A systematic review is a tightly structured literature review that focuses on a topic with strict research parameters. The methodology used to collect research has to be consistent in order to reduce misinterpretation and misrepresentation of the data.
First Steps
- Use referencing software e.g. EndNote or Zotero
- Create a folder with a page for each database
- Note the search strategy for each database
- Note all search terms, note the key words for each search
- Note the number of references found, note the date/s of search
- Note the number of results when words added or returned to search
- In databases, look at their help pages for " " search strategies or limits
- Note any limits used
- Use filters e.g. exclude reviews
- Note any filters used
- Save search strategy online so you can rerun your search
- Write up in a narrative way but use flow charts and put results in a table
What is PRISMA?
PRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PRISMA focuses on the reporting of reviews evaluating randomized trials but can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions. Check the PRISMA website for more information.
What is meta-analysis?
Meta-analysis uses statistical methods to combine the results of a systematic literature review. It is considered original work. Booth et al. (2016), define meta-analysis as the
Process of combining statistically quantitative studies that have measured the same effect using similar methods and a common outcome measure.
Ask your supervisors about the best software or see this web page 13 best free meta-analysis software to use or check examples of theses or articles using meta-analysis to see which software would be best for you.
Clarification of Terminology
The term “Systematic Literature Review” is a specific type of review which involves, among other things, designing a specific search strategy, and then conducting it in one or several databases (not Library Search), applying specified inclusion and exclusion criteria to the items found, and reporting on it. If you have been advised to conduct a systematic review it would pay to clarify this, as it may be that you just need to perform a literature search in a systematic manner, rather than a full Systematic Literature Review.
Helpful Reads
Research Methods for Clinical and Health Psychology by Call Number: RC467.8 .R48 2004ISBN: 0761971904Publication Date: 2003This textbook offers an excellent introduction to the variety of research methods used within the fields of clinical and health psychology. The book provides a detailed, yet concise, explanation of both qualitative and quantitative approaches and draws upon case-study examples to illustrate how these can be used in a variety of health-care settings, with special relevance to clinical disorders, disease prevention and health promotion.
- See the chapter on Synthesising Evidence: Systematic Reviews, Meta-Analysis and Preference Analysis for more information on conducting your systematic review.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by ISBN: 1119536650Publication Date: 2019The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions. This fully updated edition contains extensive new material on systematic review methods addressing a wide-range of topics including network meta-analysis, equity, complex interventions, narrative synthesis, and automation.
- Contains methodological guidance for the preparation and maintenance of Cochrane intervention reviews. Many of the principles and methods described here are appropriate for systematic reviews applied to other types of research and to systematic reviews of interventions undertaken by others.
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by Call Number: LB2369 .B66 2016ISBN: 9781473912458Publication Date: 2016Showing you how to take a structured and organized approach to a wide range of literature review types, this book helps you to choose which approach is right for your research. Packed with constructive tools, examples, case studies and hands-on exercises, the book covers the full range of literature review techniques. With an emphasis on the practical skills, this guide is essential for any student or researcher needing to get from first steps to a successful literature review.
- Pages 186-209 discuss meta-analysis and is essential reading for learning about graphical ways of showing results.
Methods of Meta-Analysis: Correcting Error and Bias in Research Findings by Call Number: HA29 .H847 2015ISBN: 9781452286891Publication Date: 2014Designed to provide researchers clear and informative insight into techniques of meta-analysis, the Third Edition of Methods of Meta-Analysis: Correcting Error and Bias in Research Findings is the most comprehensive text on meta-analysis available today. It is the only book that presents a full and usable treatment of the role of study artifacts in distorting study results, as well as methods for correcting results for such biases and errors.
Meta-Analysis by ISBN: 9780803927568Publication Date: 1986Author Fredric M. Wolf explains how to use combined statistical tests and measures of effect size to synthesize the results of independent studies of a common research question.
- What is a Systematic Review?A LibGuide from The University of Manchester about systematic literature reviews.
- How to Do a Systematic Review: A Best Practice Guide for Conducting and Reporting Narrative Reviews, Meta-Analyses, and Meta-SynthesesA useful journal article that describes how to plan, conduct, organize, and present a systematic review of quantitative (meta-analysis) or qualitative (narrative review, meta-synthesis) information.
- Steps in a Systematic ReviewLibGuide from Cornell University outlining the steps involved in evidence synthesis.
- Different Systematic Review TypesUseful guide outlining the many different types of systematic reviews from Manchester Metropolitan University.
- A Guide to Conducting a Standalone Systematic Literature ReviewThis paper introduces the rigorous, standardized methodology for the systematic literature review (also called systematic review) to information systems (IS) scholars. Although tailored to IS research, it is sufficiently broad to be applicable and valuable to scholars from any social science field.
- Systematic vs. Scoping vs. Integrative ReviewThis guide briefly compares each type of review and so you can determine which type of review is best for your needs.
Hints
- Think about the future and getting your work published
- Check out Research Commons theses
- Use Library Search to look up "systematic literature review" to look at other systematic review examples