Databases and electronic resources made available by the Library may be accessed only by staff and students of the University of Waikato.
Students need to be enrolled in at least one paper during Summer, A and/or B trimester, in order to access online databases and electronic resources. Access will be available up to 40 days before the start of the paper, once fully enrolled, and will continue up to 180 days after the end date of your last paper.
The databases may be used only for the purposes of research, teaching or private study. Commercial use, defined as use for the purposes of monetary reward (but excluding use in the course of research funded by a commercial organisation) is prohibited.
Most databases are subject to a License Agreement signed by the Library on behalf of the University. There are limits on the amount of information which can be copied or downloaded. Systematic downloading of content is not allowed, including by software such as website crawlers, harvesters or offline browsers. See Subscription Databases Agreements and Coursepacks for further details.
For more information about adding stable links to library resources within Learning Management Systems like Moodle, Edlinked and MyWeb, see Creating Links to Library Resources.
Details of the specific conditions applying to each database are available from Michelle Blake, University Librarian. Email michelle.blake@waikato.ac.nz.
Because of our database contracts, access to Library Databases is available only during the period you are enrolled. Access will be available 21 days prior to the trimester for which you are enrolled and will continue until 6 months after the completion of your final paper. See conditions for Use of Library databases.
If you are enrolled in a current paper, check that your username and password are correct. Check in My Waikato that your enrolment has been recorded correctly. If you are unable to login to My Waikato please contact the ITS Helpdesk.
If you are successfully enrolled and your username and password appear correct, library@waikato.ac.nz. Provide as much information as you can about the issue to help us diagnose and fix the problem quickly (see notes below).
Things we might need to know: