Library Search
Key Resources
- APA PsycArticles® on Ovid This link opens in a new window
A leading source for academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
- APA PsycInfo® on Ovid This link opens in a new window
Contains citations in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- APA PsycTherapy® on Ovid This link opens in a new window
A video platform for clinical and counseling psychology. Provides instructors, practitioners, and trainees the opportunity to observe candid psychotherapy videos featuring well known therapists.
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides bibliographic and full-text content for all business disciplines. It includes thousands of peer-reviewed journals, ebooks and other full-text material such as market research reports and detailed company profiles.
- Useful for organisational psychology
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of regularly updated evidence-based healthcare databases bringing together research looking at the effectiveness of different health care treatments and interventions.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video Library This link opens in a new window
An invaluable first hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. Contains hundreds of hours of footage from therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals, covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
- EBSCOhost CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research. Covers over 50 nursing specialties, as well as allied health subjects such as speech and language pathology, nutrition, physical therapy and more.
- ERIC (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC provides access to education literature and research in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Extensive coverage of science and technology, social sciences, business and economics, the arts, humanities, literature, health and medicine plus other subjects.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete includes all data from the Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus full text for more than 1,200 journals. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing).
- Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of selected New Zealand serials, including newspapers, about New Zealand and the South Pacific. Subjects covered include general interest material, social research, current affairs, the arts and humanities.
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand and South East Asia, this database covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology.
- Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
A collection of around 400 journal titles from the healthcare, nursing, midwifery, pharmacology, medicine, and science disciplines. Includes APA PsycArticles titles.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMYB) contains full text about and reviews of all English-language standardised tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, and psychology.
- Nursing and Mental Health in Video This link opens in a new window
Access to over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other.
- Ovid MEDLINE® This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE® is the leading bibliographic source for biomedical scholarly literature and research, providing access to a vast array of medical literature, including articles on clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, and public health. Indexes approximately 5,600 journals.
- ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Psychology, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Social Science, ProQuest Sociology plus Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts. These databases provide citations, abstracts and full text access to literature on a wide range of disciplines, including political science, public policy, international relations, psychology, anthropology, sociology, religious and spiritual studies, social work, criminology, social policy, gender studies, population studies and more.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
The PubMed platform contains MEDLINE, PubMed Central, and additional PubMed records, and indexes journal articles and more back to 1947. It covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, preclinical sciences, and related areas. It is developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), both at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the US. As of December 2020, PubMed contains over 30 million records. Links to full text content of items indexed in PubMed are usually available via Library Search, publisher websites or library interlibrary loan.
- PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
A subset of PubMed, PubMed Central is a repository of the full text of biomedical and life sciences journal literature deposited by participating publishers, as well as for author manuscripts that have been submitted in compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy and similar policies of other research funding agencies.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports every step of a research project, covering qualitative and quantitative methods, including interactive tools such as Methods Map and Project Planner. With hundreds of research methods ebooks, reference, video, case studies, and journal content.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 3500 journals primarily in the Sciences, but also including Business, Education, Linguistics, Management, Sociology, etc.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology.
Mental Disorders Around the World: Facts and Figures from the WHO World Mental Health Surveys by ISBN: 1316336166Publication Date: 2017-12-28This unique book presents original research from the largest cross-national survey of the epidemiology of mental disorders ever conducted. It provides the latest findings from the WHO World Mental Health Surveys based on interviews of nearly 150,000 individuals in twenty-six countries on six continents. The book is ordered by specific disorder, with individual chapters dedicated to presenting detailed findings on the prevalence, onset timing, sociodemographic profile, comorbidity, associated impairment and treatment for eighteen mental disorders. There is also discussion of important cross-national consistencies in the epidemiology of mental disorders and highlighting of intriguing patterns of cross-national variation. This is one of the most comprehensive summaries of the epidemiology of mental disorders ever published, making this an invaluable resource for researchers, clinicians, students and policy-makers in the fields of mental and public health.
A Dictionary of Psychology by Call Number: BF31 .C65 2015ISBN: 9780199657681Publication Date: 2015-02-02Including more than 11,000 definitions, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and cover word origins and derivations as well as definitions.
