Library Search
Mātauranga Māori
- BWB: Te Pouhere Kōrero Collection This link opens in a new window
The ten volumes of Te Pouhere Kōrero: Māori History, Māori People explore the rich narratives of Māori and indigenous history. Covering a wide range of topics, the collection provides a valuable resource for research on the history and culture of Aotearoa New Zealand. This peer-reviewed journal seeks to disseminate and promote Māori mātauranga and perspectives on history to wider audiences.
- BWB: The New Zealand History Collection This link opens in a new window
A full-text searchable online collection of high quality New Zealand non-fiction titles. Authors include James Belich, Judith Binney, Aroha Harris, Kuni Kaa Jenkins, Alison Jones, Michael King, Claudia Orange, Tipene O'Regan, Anne Salmond, Angela Wanhalla, Albert Wendt.
- BWB Texts Collection This link opens in a new window
BWB Texts are short books by New Zealand writers. They are succinct narratives spanning contemporary issues, memoir, history and science, with new works published regularly.
- DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window
Explore over 34 million open access digital items from more than 200 partners throughout New Zealand, such as libraries, museums, galleries, government departments, the media, and community. Browse by item type, copyright usage conditions, content partner, and other filters.
- DigitalPasifik This link opens in a new window
A large public digital collection containing digital images, artworks, audio files, videos, and ebooks that can be browsed by Island, including smaller Pacific Islands such as Yap, Kosrae, and Tokelau. Users can discuss content in contribution to Indigenous research methodology. Part of the Pacific Virtual Museum Project and implemented by Te Puna Mātauranga: The National Library of New Zealand in collaboration with the National Library of Australia.
- Early New Zealand Books This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic versions of significant New Zealand books originally published in the nineteenth century. Provided by the University of Auckland.
- ETV This link opens in a new window
ETV is the largest online video platform for educators in New Zealand with over 150,000 videos recorded or live from over 55 freeview, international and SKY channels.
- Informit A+ Education This link opens in a new window
An indexing and full-text database, containing in-depth coverage of the learning, teaching and management issues facing all teaching professionals. Contributions come from leading researchers in teacher training and include articles on policy, curriculum and pedagogical developments. Created in partnership with the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- Learning Ground: Indigenous Education Research Database This link opens in a new window
The latest publications focusing on Indigenous education, spanning early childhood, post-school education, adult learning, encompassing areas such as cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, wellbeing, identity and oral language.
- Māori Niupepa Project This link opens in a new window
A collection of historic newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1932.
- National Library of New Zealand / Te Puna Mātauranga O Aotearoa This link opens in a new window
Choose from a number of databases including Index New Zealand (abstracts articles from selected NZ journals and newspapers) and Te Puna Search (Search across all NZ Library catalogues and beyond).
- Papers Past This link opens in a new window
Papers Past contains more than seven million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers, periodicals, letters and diaries, and parliamentary papers. Includes publications from all regions of New Zealand plus some Pacific content.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes over 380 journals from over 70 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest platform combines a number of products and databases, which, when searched together, provides information on all subject areas. Includes ProQuest Central, Ebook Central, Sociological Abstracts, Sports Medicine & Education Index, and more.
- A to Js Online This link opens in a new window
The Appendices to the Journals of the House of Representatives (AJHR), sometimes known as "the A to Js", are a collection of government-related reports published every year from 1858. The reports cover many subjects, documenting the work of government departments and a wide range of other activities carried out by, or of interest to, the government of the day.
- AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous PeoplesAlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples is an internationally peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal launched in 2005 by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga, New Zealand’s Māori Centre of Research Excellence, based at the University of Auckland in Aotearoa New Zealand. AlterNative presents scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world. It publishes articles in English but also welcomes submissions in Indigenous languages, as well as ones that have been previously published in an Indigenous language and are translated into English.
- He Pukenga KōreroA journal of Māori studies published by Massey University (1995-2012).
- He Puna Kōrero: Journal of Māori and Pacific DevelopmentPublished by The University of Waikato (2001-2010), He Puna Kōrero: Journal of Māori and Pacific Development publishes papers in all areas of Māori and Pacific Development, including research reports on the political, social, cultural, linguistic and educational development of Māori and Pacific peoples. The aim of the journal is to provide a forum for writers expressing their views on Māori and Pacific development and to represent matters of concern in the development of Māori and Indigenous development. The journal also includes short creative works such as songs and poems as well as book reviews and notification of conferences and meetings.
- Journal of New Zealand & Pacific StudiesA trans-disciplinary publication focusing on the range of issues and subjects which are relevant to New Zealand and Pacific studies, with a priority for the latter given to Polynesia and the South Pacific.
- The Journal of New Zealand StudiesThe Journal of New Zealand Studies is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal published by the Stout Research Centre for New Zealand Studies. From 2014 onwards the JNZS will be published on-line twice a year, in June and December. Prospective articles are welcome from any discipline. They should have a New Zealand focus or be comparative with a strong New Zealand element.
- MAI JournalMAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles around Indigenous knowledge and development in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand. Launched in 2012, MAI Journal evolved from MAI Review and complements AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples, which is also published by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga. MAI Journal is also supported by MASS: the Māori Association of Social Science.
- MAI ReviewMAI Review was the journal of the former Capability Building programme of Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga. Published from 2006 until 2011, all MAI Review content is still freely available online. To access this content, visit the MAI Review website.
- New Zealand Journal of HistoryThe New Zealand Journal of History publishes scholarly peer-reviewed articles, book reviews and other media reviews, spanning all aspects of the history of New Zealand Aotearoa, including social, cultural, economic and political history.
- Te Kaharoa: The Journal on Indigenous Pacific IssuesTe Kaharoa is an open access and peer reviewed journal dedicated to promoting Māori and Indigenous scholars, artists, filmmakers, and creative writers. Curated by students and staff of Te Ara Poutama at Auckland University of Technology, Te Kaharoa publishes writings in Te Reo Māori and English. The journal includes, but is not limited to, articles, reflections, commentaries, creative works, film and book reviews, and digital and sound recordings of Indigenous communities from Aotearoa, Te Moana-nui-a-Kiwa, and the world.
- Waka Kuaka : The Journal of the Polynesian Society'The Journal of the Polynesian Society' has been renamed as 'Waka Kuaka: The Journal of the Polynesian Society', heralding a new direction for the journal metaphorically reimagined as the waka kuaka 'godwit on the wing' traversing the Pacific. These new directions are explored here within this vision of the waka kuaka as a bird that symbolises collective vision and purpose. The authors, as members of the Council of the Polynesian Society including the editor of the journal, reflect on the history of the journal and discuss what this change means going forward, finally calling on scholars in and of the Pacific to fly with us as part of this new journey.
- Waikato Journal of Education: Te Hautaka Mātauranga o WaikatoThe Waikato Journal of Education is a well-regarded peer-reviewed journal. Since the first publication in 1995, the journal has made a major contribution to the scholarship on a wide range of topics in the field of education, particularly issues connected to curriculum, learning and teaching. Papers have included reports on educational research and practice and viewpoints on education policies, theories and practices. Issues often have a special focus.
Enhancing mātauranga Māori and global Indigenous knowledge by Call Number: HT1595 .M3E53 2014ISBN: 9781877444937Publication Date: 2014- Conversations on mātauranga Māori by ISBN: 9781877444975Publication Date: 2012This poutāhū kōrero (main speaking pillar) Conversations On Mātauranga Māori spans a range of topics born from within the last two to three decades of Māori advancement in social, cultural, educational and economic development. The conversations and ideas contained within this document bring together an intellectual exchange, a Māori rationale, and the synergies of models to advance our thinking about mātauranga Māor
Te Koparapara by Call Number: DU423.S63 K56 2018ISBN: 9781869408671Publication Date: 2018-10-10Ka rite te kopara e ko nei i te ata It is like a bellbird singing at dawn. Like the clear morning song of te koparapara, the bellbird, this book aims to allow the Māori world to speak for itself through an accessible introduction to Māori culture, history and society from an Indigenous perspective
Nga Kete Matauranga by Call Number: DU423.I58 K47 2021ISBN: 9781988592558Publication Date: 2021-05-28In this beautiful and transformative book, 24 Maori academics share their personal journeys, revealing what being Maori has meant for them in their work. Their perspectives provide insight for all New Zealanders into how mātauranga is positively influencing the Western-dominated disciplines of knowledge in the research sector. Tertiary institutions have for the most part been hostile places for Indigenous students and staff, and this book is an important call for action.
Nga Kahui Pou by ISBN: 1775500519Publication Date: 2013-08-26By 2051 the ethnic Maori population will almost double in size to close to a million, or twenty-two percent of the total New Zealand population. Even more dramatically, by 2051 thirty-three percent of all children in the country will be Maori ...' This substantial change in our society will have major implications for Maori and wider society. Professor Durie discusses traditions and customs and addresses contemporary needs in order to build development strategies for the launch of the Maori population into the new millennium.
