APA Referencing Style Guide: Citation Examples

In text citation

In reference list

• The director should be credited as the Author. If the director is unknown, someone in a similar role can be credited.
• NEW: It is not necessary to specify how you watched a film (e.g. in a theatre, on Blu-ray, streaming online). However, the format or other descriptive information may be included (e.g. [Film; Director's cut ed. Blu-ray], [Film; DVD], [Film; Kanopy]).
• NEW: The motion picture’s country of origin is no longer required.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: It is not necessary to specify how you listened to the music (e.g. online streaming, via mobile app, on CD)
• NEW: For a recording of a classical work, provide the composer as the author, and note in the square brackets the individual or group who recorded the version you used. Provide the publication date for the version you used, and then provide the year of original composition in parentheses at the end.
• NEW: Publisher locations (city/state/country) are no longer required.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: It is not necessary to specify how you listened to the music (e.g. online streaming, via mobile app, on CD)
• NEW: [Song] is a description about any piece or track from a set of musical recordings. [Song] can be a sound effect, musical show, opera or symphony if it is a part of an album (a complication of various recordings in a set).
• NEW: If the song has no associated album, omit the album part.
• NEW: For a recording of a classical work, provide the composer as the author, and note in the square brackets the individual or group who recorded the version you used. Provide the publication date for the version you used, and then provide the year of original composition in parentheses at the end.
• NEW: Publisher locations (city/state/country) are no longer required.

In text citation

• NEW: Do not capitalise a personal name that begins with a lowercase letter when the name begins a sentence.

In reference list

• List the host of the podcast as the author.
• Specify the type of podcast (audio or video) in square brackets.
• Omit the URL if the URL is unknown (e.g. accessed from an app).
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

• When speakers are not listed as the author, integrate their name into the narrative. In this example, George Church is the main subject in the episode reported by Pelley.

In reference list

• Include writer(s), director etc. for the episode. Include the contributor roles in parenthesis after each contributor’s name. When information is missing, omit it.
• NEW: Publisher locations (city/state/country) are no longer required.

In text citation

In reference list

• Use the uploader's name as the author, even if they did not create the video.
• NEW: Present the name of the individual or group author the same as you would for any other reference. Then provide the username in square brackets.
• Note any contributor not listed as the author in the reference into the narrative if desired (e.g. Interviewee).
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• If a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is available, include it at the end of the reference.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

How to format APA Style section for detailed formatting information.

In text citation

When citing in-text, if the authors' names are in parentheses, use the & symbol. Otherwise, when outside the parentheses use and between the two authors’ names.

In reference list

• If a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is available, include it at the end of the reference.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

• NEW: If there are three or more authors, cite only the first author followed by et al. (short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'). Do not italicise et al.

In reference list

• If a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is available, include it at the end of the reference.
• NEW: Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list. Use an ampersand before the final author’s name.
• NEW: When the work has 21 or more authors, include only the first 19 names, an ellipsis (...), and the final name.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

How to format APA Style section for detailed formatting information.

In text citation

First in text citation

In subsequent citations

• Some group authors may be abbreviated in subsequent citations if they are readily recognisable.
• Note use of square brackets around abbreviation in the first examples above.

In reference list

• When the author and the publisher are the same, omit the publisher from the reference. List in the references by the first significant word of the organisation.
• When numerous layers of government agencies are listed as the author, use the most specific agency as the author. The names of the parent agencies not present in the group author name appear in the source element as the publisher. For group authors, the parent body precedes a subdivision.

• If a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is available, include it at the end of the reference.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• Reference only Crisman and Streever (1996), not Carter and Beadle (1930).
• See also How to format APA: Format Citations in Text.
• If a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is available, include it at the end of the reference.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

• Both the original publication year and the year of the republished book are included.
• If you quote from online material and there are no page numbers, provide either a section heading, paragraph number (para.), or both.

In reference list

• Information about the original publication is included in parentheses after the publisher's name, DOI or URL (for ebooks freely available on the internet).
• Note there is no full stop after the parenthesis.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• Include a translation of the book title in square brackets if a book’s language is different from your paper’s language. The translation does not have to be literal, but use appropriate grammar and punctuation in the translated title.
• Transliterate a book title into the Roman alphabet if the book uses a different alphabet such as Arabic, Chinese and Hindi (e.g. Zhongguo funu for 中国妇女).
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

• NEW: Both the original publication year and the year of the translated book are included.

