Library Search
Key Databases
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals, covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
- ETV This link opens in a new window
ETV is the largest online video platform for educators in New Zealand with over 150,000 videos recorded or live from over 55 freeview, international and SKY channels.
- Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of selected New Zealand serials, including newspapers, about New Zealand and the South Pacific. Subjects covered include general interest material, social research, current affairs, the arts and humanities.
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand and South East Asia, this database covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The OECD publishes its recommendations, analysis and data on OECD iLibrary to help inform policy makers, researchers and analysts.
- Overton This link opens in a new window
Overton is a searchable index of global policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. Explore policy documents citing research from the University of Waikato, or search for specific authors or articles that have been cited in policy documents.
- ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Psychology, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Social Science, ProQuest Sociology plus Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts. These databases provide citations, abstracts and full text access to literature on a wide range of disciplines, including political science, public policy, international relations, psychology, anthropology, sociology, religious and spiritual studies, social work, criminology, social policy, gender studies, population studies and more.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- SIPRI Yearbook Online This link opens in a new window
The SIPRI Yearbook is an annual publication that provides comprehensive and authoritative information on global security, military spending, conflicts, arms control, and disarmament. It is a widely respected resource and reference book used by policymakers, researchers, academics, journalists, and the public interested in international security affairs.
- Te Puna Search This link opens in a new window
Te Puna Search (WorldCat Discovery) provides a view of New Zealand libraries holdings and the holdings of other libraries around the world for both library staff and patrons. Discovery searches over OCLC WorldCat plus other databases.
Political Science
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and International Relations by ISBN: 0199670846Publication Date: 2018-03-18This dictionary is renowned for its authoritative and clear explanations of political terms, as well as its impressive coverage of international relations, heavily expanded for this edition. It remains an essential A-Z guide to political terminology and theory.
Democracy in New Zealand by Call Number: JQ5831 .M55 2015ISBN: 9781869408350Publication Date: 2015-08-01New Zealand is one of the world's oldest democracies for men and women, Maori and Pakeha, with one of the highest political participation rates. But--from MMP to leadership primaries, spin doctors to "dirty politics"--the country's political system is undergoing rapid change. Examining the constitution and the political system, cabinet and parliament, political parties, leadership, and elections, Raymond Miller draws on data and analysis (including from the 2014 election) to tackle critical questions: Who runs New Zealand? Does political apathy threaten democracy? Will new parties have an ongoing impact? Do we now have a presidential democracy?
Environmental Politics and Policy in Aotearoa New Zealand by ISBN: 9781776710928Publication Date: 2022-04-07Environmental Politics and Policy in Aotearoa New Zealand is a comprehensive introduction to confronting some of today's most urgent challenges. Global warming, threats to biodiversity, contamination of waterways and other environmental issues confront today's citizens with critical challenges that are fundamentally political. Power, authority and state action enable current practices - and through politics and policy that power can be harnessed to create a more ecologically sustainable planet. In this book, leading scholars from around Aotearoa introduce students to environmental politics and policy based in this country's unique institutional, cultural and resource context.The text focuses on the key importance of Te Tiriti o Waitangi, the characteristics of the natural environment in Aotearoa and the role of gender dynamics in the distribution of power, before turning to how this unique setting informs and is, in turn, informed by the global context of environmental politics.
Governing for the Future: Designing Democratic Institutions for a Better Tomorrow by ISBN: 1786350564Publication Date: 2016-11-09This book is about governing well for the future. It investigates the nature of, and the conditions for, prudent long-term democratic governance in a dynamic, complex, and uncertain world, the reasons why such governance is politically challenging, and how such challenges can best be tackled. In particular, it addresses the problem of 'short-termism' - or a 'presentist bias' - in policy-making; that is, the risk of governments placing undue weight on near-term considerations at the expense of a society's overall long-term welfare. As such, the book traverses both normative and empirical issues. The approach is primarily qualitative rather than quantitative.