An Indigenous ocean: Pacific essays by ISBN: 9781991033604Publication Date: 2023Spanning a wide range of topics, from race and migration to Pacific studies and empire, these essays demonstrate Salesa’s remarkable scholarship. Bridging the gap between academic disciplines and cultural traditions, Salesa locates Pacific peoples always at the centre of their stories. An Indigenous Ocean is a pivotal contribution to understanding the history and culture of Oceania.
Nuku: Stories of 100 Indigenous women by Call Number: HQ1161 .M37 2021ISBN: 9780473584313Publication Date: 2021
Decolonisation in Aotearoa: Education, research and practice by Call Number: LC3501.M3 D43 2016ISBN: 0947509178Publication Date: 2016The book presents a kaupapa Māori and decolonised agenda for Māori education ... divided into three sections: Māori in education, Māori in research and Māori in practice.
State of the Maori Nation by Call Number: DU412 .S8792 2006ISBN: 0790010429Publication Date: 2006-01-01Dealing with a diverse range of issues that affect Maori living in modern-day New Zealand, State of the Maori Nation is a collection of 22 short and informative essays drawn from Maori commentators, historians, teachers, researchers and academics working across the country in all manner of industries. This is a book with something for everyone.
Ki te whaiao by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU423 .A1K46 2004ISBN: 0582545722Publication Date: 2004-01-01Ki te Whaiao: An Introduction to Māori Culture and Society, has been arranged in two parts Part one is called Te Ao Māori (The Māori World) and examines a series of topics encompassing tribal histories about the creation,important cultural concepts, the migration journeys to Aotearoa, the origins of the Māori language, cultural traditions and practices, leadership and Māori performing and fine arts. Part two, Ngā Ao e Rua (The Two Worlds) examines early contact between Māori and Pākehā, the Treaty and related issues, religion, sovereignty, education and literature, and ends with a chapter on the Pacific peoples in Aotearoa/New Zealand.
Te Kai a te Rangatira: Leadership from the Māori world by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; HM1261 .K27 2020ISBN: 9781988587738Publication Date: 2020Represents the collective effort of over thirty rangatahi who interviewed more than one hundred Māori spanning the length and breadth of Aotearoa ... it explores the origins and values of Māori leadership, as well as the life experiences that nurture rangatira across different rohe, iwi and hapū.
- Indigenous knowledge, methodology and mayhem: What is the role of methodology in producing Indigenous insights? A discussion from Mātauranga Māori byPublication Date: 2016This article raises some discussion about ‘research methodologies’ being used when discussing mātauranga Māori and Indigenous knowledge (hereafter referred to as IK mātauranga). his article speaks to a gnawing sense that mayhem is at play, as the academic work around IK mātauranga begins to consolidate and become institutionalised away from its indigenous communities and contexts, where it began and where it still informs identities, ways of living and being.
- Mātauranga Māori: The ūkaipō of knowledge in New Zealand byPublication Date: 2017
- Politics and knowledge: Kaupapa Māori and mātauranga Māori byCall Number: Storage Level 1 ; L91.N575Publication Date: 2012
- Visualising Mātauranga Māori for iwi outcomes byPublication Date: 2020
- Te Kotahi Research InstituteTe Kotahi Research Institute of the University of Waikato delivers research and innovations that contribute to the aspirations of iwi, Māori, and Indigenous communities. Te Kotahi focuses on developing interdisciplinary solutions to complex challenges, supporting the integration of mātauranga Māori, and enabling Indigenous control of Indigenous data.
- Te Kai a te Rangatira: VideosTe Kai a te Rangatira represents the collective efforts of more than forty rangatahi volunteers that have devoted time to capture the insights, experiences and knowledge of Māori who have committed their lives to advance others. Our collective vision is that this kaupapa will help inform how this generation and beyond think about Māori 'leadership' and draw inspiration from this work to inform how rangatahi might make a positive contribution to the wellbeing of our people and wider society.
- Ngā Taonga Sound & VisionThe audiovisual archive of Aotearoa New Zealand.
Tikanga
Tikanga Maori: Living by Māori values by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; GN667.5 .M43 2016ISBN: 9781775502227Publication Date: 2016Revised edition. Here is an authoritative and accessible introduction to tikanga Maori. It is essential reading for all who seek to understand the correct Maori ways of doing things as they were in the past, as they are in the present--and as they may yet be.
Colonising myths, Māori realities: He rukuruku whakaaro by Call Number: KUQ519 .I64M55 2011ISBN: 9781869694531Publication Date: 2013-01-31This book brings together a series of papers that reflects on the effect of Pākehā law, legal processes, and teaching on Māori legal thought and practice.- The balance destroyed by Call Number: Mātangireia Reference Level 4 ; HQ1865.5 .M56 2017Publication Date: 2017This publication was first submitted as a Masters thesis in 1995; and published in 2003 by the International Research Institute for Māori and Indigenous Education as part of the Mana Wahine Monograph Series. This revised edition includes a new preface and is complemented by the artwork of Robyn Kahukiwa.
Tikanga whakaaro by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; GN667.5 .B37 2015ISBN: 9780195582123Publication Date: 1991-05-16Important concepts in Maori culture are defined and discussed in short essay-style definitions in both English and Maori. The traditional knowledge of the ware wananga (school of learning) is drawn upon, and modern usage of Maori language is also described.
- First laws: Tikanga Māori in/and the law byPublication Date: 2018This address is the 10th Shirley Smith Memorial Lecture given in Wellington on 18 October 2017. It considers the possibility for the enhanced role of first laws, the laws of Indigenous peoples, within contemporary settler legal systems
- Ko Tikanga Te Mātāmua: Ngā pūrākau, ngā pakiwaitara, me mihi, ka tika. byPublication Date: 2021This study highlights pūrākau and pakiwaitara as legal precedents that can bring Tikanga to life in unique ways. Using Kaupapa Māori and Mana Tāne methodologies, I address two problems within a larger project towards further normalising Tikanga within the legal system and legal education.
- The meaning of mana byCall Number: Journals Level 3 ; G1.N567Publication Date: 1990There are more cautionary notes in Maoridom dealing with mana than you could shake the proverbial stick at. It is a source of both personal and collective strength, pride and identity. Mishandled, it becomes the bearer of shame, ridicule and embarrassment. If mana allows us to walk tall, then it also casts a long shadow
- Tangihanga: The ultimate form of Māori cultural expression - overview of a research programme byPublication Date: 2010Death, observed through the process of tangihanga (time set aside to grieve and mourn, rites for the dead) or tangi (to grieve and mourn), is the ultimate form of Māori cultural expression. This volatile subject nevertheless demands careful and comprehensive scrutiny in order to extend and enrich the knowledge base, reveal the logic that guides ritual, inform the wider New Zealand community and, more importantly, support the cultural, social, ritual, economic and decision making processes of bereaved whānau (family, including extended family), people affiliated with marae (communal meeting complex) and iwi (tribe, tribal).
- Cloaked in life and death: Korowai, kaitiaki and tangihanga byPublication Date: 2012Explores the juncture between the authors' kaitiaki and their revered taonga tuku iho, in particular, the unique and rare korowai, Māori cloaks used in tangihanga, or death rituals. Considers aspects of their origins, ownership, safekeeping, their multi-faceted utilisation and the consequences of doing so, or not, as well as their eventual disposal. Reflects upon the critical involvement of kaitiaki (guardians), exemplifying how living dimensions of taonga unfold, and how relationships and responsibilities are maintained and perpetuated by uri whakatipu (descendants).
Hītori- History
Not in narrow seas: The economic history of Aotearoa New Zealand by Call Number: HC663 .E278 2020ISBN: 1776563042Publication Date: 2020
Ko te whenua te utu: Land Is the price by Call Number: DU412 .S67 2014ISBN: 9781775587019Publication Date: 2014-07-01For more than half a century, Keith Sorrenson--one of New Zealand's leading historians and himself of mixed Maori and Pakeha descent--has dived deeper than anyone into the story of two peoples in New Zealand. In this new book, Sorrenson brings together his major writing from the last 56 years into a powerful whole--covering topics from the origins of Maori (and Pakeha ideas about those origins), through land purchases and the King Movement of the 19th century, and on to 20th-century politics and the new history of the Waitangi Tribunal.
Beyond the imperial frontier: The contest for colonial New Zealand by Call Number: DU420 .O45 2014ISBN: 9781927277539Publication Date: 2014
The Great War for New Zealand: Waikato 1800-2000 by Call Number: DU421.2 .O42 2016ISBN: 9781927277577Publication Date: 2016
Kia mau: Resisting colonial fictions by Call Number: G246.C7 N43 2019ISBN: 0473494957Publication Date: 2019This book is a compilation of essays written by Tina Ngata about New Zealand's TUIA 250 Commemorations of James Cook's voyages to New Zealand and the Pacific.
Ka whawhai tonu matou: Struggle without end by Call Number: DU416 .W183 2004ISBN: 9780143019459Publication Date: 2004-01-01This is a revised edition of Dr Ranginui Walker's best-selling history of Aotearoa, New Zealand, from a Maori perspective. Since the mid-nineteenth century, Maori have been involved in an endless struggle for justice, equality and self-determination. In this book Dr Walker provides a uniquely Maori view, not only of the events of the past two centuries but beyond to the very origins of Maori people.
