Using this Subject Guide
This subject guide for Civil Engineering brings together a range of resources including databases, books, journals and websites.
The books and journals are an example of what can be found via Library Search or by searching the indiviual databases.
The websites are also a small example of evaluated websites but obviously not a full range of what is available to you via the internet.
Please apply a basic evaluation criteria to material you find on the web keeping in mind the Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose of the information you find.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing full-text access to peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, books and other publications.
- ASCE Library Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineering (ASCE).
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides bibliographic and full-text content for all business disciplines. It includes thousands of peer-reviewed journals, ebooks and other full-text material such as market research reports and detailed company profiles.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) collection of journals, magazines, and conference proceedings, plus all active and historical IEEE standards.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library Journals This link opens in a new window
Browse IEEE journals and magazines.
- Mary Ann Liebert Journals This link opens in a new window
More than 90 peer-reviewed journals in the areas of biomedical research, biotechnology and regenerative medicine, medicine and surgery, public health research and policy, technology and engineering, environmental research and policy, and law.
- Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) This link opens in a new window
The US Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) website serves as a comprehensive repository of scientific and technical knowledge. Access research findings, reports, data, and other resources spanning various fields of science, technology, and engineering.
- ProQuest Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Science, Sports Medicine & Education Index, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Science & Technology, ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology and ProQuest Telecommunications. These databases provide access to content ranging from health and physical education, sports medicine, dance and physical therapy as well as vocational information focused on science and technology.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) publishes over 50 peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 3500 journals primarily in the Sciences, but also including Business, Education, Linguistics, Management, Sociology, etc.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library is an extensive multidisciplinary resource that provides access to a vast collection of high-quality academic content. This database offers a wide range of scholarly materials, including journals, books, reference works, and other resources across various disciplines.
Journals
Check out these journals below and more by doing a Journal Search using keywords Civil Engineering
- Advances in Civil EngineeringSubject areas include: Construction materials design and engineering- Highway and transport engineering- Bridge and tunnel engineering- Municipal and urban engineering- Coastal, harbour and offshore engineering-- Geotechnical and earthquake engineering-Engineering for water, waste, energy, and environmental applications - Health and safety in a civil engineering setting.
- AI in Civil EngineeringThe scope of the journal includes the basic research and engineering applications of advanced AI technologies.The AICE journal is dedicated to advance the frontiers of AI-enabled knowledge discovery and technology innovation in civil engineering.
- Australian Journal of Civil EngineeringAreas catered for in this journal include transportation; construction; water engineering; coastal and oceans; ports and harbours; geotechnical engineering; tunnelling; mining engineering; infrastructure and building; management and leadership; risk and reliability; planning and policy; heritage sustainability; and life cycle asset management.
- Civil Engineering Systems (Journal)Concerned with systems techniques and their underlying assumptions through the spectrum of civil engineering activity and environmental decision-making and management.
Books
A Dictionary of Construction, Surveying, and Civil Engineering. 2nd ed., 2020 by An authoritative resource for engineering students, construction professionals, and surveyors. It covers the key areas of civil and construction engineering, construction technology and practice, construction management techniques and processes, as well as legal aspects such as contracts and procurement.New additions include terms such as Air source heat pump, hydraulic failure, mechanical ventilation with heat recovery, off-site construction, predictive performance, sustainable development, and value engineering.
Engineering Your Future: an Australasian Guide. 4th ed., 2019 by Covers core subjects across all Engineering disciplines. Building on the previous editions, this text has been updated with new references, while still maintaining a strong and practical emphasis on skills that are essential for problem solving and design. Numerous topical and locally focused examples of projects across engineering disciplines help demonstrate the role and responsibilities of a professional engineer. Themes of sustainability, ethical practice and effective communication are a constant throughout the text.
Encyclopedias
The Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. 2001 by Edited by acclaimed science writer and physicist James Trefil, the Encyclopedia's 1000 entries combine in-depth coverage with a vivid graphic format to bring every facet of engineering, science, technology, into stunning focus. Easily search within the ebook.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. by E-book version updated quarterly each year.
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses.
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook in 4 volumnes. 4th ed., by Link is to volume 1 - check Library Search for the other volumes.
All ebooks
Websites
- ASCE: American Society of Civil EngineeringAmerica's oldest Civil Engineering organisation that represents more than 150,000 members in 177 countries.
Check out ASCE Journals underneath the Databases heading at the top of the page. - Institution of Civil EngineersThe Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) based in the UK is the oldest engineering body in the world. It's aim is to 'foster and promote the art and science of civil engineering'
Browse the Image Library of historic engineering photos, illustrations and drawings.
- TRID: Transportation Research Board of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to 1.4 million records of transportation research worldwide.