What is a systematic review?
Systematic literature reviews use a structured, transparent, and replicable methodology to search for, select, and appraise all relevant research on a particular topic. This involves setting explicit inclusion and exclusion criteria, search strategies, and methods of synthesis before starting the review. Following this process helps to minimise bias and ensures the results are as reliable as possible.
"Systematic reviews seek to collate evidence that fits pre-specified eligibility criteria in order to answer a specific research question. They aim to minimize bias by using explicit, systematic methods documented in advance with a protocol."
(Cumpston et al., 2023, Key Points)
Systematic reviews have a history rooted in evidence-based medicine (EBM) and health research. Initially developed to inform best practices for health interventions, they have now evolved to play a crucial role across various research domains. Beyond their initial purpose, systematic reviews are increasingly utilised to inform policy decisions as well (EPPI Centre, n.d).
A key point to remember about systematic reviews is that they should be transparent and replicable.
| Useful for | Limitations |
|---|---|
|
|
How your librarians can help you
The Teaching and Learning Team offers research and referencing support to University of Waikato students and staff. However, our services are restricted to availability, capacity and the scope of our service parameters.
| We can help with: | You (along with your supervisor) will: |
|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
In addition to this the Library's Open Research team can provide advice on:
- Data management
- Publishing advice
- Metrics & research profiles
Have a read through of this guide and the Moodle page, Unlocking Evidence: An introduction to systematic reviews, if you are still unsure how to proceed, please book a consult with us.
Note: Even if you are not conducting a full systematic review but instead using a systematic approach — such as a scoping review, rapid review, integrative review, systematic narrative review, or umbrella review — the information in the systematic review section of this guide will still be relevant. Since Library support is primarily focused on the initial search stages rather than data extraction and synthesis, the guidance applies across the range of systematic-type reviews.
Systematic Review / Evidence Synthesis Resources
-
Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Practice Nursing
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826152251Publication Date: 2021 -
Finding What Works in Health Care
by
ISBN: 9780309164252Publication Date: 2011For standards on developing a systematic review protocol, see Chapter 2 Standard2.6 -
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews
by
Call Number: Q180.A1 G72 2017ISBN: 9781473929425Publication Date: 2017 -
Principles and Practice of Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis
by
ISBN: 3030719200Publication Date: 2021 -
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review
by
Call Number: LB2369 .B66 2016ISBN: 9781473912458Publication Date: 2016 -
-
-
Practical introduction to writing reviews in health research
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780645838831Publication Date: 2024
-
Introducing scoping and systematic reviews
An easy to read introduction for students and researchers when undertaking scoping or systematic reviews. The book leads readers through the stages of conducting a review, such as planning, searching, screening, appraising, synthesising, reporting and publishing. Includes H5P activities and is based on current best practices of methodology and reporting.
-
Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences
by
Such diverse thinkers as Lao-Tze, Confucius, and U.S. Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld have all pointed out that we need to be able to tell the difference between real and assumed knowledge. The systematic review is a scientific tool that can help with this difficult task. It can help, for example, with appraising, summarising, and communicating the results and implications of otherwise unmanageable quantities of data. This book, written by two highly-respected social scientists, provides an overview of systematic literature review methods: Outlining the rationale and methods of systematic reviews; Giving worked examples from social science and other fields; Applying the practice to all social science disciplines; It requires no previous knowledge, but takes the reader through the process stage by stage; Drawing on examples from such diverse fields as psychology, criminology, education, transport, social welfare, public health, and housing and urban policy, among others. Including detailed sections on assessing the quality of both quantitative, and qualitative research; searching for evidence in the social sciences; meta-analytic and other methods of evidence synthesis; publication bias; heterogeneity; and approaches to dissemination.