In reference list

• Information about the original publication is included in parentheses after the publisher's name, DOI or URL (for ebooks freely available on the internet).
• Note there is no full stop after the parenthesis.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• The author and chapter title come first, followed by the editor(s) and book title.
• Note the editor's initials come before the family name.
• It is the book title that is italicised, not the chapter title. The page numbers of the chapter are also required.
• If a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is available, include it at the end of the reference.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

• If there are three or more authors, cite only the first author followed by et al. (short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'). Do not italicise et al.
• Use quotation marks and include a chapter number and page numbers.

In reference list

Winch, G., Johnston, R., March, P., Ljungdahl, L., & Holliday, M. (2020). Literacy: Reading, writing and children's literature (6th ed.). Oxford University Press.

Nel, P., Werner, A., du Plessis, A., Fazey, M., Erwee, R., Pillay, S., Hearn Mackinnon, B., Millett, B., Wordsworth, R., Haasbroek, G. D., Poisat, P., Sono, T., & Schultz, H. B. (2012). Human resource management in Australia and New Zealand. Oxford University Press.

• NEW:S urnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list. Use an ampersand before the final author’s name.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

• NEW: If there are three or more authors, cite only the first author followed by et al. (short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'). Do not italicise et al.

In reference list

• Include (Ed.) or (Eds.) after their name(s).
• If you are citing a chapter within an edited book, review the previous section, Chapter in an edited book.
• NEW: Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list. Use an ampersand before the final author’s name.
• NEW: When the work has 21 or more authors, include only the first 19 names, an ellipsis (...), and the final name.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

• If the published date of an original work is known, use the original publication date as publication date, plus the publication date of the edited version.

In reference list

• Use parentheses to acknowledge the editor’s name.
• Information about the original publication is included in parentheses after the publisher's name, DOI or URL (for ebooks freely available on the internet).
• Note there is no full stop after the parenthesis.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

Reference list

• NEW: If using an audio book from a provider such as Audible, provide the URL.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.
• NEW: You may use a URL shortening service (i.e. TinyURL or Bit.ly) to reduce very long URLs.

In text citation

• If you quote from online material and there are no page numbers (e.g. HTML based document), provide either a section heading, paragraph number (para.), or both.

In reference list

• Note the editors' initials precede the family name.
• If there is a volume number or edition (not 1st edition), include this in parentheses after the title along with page number(s).
• If you feel your webpage is likely to change or be updated, include an access date eg Retrieved January 14, 2020, from URL.
• When information is missing, for example if there are no editors listed, omit it from the reference.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

• Note that the entry is capitalised when used in text, but not in the reference list.

In reference list

• Use no date (n.d.) if no date of publication is given.
• If you feel your webpage is likely to change or be updated, include an access date eg Retrieved January 14, 2020, from URL.
• When information is missing, for example if there are no editors listed, omit it from the reference.
• NEW: Do not use publisher locations (city/state/country).
• NEW: For ebooks, include both the publisher and DOI (if available). For ebooks without DOIs, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

• NEW: If there are three or more authors, cite only the first author followed by et al. (short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'). Do not italicise et al.

In reference list

• NEW: Conference proceedings published in a journal or book follow the same format as for a journal article, edited book or edited book chapter.
• NEW: Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list. Use an ampersand before the final author’s name.
• NEW: When the work has 21 or more authors, include only the first 19 names, an ellipsis (...), and the final name.
• NEW: Include a DOI if there is one. Do not include URLs or database information from academic research databases like Ebook Central.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: Conference proceedings published in a journal or a book follow the same format as for a journal article, edited book or edited book chapter.
• A capital letter is used for all keywords in the conference name.
• Include a label in square brackets after the title that describes how the presentation was described at the conference e.g.[Conference session]. [Poster presentation].
• NEW: The date should match the date of the full conference e.g. (2016, March 30-April  2).
• NEW: Include the location of the conference in full, e.g. Australian Psychological Society Congress, Sydney, NSW, Australia. http://bit.ly/2XGSThP
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

Use this format for reports, codes of ethics, grants, issue briefs, policy briefs, and press releases.

