Skip to Main Content

APA Referencing Examples: Conference Papers

Conference paper presented at a conference

Format

Author, A. (Year, Month Date Range). Title of presentation in italic sentence case [Description]. Conference Name in Title Case, City, State, Country. URL or DOI (formatted as https://doi.org/10####)

Reference List

Bochner, S. (1996, November 25-29). Mentoring in higher education: Issues to be addressed in developing a mentoring program [Paper presentation]. Australian Association for Research in Education Conference, Singapore. http://www.aare.edu.au/96pap/bochs96018.txt

In-Text

... (Bochner, 1996).

OR

Bochner (1996) addressed this ...

Notes

  • Conference proceedings published in a journal or a book follow the same format as for a journal article, edited book or edited book chapter.
  • A capital letter is used for all keywords in the conference name.
  • Include a label in square brackets after the title that describes how the presentation was described at the conference e.g. [Conference session]. [Poster presentation].
  • The date should match the date of the full conference e.g. (2016, March 30-April 2).
  • Include the location of the conference in full, e.g. Australian Psychological Society Congress, Sydney, NSW, Australia. http://bit.ly/2XGSThP
  • If an online source has both a DOI number and a URL, only include the DOI.
  • Do not include URLs or database information from academic research databases like Ebook Central.

Conference Proceedings Published as a Whole Book

Format

Editor, A. (Eds.). (Year). Title of conference in italic sentence case (pp. x-xx). Publisher. URL or DOI (formatted as https://doi.org/10####)

Reference List

Published as a Whole Book

Moss, P. J., & Dhakal, R. P. (Eds.). (2020). Progress in Mechanics of Structures and Materials: Proceedings of the 19th Australasian Conference on the Mechanics of Structures and Materials (ACMSM19), Christchurch, New Zealand, 29 November - 1 December 2006. CRC Press.

In-Text

(Moss & Dhakal)

OR

Moss and Dhakal (2012) ...

Notes

  • Look at the Author Element section of the APA Formatting Guide to see how to reference multiple authors and some other variations.
  • Conference proceedings published in a journal or book follow the same format as for a journal article, edited book or edited book chapter.
  • If an online source has both a DOI number and a URL, only include the DOI.
  • Do not include URLs or database information from academic research databases like Ebook Central.

Conference paper as a chapter in an edited book

Format

Author, A. (Year). Title of conference paper. In E. Editor (Ed.), Title of conference and location in italic sentence case (pp. x-xx). Publisher. URL or DOI (formatted as https://doi.org/10####)

Reference List

Published as a Chapter in an edited Book

Wiersma, G., Glazier, R., Pan, D., & Spratt, S. (2015). Balancing bananas: Collection assessment of patron-driven acquisitions. In B.R. Bernhardt, L. H. Hinds, & K. P. Strauch (Eds.), Where do we go from here? Charleston conference proceedings, 2015 (pp. 493-497).  Purdue University Press.

In-Text

... (Wiersma et al., 2015).

OR

Wiersma et al. (2015) …

Notes

  • Look at the Author Element section of the APA Formatting Guide to see how to reference multiple authors and some other variations.
  • Conference proceedings published in a journal or book follow the same format as for a journal article, edited book or edited book chapter.
  • If an online source has both a DOI number and a URL, only include the DOI.
  • Do not include URLs or database information from academic research databases like Ebook Central.

Published as a Journal Article

Format

Author, A. (Year). Title of the proceeding in sentence case. Title of the Journal in Italic Title Case, Volume number in italics(Issue number), page range of article. URL or DOI (formatted as https://doi.org/10####)

Reference List

Published as a Journal Article

Webb, L., Dowthwaite, H., & Talmage, A. (2021). Proceedings of music therapy New Zealand symposium 2021: Collaboration. New Zealand Journal of Music Therapy, 19(19), 109–118.

In-Text

(Webb et al., 2021)

OR

Webb et al. (2021) ...

Notes

  • Look at the Author Element section of the APA Formatting Guide to see how to reference multiple authors and some other variations.
  • Conference proceedings published in a journal or book follow the same format as for a journal article, edited book or edited book chapter.
  • If an online source has both a DOI number and a URL, only include the DOI.
  • Do not include URLs or database information from academic research databases like Ebook Central.