Once Were Pacific by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU423 .E85T45 2012ISBN: 0816677573Publication Date: 2012-04-11Native identity is usually associated with a particular place. But what if that place is the ocean? Once Were Pacific explores this question as it considers how Māori and other Pacific peoples frame their connection to the ocean, to New Zealand, and to each other through various creative works.
- McLintock's 1966 Encyclopedia of New ZealandThis is an online version of the three volume printed encyclopedia edited by A.H. McLintock and published in 1966. The coverage is comprehensive but has not been updated since 1966.
- Te Ara: The Encyclopedia of New ZealandTe ara in Maori means the pathway. This enyclopedia offers many pathways to understanding New Zealand. When complete, it will be a comprehensive guide to the country's peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy, institutions and society.
- UNESCO- Memory of the World: Aotearoa New Zealand: Ngā mahara o te aoRegister seeks to recognise items of recorded heritage which have national significance, to bring their cultural and historic value to people’s attention, alongside the work done by libraries, archives and museums in preserving this valuable heritage.
- The NZ Wars Collection by RNZ (review) byCall Number: Journals Level 3 ; DU400.N571Publication Date: 2021
Whenua & Te Taiao- Land and the Environment
Te mahi oneone hua parakore: A Māori soil sovereignty and wellbeing handbook by Call Number: S599.75 .T44 2020ISBN: 0473516195Publication Date: 2020
Tū rangaranga by Call Number: JZ1320.4 .T87 2022ISBN: 9781991016010Publication Date: 2022-10-03The biggest challenges of the 21st century require global solutions. Focussing on three of the most urgent problems of our time - climate change, conflict and poverty, and inequality - Tu Rangaranga introduces the notion of global citizenship, and what it means to be an active citizen in today's world.
Maori and the environment by Call Number: TD171.5 .N45M36 2010ISBN: 9781869694029Publication Date: 2010-01-31The New Zealand environment has been allowed to deteriorate, but it is not too late to undo the damage. This book advocates the adoption of the kaupapa of kaitiakitanga (guardianship) to preserve what is left and to restore the lakes, streams, rivers, wetlands, and foreshore of New Zealand.
Environmental politics and policy in Aotearoa New Zealand by ISBN: 1776710924Publication Date: 2022-04-07Environmental Politics and Policy in Aotearoa New Zealand is a comprehensive introduction to confronting some of today's most urgent challenges.Global warming, threats to biodiversity, contamination of waterways and other environmental issues confront today's citizens with critical challenges that are fundamentally political. Practical tips - how to make a submission, organise a protest, write a policy brief or a press release - are woven throughout.
No other place to stand by Call Number: PR9658.C595 N66 2022ISBN: 9781869409555Publication Date: 2022-12-08Ninety-one writers with connections to these islands grapple with the biggest issue facing people and the planet.- Mātauranga Māori and taonga: The nature and extent of Treaty rights held by iwi and hapū in indigenous flora and fauna, cultural heritage objects, valued traditional knowledge by Call Number: Mātangireia Reference Level 4 ; KUQ716.7.A15W144 no.262 Suppl.6ISBN: 0908810539Publication Date: 2001
- Māori Land Court Minute BooksCall Number: Microforms Level 4 ; HD1265.N45N461 1984Publication Date: 1984Microforms; Covers minute books for Maketu, Whakatane, Opotiki, Taupo, Urewera, Tauranga, Rotorua, Taheke, Judge Brabant's minute books.
Te Urewera by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; KUQ716.7 .A15W144 no.894ISBN: 9781869563257Publication Date: 2017Waitangi Tribunal Reports
Decolonising blue spaces in the anthropocene : Freshwater management in Aotearoa New Zealand. by ISBN: 3030610713Publication Date: 2021This open access book crosses disciplinary boundaries to connect theories of environmental justice with Indigenous people’s experiences of freshwater management and governance. It traces the history of one freshwater crisis – the degradation of Aotearoa New Zealand’s Waipā River– to the settler-colonial acts of ecological dispossession resulting in intergenerational injustices for Indigenous Māori iwi (tribes).
- MLCMB
The University of Waikato Library holds a collection of Māori Land Court Minute Books on microfilm and in bound volumes, from 1865-1975 (approximately). These cover all seven Māori Land Court districts - Tairawhiti, Waiariki, and Waikato-Maniapoto (bound volumes) and Aotea, Taitokerau, Takitimu, and Te Wai Pounamu (on microfilm). The minute book collection is located in Mātangireia on Level 4 of the University of Waikato Library. - Pātaka Whenua- Te Kooti Whenua Māori- Māori Land CourtSearch by Land Block, Document, Management Structure, and Ownership.
This is page explains Pātaka Whenua- the online portal- with guides on how to use it effectively both with being a registered user and without. It also has links to the portal. - Te Kooti Whenua Māori: Māori Land CourtThe modern Māori Land Court exists in an environment that is significantly different to that in which was created on 30 October 1865 by the General Assembly of the New Zealand Colony under the Native Lands Act 1865.
We were established to convert customary Māori land into titles which could be acquired, initially by the colonial government and later by individual settlers.
Since the passing of Te Ture Whenua Māori Act 1993, our role is to:
- promote the retention of Māori land in the hands of its owners, whānau and hapū
- facilitate the occupation, development and use of Māori land
- ensure that decisions made about Māori land are fair and balanced taking into account the needs of all the owners and their beneficiaries. - Te Aho Tū RoaHe kaupapa tēnei i ahu mai i te taiao. I pū mai i neherā, ā, e whiria tonu nei e tātou mā ngā uri whakatipu.
Kaupapa Māori Environmental educators. - Manaaki Whenua Landcare ResearchManaaki Whenua – Landcare Research is the Crown Research Institute for New Zealand's environment and biodiversity.
- Human perceptions of megafaunal extinction events revealed by linguistic analysis of Indigenous oral traditions byPublication Date: 2018Human settlement into new regions is typically accompanied by waves of animal extinctions, yet we have limited understanding of how human communities perceived and responded to such ecological crises. The first megafaunal extinctions in New Zealand began just 700 years ago, in contrast to the deep time of continental extinctions. Consequently, indigenous Māori oral tradition includes ancestral sayings that explicitly refer to extinct specie
- The Crown and flora and fauna: Legislation, policies, and practices, 1983-98 byCall Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; KUQ716.7.A15W144 no.262 Suppl.3ISBN: 0908810504Publication Date: 2001
- Knowing by doing: Learning for sustainable muttonbird harvesting byPublication Date: 2009In a fast-changing world, successful communication of traditional cultural principles and practices of guardianship and stewardship across generations is more important than ever before. This study investigates knowledge and learning in relation to the last large-scale customary harvest of a seabird in New Zealand, the titi (Puffinus griseus), by Rakiura Maori.
- Exploring Indigenous understandings of river dynamics and river flows: A case from New Zealand byPublication Date: 2009This essay presents examples of the knowledge of streams and rivers held within Maori communities that could benefit contemporary resource management if it can be determined how cultural knowledge and practices and scientific approaches can be communicated and integrated.
- Troubled waters: Maori values and ethics for freshwater management and New Zealand's fresh water crisis byPublication Date: 2020In 2017 Aotearoa New Zealand's freshwater systems were designated as among the worst in the world. Today they are continuing to degrade. This article focuses on Maori traditional knowledge, ethics and values for freshwater monitoring and management. The article reviews the impact of colonization and development on Aotearoa New Zealand's freshwater systems, the extensive struggle by Maori for recognition of Maori traditional knowledge, rights and responsibilities regarding waterways, and the development of contemporary Maori models for freshwater monitoring and management.
- A seat at the Table: Te Awa Tupua, Te Urewera, Taranaki Maunga and political representation. byPublication Date: 2021Aotearoa New Zealand acknowledges matauranga Maori in the two Acts and one Memorandum of Understanding recognising the 'personhood' status of three geographical regions--Te Awa Tupua, Te Urewera and Taranaki Maunga. They blend the legal fiction of corporate personhood with the already always understanding of human-nonhuman kinship and entanglement of Maori philosophy, Maori knowledge and wisdom, and Maori epistemology. This article explores the implications of nonhuman agency as potential for political voice. As representatives of entanglement for all being--animal (including human), vegetable and elemental--and as a matter of justice they are, perhaps, obliged to participate in democracy and the nation is, perhaps, obliged to give them a 'seat at the table'.
- Treaty of Waitangi and Maori land law byCall Number: Law Library Reference Level 4 ; KUQ6.N5691Publication Date: 2002Review of Treaty and Maori land law issues - the Waitangi Tribunal and the Napier Hospital and Health Services Report - the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park Report - limitations of protection provided to Maori concerns pursuant to the Resource Management Act - legal aid - Maori land
Mahi Auaha- Creative Practices
Te toi whakairo by Call Number: NK9793 .M33 2017ISBN: 9780947506377Publication Date: 2020-09-30Te Toi Whakairo is the definitive introduction to Maori woodcarving. It explores the evolution of styles and techniques, and provides detailed explanations of styles in different parts of Aotearoa New Zealand. Later chapters delve into the main structures, forms and motifs, the role of the woodcarver, modern art forms, and practical guidance for use of materials, tools, techniques, surface and background decoration.