Government and Politics in Aotearoa and New Zealand by ISBN: 9780190325497Publication Date: 2021-11-09A principle guide to government and politics in Aotearoa New ZealandGovernment and Politics in Aotearoa New Zealand equips students with the history, theory and knowledge needed to understand and enjoy the study of Aotearoa New Zealand politics. It helps students to identify key governmental institutions of the state, to understand how government works and to recognise political and civil rights and responsibilities in order to engage with them.The extensive author team share their expertise, explanations and arguments from a variety of perspectives, offering students various ways of looking at Aotearoa New Zealand's government and politics.NEW TO THIS EDITIONNew seven-part structure allows for easy navigation and gradually builds a cohesive picture of politics and government in Aotearoa New Zealand.Incorporates recent changes to Aotearoa New Zealand politics such as the COVID-19 response and the 2020 general election.Updated discussion questions encourage students to engage with key concepts.A new glossary highlights key terms and concepts throughout the book to give students a more in-depth understanding of the topic.
The Logic of American Politics by Call Number: JK276 .K47 2020ISBN: 9781544322995Publication Date: 2019-04-04This best-selling text arms you with a toolkit of institutional design concepts--command, veto, agenda control, voting rules, and delegation--that help you recognize how the American political system was designed and why it works the way it does. The authors build your critical thinking through a simple yet powerful idea: politics is about solving collective action problems. Thoroughly updated to account for the most recent events and data, the Ninth Edition explores the increase in political polarization, the growing emotional involvement people have to politics, Americans' reactions to changing demographics, the partisan politics of judicial selection, and the changing nature of presidential leadership. Revised to include the 2018 election results and analysis, this edition provides you with the tools you need to make sense of today's government.
New Zealand Government and Politics by Call Number: JQ5881 .N39 2015ISBN: 9780195585254Publication Date: 2015-06-01New Zealand Government and Politics is the principle guide to the political context, institutions and processes of government in New Zealand. It provides students with a clear and comprehensive introduction to the history, theory and knowledge required to understand the New Zealand political system. The eight part structure of this leading textbook is designed to gradually build a cohesive picture of New Zealand politics and end of chapter discussion questions help readers engage with key concepts. : Now in its sixth edition, New Zealand Government and Politics has been thoroughly updated with discussion and analysis of the 2014 general election campaign and results and includes new perspectives from a range of expert contributors.
The Oxford Handbook of Deliberative Democracy by Call Number: JC423 .O93 2018ISBN: 9780198747369Publication Date: 2018-11-06The Oxford Handbook of Deliberative Democracy is about meaningful democratic communication encompassing citizens and leaders. This ideal can be applied to practical thinking about politics, policy, and society. Providing an antidote to authoritarian populism and post-truth politics, the Handbook demonstrates the viability of reason-giving, listening, reflection, respect, and participation in a wide variety of venues and policy practices around the globe.
Parliamentary Practice in New Zealand by Call Number: JQ5864 .M25 2017ISBN: 9780947506247Publication Date: 2017Parliamentary Practice in New Zealand is the definitive work on practice and procedure in the New Zealand House of Representatives. The fourth edition incorporates a decade of developments since the third edition in 2005, and reflects many significant changes in parliamentary law, practice and procedure, including: the Parliamentary Privilege Act 2014; how the House and its committees conduct legislative and financial scrutiny; the use of extended sittings by the House; the increased role of the Business Committee to manage the transaction of parliamentary business; how the work of the House and its committees is communicated to the public. This new edition features an attractive design and accessible structure, with extensive indexing and references.
Policy Paradox: The Art of Political Decision Making by Call Number: H97 .S83 2012ISBN: 9780393912722Publication Date: 2011-12-16Policy making is a political struggle over values and ideas. By exposing the paradoxes that underlie even seemingly straightforward policy decisions, Policy Paradox shows students that politics cannot be cleansed from the process in favor of "rationality." Author Deborah Stone has fully revised and updated this popular text, which now includes many paradoxes that have arisen since September 11.
Political Science and Political Theory by ISBN: 0429284195Publication Date: 2019-11-21First published in 1987. The key issues, concepts and figures relevant to the study of political science and theory today are covered in this volume, and useful suggestions for further reading are included. In political science, topics range from the analysis of voting to decision making; philosophical issues from anarchism through human rights to utopianism; and the biographies deal with major thinkers such as Arendt, Burke, Hobbes, Marx and Rousseau.
