MHRA Referencing Guide: Books & eBooks

Format

Author's first name and last name, Title: Subtitle (Publisher, Year Published), page number/s.

First Footnote

Anthony Doerr, All the light we cannot see (Scribner, 2014), p. 24.

Second and Subsequent Footnote

Doerr, p. 16.

Bibliography

Doerr, Anthony, All the light we cannot see (Scribner, 2014).

Notes

• Publisher location no longer required. 

Format

Author's first name and last name, (repeat up to three authors), Title: Subtitle (Publisher, Year Published), page number/s.

First Footnote

Carl Bernstein and Bob Woodward, All the President's Men (Simon & Schuster, 1974), p. 72.

Second and Subsequent Footnote

Bernstein and Woodward, p. 34.

Bibliography

Bernstein, Carl and Bob Woodward, All the President's Men (Simon & Schuster, 1974)

Notes

• Publisher location no longer required. 

Format

First listed author's first name and last name, and others, Title: Subtitle (Publisher, Year Published), page number/s.

First Footnote

George Huppert and others, After the Black Death: A History of Early Modern Europe, 2nd edn (Routledge, 1993), p. 10.

Second and Subsequent Footnote

Huppert and others, p. 38.

Bibliography

Huppert, George and others, After the Black Death: A History of Early Modern Europe, 2nd edn (Routledge, 1993)

Notes

• Publisher location no longer required. 

Format

Author's first name and last name, Book Title: Subtitle, (Publisher, Year; repr. Publisher, Year), page number cited.

First Footnote

Mary Shelley, Frankenstein, (Lackington, Hughes, Harding, Mavor, & Jones, 1818; Open Road Media Integrated Media, 2014), p. 84.

Second and Subsequent Footnote

Shelley, p. 97.

Bibliography

Shelley, Mary, Frankenstein, (Lackington, Hughes, Harding, Mavor, & Jones, 1818; Open Road Media Integrated Media, 2014).

Notes

• Publisher location no longer required.
• The rule of "cite what you sight" should be followed, meaning that you cite and reference what you are looking at. If you don't have the original publication details, put the details you see in the book.

First Footnote

Vincent O'Malley, 'Unsettling New Zealand History: The Revisionism of Sinclair and Ward', in Texts and Contexts: Reflections in Pacific Islands Historiography, ed. by Doug Munro and Brij V. Lal (University of Hawai'i Press, 2006), pp. 154-165  (p. 159).

Second and Subsequent Footnote

O'Malley, p. 161.

Bibliography

O'Malley, Vincent, 'Unsettling New Zealand History: The Revisionism of Sinclair and Ward', in Texts and Contexts: Reflections in Pacific Islands Historiography, ed. by Doug Munro and Brij V. Lal (University of Hawai'i Press, 2006), pp. 154-165.

Notes

• Publisher location no longer required. 

Format

Title: Subtitle, ed. by Editor's first name and last name, edition, revised by, number of volumes (Publisher, Year Published), volume used, page range, page number/s referred to.

First Footnote

The Works of Thomas Nashe, ed. by Ronald B. McKerrow, 2nd edn, rev. by F. P. Wilson, 5 vols (Blackwell, 1958), III, pp. 94–98 (pp. 95–96).

Second and Subsequent Footnote

Nashe, p. 96.

Bibliography

McKerrow, Ronald B., ed., The Works of Thomas Nashe, 2nd edn, rev. by F. P. Wilson, 5 vols (Blackwell, 1958)

Notes

• Publisher location no longer required. 
• If you refer to the editor's words or ideas, use the editor name in place of the author for subsequent footnotes.

Format

Author's first name and last name, Title of Book: Subtitle (Publisher, Year Published), page number, ebook provider <URL> [accessed date].

First Footnote

Linda Hutcheon and Siobhan O'Flynn, A Theory of Adaptation (Taylor & Francis, 2012), p. 168, Taylor & Francis eBooks <http://www.tandfebooks.com.ezproxy.waikato.ac.nz/isbn/9780203095010> [accessed 22 January 2023].

Second and Subsequent Footnote

Hutcheon and O'Flynn, p. 98.

Bibliography

Hutcheon, Linda and Siobhan O'Flynn, A Theory of Adaptation (Taylor & Francis, 2012), Taylor & Francis eBooks <http://www.tandfebooks.com.ezproxy.waikato.ac.nz/isbn/9780203095010> [accessed 22 January 2023]

Notes

• Publisher location no longer required.

Format

Author's first name and last name, Title: Subtitle, name of Ebook reader (Publisher, Year Published), page number/s.

First Footnote

C. S. Lewis, The Discarded Image: An Introduction to Medieval and Renaissance Literature, Kindle Edition (Harper Collins, 2013), p. 49.

Second and Subsequent Footnote

Lewis, p. 98.

Bibliography

Lewis, C. S., The Discarded Image: An Introduction to Medieval and Renaissance Literature, Kindle Edition (Harper Collins, 2013).

Notes

• Publisher location no longer required.
• Use the form of the author name as it is on the title page.
• If the reader uses a location number rather than a page number, use location in place of p.

Format

'Title of entry', Title: Subtitle, ed. by Editor's first name and last name (Publisher, Year Published), page number/s.

First Footnote

'Feminism', History in Dispute Volume 2: American Social and Political Movements, 1945 - 2000: Pursuit of Liberty, ed. by Robert J. Allison, (St. James Press, 2000), pp. 77 - 80.

Second and Subsequent Footnote

'Feminism', p. 79.

Bibliography

Allison, Robert J., ed. History in Dispute Volume 2 : American Social and Political Movements, 1945 - 2000: Pursuit of Liberty (St. James Press, 2000)

Notes

• Publisher location no longer required. 
• Although entries may have individual authors, as a general rule, refer to entries by title.
• Use 'and others' for more than three editors.

Format

Author's first name and last name, 'Story Title', in Book Title, ed. by Editors first name and last name (Publisher, Year), page range of story, (page number cited).

First Footnote

Jean Lorrain, 'The Spectral Hand', Late Victorian Gothic Tales, ed. by Roger Luckhurst (Oxford University Press, 2005), pp. 177-182, (p. 179)

Second and Subsequent Footnote

Lorrain, p. 180.

Bibliography

Lorrain, Jean, 'The Spectral Hand', Late Victorian Gothic Tales, ed. by Roger Luckhurst (Oxford University Press, 2005), pp. 177-182.

Notes

• Publisher location no longer required.
• The author's surname goes first in the bibliography entry, instead of their first name (as in the footnotes).