Toi tū, toi ora: Contemporary Māori art by Call Number: N7406 .T65 2022ISBN: 9780143776734Publication Date: 2022
Māori art: History, architecture, landscape and theory by Call Number: N7406 .P36 2015ISBN: 9781869538675Publication Date: 2015- Pū manawa: A celebration of whatu, raranga and tāniko by Call Number: N7406.5.P976 1993ISBN: 0909010005Publication Date: 1993Eva Anderson, Kohai Grace, Dame Rangimarie Hetet, Kataraina Hetet-Winiata, Ruhia Oketopa, Erenora Puketapu-Hetet, Puti Rare, Emily Schuster, Tauwira (Mae) Taurua, Digeress Te Kanawa, Christina Hurihia Wirihana, Cath Brown, Shona Rapira Davies, Nicola Ehau, Jacqueline Fraser, Maureen Lander, Toi Te Rito Maihi, Diane Prince, Lisa Reihana, Kura Te Waru Rewiri, Briar Smith
- Rangimarie by Call Number: GN432.P35 1998ISBN: 0908975635Publication Date: 1998-01-01An account of King Country life from the nineteenth-century until the present day.
Te Puna: Māori art from Te Tai Tokerau Northland by Call Number: N7406 .T465 2007ISBN: 9780790010588Publication Date: 2007
A whakapapa of tradition by Call Number: DU424 .N435E44 2016ISBN: 9781869407377Publication Date: 2016-09-01Maori carving went through a rapid evolution from 1830 to 1930. Beginning around 1830, three dominant art traditions - war canoes, decorated storehouses and chiefly houses - declined and were replaced by whare karakia (churches), whare whakairo (decorated meeting houses) and wharekai (dining halls). In A Whakapapa of Tradition, Ngarino Ellis examines how and why that fundamental transformation took place by exploring the Iwirakau school of carving - an ancestor who lived in the Waiapu Valley around 1700, Iwirakau is credited for reinvigorating carving on the East Coast.
Te wheke: Pathways across Oceania by Call Number: N7406 .W57 2020ISBN: 9781877375637Publication Date: 2020Te Wheke tells a new story of Aotearoa’s art history, looking from the Pacific outwards.Te Wheke features work by more than 70 artists from Aotearoa and the Pacific, including Shane Cotton, Fatu Feu’u, Charles Goldie, Bill Hammond, Lonnie Hutchinson, Yuki Kihara, Colin McCahon, Ani O’Neill, Fiona Pardington, Michael Parekowhai, Lisa Reihana, Bill Sutton, Robin White and many more.
Ki mua, ki muri by Call Number: LG741.P3 K55 2023ISBN: 9781991151155Publication Date: 2024-03-01This richly illustrated publication examines the last 25 years of the influential Toioho ki Apiti programme at Massey University, its global indigenous pedagogical reach, and its ongoing impacts on national and international contemporary art and cultural sectors. Toioho ki Apiti's transformative and kaupapa Maori-led programme and its pedagogical model is structured around Maori notions of Mana Whakapapa (inheritance rights), Mana Tiriti (treaty rights), Mana Whenua (land rights) and Mana Tangata (human rights) and is unique in Aotearoa.- Māori weaving by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; GN432.P85 1999ISBN: 058254193XPublication Date: 1999
- Tāniko weaving technique and tradition: Te whatu tāniko by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; GN432.M4 1999ISBN: 079006790Publication Date: 1999
Te aho tapu: The sacred thread by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; GN432.P42 1987ISBN: 0790003287Publication Date: 1987
- Creative NZCreative New Zealand encourages, promotes and supports the arts in New Zealand for the benefit of all New Zealanders through funding, capability building, our international programme and advocacy.
- Te Papa Tongarewa: Museum of New ZealandTe Papa is New Zealand's national museum, renowned for being bicultural, scholarly, innovative, and fun.
- Te Manawa: Te Papaioea Palmerston NorthTe Manawa draws art, science and heritage together to reflect our past, illuminate the present and inspire a creative and sustainable future for our people.
- Auckland MuseumThe Museum tells the story of New Zealand, its place in the Pacific and its people.
The Museum is a war memorial for the province of Auckland and holds one of New Zealand's top three heritage libraries. It has pre-eminent Māori and Pacific collections, significant natural history resources and major social and military history collections, as well as decorative arts and pictorial collections. - Auckland Art Gallery: Toi o TāmakiAuckland Art Gallery is a cultural leader in Aotearoa New Zealand. Our purpose is to be a place for art and a catalyst for ideas. We offer experiences that strengthen and enrich our communities, and we value collaboration and dialogue
- Waikato Museum: Te Whare Taonga o WaikatoWaikato Museum Te Whare Taonga o Waikato is a cultural hub that preserves and showcases the rich heritage of the Waikato region and its indigenous iwi/hapuu connected to the Tainui Waka.
- RAMP GalleryRamp is a contemporary art gallery, situated in the heart of Hamilton Kirikiriora at Wintec Te Pūkenga's School of Media Arts.
Ramp’s exhibition programme provides a space for critical thought and dialogue through a curated programme of exhibitions, essays, public programmes, workshops. We acknowledge Tangata Whenua, Waikato Tainui and mana whenua hapū demonstrated in our marae, Te Kōpū Mānia o Kirikiriroa. We are committed to consciously encouraging divergent voices and practices in all aspects of the gallery schedule. Ramp will foster safety for cultural, multi-gendered, divergent ideological worldviews to be explored in an engaged, creative and thoughtful way.
- Pou rewa: The liquid post, Maori go digital? byCall Number: Journals Level 3 ; NX596.3.A1T445Publication Date: 2009Art that uses non-traditional media and emerging technologies, specifically the electronic or digital, has the potential to create and nurture a distinctive public space for the articulation of alternative Maori world-views. Although a growing number of publications focus on contemporary Maori art practice, no specific attention has yet been given to the swelling numbers of Maori practitioners operating in the field of digital media. This essay contextualises the author's research in the wider framework of Maori digital art and seeks to explain a Maori creative practice.
- Theatre Marae - Māori theatre pedagogy in research byPublication Date: 2020Outlines the application of Theatre Marae, an Indigenous-informed creative framework for qualitative research, using contemporary theatre practice unique to Aotearoa New Zealand, based in a conceptual partnership between traditional and contemporary Māori performing arts, applied theatre and the therapeutic encounter.
Hauora- Health & Wellbeing
Maea te toi ora: Māori health transformations by Call Number: RA790.7.N45 M33 201ISBN: 177550297XPublication Date: 2018
Mauri ora: The dynamics of Maori health by Call Number: RA563.M3D88 2001ISBN: 9780195584189Publication Date: 2001
Nga Tini Whetu--Navigating Maori Futures by Call Number: HC670 .M3D87 2011ISBN: 9781869694524Publication Date: 2013-01-31Navigating Māori Futures brings together twenty-five papers Mason Durie has presented at national and international conferences between 2004 and 2010. It discusses Māori moving towards a future involving new technologies, alliances, economies and levels of achievement and being equipped to respond to the changes in a way that enables Māori to prosper and live in a changing world as Māori.
Ora by Call Number: DU423.S6 O72 2023ISBN: 9781775506928Publication Date: 2024-03-31This collection brings together indigenous thinkers and practitioners from Aotearoa and internationally to discuss the effects of trauma on Indigenous Peoples across social, economic, political and cultural environments.
Self awareness doesn't begin with self by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; BF697.5.S43 T36 2018ISBN: 9780473450298Publication Date: 2018A guide to understanding why self-awareness doesn't start with 'self', how a change in mindset changes your reality, how to be self-determining and more. This book interprets ancient knowledge and presents it in a format that is easy to understand and will also demonstrate how practical the systems and philosophies can be applied to daily life
Te reka o te kai - kai atua: Maara kai practical guide.Call Number: Mātangireia Reference Level 4 ; DU423 .A35R45 2010ISBN: 9780473175337Publication Date: 2010This guide has been compiled by Te Waka Kai Ora to introduce whānau to methods for establishing their own Māra Kai. The history of traditional agriculture in Aotearoa is briefly described and practical steps that are needed for growing your own food are explained, with particular emphasis on Māori Kai. An explanation of the traditional maramataka or moon calendar is also included, highlighting activities for each night of a moon month. This guide is designed to provide basic information for beginner gardeners.
Te wheke: A celebration of infinite wisdom by Call Number: GR375 .P47 1997ISBN: 0959799494Publication Date: 1997
Whaiora by Call Number: Call Number: RA563.M3 D9 1994ISBN: 9780195584035Publication Date: 1998-11-03Maori health development is about the trials and discoveries of the past, the energies and initiatives of the present, and the priorities and plans for the future. In this welcome second edition of Whaiora, Mason Durie documents progress in Maori health development over the past century, placing special emphasis on the last fifteen years.
