Rauemi | Resources - Molecular & Cellular Biology - Library Guides at University of Waikato

Library Search

Molecular and Cellular Biology is an interdisciplinary field combining biochemistry, microbiology, genetics and physiology to study how cells function at the molecular level.

Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gales largest general-interest periodical resource, Gale General OneFile, provides periodical and news information through an intuitive, user-friendly search interface for researchers at all levels.
JoVE Core: Biology This link opens in a new window
JoVE Core series brings biology to life through over 300 concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons that explain key concepts in biology, plus more than 150 scientist-in-action videos that show actual research experiments conducted in todays laboratories.
JoVE Science Education: Advanced Biology This link opens in a new window
JoVE Science Education is a revolutionary video database, dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations. The 'Advanced Biology' module offers videos in Neuroscience, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Cell Biology, Immunology and Microbiology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
Mary Ann Liebert Journals This link opens in a new window
More than 90 peer-reviewed journals in the areas of biomedical research, biotechnology and regenerative medicine, medicine and surgery, public health research and policy, technology and engineering, environmental research and policy, and law.
ProQuest Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Science, Sports Medicine & Education Index, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Science & Technology, ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology and ProQuest Telecommunications. These databases provide access to content ranging from health and physical education, sports medicine, dance and physical therapy as well as vocational information focused on science and technology.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem Structure Search allows the PubChem Compound Database to be to be queried by chemical structure or chemical structure pattern. The PubChem Sketcher allows a query to be drawn manually. Users may also specify the structural query input by PubChem Compound Identifier (CID), SMILES, SMARTS, InChI, Molecular Formula, or by upload of a supported structure file format.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The PubMed platform contains MEDLINE, PubMed Central, and additional PubMed records, and indexes journal articles and more back to 1947. It covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, preclinical sciences, and related areas. It is developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), both at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the US. As of December 2020, PubMed contains over 30 million records. Links to full text content of items indexed in PubMed are usually available via Library Search, publisher websites or library interlibrary loan.
- Victoria University provides video guide on searching for research literature in PubMed. The guide includes using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and covers why truncation and phrase searching might not get the best results.
- Prairie View A&M University has created a guide titled MEDLINE, PubMed & Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Under the title 4 Steps to Using the MeSH Database, note that you can restrict to MeSH Major Topic so that your search will retrieve only citations where your subject is one of the main topics discussed in the article. This means you don't get results where the concept is mentioned, but not the main focus. It also talks about when NOT to use MeSH.
- PubMed Search Tips How to Use MeSH: Medical Subject Headings
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 3500 journals primarily in the Sciences, but also including Business, Education, Linguistics, Management, Sociology, etc.
For personalised features, please register (by creating an Elsevier User profile/Personal Account) & log in with those credentials.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library is an extensive multidisciplinary resource that provides access to a vast collection of high-quality academic content. This database offers a wide range of scholarly materials, including journals, books, reference works, and other resources across various disciplines.

New Zealand Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
The NZSBM aims to advance the science of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in NZ, facilitating research and education, and interfacing with business and the community.

Molecular Biology of the Cell

Royal Society of Chemistry Journals This link opens in a new window
Search whole website, browse Journal titles, or click on "Filter results" to choose a subject area, for example: Biomolecular
And then choose a journal to browse or search, for example: Molecular Systems Design & Engineering
Journal entries include: Recent Articles, Published Issues, and Themed Collections.

Molecular & Cellular Biology: Rauemi | Resources

Library Search