Politics and the Media by ISBN: 1869408470Publication Date: 2016-07-01Journalists and presidents, hacks and spin doctors, media moguls and prime ministers: in New Zealand and around the world, politics and the media are deeply intertwined. Politics and the Media is the second edition of New Zealand's leading introduction to the subject. The book introduces students to the rich literature on media and politics internationally, covering history, political economy and contemporary trends, and then analyzes the particular shape of the media in New Zealand and its political role. This second edition features extensive coverage of the 2014 'Dirty Politics' campaign, the increasing importance of online media, and updated material in all chapters.
Politics of the Earth: Environmental Discourses by ISBN: 9780198851745Publication Date: 2022-03-01Written by an internationally recognised expert in the field, The Politics of the Earth provides an authoritative and engaging introduction to environmental politics through a unique, discourse-centred approach. With his lively and accessible writing style, John S. Dryzek analyses how we construct and interpret the environment through language, guiding the reader through the discourses that dominate this arena, including ecological limits, sustainability and green radicalism.The fourth edition has been thoroughly updated to take in key developments in environmental affairs, including an examination of the implications of the Anthropocene concept and need for ecological reflexivity, with updated coverage of the Paris Agreement on climate change and Sustainable Development Goals, weaving in throughout a wealth of contemporary examples to illuminate the discussion. It also contains a ground-breaking new chapter on 'Gray Radicalism', in which the author provides an innovative overview and analysis of this contemporary radical anti-environmental discourse.
Rethinking Terrorism: Terrorism, Violence and the State by Call Number: HV6431 .W53 2015ISBN: 9780230573772Publication Date: 2015-08-28This book develops a theoretical account of contemporary forms of terrorism and their impact on the international system. Offering a structural explanation for understanding acts of terrorism, it explores the relationship between the state and protest against the state. In placing the state at the centre of the analysis and distinguishing between differing types of political protest and violence, the author gives a deflationary account of terrorism that places severe restrictions on the use of the term.
- The American Political Science ReviewAmerican Political Science Review is political science's premier scholarly research journal, providing peer-reviewed articles and review essays from subfields throughout the discipline. Areas covered include political theory, American politics, public policy, public administration, comparative politics, and international relations.
- The ANNALS of the American Academy of Political and Social ScienceThe American Academy of Political and Social Science has served as a forum for the free exchange of ideas among the well informed and intellectually curious. In this era of specialization, few scholarly periodicals cover the scope of societies and politics like The ANNALS. Each volume is guest edited by outstanding scholars and experts in the topics studied and presents more than 200 pages of timely, in-depth research on a significant topic of concern.
- Political CommunicationPolitical Communication is an international journal, published quarterly, that features cutting-edge theory-driven empirical research at the intersection of politics and communication. Its expansive subject is the site of rapid changes and pressing policy concerns worldwide.
- Political SciencePolitical Science publishes peer-reviewed articles and review essays across all fields and subdisciplines of political science and international relations.
- Political Science QuarterlyPublished continuously since that year, PSQ has been the most widely read and accessible scholarly journal on government, politics, and public policy. Broad in its subject matter and dedicated to objective analysis based on evidence, PSQ examines both domestic and international issues. It has no ideological or methodological slant and is edited to be accessible not only to scholars but also to general readers who have a serious interest in public and foreign affairs.
- SurvivalSurvival, the International Institute for Strategic Studies’ bi-monthly journal, is one of the world’s leading forums for analysis and debate of international and strategic affairs. Through commentary, analytical articles, case studies, forums, review essays, reviews and letters to the editor, the journal promotes lively, critical debate on issues of international politics and strategy.
- InsideWellingtonInsideWellington is a comprehensive government monitoring and reporting service designed to keep subscribers up-to-date on government policy issues.
- New Zealand Election StudyThrough the analysis of political behaviour over eleven successive New Zealand elections, we have been monitoring the democratic process in New Zealand during a period of social and economic change and, most particularly, during the transition between electoral systems: the first past the post (FPP) or plurality electoral system in effect in New Zealand from the origins of the political system, and the new Mixed Member Proportional (MMP) system which is in effect from the 1996 election.
- New Zealand Election ResultsOfficial results for New Zealand’s parliamentary elections.
- Register of New Zealand Political PartiesShows which parties are on the register, their abbreviated names, their registered logos, and links to their websites.
Public Policy
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The OECD publishes its recommendations, analysis and data on OECD iLibrary to help inform policy makers, researchers and analysts.
- Overton This link opens in a new window
Overton is a searchable index of global policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. Explore policy documents citing research from the University of Waikato, or search for specific authors or articles that have been cited in policy documents.
Global Encyclopedia of Public Administration, Public Policy, and GovernanceISBN: 9783030662523This global encyclopedic work serves as a comprehensive collection of global scholarship regarding the vast fields of public administration, public policy, governance, and management
An Introduction to the Policy Process by ISBN: 9780765646620Publication Date: 2015-09-02Thoroughly revised, reorganized, updated, and expanded, this widely-used text sets the balance and fills the gap between theory and practice in public policy studies. In a clear, conversational style, the author conveys the best current thinking on the policy process with an emphasis on accessibility and synthesis rather than novelty or abstraction. A newly added chapter surveys the social, economic, and demographic trends that are transforming the policy environment.
Policy Analysis: Concepts and Practice by Call Number: H97 .W45 2005ISBN: 0131830015Publication Date: 2004-06-04This book both introduces and explores the hows and whys of the practices of public policy. It provides reality-based practical advice about how to actually conduct policy analysis and demonstrate the application of advanced analytic techniques.- Policy Feedback: How Policies Shape Politics byISBN: 1108938914Publication Date: 2022-06-06Although the idea that existing policies can have major effects on politics and policy development is hardly new, the last three decades witnessed a major expansion of policy feedback scholarship, which focuses on the mechanisms through which existing policies shape politics and policy development. Starting with a discussion of the origins of the concept of policy feedback, this element explores early and more recent contributions of the policy feedback literature to clarify the meaning of this concept and its contribution to both political science and policy studies. After exploring the rapidly expanding scholarship on policy feedback and mass politics, this element also puts forward new research agendas that stress several ways forward, including the need to explain both institutional and policy continuity and change. Finally, the element discusses the practical implications of policy feedback research through a discussion of its potential impact on policy design. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.
A Practical Guide for Policy Analysis: The Eightfold Path to More Effective Problem Solving by Call Number: H97 .B37 2016ISBN: 9781483359465Publication Date: 2015-09-29This bestselling handbook presents dozens of concrete tips, interesting case studies, and step-by-step strategies for the budding analyst as well as the seasoned professional.
Public Policy in New Zealand: Institutions, Processes and Outcomes by Call Number: H97 .S45 2011ISBN: 9781442539983Publication Date: 2011Public policy matters, because it makes a difference - for better or for worse - to people's lives. This book provides and introduction to policy in New Zealand: what it is, who makes it, and how it is made.
Public Policy Praxis: A Case Approach for Understanding Policy Analysis by ISBN: 1000027260Publication Date: 2020-03-03Public Policy Praxis is an ideal textbook for undergraduate and graduate courses in public policy analysis, community planning, leadership, social welfare policy, educational policy, family policy, and special seminars.
The Public Policy Process by Call Number: H97 .H198 2017ISBN: 9781138909496Publication Date: 2016-11-03The Public Policy Process is essential reading for anyone trying to understand the process by which public policy is made. Explaining clearly the importance of the relationship between theoretical and practical aspects of policy-making, the book gives a thorough overview of the people and organisations involved in the process.
Routledge Handbook of Policy Design by ISBN: 1351252909Publication Date: 2018-07-17Uniting theoretical bases and advancements in practice, the Routledge Handbook of Policy Design brings together leading experts in the academic field of policy design in a pioneering effort of scholarship. Each chapter provides a multi-topic overview of the state of knowledge on how, why, where or when policies are designed and how such designs can be improved. These experts address how a new emphasis on effective policy design has re-emerged in public policy studies in recent years and clarify the role of historical policy decisions, policy capacities and government intentions in promoting a design orientation towards policy formulation and policy-making more generally. They examine many previously unexplored aspects of policy designs and designing activities, which focus upon analyzing and improving the sets of policy tools adopted by governments to correct policy problems. Ranging from the fundamentals of policy design and its place in greater policy studies, to new questions regarding policy design content and effectiveness, to contemporary design trends such as the use of digital tools and big data, the Routledge Handbook of Policy Design is a comprehensive reference for students and scholars of public policy, public administration and public management, government and business.
Social Policy Practice and Processes in Aotearoa New Zealand by Call Number: HN930.5.A8 S585 2021ISBN: 9780995137837Publication Date: 2021This book is essential reading for students in social policy and related subjects, as well as the wider policy-making community.