- Manatū Hauora Ministry of HealthNew Zealand Ministry of Health Website- contains publications, statistics and so on.
- Stats NZ Tatauranga AotearoaStats NZ Tatauranga Aotearoa is New Zealand's official data agency which collects information from people and organisations through censuses and surveys. This information is used to publish insights and data about New Zealand, and support others to use the data.
- Creating an Indigenous Māori‐centred model of relational health: A literature review of Māori models of health byPublication Date: 2021Identify the key concepts, principles and values embedded within Indigenous Māori models of health and wellbeing; and determine how these could inform the development of a Māori‐centred relational model of care.
- Indigenous Mental Health 2035: Future takers, future makers and transformational potential byPublication Date: 2011.Objective: The aims were to review progress in Indigenous mental health over the past 25 years and to identify possible directions for the next 25 years.Method: Māori involvement in health and health care was used to illustrate key Indigenous developments since 1984.
- Korero te kai o te Rangatira: Nutritional wellbeing of Māori at the pinnacle of life byPublication Date: 2012Aim: To provide a succinct overview of the historical food eating patterns of Māori, the indigenous population of New Zealand, by examining the dietary practices of older Māori, and the significance of these practices for their health and wellbeing. Research shows the impact of colonisation resulted in displacement of traditional foods from the diets of older Māori and this has been accompanied by higher nutrition risk. Food is an important cultural activity for Māori and Māori elders need to be supported to increase their consumption of traditional foods. Further investigations will examine the dietary patterns and nutrient intake of older Māori in relation to health and wellbeing.
- Mahi a Atua: A Māori approach to mental health byPublication Date: 2020In this paper, we briefly review the literature on the Movement for Global Mental Health and review the case that has been made for the use of indigenous psychologies in place of approaches based on Western psychiatry and psychology. We present two case histories where an intervention based on an indigenous Māori approach to negotiating emotional conflicts and dealing with mental health problems was used. This approach, called Mahi a Atua, was developed by two of the authors over a number of years. We conclude that indigenous approaches to mental health offer not just an adjunct to, but a real alternative to, the interventions of Western psychiatry. They provide a framework through which individuals and families can negotiate their journeys through mental health crises and difficulties. However, such approaches can also work on a socio-cultural level to promote a positive identity for indigenous communities by celebrating the power of indigenous deities, narratives, and healing practices that were marginalised and suppressed by the forces of colonisation.
- Pākehā/Palangi positionality: Disentangling power and paralysis byPublication Date: 2022
- Te taha hinengaro: An integrated approach to mental health byCall Number: Journals Level 3; RA790.7.N45C734; Community mental health in New Zealand. , 1984, Vol.1(1), p.4-11Publication Date: 1984
- The Treaty and 'treating' Māori health: Politics, policy and partnership byCall Number: Journals Level 3 ; GN301.A465Publication Date: 2011Points to the Treaty of Waitangi as being a cultural imperative to improving health outcomes for Māori.
Pūtaiao- Science
Matariki: The star of the year by Call Number: Mātangireia Reference Level 4 ; DU423.A85 M38 2017ISBN: 9781775503255Publication Date: 2017-05-31In mid-winter, Matariki rises in the pre-dawn sky, and its observation is celebrated with incantations on hilltops at dawn, balls, exhibitions, dinners and a vast number of events. The Matariki tradition has been re-established, and its regeneration coincides with a growing interest in Māori astronomy. Still, there remain some unanswered questions about how Matariki was traditionally observed.
Matariki:Te whetū tapu o te tau by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU423.A85 M39 2017ISBN: 1775503267Publication Date: 2017He tuhinga e pā ana ki a Matariki i roto i te reo Māori.- The Crown and flora and fauna: Legislation, policies, and practices, 1983-98 by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; KUQ716.7.A15W144 no.262 Suppl.3ISBN: 0908810504Publication Date: 2001
- Mātauranga Māori and Reproduction: Inscribing connections between the natural environment, kin and the body byCall Number: Journals Level 3 ; GN301.A465Publication Date: 2016
- Kia pono te mahi putaiao: Doing science in the right spirit byCall Number: Journals Level 3 ; Q94.R887Publication Date: 2009Over the past two decades the challenges facing environmental and natural resource managers have become more complex. Natural resources are more contested and degraded, and as a result stakeholders are increasingly involved in their management. Single-issue management is often not proving effective. Policymakers, industry sectors, indigenous groups, communities and scientists alike have to recognise the interlinked nature of many apparent resource use problems. Successful outcomes are increasingly dependent on the coordinated actions of decision makers operating at many different levels and scales.
- Knowing by doing: Learning for sustainable muttonbird harvesting byPublication Date: 2009In a fast-changing world, successful communication of traditional cultural principles and practices of guardianship and stewardship across generations is more important than ever before. This study investigates knowledge and learning in relation to the last large-scale customary harvest of a seabird in New Zealand, the titi (Puffinus griseus), by Rakiura Maori.
Whakapono Māori- Religion
'Hauhau': The Pai Marire search for Maori identity by ISBN: 1775585638Publication Date: 2013-11-01To most New Zealanders, the word 'Hauhau' conjures up a picture of bloodthirsty fanaticism. This book, the definitive study of the Pai Marire or 'Hauhau' Maori movement in the 1860s, presents a different view. Pai Marire is shown as being a search for ways of meeting European settlement and domination, and of using European skills and literacy, on Maori terms and without compromising Maori identity. Sources include the Ua Rongopai notebook, which contains a record of the words of Te Ua Haumene, the prophet of Pai Marire, himself.
The forgotten Prophet: Tāmati Te Ito and his Kaingārara movement by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; BL2615 .S86 2023ISBN: 1991033486Publication Date: 2023Tāmati Te Ito Ngāmoke, a renowned Taranaki prophet, played a significant role in colonial New Zealand's political landscape. While some, including most settlers and officials, viewed him as an 'imposter', a 'wizard', a 'fanatic'; others, including major Taranaki tribal leaders, revered him as a prophetic tohunga matakite known as 'Te Kai-ngarara' - The Reptile Eater.
He tuhi mārei-kura: A treasury of sacred writings: A Māori account of the creation, based on the priestly lore of the Tainui people by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; GN492 .T13J61 2013ISBN: 9780989518802Publication Date: 2013- He tuhi mārei-kura: Ngā kōrero a te Māori mō te hanganga mai o te ao nō ngā whare wānanga o Tainui by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; GN492 .T13J62 2013Publication Date: 2013
Mihaia: The prophet Rua Kenana and his community at Maungapōhatu by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; BX9978 .W3B52 2011ISBN: 9781927131305Publication Date: 2011
Redemption songs: A life of Te Kooti Arikirangi Te Turuki by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU420 .T4B614 2012ISBN: 9781927131480Publication Date: 2012Te Kooti Arikirangi Te Turuki was one of the nineteenth century's most significant leaders. In both war and peace, he sought to redeem his people and the land. Yet his reputation as a feared opponent of colonial forces obscured his achievements for generations. The causes of Te Kooti's struggles are larger than personal injustice: he fought a war against land confiscation and illegal land purchases. This award-winning biography, published in 1995, shifted public perceptions of this remarkable man.- Te whetu marama o te kotahitangaCall Number: Mātangireia Reference Level 4 ; BL2615 .W46 2000Publication Date: 2000Rātana Church, Te Hāhi Rātana Periodicals
Te Whiti o Rongomai and the resistance of Parihaka by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU422.82 .M48K44 2015ISBN: 9781775501954Publication Date: 2015This is an account of the life and times of Te Whiti o Rongomai set against the politicsand Crown policies of the nineteenth century. It traces the forces that shaped his life's journey from Ngāmotu, where he was born, to his settling at Parihaka and his evolving sense of the injustices and disempowerment Māori experienced and his response to these.- Tohunga: The revival: Ancient knowledge for the modern era by Call Number: Mātangireia Reference Level 4 ; BL2615 .R62 2005ISBN: 079001002XPublication Date: 2005
- The gospel of Te Ua Haumene byCall Number: Storage Level 1 ; GN2.P783Publication Date: 1992Presents a transcription and annotated translation of 'Ua Rongopai', the gospel of Te Ua Haumene, founder of the Hauhau faith. Backgrounds the reasons Maori embraced Christianity. Considers the development of prophet movements. Studies the context of Te Ua's emergence as a prophet, and the formation of the Hauhau Church. Discusses the themes of 'Ua Rongopai'. Challenges some scholars' conclusions on Te Ua's faith.
- Te Kōpura byCall Number: Storage Level 1 ; BX9670.R53M3 1998Publication Date: 1998Ko te tāhu o tēnei tuhituhinga he titiro ki Te Hāhi Ringatū i runga o Whitianga marae. E rua noa iho ngā Rā Ringatū ka tū ki runga i tēnei marae, arā, ko Te Huamata, hei te tahi o Hune tēnā me Te Pure, hei te tahi o Nōema tēnā. I roto i te tuhituhingaroa nei ka titiro he aha I tae atu ai wēnei tikanga ki tēnei o ngā marae. Ka whakatakoto haere, i pēhea hoki ngā whakahaeretanga i te wā o ngā pakeke. Kātahi ka titiro ki ngā whakarerekētanga ki ngā tikanga i roto i te wā, ā, he aha i pērā ai.
