Library Search
-
Gale Interactive: Science This link opens in a new window
An online learning tool that uses interactive 3D models to help students visualise and understand science concepts in biology, chemistry, earth and space science, supplementing traditional curriculum materials.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search tool which allows searches across many disciplines and sources. By accessing Google Scholar from this site, any search results which are part of a Library subscription will be indicated by the Find@Waikato link.
-
New Zealand Geographic This link opens in a new window
New Zealand Geographic focuses on the biodiversity, geography and culture of New Zealand, New Zealand's interests abroad, and that of the adjoining region: Antarctica and nearby Pacific Islands.
-
Overton This link opens in a new window
Overton is a searchable index of global policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. Explore policy documents citing research from the University of Waikato, or search for specific authors or articles that have been cited in policy documents.
-
ProQuest Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Science, Sports Medicine & Education Index, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Science & Technology, ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology and ProQuest Telecommunications. These databases provide access to content ranging from health and physical education, sports medicine, dance and physical therapy as well as vocational information focused on science and technology.
-
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 3500 journals primarily in the Sciences, but also including Business, Education, Linguistics, Management, Sociology, etc.
-
SciFinderN This link opens in a new window
SciFinderN, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is the most comprehensive database for chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number. It is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines. New features include PatentPak (patent documents in PDF format), MethodsNow Synthesis (synthetic protocols) and Retrosynthesis Planning (computer-aided synthetic design tool).
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a great source of high quality peer-reviewed articles from science and social science journals.
-
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation. 3rd ed., 2017
by
Covers the social, legal, political and economic aspects of the environment and conservation as well as the scientific terms. -
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences. 5th ed., 2020
by
Contains more than 10,000 entries covering all areas of geoscience, including planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy, and volcanology. -
Encyclopedia of Earth Science. 2005
by
Encyclopedia of Earth Science provides a broad scope of important subjects in the field of Earth science: hydrology, structural geology, petrology, isotope geology, geochemistry, geomorphology, and oceanography. -
Encyclopedia of Marine Geosciences
by
Interdisciplinary synopsis of the whole scale of marine geosciences: geophysics, hydrography, biology, climatology, ecology, and economic geology.
Overview of the oceans’ and marginal seas’ geo-resources. Bridge between natural and engineering sciences. -
Encyclopedia of Soil Science. 3rd ed., 2016
by
Three-Volume Set . Newest edition describes every branch of soil science.
-
Bay of Plenty Regional CouncilOn the website find documents and publications.
-
Department of Conservation: Science and Technical publicationsProvides links to its scientific and technical publications.
-
GNS Science ReportsThey cover a wide range of scientific research topics undertaken at GNS (Geological & Nuclear Sciences)
-
New Zealand Society of Soil ScienceA site where you can learn about and contribute to the advancement of soil science in NZ. You can also read their newsletters https://www.soilscience.org.nz/soil-news
-
AntarcticCovers international science, Antarctic heritage, tourism, news from national Antarctic programmes, book reviews, and tributes.
-
Natureis a weekly international journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
-
Nature Climate Changeis a monthly journal dedicated to publishing the most significant and cutting-edge research on the nature, underlying causes or impacts of global climate change and its implications for the economy, policy and the world at large.