data Portal This link opens in a new window
Over 18,000 geographic, spatial and environmental datasets of the Pacific region, with access to national environment datasets and environment policies of 17 Pacific countries.
- ProQuest Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Science, Sports Medicine & Education Index, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Science & Technology, ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology and ProQuest Telecommunications. These databases provide access to content ranging from health and physical education, sports medicine, dance and physical therapy as well as vocational information focused on science and technology.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 3500 journals primarily in the Sciences, but also including Business, Education, Linguistics, Management, Sociology, etc.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Link is a platform for books, journals, and reference works published by Springer, a major publisher of scientific, technological and medical books and journals. Also includes materials in business & management, economics, mathematics, education, law, humanities and social sciences.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library is an extensive multidisciplinary resource that provides access to a vast collection of high-quality academic content. This database offers a wide range of scholarly materials, including journals, books, reference works, and other resources across various disciplines.
Journals
Check out these journals below and more by doing a Journal Search using keywords for example: environmental engineering
- Building and EnvironmentCovers building science, urban physics, and human interaction with the indoor and outdoor built environment. Technologies, especially smart technologies and integrated systems for high performance buildings and cities:
- Environmental Engineering ScienceExploring innovative solutions to problems in air, water, and land contamination and waste disposal, with coverage of climate change, environmental risk assessment and management, green technologies, sustainability, and environmental policy.
- Environmental Science Water Research and TechnologyProvides a comprehensive and relevant forum that unites the diverse communities and disciplines conducting water research relevant to engineered systems and the built environment. This includes fundamental science geared toward understanding physical, chemical, and biological phenomena in these systems as well as applied research focused on the development and optimisation of engineered treatment, management, and supply strategies.
- Journal of Environment Health Science and EngineeringIncluding Water pollution and treatment, Wastewater treatment and reuse, Air control, Soil remediation, Noise and radiation control, Environmental biotechnology and nanotechnology.
- Journal of Environmental EngineeringPresents broad interdisciplinary information on the practice and status of research in environmental engineering science, systems engineering, and sanitation.
- Journal of Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental EngineeringCovers topics such as foundations, retaining structures, soil dynamics, engineering behavior of soil and rock, site characterization, slope stability, dams, rock engineering, earthquake engineering, environmental geotechnics, geosynthetics, computer modeling, groundwater monitoring and restoration, and coastal and geotechnical ocean engineering.
- Water ResearchOriginal research papers on all aspects of the science and technology of the anthropogenic water cycle, water quality, and its management worldwide.
Books
Advances in Environmental Engineering. 2018 by The book presents research papers addressing a wide range of environmental topics: water and wastewater treatment and management, soil degradation and conservation, sediment pollution control, environmental impacts of technologies, life cycle analysis (LCA), air quality and indoor environment, and advanced environmental materials.
Dictionary of Environmental Engineering and Wastewater Treatment. 2016 by This comprehensive dictionary covers wastewater processes, pollution control, and every major area of environmental engineering used in industry. The several thousand key technical terms are written in easy-to-understand, practical language.
Environmental Engineering Dictionary of Technical Terms and Phrases. 2016 by This reference manual provides a list of approximately 300 technical terms and phrases common to environmental and civil engineering which non-English speakers often find difficult to understand in English. The objective is to provide a technical term reference manual for non-English speaking students and engineers who are familiar with Mandarin, but uncomfortable with English and to provide a similar reference for English speaking students and engineers working in an area of the world where the Mandarin language predominates.
Introduction to Environmental Engineering. 3rd ed., 2010 by A balanced treatment of environmental engineering by combining engineering concepts with the importance of environmental ethics. The authors challenge students with problems that require not only a technical solution but a thorough consideration of its ethical ramifications. The text also provides comprehensive exposure to all types of environmental problems, including ecosystem dynamics, wastewater treatment, and air pollution control.
Technical Writing for Environmental Engineers. 2018 by A guide and tool for engineers navigating formal and informal writing in the workplace. Topics include the most common types of technical documents, the fundamentals of professional writing, the use of references and citations, and how and why engineers and other professionals should always proofread their work.
Websites
- EPA: Environmental Protection AgencyOne of the world’s leading environmental and human health research organizations. Establised in 1970 in the U.S. Includes historical images and up-to-date research.
- Infoshare (Statistics New Zealand) This link opens in a new window
Infoshare provides access to a wide range of time series data. This web-based tool can be used to access, view and download the most up-to-date information from the largest database of New Zealand official statistics, and select data specific to your interests.
- Ministry for the Environment Manatū Mō Te TaiaoThe official website for environmental issues in New Zealand. Search within the website to find reports..
Includes links to relevant Acts and Regulations.