Te Kīngitanga
Dancing with the King by ISBN: 9781869408695Publication Date: 2018-03-01After the battle of Orakau in 1864 and the end of the war in the Waikato, Tawhiao, the second Maori King, and his supporters were forced into an armed isolation in the Rohe Potae, the King Country. For the next twenty years, the King Country operated as an independent state - a land governed by the Maori King where settlers and the Crown entered at risk of their lives.Dancing with the King is the story of the King Country when it was the King's country, and of the negotiations between the King and the Queen that finally opened the area to European settlement.
King Potatau by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU421 .P6J78 2010ISBN: 9781869694234Publication Date: 2010-01-01This book details the background to the Kingitanga and also tells the story of the first king, Potatau Te Wherowhero. It details all the momentous events of Te Wherowhero's life from around 1775 to his death in 1860, including his status as Lord of the Waikato and the famous battles and conflicts with other tribes, his raising up as the First Maori King, and Mana Motuhake, the Maori Kingship, set apart as the symbol of the spiritual and cultural life of the Maori.- Te Puea by Call Number: Mātangireia Reference Level 4 ; DU425.T314K52 1987Publication Date: 1987Te Puea Herangi, Princess of the Maori, 1883-1952
- Te puna tangata me te punakai by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU424 .T34P984 2009Publication Date: 2009The ideals of Poukai have become ingrained into the psyche of those who believe in the philosophies of the Kiingitanga. This task has been to collate oral histories of the elders, coupled with the written accounts with an aim to clarify some of the pertinent aspects of the Poukai. The major goal of this book is to entrench the principles of Kiingitanga in an effort to pass on vital pieces of information to coming generations
Wiremu Tamihana: Rangatira by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU421 .T3S874 2002ISBN: 1877266922Publication Date: 2002-01-01Statesman or rebel? Wiremu Tamihana Tarapipipi Te Waharoa's career was forged at the core of intense nineteenth century political and social pressures. Out of these pressures has come one of the most important bodies of correspondence in New Zealand's history. Tarapipipi's elegantly phrased letters, provided here with a mixture of contemporary and modern English translations, are contextualized by Evelyn Stokes' historical commentary. They provide a fascinating insight into turbulent times, and they put forth a vision still valid: that of a Maori society in control of its own destiny.
- The analogous boundaries of Ngaati Mahuta, Waikato-Tainui and Kiingitanga byPublication Date: 2011This article explores the process of claiming property and rights through Māori descent group identities. In particular, it examines the way that the State, through the Treaty claims process, reconfigures Māori group identities and political structures, elevating the corporate iwi above hapū and whānau groups. More specifically, the discussion details how Kiingitanga leader Robert Mahuta successfully advanced Waikato Māori claims to land and the Waikato River by effectively representing Waikato-Tainui as an enduring and important super-iwi.
- Creating our own prosperity: Human rights from a Tainui perspective byCall Number: Law Library Level 4 ; KUQ440.A13Y43Publication Date: 2007Central to this paper is the prophetic saying of Tawhiao, the second Maori King, that describes a future dream of prosperity for his people. If one is to provide a Tainui perspective, it is necessary to set the scene by outlining, albeit briefly, an explanation of the Kingitanga, the King Movement. The Kingitanga began in the 1850s, some years after the arrival of Europeans, and largely as a unified response by a number of tribes to the upsurge of unauthorised land sales. It was also designed to bring an end to intertribal warfare, and to achieve mana motuhake, or separate authority. While the movement enjoyed the support of many tribes, it became centred in the Waikato region in the central North Island.
- The poukai ceremony of the Māori King Movement: An ethnohistorical interpretation byCall Number: Mātangireia Pei te Hurinui Jones ; GN2.P783Publication Date: 2009
- Relational and culturally responsive supervision of doctoral students working in Māori contexts: Inspirations from the Kingitanga byPublication Date: 2015There is much to celebrate in the greatly increased number of Māori and non-Māori students in New Zealand tertiary institutions undertaking doctoral research on issues of importance to Māori. However, in honouring their commitments to the Treaty of Waitangi, tertiary institutions need to ensure that Māori doctoral students and their Māori communities maintain their right to define their own research questions, research paradigms and methodologies.
- “Behold a kite flies towards you”: the Kiingitanga and the “opening” of the King Country. byCall Number: Journals Level 3 ; DU400.N571Publication Date: 1997
Te Ture- Law
- A to Js Online This link opens in a new window
The Appendices to the Journals of the House of Representatives (AJHR), sometimes known as "the A to Js", are a collection of government-related reports published every year from 1858. The reports cover many subjects, documenting the work of government departments and a wide range of other activities carried out by, or of interest to, the government of the day.
- New Zealand Legislation This link opens in a new window
New Zealand Acts, Bills and Regulations freely available to download.
Wai 262: Ko Aotearoa tēnei: A report into claims concerning New Zealand law and policy affecting Māori culture and identity: Te taumata tuatahi by Call Number: KUQ716.7 .A15W144 no.262aISBN: 9781869563004Publication Date: 2011
Weeping Waters by Call Number: KUQ1870 .W1W44 2010ISBN: 9781869694043Publication Date: 2011-01-31Weeping Waters details the current debate regarding the Treaty of Waitangi and a constitution for Aotearoa New Zealand. It features essays from eighteen well-known and respected Maori figures including Professor Margaret Mutu, Bishop Muru Walters, Judge Caren Fox, and lawyer Moana Jackson. This is the first book in recent years to offer a Maori opinion on the subject of constitutional change.- The Treaty of Waitangi / Te Tiriti o Waitangi by Publication Date: 2021The Treaty of Waitangi by Claudia Orange was first published in 1987 to national acclaim, and has since advanced through several new editions. This edition of The Treaty of Waitangi/Te Tiriti o Waitangi: An Illustrated History is the most comprehensive account yet, presented in full colour and drawing on Dr Orange's recent research into the nine sheets of the Treaty and their signatories.
- Waking the Taniwha: Maori Governance in the 21st Century by ISBN: 1988591112Publication Date: 2021Waking the Taniwha: Maori Governance in the 21st Century is a comprehensive analysis of the manifestations, complexities and challenges arising out of the development of Maori governance structures in a post-Treaty of Waitangi settlement period. As well as bringing together the many elements that feed into the governance of Maori corporate entities, the text highlights key principles and best practices of Maori corporate governance.
- Treaty negotiations and good governance by prescription : an analysis of Treaty of Waitangi settlement processes and post-Treaty settlement governance policies in New Zealand by Call Number: Law Library Level 4 ; KUQ716.7 .J684 2005ISBN: 0958264821Publication Date: 2005
- Māori Law ReviewThe Māori Law Review is a monthly review of law affecting Māori, the Indigenous people of Aotearoa New Zealand.
- Te Aka Matua o te Ture: Law CommissionTe Aka Matua o te Ture | Law Commission reviews the law of Aotearoa New Zealand and makes recommendations to the Government to improve it. We also advise the Government on areas of law we consider should be reviewed.
- Treaty of Waitangi and Maori land law byCall Number: Law Library Reference Level 4 ; KUQ6.N5691Publication Date: 2002Review of Treaty and Maori land law issues - the Waitangi Tribunal and the Napier Hospital and Health Services Report - the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park Report - limitations of protection provided to Maori concerns pursuant to the Resource Management Act - legal aid - Maori land
- Te Awa Tupua, Indigenous Law and Decolonisation byPublication Date: 2022Worldwide, Indigenous peoples are building an emerging area of law which can be described as Indigenous jurisprudence. Indigenous jurisprudence is firmly grounded in a legal philosophy that conveys an Indigenous consciousness of all life existing as expressions of sacred life energy...Decolonisation will be achieved when the natural world determines New Zealand's constitutional framework, and New Zealand's nation state and our Whanganui Iwi nationhood--and our respective legal and governance systems--coexist interdependently.
- Conversations about indigenous rights: The UN declaration on the rights of indigenous peoples in Aotearoa New Zealand byCall Number: Journals Level 3 ; DU400.A1J68Publication Date: 2019Review(s) of: Conversations about indigenous rights: The UN declaration on the rights of indigenous peoples in Aotearoa New Zealand.
- Te Tai Haruru: Journal of Māori and Indigenous IssuesTe Tai Haruru Journal of Māori and Indigenous Issues is a law journal published by the University of Auckland, Faculty of Law. The Journal is edited by Te Tai Haruru, the rōpū of Māori legal academics at the Auckland Law School.
- The Legal Māori Resource HubExplore how Māori language has been used in legal contexts over nearly two centuries in digitised legal and law-related texts.
Mana Tangata
- The balance destroyed by Call Number: Mātangireia Reference Level 4 ; HQ1865.5 .M56 2017Publication Date: 2017This publication was first submitted as a Masters thesis in 1995; and published in 2003 by the International Research Institute for Māori and Indigenous Education as part of the Mana Wahine Monograph Series. This revised edition includes a new preface and is complemented by the artwork of Robyn Kahukiwa.