In text citation

In reference list

• Authors may be group/s or individual/s.
• The title may be followed by a report number.
• Include the publisher name.
• Include a DOI or URL if available.
• NEW: If there are three or more authors, cite only the first author followed by et al. (short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'). Do not italicise et al.
• NEW: Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list.
• NEW: When the work has 21 or more authors, include only the first 19 names, an ellipsis (...), and the final name.
• Give the name of parent body (i.e. the university) first, followed by the department that produced the document.
• NEW: Provide the most specific date possible (e.g. 2020, May 2). Use no date (n.d.) if no date of publication is given.
• NEW: Add URL if retrieved online.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.
• NEW: When the publisher is the same as the author, omit the publisher statement.
• If multiple agencies authored a report together, join the names with an ampersand, using commas to separate three or more agencies.
• Capitalise the names of group authors wherever they appear in the reference.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: Include either (Doctoral thesis) or (Master's thesis) after the title as appropriate, the university's name, the Archive name, and the URL.
• NEW: If the thesis is retrieved from a database (e.g. Proquest) or personal website, add e.g. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global instead of the Archive name or URL.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.
• NEW: Theses from a university outside the United States, only include the university name, geographic location details are no longer required

In text citation

In reference list

• Include either [Unpublished doctoral thesis] or [Unpublished master's thesis] after the title as appropriate. Add the university's name.

Illustrations, maps, photographs, graphs, charts and drawings (excluding tables) are referred to as figures. The position and formatting of figure labels such as the figure number, title and note, are stylistic choices. The use of bold, italics etc is at the writer’s discretion.

Below are examples of how a figure could appear in text:

Figure 1 First-year students preparing for the Amazing Race

Note. The photo pertains to a small sample size of the participants (The University of Waikato, n.d.).

• NEW: The caption number and title goes above the figure. Be consistent with capitalisation.
• Unless it is your own work, the source must be acknowledged below the figure with a parenthetical reference (Author, Date) after the word Note.
• A description of the figure can be added in the Note area if additional information is required.
• The full citation also goes in the reference list.

In text citation

In reference list

• Use no date (n.d.) if no date of publication is given.
• NEW: For an untitled photograph, include a description in square brackets in place of title.
• NEW: When the author and the publisher are the same, omit the publisher from the reference.
• NEW: Include a description of the medium or format in square brackets after the title, for example [Infographic], [Map], [Clip art], [GIF] etc.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

Tables contain information, which can be words, numbers or a mixture of both, organised in cells. Below is an example of how a table would appear in text:

• The caption number and title goes above the table. Be consistent with capitalisation.
• Unless it is your own work, the source must be acknowledged below the table with a parenthetical reference (Author, Date) after the word Note.
• A description of the table can be added in the Note area if additional information is required. If your table has been adapted from the original source you must state this.
• The full citation also goes in the reference list.

In text citation

• NEW: If there are three or more authors, cite only the first author followed by et al. (short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'). Do not italicise et al.

In reference list

• NEW: Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list. Use an ampersand before the final author’s name.
• NEW: When the work has 21 or more authors, include only the first 19 names, an ellipsis (...), and the final name.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• Use no date (n.d.) if no date of publication is given.
• This photo’s owner and author are the same so omit the website name.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

In reference list

In text citation

In reference list

• The journal publisher is usually the copyright owner of material in the journal.

In text citation

• NEW: If there are three or more authors, cite only the first author followed by et al. (short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'). Do not italicise et al.

In reference list

• NEW: Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list. Use an ampersand before the final author’s name.
• NEW: When the work has 21 or more authors, include only the first 19 names, an ellipsis (...), and the final name.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

• When the picture you cite is licensed by Creative Commons, identify Creative Commons (CC) license type (e.g. CC BY-SA, CC BY-NC-ND). Learn more about it, visit the Creative Commons website (https://creativecommons.org/use-remix/cc-licenses/)

In text citation

In reference list

• When referencing a photograph which is not a part of a webpage (e.g. Instagram photo, Flickr photo), use this format. For an untitled photograph, include a description in square brackets in place of the title.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

A table requires the following components:

1. Table number and title.
2. Table body.
3. Table Note: This goes underneath the table and starts with the word Note in italics followed by a full stop. Include necessary information such as:
   1. Description: If extra information is required to clarify the contents of the table, include it underneath the table.
   2. Source information: Unless the table is your own work, the source must be acknowledged in full (Publication Manual of the APA, 7th ed., p. 391). Start with ‘From’ or ‘Adapted from’ as appropriate.
   3. Copyright status and permission: Copyright status has three types:
      1. Copyright year by name of copyright holder.
      2. In the public domain.
      3. Creative commons licences - e.g. CC BY-NC.

