Resources
- DigitalPasifik This link opens in a new window
A large public digital collection containing digital images, artworks, audio files, videos, and ebooks that can be browsed by Island, including smaller Pacific Islands such as Yap, Kosrae, and Tokelau. Users can discuss content in contribution to Indigenous research methodology. Part of the Pacific Virtual Museum Project and implemented by Te Puna Mātauranga: The National Library of New Zealand in collaboration with the National Library of Australia.
- Te Papa Collections / Kohinga Ipurangi This link opens in a new window
Information on almost 800,000 artworks, objects and specimens from Te Papa’s collections, covering Taonga Māori, Pacific Cultures, History, Photography, Art, Botany and Zoology. These items are complemented by over 190,000 images, with over 60,000 available for high resolution download.
- Ulukau This link opens in a new window
One of the largest open access databases of Hawai'i and Pacific materials containing: Music; books; curriculum materials; and photographs. Developed at the University of Waikato.
- Pofatu This link opens in a new window
A database of archaeological sources, artefacts and geochemical compositions. Utlising geochemical fingerprinting and creating provenance studies to improve the way we view archaeological sites in the Pacific.
- Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of selected New Zealand serials, including newspapers, about New Zealand and the South Pacific. Subjects covered include general interest material, social research, current affairs, the arts and humanities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- Papers Past This link opens in a new window
Papers Past contains more than seven million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers, periodicals, letters and diaries, and parliamentary papers. Includes publications from all regions of New Zealand plus some Pacific content.
Studies in Pacific History by ISBN: 1315188236Publication Date: 2018-01-18This title was first published in 2002.In recent years scholars have begun to conceptualize the history of the Pacific Ocean as a subset of world history.
The Cambridge History of the Pacific Ocean: Volume 2, the Pacific Ocean Since 1800 by ISBN: 9781316510407Publication Date: 2023-01-05Volume II of The Cambridge History of the Pacific Ocean focuses on the latest era of Pacific history, examining the period from 1800 to the present day. This volume discusses advances and emerging trends in the historiography of the colonial era, before outlining the main themes of the twentieth century when the idea of a Pacific-centred century emerged.
- Contemporary PacificAn interdisciplinary journal covering a wide range of disciplines with the aim of providing comprehensive coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region and the global Pacific diaspora.
- Hawaiian Journal of HistoryThe Hawaiian Journal of History is an annual journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area.
- Journal of Pacific HistoryThe Journal of Pacific History is a leading refereed journal dedicated to research concerning the Pacific Islands, their peoples and their pasts.
- Journal of Pacific studiesIt is a locally generated area studies journal for the South Pacific which gives primary attention to developmental, economic, historical, geographical and political issues with current investigations in The University of the South Pacific Region and beyond.
- Te KaharoaTe Kaharoa is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal dedicated to Māori, Pasifika and Indigenous research, scholarship and creative work. Writings within the journal can be found in English, Te Reo Māori and other Pasifika languages.
- OceaniaOceania publishes contributions in the field of social and cultural anthropology. Its primary regional orientation is to the peoples of Australia, Melanesia, Polynesia, Micronesia and insular southeast Asia.
- Pacific AffairsPacific Affairs is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal that publishes academic research on contemporary political, economic, and social issues in Asia and the Pacific.
- Pacific Ecologist.The Pacific Eclologist focuses on ecological topics and issues within the Pacific Region.
- Waka Kuaka : The Journal of the Polynesian Society'The Journal of the Polynesian Society' has been renamed as 'Waka Kuaka: The Journal of the Polynesian Society', heralding a new direction for the journal metaphorically reimagined as the waka kuaka 'godwit on the wing' traversing the Pacific. These new directions are explored here within this vision of the waka kuaka as a bird that symbolises collective vision and purpose. The authors, as members of the Council of the Polynesian Society including the editor of the journal, reflect on the history of the journal and discuss what this change means going forward, finally calling on scholars in and of the Pacific to fly with us as part of this new journey.