Mana wahine reader. Volume 1: A collection of writings 1987-1998 by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; HQ1865.5 .M35 2022ISBN: 9780994121769Publication Date: 2022
Mana wahine reader. Volume 2: A collection of writings 1999-2019 by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; HQ1865.5 .M352 2022ISBN: 9780995129009Publication Date: 2022
Out Here by ISBN: 9781869409319Publication Date: 2022-04-14We became teenagers in the nineties when New Zealand felt a lot less cool about queerness and gender felt much more rigid. We knew instinctively that hiding was the safest strategy. But how to find your community if you're hidden? Aotearoa is a land of extraordinary queer writers, many of whom have contributed to our rich literary history. But you wouldn't know it. Decades of erasure and homophobia have rendered some of our most powerful writing invisible. Out Here will change that. This landmark book brings together and celebrates queer New Zealand writers from across the gender and LGBTQIA+ spectrum with a generous selection of poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction and much much more. From established names to electrifying newcomers, the cacophony of voices brought together in Out Here sing out loud and proud, ensuring that future generations of queers are afforded the space to tell their stories and be themselves without fear of retribution or harm.- Self awareness doesn't begin with self by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; BF697.5.S43 T36 2018ISBN: 9780473450298Publication Date: 2018A guide to understanding why self-awareness doesn't start with 'self', how a change in mindset changes your reality, how to be self-determining and more. This book interprets ancient knowledge and presents it in a format that is easy to understand and will also demonstrate how practical the systems and philosophies can be applied to daily life
Sexuality and the stories of Indigenous People by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; HQ18 .N45S47 2007ISBN: 9781869692773Publication Date: 2007-12-31Since the beginning of time, sexuality has played a fundamental role in ensuring good health and well-being of people throughout the world. Today, there is a growing understanding of the important role that sexuality plays in the lives of individuals and communities. For indigenous people and for Maori, our understanding of our sexuality today is heavily influenced by the historical understandings passed down to us by our ancestors. Gradually, as we uncover the truth about what our ancestors believed and peel back the veneer of colonization, it is clear that the sexuality of indigenous peoples is vastly different from the dominant Western paradigm that has been applied around the world.
Te Awa Atua: Menstruation in the pre-colonial Māori world: An examination of stories, ceremonies and practices regarding menstruation in the pre-colonial Māori world: Based on a Masters thesis. by Call Number: Mātangireia Reference Level 4 ; RG163 .M87 2013ISBN: 9780473259662Publication Date: 2011
- Listening at dawn: Trans* storywork for all my relations. byPublication Date: 2023This is a love letter to trans* people: a reminder of our place and legacy of trans*formation. In the form of collaborative and ceremonial research, this PhD with creative practice component is an affirmation of embodied, elemental storytelling as a necessary practice for unearthing and grounding the traditional knowledge that Indigenous-Trans* (Indigi-Trans*) people carry within our body-spirits.
- Mana Takatāpui: Self-determination for queer rangatahi Māori. byPublication Date: 2023Here is a Master’s thesis crafted with, by, and for Rangatahi Takatāpui. It represents a labour of love for the community to which I belong, and seeks to generate understanding about the factors that enable LGBTQI+ Māori youth to embody and enact Tino Rangatiratanga. Principles of Kaupapa Māori Theory provide a paradigm through which this research is conducted, with particular attention paid to the Indigenous Research Agenda. Importantly, this rangahau seeks to offer an alternative to the conventions of hegemonic empirical academia by centering the voices and lived experiences of those who have historically been subjected to the dehumanising objectification of western research practices.
- Mana Wahine: Decolonising Gender in Aotearoa. byPublication Date: 2020This article discusses the place of Mana Wahine theory in decolonising gender relationships in Aotearoa (New Zealand). This is both a movement and a theory that has at its centre the resurgence and reaffirmation of the mana of Māori women, past, present and future.
- Mana wahine: Decolonising politics byPublication Date: 2011Highlights the exciting possibilities of mana wahine - a feminist discourse that explicitly examines the intersection of being Māori and female - as a localised and place-specific theoretical approach that explores the everyday geographies of Māori women.
- Te Awa Atua, Te Awa Tapu, Te Awa Wahine: An examination of stories, ceremonies and practices regarding menstruation in the pre-colonial Māori world byPublication Date: 2011This thesis examines Māori cosmological stories, ceremonies, and traditional practices regarding menstruation in pre-colonial Māori society. I use kaupapa Māori and mana wahine as a theoretical and methodological framework, contextualising these stories within Māori cultural paradigms.T
- Wondering and Laughing with Our Ancestors: Mana Wahine and the Mo'olelo of Hi'iakaikapoliopele byPublication Date: 2016First completely recorded in the written word by M. J. Kapihenui in the Hawaiian newspaper Ka Hoku o ka Pakipika in 1861, "He Moolelo o Hiiakaikapoliopele" is an epic of mana wahine, or sacred feminine power or inherent authority.
- WAI 2700: Te Mana Wāhine Kaupapa Inquiry2022 Waitangi Tribunal Report: Brief of evidence by Professor Leonie Pihama.
Whakaako- Teaching & Education
- Learning Ground: Indigenous Education Research Database This link opens in a new window
The latest publications focusing on Indigenous education, spanning early childhood, post-school education, adult learning, encompassing areas such as cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, wellbeing, identity and oral language.
- Anthropology and Education QuarterlyAnthropology & Education Quarterly is a peer-reviewed journal that draws on anthropological theories and methods to examine educational processes in and out of schools, in US and international contexts. Articles rely primarily on ethnographic research to address immediate problems of practice as well as broad theoretical questions.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Informit A+ Education This link opens in a new window
An indexing and full-text database, containing in-depth coverage of the learning, teaching and management issues facing all teaching professionals. Contributions come from leading researchers in teacher training and include articles on policy, curriculum and pedagogical developments. Created in partnership with the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER).
- NZCER Journals Online This link opens in a new window
NZCER Journals Online provides access to Set: Research Information for Teachers, Assessment Matters, Curriculum Matters and Early Childhood Folio. These titles cover research in early childhood education, curriculum and assessment in education research, policy and practice.
- Set: Research Information for TeachersA well-established research resource for teachers.
- Teachers and Curriculum: Kaiako me te MarautangaTeachers and Curriculum is an online peer-reviewed journal published by the Wilf Malcolm Institute of Educational Research, Division of Education, The University of Waikato. The journal is directed towards a professional audience and focuses on contemporary issues and research relating to curriculum, pedagogy and assessment.
- Waikato Journal of Education: Te Hautaka Mātauranga o WaikatoThe Waikato Journal of Education is a well-regarded peer-reviewed journal. Since the first publication in 1995, the journal has made a major contribution to the scholarship on a wide range of topics in the field of education, particularly issues connected to curriculum, learning and teaching. Papers have included reports on educational research and practice and viewpoints on education policies, theories and practices. Issues often have a special focus.
Niho Taniwha by Call Number: LC3501.M3 R55 2023ISBN: 1775506681Publication Date: 2022-04-30Niho Taniwha equips educators with culturally responsive practices to better serve and empower Māori students and their whānau. The book is centred around the Niho Taniwha model in which both the learner and the teacher move through three phases in the teaching and learning process: Whai, Ako and Mau.- Decolonisation in Aotearoa: Education, research and practice by Call Number: LC3501.M3 D43 2016ISBN: 0947509178Publication Date: 2016The book presents a kaupapa Māori and decolonised agenda for Māori education ... divided into three sections: Māori in education, Māori in research and Māori in practice.
Culture Speaks by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC3501 .M3B53 2006ISBN: 1869692799Publication Date: 2007-01-31This book focuses on what it is like to be a young Mâori person in a New Zealand secondary school classroom today. It presents and discusses narratives drawn from the voices of Mâori secondary students, their whânau, principals, and teachers. Whether you are a student, a parent, a principal, or a teacher, this book will help you to examine your own explanations for the educational achievement of students and begin to develop effective responses to the challenges it raises. The book proposes strategies for teachers to increase their effectiveness in the teaching and learning of students from Mâori and Pacific origins.
Te Kotahitanga by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC3501 .M3B575 2014ISBN: 9781927151914Publication Date: 2014-02-01This is the inside story of an indigenous education success story. Te Kotahitanga is a theory based programme that has made a positive difference to the educational experience and achievement of Ma-ori students in mainstream schools in Aotearoa New Zealand. Drawing on case studies from three schools, this book explores the classroom pedagogy with its focus on responding to students' culture and positive teacher-student relationships. It also highlights the vital role of school leadership. It is essential reading for anyone interested in reforming mainstream schools so that quality education and equity is available for all students, especially those who have been historically marginalised.- Culturally responsive teaching: Theory, research, and practice by Publication Date: 2018
Critical conversations in kaupapa Māori by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; H62.5.N45 H67 2017ISBN: 9781775503286Publication Date: 2017This collection furthers knowledge about kaupapa Māori by examining its effects over the decades, identifying and discussing its conventions and boundaries and reflecting on kaupapa Māori in social and educational research and practice.