Writing Dissertations and Theses in Psychology: A Student's Guide for Success by ISBN: 9780367855932Publication Date: 2021-01-01This accessible guide equips students to succeed in their master's thesis or doctoral dissertation in psychology. The authors provide concrete assistance to the myriad tasks and requirements that students will encounter as they plan, conduct, and present their dissertation or thesis research. Drawing upon their many years of experience in working with graduate students, the authors address the multiple stages of the dissertation and thesis process. They take you through drafting the proposal, the advisor-advisee relationship, interacting with committee members, the writing process, handling obstacles, and the final presentation. Chapters provide guidance on using a research team, collecting data, conducting a literature review, and even acquiring financial support. Finally, students will find additional resources such as practical information on copyright issues, research methods, case analyses, and teleconferencing. This is an essential book for both graduate psychology students working on their master's theses or doctoral dissertations and their advisors.
Global Psychology from Indigenous Perspectives by ISBN: 9783030351243Publication Date: 2020-05-27This volume celebrates the visions of a more equitable global psychology as inspired by the late Professor K. S. Yang, one of the founders of the indigenous psychology movement. This unprecedented international debate among leaders in the field is essential for anyone who wishes to understand the movement from within--the thinking and the vision of those who are the driving forces behind the movement. This book should appeal to scholars and students of psychology, sociology, anthropology, ethnology, philosophy of science, and postcolonial studies.
Psychology by Call Number: BF121 .W43 2023ISBN: 9780730396642Publication Date: 2023The new sixth edition of the Burton Psychology is the gold standard ANZ resource on the market. After comprehensive consultation and research, the new edition has been reduced in size by 19%, and refreshed to include cross-cultural psychology throughout the book. The text has also been reorganised to place new chapters on Indigenous Psychology and Māori Psychology front and centre, and includes a new instructor support package on how to teach Indigenous Psychology.
- American Journal of Community PsychologyEmpirical research and theoretical papers concerned with the relationship between persons and social issues, institutions and settings published in association with the Society for Community Research and Action.
- Applied Psychology: Health and Well-BeingPeer-reviewed coverage of scientific findings and practical applications in the domains of applied psychology including clinical, health, counseling educational, sport, cross-cultural and environmental psychology.
- BMC PsychologyThis journal covers all aspects of psychology, human behavior and the mind, including developmental, clinical, cognitive, experimental, social, evolutionary, and educational psychology, as well as personality and individual differences.
- Journal of Humanistic PsychologyThe Journal of Humanistic Psychology publishes experiential reports, theoretical papers, personal essays, research studies with an emphasis on human science methods, applications of humanistic psychology, humanistic analyses of contemporary culture, and occasional poems. Topics of special interest are authenticity, identity, personal growth, self-actualization, self-transcendence, I-Thou encounters, existential and humanistic psychotherapy, community building, humanistic politics, synergy, creativity, holistic learning and healing, values, and love. The journal is a forum for diverse statements about humanistic psychology, including criticisms.
- New Zealand Journal of PsychologyPublishes empirical, theoretical & applied papers relating to all areas of Psychology & related disciplines.
- Perspectives on Psychological SciencePerspectives on Psychological Science is a bimonthly journal publishing an eclectic mix of provocative reports and articles, including broad integrative reviews, overviews of research programs, meta-analyses, theoretical statements, and articles on topics such as the philosophy of science, opinion pieces about major issues in the field, autobiographical reflections of senior members of the field, and even occasional humorous essays and sketches. Perspectives contains both invited and submitted articles.
- Psychiatry, Psychology, and LawPsychiatry, Psychology and Law is a peer reviewed journal with outstanding academic and professional representation on its editorial board. The journal disseminates high quality information to scholars and professionals working in the areas, or intersections, of psychiatry, psychology and the law. It aims to keep professionals informed about contemporary research and practice developments in these fields and to facilitate cross-disciplinary debate, collaboration and communication. Accordingly, it is expected that authors will contextualise contributions within this disciplinary scope by demonstrating how such contributions reflect intersecting links between the disciplines of psychiatry, psychology and/or the law.
- Psychological SciencePsychological Science, the flagship journal of the Association for Psychological Science, is the leading peer-reviewed journal publishing empirical research spanning the entire spectrum of the science of psychology. The journal publishes high quality research articles of general interest and on important topics spanning the entire spectrum of the science of psychology.
- MetaLabInteractive, community-augmented meta-analysis tools for cognitive development, and early language research.
- New Zealand Family Violence ClearinghouseNational centre for family violence and sexual violence research and information.
- The New Zealand FormularyAn independent resource providing healthcare professionals with clinically validated medicines information and guidance on best practice, enabling healthcare professionals to select safe and effective medicines for individual patients.
- New Zealand Psychological SocietyThe New Zealand Psychological Society is the largest professional association for psychologists in Aotearoa.