Library Search
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing full-text access to peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, books and other publications.
- APA PsycArticles® on Ovid This link opens in a new window
A leading source for academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
- APA PsycInfo® on Ovid This link opens in a new window
Contains citations in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides bibliographic and full-text content for all business disciplines. It includes thousands of peer-reviewed journals, ebooks and other full-text material such as market research reports and detailed company profiles.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a digital library of education-relatedliterature (including journals) to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching and educational decision-making.
- ERIC (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC provides access to education literature and research in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline provides access to thousands of classic legal texts, law journals, US statutory and legal resources, the European Centre for minority issues and full reprint of the English reports (1220-1867).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The OECD publishes its recommendations, analysis and data on OECD iLibrary to help inform policy makers, researchers and analysts.
- Overton This link opens in a new window
Overton is a searchable index of global policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. Explore policy documents citing research from the University of Waikato, or search for specific authors or articles that have been cited in policy documents.
- ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Psychology, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Social Science, ProQuest Sociology plus Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts. These databases provide citations, abstracts and full text access to literature on a wide range of disciplines, including political science, public policy, international relations, psychology, anthropology, sociology, religious and spiritual studies, social work, criminology, social policy, gender studies, population studies and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
The PubMed platform contains MEDLINE, PubMed Central, and additional PubMed records, and indexes journal articles and more back to 1947. It covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, preclinical sciences, and related areas. It is developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), both at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the US. As of December 2020, PubMed contains over 30 million records. Links to full text content of items indexed in PubMed are usually available via Library Search, publisher websites or library interlibrary loan.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- Disability & societyDisability & Society is an international disability studies journal providing a focus for debate about such issues as human rights, discrimination, definitions, policy and practices. It appears against a background of constant change in the ways in which disability is viewed and responded to.
The journal publishes articles that represent a wide range of perspectives including the importance of the voices of disabled people. - Disability and Health JournalDisability and Health Journal is a scientific, scholarly, and multidisciplinary journal for reporting original contributions that advance knowledge in disability and health. Topics may be related to global health, quality of life, and specific health conditions as they relate to disability.
- Disability Studies QuarterlyCommitted to developing theoretical & practical knowledge about disability & to promoting the full & equal participation of persons with disabilities in society.
- Human Rights QuarterlyHuman Rights Quarterly (HRQ) is widely recognized as the leader in the field of human rights. For over 40 years, HRQ has published articles by experts from around the world writing for the specialist and non-specialist alike. The Quarterly provides up-to-date information on important developments within the United Nations and regional human rights organizations, both governmental and non-governmental. It presents current work in human rights research and policy analysis, reviews of related books, and philosophical essays probing the fundamental nature of human rights as defined by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
- The international journal of human rightsThe International Journal of Human Rights covers an exceptionally broad spectrum of human rights issues: human rights and the law, race, religion, gender, children, class, refugees and immigration. In addition to these general areas, the journal publishes articles and reports on the human rights aspects of: genocide, torture, capital punishment and the laws of war and war crimes.
- The International Journal of Inclusive EducationThe International Journal of Inclusive Education provides a strategic forum for international and multi-disciplinary dialogue on inclusive education for all educators and educational policy-makers concerned with the form and nature of schools, universities and technical colleges.
- Research and practice in intellectual and developmental disabilitiesResearch and Practice in Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities’s ( RAPIDD's) purpose is to disseminate research, encourage its translation and relevance to practice and policy, and generate informed debate on contemporary issues that matter to the quality of life of people with intellectual disability and their families. Research and Practice in Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities will inform the design and delivery of support that is important for people with intellectual disability and their families to facilitate social inclusion and engagement. Its focus is also the practices and structural adjustments necessary to enable mainstream services and communities to be inclusive and respond appropriately to people with intellectual disability.
- Sexuality and disabilityPresents clinical and research progress developments in the area of sexuality as it relates to a wide range of physical and mental illness and disabling conditions.
- Social InclusionProvides academics and policy-makers with a forum to discuss and promote a more socially inclusive society.