The full citation also goes in the reference list. See Copyright attribution basic formats.

• The copyright owner and the publisher are not always the same.

In text citation

In reference list

In text citation

In reference list

• If a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is available, include it at the end of the reference.
• NEW: When a DOI is available, include it in the reference regardless of whether you used the online version or the print version.
• If an online work has both a DOI and a URL, include only the DOI.
• Journal titles use title case (i.e. a capital letter is used for key words). The journal title and volume number are italicised, followed by the issue number in parentheses (not italicised).
• NEW: Include the issue number for all journals that have issue numbers.
• NEW: Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list. Use an ampersand before the final author’s name.
• NEW: When the work has 21 or more authors, include only the first 19 names, an ellipsis (...), and the final name

In text citation

• NEW: Do not capitalise a personal name that begins with a lowercase letter when the name begins a sentence.

In reference list

• An advance online publication is one that has been accepted by the journal but has not yet been given a volume, issue or page number. These will be assigned at a later date.
• Cite the version of the work that you used. Ideally, use and cite the final, published version of a work.
• Journal titles use title case (i.e. a capital letter is used for key words). The journal title and volume number are italicised, followed by the issue number in parentheses (not italicised).

In text citation

• NEW: If there are three or more authors, cite only the first author followed by et al. (short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'). Do not italicise et al.

In reference list

• For a work with one or two authors, include the author name(s) in every in-text citation.
• For a work with three or more authors, include the name of only the first author plus “et al.” in every citation, unless this would create ambiguity.
• et al. is short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'. Do not italicise et al.
• NEW: Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list. Use an ampersand before the final author’s name.
• NEW: When the work has 21 or more authors, include only the first 19 names, an ellipsis (...), and the final name.
• Journal titles use title case (i.e. a capital letter is used for key words). The journal title and volume number are italicised, followed by the issue number in parentheses (not italicised).
• Do not include the database name or URL.

In text citation

• If you quote from online material and there are no page numbers, provide either a section heading, paragraph number (para.), or both.

In reference list

• Use no date (n.d.) if no date of publication is given.
• Journal titles use title case (i.e. a capital letter is used for key words). The journal title and volume number are italicised, followed by the issue number in parentheses (not italicised).
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before a URL.

In text citation

• NEW: If there are three or more authors, cite only the first author followed by et al. (short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'). Do not italicise et al.

In reference list

• For a work with one or two authors, include the author name(s) in every citation.
• For a work with three or more authors, include the name of only the first author plus “et al.” in every citation, unless this would create ambiguity.
• et al. is short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'). Do not italicise et al.
• NEW: Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list. Use an ampersand before the final author’s name.
• NEW: When the work has 21 or more authors, include only the first 19 names, an ellipsis (...), and the final name.
• Journal titles use title case (i.e. a capital letter is used for keywords). The journal title and volume number are italicised, followed by the issue number in parentheses (not italicised).
• Some journals do not supply issue numbers. When information is missing, omit it.
• Many journals in Psychology and other disciplines use continuous pagination.
• NEW: Include the issue number for all journals that have issue numbers (p.294) even if pagination is continuous.

In text citation

• NEW: If there are three or more authors, cite only the first author followed by et al. (short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'). Do not italicise et al.

In reference list

• If possible, find, read and cite the primary source.
• Journal titles use title case (i.e. a capital letter is used for key words). The journal title and volume number are italicised, followed by the issue number in parentheses (not italicised).
• NEW: Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list. Use an ampersand before the final author’s name.
• NEW: When the work has 21 or more authors, include only the first 19 names, an ellipsis (...), and the final name.

