Library Search
- Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
An online directory of academic, peer-reviewed, open access books. Search by keyword or browse by subject.
- Early Experiences in Australasia: Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1788-1901 This link opens in a new window
Provides a unique and personal view of events in Australia and New Zealand from the arrival of the first settlers through to Australian Federation at the close of the nineteenth century.
- First World War: Personal Experiences This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary source documents drawn from archives, which are varied in scope and offer a remarkable window on the lives and experiences of men and women during the First World War. Produced by Adam Matthew Digital.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand and South East Asia, this database covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology.
- Oxford Historical Treaties This link opens in a new window
Oxford Historical Treaties is the premier resource for historical treaty research and home to the full text of The Consolidated Treaty Series, the only comprehensive collection of treaties of all nations concluded from 1648 through 1919. Available via the Oxford Public International Law platform, Oxford Historical Treaties is cross-searchable with Oxfords leading public international law resources and benefits from a modern, intuitive interface and sophisticated functionality.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of the Times (London) is a primary source for researchers of world history, politics, and literature. Contains articles and letters to the editor from famous writers. The entire newspaper is searchable, including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photographs.
- ViVa Women's History This link opens in a new window
ViVa is a current bibliography of women's and gender history in historical and women's studies journals. Articles in multiples languages are selected from 180 journals. Contains more than 12,000 records describing articles from 1975 onwards. Search the database or browse by year of publication.
The Houses of History by Call Number: D13.2 .H64 2016ISBN: 9780719096204Publication Date: 2016-08-31The houses of history is a clear, jargon-free introduction to the major theoretical approaches employed by historians.
The Oxford Handbook of World History by ISBN: 9780199235810Publication Date: 2011-05-26Presents thirty-three essays by a stellar collection of distinguished scholars, including some of the most prominent historians in their respective fields. Their essays address the most important issues explored by contemporary world historians.
From Reliable Sources by Call Number: D16 .H68 2001ISBN: 0801485606Publication Date: 2001-04-27From Reliable Sources is a lively introduction to historical methodology, an overview of the techniques historians must master in order to reconstruct the past. Its focus on the basics of source criticism, rather than on how to find references or on the process of writing, makes it an invaluable guide for all students of history and for anyone who must extract meaning from written and unwritten sources.
Research Methods for History by ISBN: 1474408745Publication Date: 2016Research Methods for History encourages those researching the past to think creatively about the wide range of methods currently in use, to understand how these methods are used and what historical insights they can provide.
Sources and Methods in Indigenous Studies by ISBN: 1315528851Publication Date: 2016-12-19Sources and Methods in Indigenous Studies is a synthesis of changes and innovations in methodologies in Indigenous Studies, focusing on sources over a broad chronological and geographical range.
- The American Historical ReviewThe American Historical Review is the official journal of the American Historical Association, and publishes articles on many facets of American History.
- History (Historical Association of Great Britain)History Journal is the official journal of the Historical Association, with articles on many aspects of World History
- The History Workshop JournalThe Journal publishes a wide variety of essays, reports and reviews, ranging from literary to economic subjects, local history to geopolitical analyses.
- Journal of World HistoryThe official journal of the World History Association.
A dictionary of British historyISBN: 0191758027Publication Date: 2015Written by over 100 specialist contributors, this dictionary describes the people and events that have shaped and defined domestic, political, social, and cultural life in Britain since 55 BC
Industrialization and Imperialism, 1800-1914 by ISBN: 0313314519Publication Date: 2002-11-30This book presents an age of nationalism, imperialism, modernization, industrialism, and great cultural achievement, stretching from 1800, when Europe was awash in the wake of the French Revolution, the reign of terror, and the coming rise of Napoleon, to Archduke Franz Ferdinand's assassination in 1914.
The new Penguin dictionary of modern history, 1789-1945 by Call Number: D205.T69 2001ISBN: 0140514902Publication Date: 2001This dictionary looks at the personalities, events and ideas from 1789 to 1945. While the main emphasis is on British affairs and on political topics, this dictionary also records trends in the history of all the major regions of the world including the USA, Russia, Australia and Canada.