Ableism: the Causes and Consequences of Disability Prejudice by ISBN: 9781119142140Publication Date: 2019-08-30The first comprehensive volume to integrate social-scientific literature on the origins and manifestations of prejudice against disabled people Ableism, prejudice against disabled people stereotyped as incompetent and dependent, can elicit a range of reactions that include fear, contempt, pity, and inspiration. Current literature-often narrowly focused on a specific aspect of the subject or limited in scope to psychoanalytic tradition-fails to examine the many origins and manifestations of ableism. Filling a significant gap in the field, Ableism: The Causes and Consequences of Disability Prejudice is the first work to synthesize classic and contemporary studies on the evolutionary, ideological, and cognitive-emotional sources of ableism.
Addressing Ableism: Philosophical Questions Via Disability Studies by Publication Date: 2018Addressing Ableism is a set of philosophical meditations outlining the scale and scope of ableism. By explicating concepts like experience, diagnosis, precariousness, and prosthesis, Scuro maps out the institutionalized and intergenerational forms of this bias as it is analogous and yet also distinct from other kinds of dehumanization, discrimination, and oppression.
Contours of Ableism by ISBN: 9780230245181Challenging notions of what constitutes 'normal' and 'pathological' bodies, this ambitious, agenda-setting study theoretically reinvigorates disability studies by reconceptualising it as 'studies of ableism' focusing on the practices and formations of able-bodiedness to uncover what it means to be 'able' rather than 'disabled'.- Crip Theory: Cultural Signs of Queerness and Disability byISBN: 9780814759868Publication Date: 2006-06-01Crip Theory attends to the contemporary cultures of disability and queerness that are coming out all over. Both disability studies and queer theory are centrally concerned with how bodies, pleasures, and identities are represented as OC normalOCO or as abject, but Crip Theory is the first book to analyze thoroughly the ways in which these interdisciplinary fields inform each other. Drawing on feminist theory, African American and Latino/a cultural theories, composition studies, film and television studies, and theories of globalization and counter-globalization, Robert McRuer articulates the central concerns of crip theory and considers how such a critical perspective might impact cultural and historical inquiry in the humanities.
Critical Readings in Interdisciplinary Disability Studies by ISBN: 9783030353070Publication Date: 2020-03-14This edited volume includes chapters on disability studies organized around three themes: Theory, Philosophy and Critique. Informed by a range of scholars who may or may not fashion their work beneath the banner of disability studies in explicit terms, it draws connections across a range of identities, knowledges, histories, and struggles that may, on the face of the text seem unrelated. The chapters are cross-categorical and interdisciplinary for purposes of complicating disability studies across international contexts and multiple locations that consider practice-oriented and intersectional approaches for analysis and advocacy. This integrative approach heralds more powerful ways to imagine disability and the conversation on disability.
The Development of Disability Rights under International Law by ISBN: 9780415524513Publication Date: 2014-12-17Focusing on the United States and countries in Africa, Europe and the Middle East, this book critically examines the status of the rights of people with disabilities under international law prior to the adoption of the Convention of the Rights of People with Disabilities (CRPD), through the CRPD drafting process, and since the CRPD’s ratification by most countries in the world. Arlene Kanter argues that by articulating new human rights (such as the right to live in the community, accommodations and support) as well as new interpretations of existing human rights (such as liberty, security, integrity, access to justice, and freedom from torture and ill-treatment), the CRPD is significant not only for people with disabilities but for the general development of international human rights law.- Disability: The Basics byISBN: 1315624834Publication Date: 2017-08-14An engaging and accessible introduction to disability which explores the broad historical, social, environmental, economic and legal factors which affect the experiences of those living with an impairment or illness in contemporary society. The book explores key introductory topics including: the diversity of the disability experience; disability rights and advocacy; ways in which disabled people have been treated throughout history and in different parts of the world; the daily realities of living with an impairment or illness; health, education, employment and other services that exist to support and include disabled people; ethical issues at the beginning and end of life. Disability: The Basics aims to provide readers with an understanding of the lived experiences of disabled people and highlight the continuing gaps and barriers in social responses to the challenge of disability.
Disability and Social Theory New Developments and Directions by ISBN: 9786613657190Publication Date: 2012This comprehensive, interdisciplinary collection, examines disability from a theoretical perspective, challenging views of disability that dominate mainstream thinking. Throughout, social theories of disability intersect with ideas associated with sex/gender, race/ethnicity, class and nation.
Disability in the Global South by ISBN: 9783319424866Publication Date: 2016-11-17This first-of-its kind volume spans the breadth of disability research and practice specifically focusing on the global South. Established and emerging scholars alongside advocates adopt a critical and interdisciplinary stance to probe, challenge and shift common held social understandings of disability in established discourses, epistemologies and practices, including those in prominent areas such as global health, disability studies and international development.