In text citation

In reference list

• A capital letter is used for key words in the journal title. The journal title and volume number are italicised, followed by the issue number in parentheses (not italicised).
• NEW: Capitalise the word “Article” before the article number or eLocator.
• NEW: The article number takes the place of page numbers.

In text citation

In reference list

• Journal titles use title case (i.e. a capital letter is used for key words).
• Ideally, use and cite the final, published version of a work.
• Do not add a date. When information is missing, omit it.

In text citation

In reference list

• When an article is in a different language than your paper, include a translation of the article title in square brackets.
• Journal titles use title case (i.e. a capital letter is used for key words). The journal title and volume number are italicised, followed by the issue number in parentheses (not italicised).

In text citation

In reference list

• After the title, add 'Shoulder Number, Page Number' in a parenthesis.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

• In text, italicise the name of the case.

In reference list

• Add court identifier at the end of the citation (example 1).
• Add country abbreviation at the end of the citation if not evident from context (example 2). For the country abbreviation, refer to The bluebook : a uniform system of citation or contact Law Librarians.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

(Author, Year, Page Number)

In reference list

Format is: Author.(Year).Title of the book.Place of Hearing: Māori Land Court District.

• Use 'Place of Hearing' as 'Place of Publication', 'Māori Land Court District' as Publisher.

In text citation

In reference list

The format is: Judge Surname, Initials. (Judge). (Date of Sitting).Title of the Case In Minute Book, Page Numbers. Place of Hearing: Reproducers.

In text citation

In reference list

The format is: Judge Surname, Initials. (Judge). (Date of Sitting).Title of the Case In Minute Book, Page Numbers. Place of Hearing: Reproducers.

In text citation

• Add country abbreviation if not evident from context: e.g. According to Crimes Act 1961, s.42 (N.Z.) ...

In reference list

• Add country abbreviation if not evident from context: e.g. Crimes Act 1914 (Austl.).
• APA recommends the use of The bluebook : a uniform system of citation for referencing legal material - see NZ section (p. 297).
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

• NEW: If there are three or more authors, cite only the first author followed by et al. (short for et alii - Latin for 'and others'). Do not italicise et al.
• NEW: Do not capitalise a personal name that begins with a lowercase letter when the name begins a sentence.

In reference list

• Full date is used for weekly magazines; month and year for monthly magazines.
• NEW: Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list. Use an ampersand before the final author’s name.
• NEW: When the work has 21 or more authors, include only the first 19 names, an ellipsis (...), and the final name.
• Include the URL if the article source was online. However if a magazine article has both a DOI and URL, include only the DOI.
• Magazine titles use title case (i.e. a capital letter is used for keywords). The magazine title and volume number are italicised, followed by the issue number in parentheses (not italicised).
• When information (e.g. volume number, issue number, page range) is missing, omit it from the reference.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

• If there is no author, in the in text citation, abbreviate the title, use double quotation marks and capital letters.

In reference list

• If there is no author, the article title comes first.
• Include p. or pp. before the page number. This is used for newspapers only, not magazines or journals. p = 1 page, pp. more than one page.
• Newspaper titles use title case (i.e. a capital letter is used for key words). The newspaper title is italicised.
• If page numbers are discontinuous, separate page numbers with a comma. e.g. pp. A1, A4-5.
• If you found the article on a newspaper’s website, provide the URL.
• NEW: If the article is from a news website (e.g., Stuff, CNN, BBC News), one that does not have an associated daily or weekly newspaper, use the format for a Webpage on a news website instead.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

Use this example if the article is from a news website (e.g., Stuff, CNN, BBC News) — one that does not have an associated daily or weekly newspaper.

In text citation

• If there is no author, in the in text citation, abbreviate the title
• NEW: If the title of the webpage is italicised in the full reference, also italicise the title in the in text citation.

In reference list

• Provide the most specific date possible (e.g. 2020, May 2). Use no date (n.d.) if no date of publication is given.
• When the author and the site name are the same. Omit the site name from the source element.
• If there are no authors, place the webpage title in italics in the author's position.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: List and italicise the blog site name after the blog entry title.

