PubMed
PubMed

Subjects:
Types:
Vendors:

Description

The PubMed platform contains MEDLINE, PubMed Central, and additional PubMed records, and indexes journal articles and more back to 1947. It covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, preclinical sciences, and related areas. It is developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), both at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the US. As of December 2020, PubMed contains over 30 million records. Links to full text content of items indexed in PubMed are usually available via Library Search, publisher websites or library interlibrary loan. 

More Info

  • Victoria University provides video guide on searching for research literature in PubMed. The guide includes using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and covers why truncation and phrase searching might not get the best results. 
  • Prairie View A&M University has created a guide titled MEDLINE, PubMed & Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Under the title 4 Steps to Using the MeSH Database, note that you can restrict to MeSH Major Topic so that your search will retrieve only citations where your subject is one of the main topics discussed in the article. This means you don't get results where the concept is mentioned, but not the main focus. It also talks about when NOT to use MeSH. 
  • PubMed Search Tips How to Use MeSH: Medical Subject Headings
title
Loading...
chat loading...