Disability Rights and Wrongs Revisited by ISBN: 9780415527613Publication Date: 2013-11-18Over the last forty years, the field of disability studies has emerged from the political activism of disabled people. In this challenging review of the field, leading disability academic and activist Tom Shakespeare argues that disability research needs a firmer conceptual and empirical footing. This new edition is updated throughout, reflecting Shakespeare's most recent thinking, drawing on current research, and responding to controversies surrounding the first edition and the World Report on Disability, as well as incorporating new chapters on cultural disability studies, personal assistance, sexuality, and violence. Using a critical realist approach, Disability Rights and Wrongs Revisited promotes a pluralist, engaged and nuanced approach to disability.
Disability Studies: An Interdisciplinary Introduction by Call Number: HV1568.2 .G665 2017ISBN: 9781446280683Publication Date: 2016-12-14Passionate, engaging and challenging, this second edition of the ground-breaking Disability Studies: An Interdisciplinary Introduction is a contemporary introduction to this diverse and complex field. Taking an interdisciplinary and critical approach, the book: examines a diverse range of theories and perspectives and engages with current debates in the field explores key areas of analysis, with chapters devoted to the individual, society, community and education applies a global perspective encompassing examples from the UK, Australia, Scandinavia, the US, and Canada. Encouraging and stimulating readers using thought-provoking questions, exercises and activities, Disability Studies is a rich and rewarding read for students and researchers engaging with disability across the social sciences.- Disability Studies: Educating for Inclusion byISBN: 9789463001977Publication Date: 2015-01-01ducation systems worldwide will only successfully serve the needs of people with disability when we inclusively examine and address disabling issues that currently exist at school level education as well as further and higher education and beyond. The chapters contributing to this edited volume are presented to assist readers with a critical examination of contemporary practice and offer a concerted response to improving inclusive education. The chapters address a range of important topics related to the field of critical disability studies in education and include sections dedicated to Schools, Higher Education, Family and Community and Theorising.
- Disability Visibility: First-Person Stories from the Twenty-First Century byISBN: 9781984899422Publication Date: 2020-06-30One in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some disabilities are visible, others less apparent-but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Activist Alice Wong brings together this urgent, galvanizing collection of contemporary essays by disabled people, just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act. From Harriet McBryde Johnson's account of her debate with Peter Singer over her own personhood to original pieces by authors like Keah Brown and Haben Girma; from blog posts, manifestos, and eulogies to Congressional testimonies, and beyond- this anthology gives a glimpse into the rich complexity of the disabled experience, highlighting the passions, talents, and everyday lives of this community. It invites readers to question their own understandings. It celebrates and documents disability culture in the now. It looks to the future and the past with hope and love.
Global Perspectives on Disability Activism and Advocacy by ISBN: 9780815376491Publication Date: 2019-08-29This book explores the diverse ways in which disability activism and advocacy are experienced and practised by people with disabilities and their allies. Contributors to the book explore the very different strategies and campaigns they have used to have their demands for respect, dignity and rights heard and acted upon by their communities, by national governments and the international community. The book, with its contemporary global focus, makes a significant contribution to the field of disability and social justice studies, particularly at a time of major social, political and cultural upheaval. Global Perspectives on Disability Activism and Advocacy offers a significant intervention within the field of disability at a time of major social upheaval where actors, advocates and activists are seeking to hold onto existing claims for rights, equality and disability justice.- Handbook of Disability: Critical Thought and Social Change in a Globalizing World byISBN: 9811612781This important reference work maps the terrain of disability across the world by providing an overview of issues, concerns and developments in the domains of society, culture, medicine, law, policy, justice, education, economics, and science and technology. It is a truly inclusive volume bringing together perspectives from researchers, activists, professionals, service providers, international development experts and policymakers based in the global North and South, and it particularly focuses on the voices of the principal stakeholders---disabled persons themselves.