Matua rautia: The report on the kōhanga reo claim by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; KUQ716.7 .A15W144 no.2336ISBN: 9781869563066Publication Date: 2013This publication is the outcome of an urgent Waitangi Tribunal inquiry into alleged acts and omissions of the Crown in relation to kōhanga reo, in particular concerning the report of the Government's Early Childhood Education Taskforce and the potential development of Government policy which would affect the operation and support of kōhanga reo.
Kia tangi te tītī : permission to speak : successful schooling for Māori students in the 21st century : issues, challenges and alternatives by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC3501 .M3K52 2011ISBN: 9781877398988Publication Date: 2011
Kia Hiwa Ra! Listen to culture: Māori students' plea to educators by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC3501.M3 M24 2004ISBN: 1877293296Publication Date: 2004-01-01"Kia hiwa ra" literally means "to be alert." This book is intended to alert teachers to models of good teaching in diverse classrooms and to encourage them to be alert to the various cultures that are represented. If we want to extend academic achievement for Māori students, we need to create a strong foundation for their learning. This foundation includes building upon students' cultural and experiential strengths to help them acquire new skills and knowledge. This book records the work and thoughts of culturally-relevant teachers, all of whom demonstrate connectedness with students and who see their classrooms as places where they "listen to culture" in order to forge meaningful relationships that enhance the quality of the learning environment. Kia Hiwa Ra is a book which can help all teachers to become "educultural" helping them to understand themselves, their culture, and the culture of others - and to be more successful with all students.
What's Maori about Maori Education? by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC3501 .M3P45 2010ISBN: 9780864736147Publication Date: 2011-02-01A unique critique of the history and contemporary practice of Maori academics, this examination argues that equality of education has been promised but rarely delivered in New Zealand. It was not until the late 1970s and early 1980s that ordinary Maori in a few key communities throughout the country courageously stepped outside the mainstream system and created an alternative Maori system in order to enhance their own interpretations of what it means to achieve equality, social justice, and fairness through education. Engaging and thorough, this insider's account explores the Maori point of view and asks what "an education for all New Zealanders" really means.
Coloring in the White Spaces by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC196.5.N45 M55 2017ISBN: 9781433134845Publication Date: 2016-10-26This book examines the struggle against racial and cultural inequity in educational systems, presenting the case study of a New Zealand school and its community's determination to resist alienating environments.- Above the clouds: Identifying and nurturing Māori students of promise: Ka rewa ake ki ngā kapua by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC3501 .M3M21 2010ISBN: 0473165139Publication Date: 2010
The professional practice of teaching in New Zealand by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; LB1025.3 .P756 2019ISBN: 9780170416771Publication Date: 2019The Professional Practice of Teaching in New Zealand contains a wealth of information that beginning and more experienced teachers need to know in order to learn to teach well. Written specifically for the New Zealand setting, it highlights a range of knowledges and skills that teachers require in order to make a positive difference to their students' lives. Throughout the text many case studies, activities and stories from real-life teachers and students help readers to link the theory to their classroom practices.
- Ako AotearoaAko Aotearoa is a government-funded organisation committed to supporting the country’s tertiary sector teachers, trainers and educators hosting a range of reports, papers, resources, videos and more.
- Ako Aotearoa: From Good to Great: The 10 Habits of phenomenal educators for Pacific learners – Full reportThe Full Report includes 11 case studies describing the phenomenal educators involved in the project. It outlines the methodology, which is built around an Appreciative Inquiry approach. It features student talanoa about their experiences with phenomenal educators and introduces the “Ten Habits’ displayed by those educators.
- Education CountsThe goal of Education Counts is to increase the availability and accessibility of information about education statistics and research.
- Education Review OfficeThe Education Review Office | Te Tari Arotake Mātauranga (ERO) is the New Zealand government’s external education evaluation agency. They evaluate and report on the education and care of learners in schools, kura, kōhanga reo, puna reo, and early childhood services.
- Ka Hikitia-Ka HāpaitiaKa Hikitia, the Māori Education Strategy, has been refreshed as part of the Education Work Programme. It sets out how we will work with education services to achieve system shifts in education and support Māori learners and their whānau, hapū and iwi to achieve excellent and equitable outcomes and provides an organising framework for the actions we will take.
- New Zealand Educational InstituteNZEI Te Riu Roa is the union of more than 50,000 principals, teachers and support staff and specialist staff working in primary, area and secondary schools, early childhood centres, learning support and school advisory services
- Te Aho Arataki Marau mō te Ako i Te Reo Māori - Kura AurakiCurriculum Guidelines for Teaching and Learning Te Reo Māori in English-medium Schools: Years 1-13
- TKI. Te WharekuraSite provides full-text issues of Te Wharekura, a Maori language journal for schools.
- Topic ExplorerThe Topic Explorer helps you find quality, curated resources on a range of topics to support and inspire inquiry. Each topic features a carefully selected set of national and international resources, including websites, images, videos, books and more.
- Tāhūrangi: Te Putāhū Curriculum CentrePreviously TKI.
- StatsNZ: EducationEducation statistics give you information about participation and achievement in formal education.
- Maori Education: Revolution and Transformative Action byPublication Date: 2000Describes alternative educational innovations at all educational levels, developed by the Maori of New Zealand in response to the dual crises of educational underachievement and the loss of language, knowledge, and culture. Major intervention elements are validating cultural identity, incorporating culturally preferred pedagogy, mediating socioeconomic and home difficulties, emphasizing collectivity rather than individuality, and a shared vision and philosophy.
- The origins of Kura Kaupapa Māori byCall Number: Storage Level 1 ; L91.N575Publication Date: 2015Documents the beginnings of kura kaupapa Māori through narratives by some originators of the kura kaupapa Māori movement.
- Sharing, listening, learning and developing understandings of Kaupapa Māori research by engaging with two Māori communities involved in education byPublication Date: 2006This paper is a culmination of common understandings that were elicited from two pieces of research: ‘The Impact of the BHP New Zealand Steel Mining on the Tangata Whenua and the Environment’ and ‘The Impact of Maori Medium Education within a Mainstream Secondary School on the Lives of its Participants, in particular the Teachers, Caregivers and Students’. It was at the conclusion of each research project and as a consequence of informal conversations and discussions that this paper evolved.
- Succeeding as Māori: Māori students’ views on our Stepping Up to the Ka Hikitia Challenge byPublication Date: 2017This paper examines the vision and intent of New Zealand’s Māori education policy, Ka Hikitia, and its implications on the daily lives of Māori students in New Zealand’s education system. Extensive information on the secondary school experiences of rangatahi Māori (youth) have been gathered—originally in 2001 and at the end of 2015, through Kia Eke Panuku: Building on Success (Kia Eke Panuku: Building on Success is a secondary school reform initiative that is fully funded by the Ministry of Education, however, this paper represents the view of the authors and is not necessarily the view of the Ministry).
- Te orokohanga o Te Aho MatuaPublication Date: 2019
- Tātaiako: Cultural competencies for teachers of Māori learners byPublication Date: 2011
Literature
- Once Were Pacific by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU423 .E85T45 2012ISBN: 0816677573Publication Date: 2012-04-11Native identity is usually associated with a particular place. But what if that place is the ocean? Once Were Pacific explores this question as it considers how Māori and other Pacific peoples frame their connection to the ocean, to New Zealand, and to each other through various creative works.
Ngā pakiwaitara a Huia. 3Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; PL6465.Z77P33 1999aISBN: 1877241474Publication Date: 1999A collection of short stories in te reo Māori.
He Whiriwhiringa by ISBN: 1869407938Publication Date: 2013-10-01This volume combines the Maori texts from Selected Readings in Maori (3rd ed 1990) and the English translations of those texts, from Readings from Maori Literature (1980). The texts and their English translations are published in parallel on facing pages, for ease of comparison. The Maori texts are drawn from various sources, including Elsdon Best's Tuhoe, Sir Apirana Ngata and Pei Te Hurinui Jones's Nga Moteatea, Te Ao Hou, the Maori newspaper Te Wananga, and the Journal of the Polynesian Society, as well as from previously unpublished manuscripts in the Grey Collection.
Huia short stories 8: Contemporary Māori fictionCall Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; PR9668.5 .H899 2009ISBN: 9781869693824Publication Date: 2009
- Maori Cowboys, Maori Indians byPublication Date: 2010Reflecting on a short story in which two young Maori boys comment after watching a western film that "neither of us wanted to be an Indian," this article explores the layers of complexity inherent to comparative Indigenous studies.
- Awa WahineAwa Wahine is a dynamic rōpu of wāhine Māori dedicated to supporting indigenous creators by giving them the tools and confidence to express themselves creatively. Our mission is to create impactful publishing opportunities for wāhine Māori, envisioning a world where their voices are heard and celebrated.
- e-tangataE-Tangata is an online Sunday magazine run by the Mana Trust, which is dedicated to building a stronger Māori and Pacific presence in the New Zealand media.