Call Number: H62.P44 2006 & eBookISBN: 9781405121101Publication Date: 2005 -
Systematic Reviews in Educational Research : Methodology, Perspectives and Application
by
ISBN: 9783658276027Publication Date: 2019 -
Conducting Systematic Reviews in Sport, Exercise, and Physical Activity
by
This book offers a conceptual and practical guide to the systematic review process and its application to sport, exercise, and physical activity research. It begins by describing what systematic reviews are and why they assist scientists and practitioners. Providing step-by-step instructions the author leads readers through the process, including generation of suitable review questions; development and implementation of search strategies; data extraction and analysis; theoretical interpretation; and result dissemination. Conducting Systematic Reviews in Sport, Exercise, and Physical Activity clarifies several common misunderstandings including the difference between qualitative systematic reviews and meta-analyses . Each chapter begins with a set of learning objectives focused on practical application, illustrated with examples from reviews published within the sport, exercise, and physical activity fields. Once a reader has completed all the learning activities along the way, they will have designed a systematic review and have written a protocol ready for registration. The book ends with a collection of advice from internationally regarded scientists with substantial experience in systematic reviews.
ISBN: 9783030122621Publication Date: 2019 -
Evidence-Based Software Engineering and Systematic Reviews
by
In the decade since the idea of adapting the evidence-based paradigm for software engineering was first proposed, it has become a major tool of empirical software engineering. Evidence-Based Software Engineering and Systematic Reviews provides a clear introduction to the use of an evidence-based model for software engineering research and practice. The book explains the roles of primary studies (experiments, surveys, case studies) as elements of an over-arching evidence model, rather than as disjointed elements in the empirical spectrum. Supplying readers with a clear understanding of empirical software engineering best practices, it provides up-to-date guidance on how to conduct secondary studies in software engineering--replacing the existing 2004 and 2007 technical reports. The book is divided into three parts. The first part discusses the nature of evidence and the evidence-based practices centered on a systematic review, both in general and as applying to software engineering. The second part examines the different elements that provide inputs to a systematic review (usually considered as forming a secondary study), especially the main forms of primary empirical study currently used in software engineering. The final part provides practical guidance on how to conduct systematic reviews (the guidelines), drawing together accumulated experiences to guide researchers and students in planning and conducting their own studies. The book includes an extensive glossary and an appendix that provides a catalogue of reviews that may be useful for practice and teaching.
ISBN: 1482228653Publication Date: 2015 -
Evidence-Based Decisions and Economics
by
The need for evidence-based decisions that take account of both effectiveness and economics is greater now than ever. Using case studies and illustrative examples throughout the authors describe how the activities and outputs of evidence synthesis, systematic review, economic analysis and decision-making interact within and across different spheres of health and social policy and practice. Expanding on the first edition the book now covers approaches to evidence synthesis that combine economics and systematic review methods in the applied fields of social welfare, education and criminal justice, as well as health care. Written by economists and health services researchers closely involved in developing evidence-based policy and practice it showcases current state-of-the-art methodology and will be an invaluable read for all policy-makers and practitioners using evidence to inform decisions, analysts conducting research to support decisions and students discovering the need for evidence-based decisions to incorporate economic perspectives and evidence.
ISBN: 9781405191531Publication Date: 2010
-
Andersen, M. Z., Zeinert, P., Rosenberg, J., & Fonnes, S. (2024). Comparative analysis of Cochrane and non-Cochrane reviews over three decades. Systematic Reviews, 13(1), 120. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13643-024-02531-2Comparative analysis of Cochrane and non-Cochrane reviews over three decades.
-
Borah, R., Brown, A. W., Capers, P. L., & Kaiser, K. A. (2017). Analysis of the time and workers needed to conduct systematic reviews of medical interventions using data from the PROSPERO registry. BMJ Open, 7(2), e012545. https://doi.org/10.1136/bmjopen-Analysis of the time and workers needed to conduct systematic reviews of medical interventions using data from the PROSPERO registry.
-
Bramer, W. M., Giustini, D., Kleijnen, J., & Franco, O. H. (2018). Searching Embase and MEDLINE by using only major descriptors or title and abstract fields: a prospective exploratory study. Systematic Reviews, 7(1), 200.Searching Embase and MEDLINE by using only major descriptors or title and abstract fields: a prospective exploratory study.