Targeting Commitment: Interagency Performance in New Zealand by ISBN: 9780815739180Publication Date: 2022-03-08New Zealand's deceptively simple but effective program to improve public services New Zealand has long been considered at the forefront of public administration, experimenting with new ways of organizing and delivering public services. Even so, successive New Zealand governments had mixed results from using traditional public management tools to lift the performance of the public service and address persistent problems that required multi-agency action. In 2012 the government decided to try something different. As part of a reform package called Better Public Services, the government challenged the public service to organize itself around achieving just ten results that had proven resistant to previous interventions. The plan was deceptively simple: set ambitious targets and publicly report on progress every six months; hold small groups of public managers collectively responsible; use lead indicators; and learn from both success and failure. This book explores how and why the New Zealand government made progress and how the program was able to create and sustain the commitment of public servants and unleash the creativity of public entrepreneurs. The authors combine case studies based on the experience of people involved in the change, together with public management research. They explain how ambitious targets and public accountability were used as levers to overcome the bureaucratic barriers that impeded public service delivery, and how data, evidence, and innovation were used to change practice. New Zealand experimented, failed, succeeded, and learned from the experience over five years. This New Zealand experience demonstrates that interagency performance targets are a potentially powerful tool for fostering better public services and thus improving social outcomes.
Theories of the Policy Process by ISBN: 0429973918Publication Date: 2018-05-15A comprehensive primer to the major contemporary theoretical frameworks used in policy process research written by leading public policy scholars.
Understanding Public Policy: Theories and Issues by Call Number: JF1525 .P6C35 2012ISBN: 9780230229709Publication Date: 2011-10-18A major textbook devoted to the theories that drive the study of Public Policy. Offering an accessible overview of the key components of public policy analysis - such as power and agenda setting, institutions, networks, socio-economic factors and the role of ideas - the text shows how different theoretical models relate to one another and explores how theory can be applied across a range of country settings. With its impressively comprehensive coverage, the book can be used as the sole text for teaching undergraduate and postgraduate courses worldwide on Public Policy, Policy Analysis and Theories of Public Policy.
Writing Public Policy: A Practical Guide to Communication in the Policy-Making Process by ISBN: 0195145070Publication Date: 2005-02-17Writing Public Policy is a hands-on, concise guide to writing and communicating in public policy processes. Designed to help students, practitioners, and other "doers" understand and perform common types of communication used in solving public problems, the book introduces the institutional democratic process in the U.S. and explains the standards and functions of communicating in the public sector.
- Australian Journal of Public AdministrationAustralian Journal of Public Administration is committed to the study and practice of public administration, public policy-making, and public sector governance. It encourages research, reflection and commentary amongst those interested in a range of public sector settings – international, federal, state, local, and inter-governmental.
- Journal of Comparative Policy Analysis: Research and PracticeThe Journal of Comparative Policy Analysis: Research and Practice ( JCPA ) has pioneered comparative policy studies since 1998 and is the only explicitly comparative journal of policy analytic studies. It aims to stimulate the intellectual development of comparative policy studies and the growth of an international community of scholars who research the challenges and benefits of global inter- and intra-policy making.
- Journal of European Public PolicyThe Journal of European Public Policy (JEPP) has established itself as one of the flagship journals in the study of public policy, European politics and the EU and aims to provide a comprehensive and definitive source of analytical, theoretical and methodological articles in these fields. Focusing on the dynamics of public policy in Europe, the journal encourages a wide range of social science approaches, both qualitative and quantitative.
- Policy QuarterlyPolicy Quarterly (PQ) is targeted at readers in the public sector, including politicians and their staff, public servants and a wide variety of professions, together with others interested in public issues.
- Policy Studies JournalPolicy Studies is a long-standing, international journal focussing on public policy and governance at all levels and across all continents. It publishes original articles which are assessed through a rigorous peer review process.
- Public Policy and AdministrationThe journal aims to publish original peer-reviewed material within the broad field of public policy and administration. This includes recent developments in research, scholarship and practice within public policy, public administration, government, public management, administrative theory, administrative history and administrative politics. The journal seeks to foster a pluralistic approach to the study of public policy and administration.
- APO - Analysis & Policy ObservatoryReports, working papers, and journal articles from other jurisdictions.