Inclusive Education Isn't Dead, It Just Smells Funny by ISBN: 9780429944246Publication Date: 2018-05-15Positing inclusive education as a cornerstone of democracy, social equality and effective education, this unique book offers a timely response to the recent conservative backlash which has dismissed inclusive education as a field of research and practice which has become outdated and unfit for purpose. With profound insight and clarity, Slee delves deep into the architecture of modern-day schooling to show how inclusive education has been misappropriated and subverted, manifesting itself in a culture of ableism, an ethic of competitive individualism and the illusion of special educational needs. A unique book in both form and content, the author draws on music and art theory, on real-life observations and global experience, contemporary education policy and practice to reject calls for a return to segregated schooling, and put forward a compelling counterargument for schooling which models the kind of world we want our children to live in - a world of authentic, rather than divided communities.
Inclusive sustainability: Harmonising disability law and policy by ISBN: 9789811907821Provides a detailed and comprehensive human rights analysis of all key areas of laws affecting people with disabilities.
Addresses the multifaceted challenges in protecting human rights in for all inclusive disabled people; legal, political, economic, social issues.
Applies a human rights lens to the existing mechanisms within disability laws protecting the rights of people with disabilities.
Manifestos for the Future of Critical Disability Studies (Vol. 1) by ISBN: 1351053345Publication Date: 2018-10-03This collection identifies the key tensions and conflicts being debated within the field of critical disability studies and provides both an outline of the field in its current form and offers manifestos for its future direction. Traversing a number of disciplines from science and technology studies to maternal studies, the collection offers a transdisciplinary vision for the future of critical disability studies. Some common thematic concerns emerge across the book such as digital futures, the usefulness of anger, creativity, family as disability allies, intersectionality, ethics, eugenics, accessibility and interdisciplinarity. However, the contributors who write as either disabled people or allies do not proceed from a singular approach to disability, often reflecting different or even opposing positions on these issues.
Relational and Responsive Inclusion by ISBN: 9781433128493Publication Date: 2015-07-24Socially unjust circumstances continue to perpetuate inadequate classroom, school and system-level responses to longstanding social justice imperatives, shutting out power-sharing solutions to educational disparities and marginalizing populations of Indigenous and minoritized peoples. To address these educational disparities, this book proposes a relational and culturally responsive framework, from within a critical and indigenous paradigm that is designed to foster one's sense of becoming and belonging in the world with all people, and thus promotes inclusion.
Research Handbook on Disability Policy by ISBN: 9781800373648Publication Date: 2023-06-13Examining how policy affects the human rights of people with disabilities, this topical Handbook presents diverse empirical experiences of disability policy and identifies the changes that are necessary to achieve social justice. Expansive in scope, the Handbook illustrates how language, law and concepts about human rights impact the way that disability policy is framed and implemented. Chapters use the lenses of human rights, welfare, health and economic inclusion to address contemporary policy questions such as globalisation and technology. Grounded in lived experiences, the Handbook interweaves personal narratives from people with disabilities which provide important insights into how policy impacts opportunity and point to future possibilities for the influence of human rights on policy change. Informed by international, comparative experiences, this Handbook will be an engaging and perceptive resource for students and scholars of sociology and social policy, health and welfare studies and disability policy.
Rethinking Disability by ISBN: 9789044134179Publication Date: 2016-06-22In this book, readers are presented with a system of thinking that considers the values of disability, as a resource, as a creative source of culture that moves disability out of the realm of victimized people and insurmountable barriers, and provides opportunities to use the experience of disability to enter into networks that recognize strengths of differing abilities. This book is intended for all audiences who dare to confront difference and sameness within themselves and in connection with others; to inspire researchers who wish to explore, and examine disability across social, cultural and economic barriers. It is an invitation to push away the barriers, bring ableism inside to a place where the prosthesis is no longer the elephant in the room.
The Routledge Handbook of Disability Activism by ISBN: 1351165070Publication Date: 2019-10-28The onslaught of neoliberalism, austerity measures and cuts, impact of climate change, protracted conflicts and ongoing refugee crisis, rise of far right and populist movements have all negatively impacted on disability. Yet, disabled people and their allies are fighting back and we urgently need to understand how, where and what they are doing, what they feel their challenges are and what their future needs will be. This comprehensive handbook emphasizes the importance of everyday disability activism and how activists across the world bring together a wide range of activism tactics and strategies. It also challenges the activist movements, transnational and emancipatory politics, as well as providing future directions for disability activism.
Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies by ISBN: 9780429430817Publication Date: 2019-10-21This fully revised and expanded second edition of the Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies takes a multidisciplinary approach to disability and provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of the main issues in the field around the world today. Adopting an international perspective and arranged thematically, it surveys the state of the discipline, examining emerging and cutting-edge areas as well as core areas of contention. Divided in five parts, this comprehensive handbook covers: Different models and approaches to disability. How key impairment groups have engaged with disability studies and the writings within the discipline. Policy and legislation responses to disability studies and to disability activism. Disability studies and its interaction with other disciplines, such as history, philosophy, sport, and science and technology studies. Disability studies and different life experiences, examining how disability and disability studies intersects with ethnicity, sexuality, gender, childhood and ageing. Containing 15 revised chapters and 12 new chapters from an international selection of leading scholars, this authoritative handbook is an invaluable reference for all academics, researchers, and more advanced students in disability studies and associated disciplines such as sociology, health studies and social work.
The United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities: A Commentary by ISBN: 3319437909Publication Date: 2017This Commentary provides the first comprehensive legal article-by-article analysis of the provisions of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD). The Convention is the key international human rights instrument exclusively devoted to persons with disabilities and the centerpiece of international efforts to address inequalities and barriers they encounter to the full enjoyment of human rights. The book discusses the Convention’s position within existing international human rights law and within the framework of the United Nations measures to protect the rights of people with disabilities.- Youth and Disability: A Challenge to Mr Reasonable byISBN: 9781315546001Publication Date: 2016-02-11In this ground-breaking book, Jenny Slater uses the lens of 'the reasonable' to explore how normative understandings of youth, dis/ability and the intersecting identities of gender and sexuality impact upon the lives of young dis/abled people. Although youth and disability have separately been thought within socio-cultural frameworks, rarely have sociological studies of 'youth' and 'disability' been brought together. By taking an interdisciplinary, critical disability studies approach to explore the socio-cultural concepts of 'youth' and 'disability' alongside one-another, Slater convincingly demonstrates that 'youth' and 'disability' have been conceptualised within medical/psychological frameworks for too long. With chapters focusing on access and youth culture, independence, autonomy and disabled people's movements, and the body, gender and sexuality, this volume's intersectional and transdisciplinary engagement with social theory offers a significant contribution to existing theoretical and empirical literature and knowledges around disability and youth. Indeed, through highlighting the ableism of adulthood and the falsity of conceptualising youth as a time of becoming-independent-adult, the need to shift approaches to research around dis/abled youth is one of the main themes of the book. This book therefore is a provocation to rethink what is implicit about 'youth' and 'disability'. Moreover, through such an endeavour, this book sits as a challenge to Mr Reasonable.
- The Centre for Disability Studies (University of Leeds)The Centre for Disability Studies (CDS) is well-known for its work in the area of the sociology of disability, disability politics and policy, disability law and human rights, inclusive design (transport systems and assistive technologies) and Deaf Studies. Members are united by their commitment to carrying out research and teaching that helps to achieve equality and social justice for disabled people, globally.
- Disability Rights InternationalDisability Rights International is dedicated to promoting the human rights and full participation in society of people with disabilities worldwide.
- Global Disability Innovation HubGDI Hub is a research and practice centre driving disability innovation for a fairer world.
Disability innovation is part of a bigger movement for disability justice, which must disrupt current ideas and practice to create new possibilities - Health & Disability CommissionerThe Health and Disability Commissioner promotes the rights of all people in New Zealand who use health and disability services.
- International Disability AllianceInternational Disability Alliance consists of 14 global and regional organisations of persons with disabilities. They advocate at the United Nations for a more inclusive global environment for everyone.
- New Zealand Disability Support NetworkNew Zealand Disability Support Network (NZDSN) is an incorporated society of member organisations which provide support to disabled people.
- Stats NZ: DisabilityDisability statistics give you information about disabled people living in New Zealand.
- United Nations Disability Statistics ProgrammeThe United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD), through it Disability Statistics Programme, is responsible for the development of statistical methodological standards for disability measurement, the compilation and dissemination of national data based on official statistics, and for providing technical assistance to countries to build their statistical capacity in the area of disability statistics.
- Wellcome Collection - StoriesWellcome Collection is a free museum and library that aims to challenge how we all think and feel about health. They tell stories about health and human experience. A search for the keyword disability results in many stories that provoke new thinking and share lived experiences.
- Whaikaha - Ministry of Disabled People (New Zealand)Whaikaha - Ministry of Disabled People was established to work in partnership with the disability community, Māori and Government for a better, more independent future for disabled people and whānau in Aotearoa New Zealand.