Posts from social media platforms like Twitter, Instagram, and Tiktok use a very similar format:

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: Provide the first 20 words of the tweet as the title.
• NEW: Present the name of the individual or group author the same as you would for any other reference. Then provide the Twitter handle (beginning with the @ sign) in square brackets.
• Use the URL to lead to the post rather than the feed.
• NEW: Indicate in square brackets if the tweet includes images, videos, thumbnail links to outside sources, links to other tweets, or a poll.
• NEW: Replicate emojis if possible. If you are not able to create the emoji, provide the emoji name in square brackets e.g. “[smirking face emoji]” for 😏
• Contents from private or friend-only Twitter pages should be treated as Personal Communications. See 'Personal Communications' in 'Others' Section.
• NEW: List the website or app name before the URL.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: Provide the first 20 words of the forum post as the title.
• NEW: List the website or app name before the URL.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

This format can be used for posts to other social media services eg.Tumblr, LinkedIn, and so forth.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: Provide the first 20 words of the Facebook post as the title.
• Use the URL to lead to the post rather than the feed.
• NEW: Indicate in square brackets if the post includes images, videos, thumbnail links to outside sources,or content from another Facebook post.
• NEW: Replicate emojis if possible.
• Contents from a private or friend-only Facebook page should be treated as Personal Communications. See 'Personal Communications' in 'Others' Section.
• NEW: List the website or app name before the URL.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

This format can be used or adapted for references to other platform or profile pages, including YouTube, Instagram, Tumblr, LinkedIn, and so forth.

In text citation

In reference list

• Use no date (n.d.) if no date of publication is given.
• Use the page title in the reference eg. Timeline, Home, Photos, About
• Include the name of the platform in square brackets.
• NEW: List the website or app name before the retrieval statement and URL.
• If you feel your webpage is likely to change or be updated, include an access date eg Retrieved January 14, 2020, from URL
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

• Do not write URLs in the text.

In reference list

• Use no date (n.d.) if no date of publication is given.
• NEW: Provide the most specific date possible (e.g. 2020, May 2). Use no date (n.d.) if no date of publication is given.
• NEW: Include the name of the website before the URL. When the author and the website name are the same, omit the site name from the source element.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL. If the webpage is likely to change or be updated, include an access date e.g. Retrieved January 14, 2020, from URL

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: Italicise the title of the app.
• NEW: Provide the most specific date possible (e.g. 2020, May 2). Use no date (n.d.) if no date of publication is given.
• Use this format if you have used information from within the app.
• Common mobile apps and software mentioned in text, but not paraphrased or quoted, do not need citations (e.g. Microsoft Excel, Facebook, SPSS). However, include reference list entries and in-text citations if you have paraphrased or quoted. If apps or software you have cited are not well known, provide the reference entry.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

In reference list

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: If the slides come from Moodle (The University of Waikato learning management system) and you are writing for an audience with access to that resource (e.g. an online discussion forum in Moodle, a course assignment), provide the name of the site (i.e. Moodle) and a direct URL to the source.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• NEW: Include the name of the database before the URL.
• A data set is where you have selected raw data to produce a unique data set (APA Publication Manual 7th edition, p. 337).
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• A data set is where you have selected raw data to produce a unique data set (APA Publication Manual 7th edition, p. 337).
• The use of [Data file] indicates that you have chosen specific data to form this data set.  You can also include additional information to distinguish data sets, e.g. [Data file, 2001 Population Census].
• NEW: Include the name of the website before the URL. When the author and the website name are the same, omit the site name from the source element.
• Use no date (n.d.) if no date of publication is given.
• If a title is given for the data set, put it in italics.
• If there is no title, provide a description in square brackets of the publication status and focus of data. Do not italicise this description.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.

In text citation

In reference list

• No information is required in the reference list as the data has not been published and can not be retrieved.
• Contents from private or friend-only social networking webpages should be treated as Personal Communications, but information in a publicly available social networking website must be referenced. See examples in 'Webpages & Social Networking' section.

In text citation

See Figures (including Images) & Tables if the photograph is cited as a figure.

In reference list

• NEW: Present the name of the individual or group author the same as you would for any other reference. Then provide the social media handle in square brackets.
• NEW: For an untitled photograph, include a description in square brackets in place of title.
• Use the URL to lead to the post rather than the feed.
• See Figures (including Images) & Tables if the photograph is cited as a figure.
• NEW: Retrieved from is no longer required before the URL.