Library Search
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new window
The American Chemical Society is a leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences. Access to full-text is available for ACS journals from date of first publication.
- Gale Interactive: Chemistry This link opens in a new window
A versatile tool suited for educational institutions, academic research, and self-paced learning, offering an immersive and interactive platform for understanding and exploring various facets of chemistry.
- Ovid MEDLINE® This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE® is the leading bibliographic source for biomedical scholarly literature and research, providing access to a vast array of medical literature, including articles on clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, and public health. Indexes approximately 5,600 journals.
- ProQuest Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Science, Sports Medicine & Education Index, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Science & Technology, ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology and ProQuest Telecommunications. These databases provide access to content ranging from health and physical education, sports medicine, dance and physical therapy as well as vocational information focused on science and technology.
- PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem Structure Search allows the PubChem Compound Database to be to be queried by chemical structure or chemical structure pattern. The PubChem Sketcher allows a query to be drawn manually. Users may also specify the structural query input by PubChem Compound Identifier (CID), SMILES, SMARTS, InChI, Molecular Formula, or by upload of a supported structure file format.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
The PubMed platform contains MEDLINE, PubMed Central, and additional PubMed records, and indexes journal articles and more back to 1947. It covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, preclinical sciences, and related areas. It is developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), both at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the US. As of December 2020, PubMed contains over 30 million records. Links to full text content of items indexed in PubMed are usually available via Library Search, publisher websites or library interlibrary loan.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) publishes over 50 peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 3500 journals primarily in the Sciences, but also including Business, Education, Linguistics, Management, Sociology, etc.
- SciFinderN This link opens in a new window
SciFinderN, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is the most comprehensive database for chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number. It is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines. New features include PatentPak (patent documents in PDF format), MethodsNow Synthesis (synthetic protocols) and Retrosynthesis Planning (computer-aided synthetic design tool).
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Link is a platform for books, journals, and reference works published by Springer, a major publisher of scientific, technological and medical books and journals. Also includes materials in business & management, economics, mathematics, education, law, humanities and social sciences.
Tips for Library Search:
"Sign in" to Library Search to request a copy if book is only available as a print version.
Enter one or two keywords in the field of chemistry you are interested and filter your results.
Ask a Librarian if you would like help with your research.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. 97th ed. by Publication Date: 2017The 97th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry. 2nd. ed., 2005.Covers the following subject areas:
Main Group Elements; Transition Metals and Coordination Chemistry; Organometallic Chemistry; Bioinorganic Chemistry; Solid State, Materials, Nanomaterials and Catalysis; and General Inorganic Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Methods.
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry. 2000The highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry provides a much needed professional level reference work for the 21st Century. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry is the most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available, covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through applications and techniques. The chemistry and techniques are described as performed in the laboratory (environmental, clinical, QC, research, university), in the field or by remote sensing. The level of detail is similar to that of a lab protocol and together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by academic and industrial researchers. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry also enables preparation of procedures, protocols and "cookbooks" by managers and staff of laboratories. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry comprises over 600 articles, arranged alphabetically by topic, in approximately 14000 pages, in 15 volumes. Features: * Outstanding authorship and the highest calibre editors * Excellence of peer-review * Article Summaries * Over 6500 illustrations, many in colour * Extensive cross-referencing to facilitate navigation between articles * Extensive bibliographies with up-to-date references Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry is the essential cross-disciplinary reference work for all analytical chemists in academia and industry. All fields of chemical research are covered: analytical, organic, physical, polymer, inorganic biomedical, environmental, pharmaceutical, industrial, petroleum, forensics and food science.
- Explore the Chemical Elements Through This Periodic TableThe periodic table with links to information about chemical elements and compounds.
- The Jackson Laboratory (JAX)The Jackson Laboratory (JAX) is an independent, nonprofit biomedical research organization that leverages a unique combination of research, education and resources.
- New Zealand Society for Biochemistry and Molecular BiologyThe NZSBM aims to advance the science of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in NZ, facilitating research and education, and interfacing with business and the community.
- On This Day in ChemistryFrom the Royal Society of Chemistry (U.K.)
- Royal Society of ChemistrySearch the whole site or look at the tab for Journals, books & databases.
Includes A-Z list of resources and tools. - Science New ZealandScience New Zealand is the peak body for the government-owned Crown Research Institutes.
It provides a forum for its members to share views, contribute to policy on public discussions and take action on matters of shared interest. - Sheffield ChemputerInteractive chemistry calculators
Help Guides for databases
- CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform
Here, you will find training videos for SciFinder, CAS Analytical Methods and CAS Formulas