- Campbell CollaborationThe Campbell Collaboration is an international social science research network that produces high quality, open and policy-relevant evidence syntheses, plain language summaries and policy briefs.
- European Policy Institutes NetworkThe European Policy Institutes Network comprises 39 think tanks and policy institutes working on EU affairs from 26 European countries, including almost all EU member states as well as candidate countries. By engaging in joint projects, events and publications, EPIN aims to contribute to the debate on current EU issues, the future of European integration and provide a thorough understanding of national debates.
- The Hub: NZ Social Science ResearchThe Hub is the repository for New Zealand government social science research
- InsideWellingtonInsideWellington is a comprehensive government monitoring and reporting service designed to keep subscribers up-to-date on government policy issues.
- JSTOR Open Research ReportsResearch reports provide current analysis on many of today’s most discussed and debated issues from a diversity of ideological and international perspectives representing 40 countries and 29 languages. A sample of topics would include: climate change, border security, fake news, cybersecurity, electric vehicles, artificial intelligence, energy policy, gender issues, terrorism, remote learning, recent trends in business and economics, and various public health issues, including COVID-19.
- New Zealand Governance & Policy from Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO)This Collection contains policy, research, grey literature, journal articles and other content related to Aotearoa New Zealand.
- Open Think Tank DirectoryThe Open Think Tank directory aims to pull together key information about policy organisations into one place.
- The Policy ProjectThe Policy Project equips policy practitioners, teams and agencies with tools, information and advice to develop their skills and capability – so they can deliver quality policy advice that supports good government decision making.
- Regulatory Impact Statements (RIS)A regulatory impact statement (RIS) provides a high-level summary of the policy problem being addressed, the options and their associated costs and benefits, the consultation undertaken, and the proposed arrangements for implementation, monitoring, evaluation and review. May be searched by keyword.
- TTCSP Global Go To Think Tank Index ReportsThe Global Go To Think Tank Index is the result of an international survey of over 1,950 scholars, public and private donors, policy makers, and journalists who helped rank more than 6,500 think tanks using a set of 18 criteria developed by the TTCSP.
- United Nations Digital LibraryIncludes material from all UN agencies. Search by topic, agency, type of document and date.
International Relations and Security Studies
- United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains treaties and international agreements registered or filed with the Secretariat of the U.N. since 1946. Texts are in their original language(s), along with translations into English and French, as appropriate.
Asia-Pacific Security: An Introduction by Call Number: JZ6009.A75 A44 2016ISBN: 9781626163447Publication Date: 2016-10-01This new textbook gathers an international roster of top security studies scholars to provide an overview of Asia-Pacific's international relations and pressing contemporary security issues. It is a suitable introduction for undergraduate and masters students' use in international relations and security studies courses. Merging a strong theoretical component with rich contemporary and historical empirical examples, Asia-Pacific Security examines the region's key players and challenges as well as a spectrum of proposed solutions for improving regional stability. Major topics include in-depth looks at the United States' relationship with China; Security concerns presented by small and microstates, the region's largest group of nations; threats posed by terrorism and insurgency; the region's accelerating arms race and the potential for an Asian war; the possible roles of multilateralism, security communities, and human security as part of solutions to regional problems.- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and International Relations by ISBN: 0199670846Publication Date: 2018-03-18This dictionary is renowned for its authoritative and clear explanations of political terms, as well as its impressive coverage of international relations, heavily expanded for this edition. It remains an essential A-Z guide to political terminology and theory.
Contemporary Security Studies by ISBN: 9780198804109Publication Date: 2019-02-01With in-depth coverage of a wide range of issues, from terrorism, inter-state conflict, and nuclear deterrence to environmental security, health, and organized crime, Contemporary Security Studies is the definitive introduction to security studies. Bringing together leading scholars, it provides a student-friendly guide to traditional and critical theoretical approaches, as well the most important issues that dominate the modern security agenda. Throughout the text, students are encouraged to question their own preconceptions and to use their own judgement to critically evaluate key approaches and ideas. To help them achieve this, each chapter is punctuated with helpful learning features including 'key ideas', 'think points' and case studies, which demonstrate the real world applications, relevance, and implications of the theory.
