New Zealand Wars
- BWB: The New Zealand History Collection This link opens in a new window
A full-text searchable online collection of high quality New Zealand non-fiction titles. Authors include James Belich, Judith Binney, Aroha Harris, Kuni Kaa Jenkins, Alison Jones, Michael King, Claudia Orange, Tipene O'Regan, Anne Salmond, Angela Wanhalla, Albert Wendt.
- BWB: Te Pouhere Kōrero Collection This link opens in a new window
The ten volumes of Te Pouhere Kōrero: Māori History, Māori People explore the rich narratives of Māori and indigenous history. Covering a wide range of topics, the collection provides a valuable resource for research on the history and culture of Aotearoa New Zealand. This peer-reviewed journal seeks to disseminate and promote Māori mātauranga and perspectives on history to wider audiences.
- DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window
Explore over 34 million open access digital items from more than 200 partners throughout New Zealand, such as libraries, museums, galleries, government departments, the media, and community. Browse by item type, copyright usage conditions, content partner, and other filters.
- Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
An online directory of academic, peer-reviewed, open access books. Search by keyword or browse by subject.
Ka Whawhai Tonu Matou by Call Number: DU416 .W183 2004ISBN: 9780143019459Publication Date: 2004-01-01This is a revised edition of Dr Ranginui Walker's best-selling history of Aotearoa, New Zealand, from a Maori perspective. Since the mid-nineteenth century, Maori have been involved in an endless struggle for justice, equality and self-determination. In this book Dr Walker provides a uniquely Maori view, not only of the events of the past two centuries but beyond to the very origins of Maori people.
Ōrākau: e whawhai tonu ana tātou - 'We continue the fight'ISBN: 0473607123This book has been produced by the Taarewaanga Marae Committee and Trustees with all rights reserved. We wish to make it clear to the reader that in producing this book it is our intention to tell our story, our way, as told to us by our tupuna, this is their version of the story of Ōrākau. Not as a footnote in the history of the glorious and mighty British Empire; nor as a back-drop to a romantic 19th century novella, but as a lesson in the resilience of a fiercely proud and independent group of people, who, faced with overwhelming, insurmountable odds, vowed never to surrender to their oppressors.
- McLintock's 1966 Encyclopedia of New ZealandThis is an online version of the three volume printed encyclopedia edited by A.H. McLintock and published in 1966. The coverage is comprehensive but has not been updated since 1966.
- Memory of the World - Aotearoa New ZealandA register to celebrate and promote New Zealand’s documentary heritage. It seeks to recognise items of recorded heritage which have national significance, to bring their cultural and historic value to people’s attention, alongside the work done by libraries, archives and museums in preserving this valuable heritage.
- Te Ara: The Encyclopedia of New ZealandTe ara in Maori means the pathway. This enyclopedia offers many pathways to understanding New Zealand. When complete, it will be a comprehensive guide to the country's peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy, institutions and society.
- New Zealand Journal of HistoryThe New Zealand Journal of History publishes scholarly peer-reviewed articles, book reviews and other media reviews, spanning all aspects of the history of New Zealand Aotearoa, including social, cultural, economic and political history.