International Law
An Introduction to International Criminal Law and Procedure by ISBN: 9781108481922Publication Date: 2019-08-15Written by a team of international lawyers with extensive academic and practical experience, the textbook introduces the readers to the fundamental concepts of international criminal law, as well as the domestic and international institutions that enforce that law.
Basic Documents in International Law by ISBN: 9780199217717Publication Date: 2009-01-05Basic Documents in International Law draws together all of the most important documents needed for the study of international law.
Brownlie's Principles of Public International LawISBN: 9780191876370Publication Date: 2019'Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law' has been shaping the study and application of international law for over 50 years. Serving as a single-volume introduction to the field as a whole, the text is one of the classic treatises on international law, now fully updated to order to take account of recent developments. It includes extensive references in order to provide a solid foundation for further research.- Cases and Materials on International Law by ISBN: 0414075994Publication Date: 2020Designed to support students throughout their studies, Harris provides a sound basis for any public international law course through an extensive selection of extracts and background information supplemented by authoritative commentary and expert analysis.
- International Law Essentials by ISBN: 9781845861827Publication Date: 2010-01-01International Law Essentials is an invaluable study guide for students. It provides up-to-date, concise and comprehensive coverage of international law and is the ideal text for students who come new to the subject and for those preparing for exams.
- EUR-Lex (European Union law) This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to the Official Journal of the European Union, plus EU Law (treaties, regulations, decisions), preparatory documents, EU case law, international agreements, EFTA documents, summaries of EU legislation and other public documents.
- International Commission of Jurists (ICJ): Publication Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of the ICJ's (International Commission of Jurists) press releases, reports, legal documents & key external legal materials.
- Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance is an innovative online research platform that contains New Zealand and international legislation, case law and secondary material. Use the Lexis.com link on the Lexis Advance home screen to locate material not available on the New Zealand platform.
- Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law offers a comprehensive collection of authoritative writings and treatises within the field of international law.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of primary and secondary legal research materials, including cases, statutes, and journal articles from a number of jurisdictions. Extensiveness of coverage differs between jurisdictions.
- World Constitutions Illustrated This link opens in a new window
Contains the current constitution for every country, constitutional histories, texts on constitutional law, links to scholarly articles about constitutional development, and a bibliography of selected constitutional books. Browsable by country or resource. Part of HeinOnline.
Encyclopedia of Public International Law Consolidated Edition by ISBN: 0444862447Publication Date: 1992
- Laws of New ZealandThe Laws of New Zealand is an encyclopaedic work, updated quarterly, which reflects the need to have a New Zealand equivalent to Halsbury's Laws of England. Provides a reliable statement of the whole of the law of New Zealand – statutory, regulatory and judicial. It is a comprehensive source of primary comment required by both practitioners and academics.
- United Nations HandbookCurrent information about the UN system, organisations, subsidiaries and specialised agencies.
- International Legal MaterialsProvides the full text of basic, primary documents - important treaties and agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international organisations' resolutions and other documents.
- EUR-Lex: TreatiesTreaties between EU member countries.
- International Treaties Collection (WorldLII)A subset of the WorldLII International Law database.
- New Zealand Treaties OnlineOfficial record of New Zealand's existing, binding international treaty obligations and current treaty negotiations.
- U.S. Department of State: Office of Treaty AffairsThe Office of Treaty Affairs provides advice and support on matters involving U.S. and international treaty law and practice. Includes "Treaties in Force", which provides information about treaties and other international agreements to which the United States is presently a party.
- United Nations Treaty SeriesA publication produced by the Secretariat of the United Nations containing all treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded by the Secretariat since 1945, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter.
- American Society of International LawFounded in 1906 and chartered by Congress in 1950, the mission of the American Society of International Law (ASIL) is to foster the study of international law and to promote the establishment and maintenance of international relations on the basis of law and justice.
- GlobaLex: An Introduction to Sources for Treaty ResearchAn online publication of the Hauser Global Law School Program at the New York University School of Law providing research tools for comparative law, international law, and the laws of various jurisdictions around the world.
- International Court of Justice (ICJ)The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). This site contains official judgments, advisory opinions and orders.
- International Criminal Court (ICC)The International Criminal Court (ICC) is the first permanent, treaty based, international criminal court established to help end impunity for the perpetrators of the most serious crimes of concern to the international community. The ICC is an independent international organisation, and is not part of the United Nations system.
- International Law CommissionEstablished by the UN General Assembly, in 1947, to initiate studies and make recommendations for the purpose of encouraging the progressive development of international law and its codification.
- Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT)The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade acts in the world to make New Zealanders safer and more prosperous.
- Peace Palace Library: Public International Law Research GuideThe Peace Palace Library is the international law library serving the international legal community. The Library’s primary task is serving the Permanent Court of Arbitration, the International Court of Justice and The Hague Academy of International Law.
- United NationsAn intergovernmental organisation, founded in 1945, that aims to maintain international peace and security.
- United Nations Digital LibraryIncludes material from all UN agencies. Search by topic, agency, type of document and date.
World Trade Law
The Law and Policy of the World Trade Organization by ISBN: 9781107694293Publication Date: 2012-08-08This textbook gives a clear introduction to the basic principles of the multilateral trading system and details an examination of the law of the World Trade Organization.
The Regulation of International Trade by ISBN: 9780415610896Publication Date: 2012-11-29Drawing on a wide variety of classic and contemporary sources, respected authors Trebilcock, Howse and Eliason here provide a critical analysis of the institutions and agreements that have shaped international trade rules.
World Trade Law by ISBN: 1849462224Publication Date: 2012-10-17This comprehensive textbook provides both detailed explanations and analysis of the law to help understand the issues as well as case extracts to offer a flavour of the judicial reasoning of trade adjudicators.
- Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance is an innovative online research platform that contains New Zealand and international legislation, case law and secondary material. Use the Lexis.com link on the Lexis Advance home screen to locate material not available on the New Zealand platform.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of primary and secondary legal research materials, including cases, statutes, and journal articles from a number of jurisdictions. Extensiveness of coverage differs between jurisdictions.
- TradeLawGuide: Innovative Tools for Researching WTO Law This link opens in a new window
TradeLawGuide provides comprehensive research tools that facilitate methodical research of international trade law, including WTO law and regional trade agreements (RTAs).
- GlobaLex: Research Guide on the Trading Systems in the Asian-Pacific Region: APEC, ASEAN and their MembersCovers the trading systems of the Asia Pacific region. Includes select bibliographies.
- UNCITRAL: United Nations Commission on International Trade LawThe core legal body of the United Nations system in the field of international trade law.
- World Trade OrganizationThe WTO is the only international body dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, the legal ground-rules for international commerce and for trade policy.
- WorldTradeLaw.netThis website offers a free library of current trade news and resources, as well as a subscription service (the DSC Service), which provides summary and analysis of all WTO reports and arbitrations; a current keyword index; a database of dispute settlement tables and statistics; and a user-friendly search tool for WTO cases, legal texts, and other documents.
American Law
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline provides access to thousands of classic legal texts, law journals, US statutory and legal resources, the European Centre for minority issues and full reprint of the English reports (1220-1867).
- Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance is an innovative online research platform that contains New Zealand and international legislation, case law and secondary material. Use the Lexis.com link on the Lexis Advance home screen to locate material not available on the New Zealand platform.
- LII (Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
LII is provided by the Cornell Law School and offers access to selected United States primary and secondary sources. These include Court opinions, Constitutional Law resources, subject guides, directories and special reference libraries.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of primary and secondary legal research materials, including cases, statutes, and journal articles from a number of jurisdictions. Extensiveness of coverage differs between jurisdictions.
Australian Law
- AustLII Databases (Australasian Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
Primary (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals) and secondary (e.g. law reform and royal commission reports) Australasian legal materials.
- Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance is an innovative online research platform that contains New Zealand and international legislation, case law and secondary material. Use the Lexis.com link on the Lexis Advance home screen to locate material not available on the New Zealand platform.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of primary and secondary legal research materials, including cases, statutes, and journal articles from a number of jurisdictions. Extensiveness of coverage differs between jurisdictions.
- Australian law journal reports.In unbound form these are combined with Australian Law Journal, but the bound versions form their own series.
- Australian Law ReportsThe Australian Law Reports consist of decisions of the High Court, and significant decisions of the Federal and Supreme Courts. It also incorporates the Northern Territory Reports and the Australian Capital Territory Reports.
- Federal Register of Legislation (Australia)The Federal Register of Legislation (the Legislation Register) is the authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents. It contains the full text and details of the lifecycle of individual laws and the relationships between them.
- Researching Australian LawGuide to Australian legal research sources. Produced by LLRX.
Canadian Law
- CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to court judgments from all Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada, federal courts, and the courts in all Canadas provinces and territories. CanLII.org also contains decisions from many tribunals nationally.
- Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance is an innovative online research platform that contains New Zealand and international legislation, case law and secondary material. Use the Lexis.com link on the Lexis Advance home screen to locate material not available on the New Zealand platform.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of primary and secondary legal research materials, including cases, statutes, and journal articles from a number of jurisdictions. Extensiveness of coverage differs between jurisdictions.
- The Dictionary of Canadian Law by ISBN: 0459552899Publication Date: 1994The one-stop reference to Canadian definitions.
Pacific Law
- Conversing with the Ancestors: Concepts and Institutions in Polynesian Customary LawISBN: 0958234396Publication Date: 2006
- Converging Currents: Custom and Human Rights in the PacificThis project explores the interaction between custom and human rights in the Pacific, including New Zealand, by articulating some of the issues arising from this interaction and how the two can inform each other. Published by the New Zealand Law Commission.
- South Pacific Law Materials BibliographyThe South Pacific is an area of emerging importance to lawyers in North America and throughout the world. Dr. Care's bibliography provides a comprehensive introduction to the legal materials of Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia.
- PacLII (Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
The Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (PacLII) provides free access to legal information gathered from countries in the South Pacific.
- Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance is an innovative online research platform that contains New Zealand and international legislation, case law and secondary material. Use the Lexis.com link on the Lexis Advance home screen to locate material not available on the New Zealand platform.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of primary and secondary legal research materials, including cases, statutes, and journal articles from a number of jurisdictions. Extensiveness of coverage differs between jurisdictions.
- Bergen Pacific Studies Research GroupResearch Group based at the University of Bergen, Norway.
- PacLII - Pacific Islands Treaty Series (PITS)Pacific Islands Treaty Series consists of two separate treaties databases, one in English and one in French. Each of the databases contains different content.
- United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)ESCAP is the regional development arm of the United Nations for the Asia-Pacific region.
UK Law
The English Legal System by ISBN: 9780415639996Publication Date: 2013-05-08The English Legal System explains and critically assesses how our law is made and applied. Annually updated, this authoritative textbook clearly describes the legal rules of England and Wales and their collective influence as a sociocultural institution.
- BAILII Databases (British and Irish Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
British and Irish case law and legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.
- Old Bailey OnlineCases from 1674-1913.
The Law Reports
The Law Reports is the most authoritative series of published reports of cases which constitute binding precedent in English Law. Appearing monthly in four subdivisions, they offer the most detailed coverage of the leading cases and appeals from the Queen’s Bench (QB), Chancery (Ch) and Family (Fam) Divisions of the High Court and Court of Appeal, references to the European Court of Justice, and Appeal Cases (AC) heard in the UK Supreme Court and Judicial Committee of the Privy Council.
- BAILII Databases (British and Irish Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
British and Irish case law and legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.
- GOV.UK: Official Publications This link opens in a new window
Official Documents of the Government of the United Kingdom.
- ICLR.4 This link opens in a new window
ICLR (The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales) publishes case law from the Superior and Appellate Courts in England and Wales. ICLR.4 is the hub of legal authorities dating back to 1865. A dedicated case law platform presenting the cases that matter in a comprehensive and readable format.
- Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance is an innovative online research platform that contains New Zealand and international legislation, case law and secondary material. Use the Lexis.com link on the Lexis Advance home screen to locate material not available on the New Zealand platform.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of primary and secondary legal research materials, including cases, statutes, and journal articles from a number of jurisdictions. Extensiveness of coverage differs between jurisdictions.
Jowitt's dictionary of English lawCall Number: Law Library Level 4 ; KD313 .J68 2010ISBN: 9781847036261Publication Date: 2010- Stroud's judicial dictionary of words and phrasesCall Number: Law Library Reference Level 4 ; KD313 .S87 2012ISBN: 9780414024519Publication Date: 2012
- Halsbury's Laws of England by Call Number: Law Library Reference Level 4 ; KD310.H34ISBN: 9780406047762Publication Date: 2008
- The Law Quarterly ReviewHoldings: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan. 1885) [Vol. 120 (Jan. 2004) not held].
Law Library Level 4 ; K12.L415
- BAILIIBritish and Irish Legal Information Institute
- The statutes of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and IrelandHistorical Legislation on HeinOnline and in print. Online covers the years 1215-1731 and is included with the English Reports collection on Hein.
- Halsbury's Statutes of England and Wales by Call Number: Law Library Reference Level 4 ; KD135.H3ISBN: 0406214093Publication Date: 1989