-
A Guide to Writing a Qualitative Systematic Review Protocol to Enhance Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Health CareAshleigh Butler, Helen Hall, & Beverley Copnell
-
Munn, Z., Peters, M. D. J., Stern, C., Tufanaru, C., McArthur, A., & Aromataris, E. (2018). Systematic review or scoping review? Guidance for authors when choosing between a systematic or scoping review approach. BMC Medical Research Methodology, 18(1), 1Systematic review or scoping review? Guidance for authors when choosing between a systematic or scoping review approach.
-
Phillips-Beck, W., Bukich, B. L. J., Thiessen, K., Lavoie, J. G., Schultz, A., Sanguins, J., Beck, G., Longclaws, B., Shingoose, G., Palmer, M., Linton, J., Negash, B., & Morriseau, T. (2024). An Indigenous-informed scoping review study methodology: advanAn Indigenous-informed scoping review study methodology: advancing the science of scoping reviews.
-
How to Do a Systematic Review: A Best Practice Guide for Conducting and Reporting Narrative Reviews, Meta-Analyses, and Meta-SynthesesA useful journal article that describes how to plan, conduct, organize, and present a systematic review of quantitative (meta-analysis) or qualitative (narrative review, meta-synthesis) information.
-
A Guide to Conducting a Standalone Systematic Literature ReviewThis paper introduces the rigorous, standardized methodology for the systematic literature review (also called systematic review) to information systems (IS) scholars. Although tailored to IS research, it is sufficiently broad to be applicable and valuable to scholars from any social science field.
-
Campbell collaborationThe Campbell Collaboration is an international social science research network that produces high quality, open and policy-relevant evidence syntheses, plain language summaries and policy briefs.
-
Finding What Works in Health Care: Standards for Systematic ReviewsInstitute of Medicine (US) Committee on Standards for Systematic Reviews of Comparative Effectiveness Research; Editors: Jill Eden, Laura Levit, Alfred Berg, and Sally Morton.
-
MECIR Manual: Methodological Expectations of Cochrane Intervention Reviews (MECIR)Standards for the conduct of new Cochrane Intervention Reviews, and the planning and conduct of updates
-
PROSPEROYou can register your protocol here to get it peer reviewed and to increase the rigor and reliability of your research. But it is also very handy to see how others have set out their protocols.
-
OSFDiscover projects, data, materials, and collaborators on OSF that might be helpful to your own research
-
Early Career Professionals Network: Registering Protocols of Systematic ReviewsOutlines the importance of registering your systematic review protocol and list other registration sites.
-
RMIT University | Research writing: Starter PhrasesA list of sentence starters that you might find useful when writing your literature review.
-
How to Do a Systematic Review: A Best Practice Guide for Conducting and Reporting Narrative Reviews, Meta-Analyses, and Meta-SynthesesA useful journal article that describes how to plan, conduct, organize, and present a systematic review of quantitative (meta-analysis) or qualitative (narrative review, meta-synthesis) information.
-
Steps in a Systematic ReviewLibGuide from Cornell University outlining the steps involved in evidence synthesis.
-
Cochrane's Evidence Essentials6 learning modules (you'll need to create an account and/or log in to access them) on:
- Evidence-based medicine;
- Randomized controlled trials;
- Introduction to systematic reviews;
- Understanding and using systematic reviews;
- Consumer involvement in Cochrane;
- Critical appraisal of rapid reviews.
-
Systematic Reviews 101 - Elsevier (Video)Use your UoW email to sign in.
References
References
Cumpston, M., Flemyng, E., Thomas, J., Higgins, J. P. T., Deeks, J. J., & Clarke, M. J. (2023). Chapter I: Introduction. In J. P. T. Higgins, J. Thomas, J. Chandler, M. Cumpston, T. Li, M. J. Page, & V. A Welch (Eds.). Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions (version 6.4). Cochrane. https://training.cochrane.org/handbook/current/chapter-i
EPPI Centre. (n.d). History of systematic reviews. https://eppi.ioe.ac.uk/cms/Resources/EvidenceInformedPolicyandPractice/HistoryofSystematicReviews/tabid/68/Default.aspx