The Globalization of World Politics: An Introduction to International Relations by ISBN: 9780192898142Publication Date: 2023-03-15The Globalization of World Politics is the bestselling introduction to international relations, and offers the most complete coverage of the key theories and global issues in world politics. The ninth edition has been thoroughly updated to explore the most pressing topics and challenges that dominate international relations today, including a brand-new chapter on global health, which explores the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. Tailored pedagogical features help students to consider key international relations arguments and debates, and apply theories and approaches to real world events, bridging the gap between theory and application. Interactive activities, such as multiple-choice questions and the opposing opinions feature, foster active learning, enhancing students' understanding of key concepts and debates. A diverse range of leading scholars in the field explore the history, theory, structures, and key issues in IR, providing students with an exceptionally comprehensive and clear introduction.
International Relations of Asia by ISBN: 1538162849Publication Date: 2022-05-16This is the most up-to-date and comprehensive volume on the international relations of Asia and the Indo-Pacific.
Security Studies: An Introduction by ISBN: 1351855875Publication Date: 2018-03-07Security Studies: An Introduction, 3rd edition, is the most comprehensive textbook available on the subject, providing students with an essential grounding in the debates, frameworks, and issues on the contemporary security agenda. This new edition has been comprehensively revised and updated, with new chapters added on poststructuralism, postcolonialism, securitization, peace and violence, development, women, peace and security, cybersecurity, and outer space. Divided into four parts, the text provides students with a detailed, accessible overview of the major theoretical approaches, key themes, and most significant issues within security studies.
- Armed Forces and SocietyArmed Forces & Society is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic publication that publishes articles and book reviews on a wide variety of topics including civil–military relations, military sociology, veterans, military psychology, military institutions, conflict management, peacekeeping, conflict resolution, military contracting, terrorism, gender related issues, military families and military ethics.
- Asian SecurityAsian Security aims to be the foremost journal on all aspects of national and international security in Asia. We welcome articles on South, Central, Southeast, and East Asia or comparative articles that draw on cases from those regions. The journal covers "traditional" issues such as interstate warfare, the regional balance of power, alliances and other multilateral security institutions, national defense policies, strategic culture, civil-military relations, nuclear proliferation, conventional arms racing, arms control, and conflict-prone areas. The journal also covers "new" security issues such as the stability of democratic transitions, globalization and its backlash, ethnic conflict, insurgency and counter insurgency, nontraditional security threats, failing states, and transnational terrorism.
- Australian Journal of International AffairsThe aim of the Australian Journal of International Affairs is to publish high quality scholarly research on international political, social, economic and legal issues, especially (but not exclusively) within the Asia-Pacific region.
- Foreign AffairsA scholarly bimonthly journal published by the Council on Foreign Relations that covers international affairs and foreign policy and provides an international forum for new ideas, analysis, and debate on significant world issues. Audience includes government officials, academics, business leaders, and non-governmental groups such as human rights organizations.
- Foreign PolicyPresents articles dealing with the United States' attitude toward world affairs and current events.
- International AffairsInternational Affairs is one of the world's leading journals of international relations and one of the few to cover the entire discipline. Over the years it has featured articles not only from many of the leading international relations scholars but also from those rising in the profession. This lively and provocative journal will keep you up to date with latest critical thinking on the key issues shaping today's world.
- International SecurityOriginal research and lists of recently published books on all aspects of international security issues emphasizing the role of science and technology in the analysis of international affairs.
- International Studies QuarterlyArticles aimed at a broad audience of work in international studies attending to the various political, economic, social or cultural factors affecting more than one society or theoretical discourses in the field.
- New Zealand International ReviewThe New Zealand Institute of International Affairs (NZIIA) commenced publishing the 'New Zealand International Review (NZIR) in 1976. The increased incidence of overseas travel by New Zealanders has increased the need for quality material - from a New Zealand perspective - on what is happening in the rest of the world. Events outside New Zealand will continue to affect New Zealanders far more than they can influence events.
- Security StudiesCoverage of international security studies, including historical, theoretical and policy articles on the causes of war and peace.
- SurvivalSurvival, the International Institute for Strategic Studies’ bi-monthly journal, is one of the world’s leading forums for analysis and debate of international and strategic affairs. Through commentary, analytical articles, case studies, forums, review essays, reviews and letters to the editor, the journal promotes lively, critical debate on issues of international politics and strategy.
- JSTOR Open Research ReportsResearch reports provide current analysis on many of today’s most discussed and debated issues from a diversity of ideological and international perspectives representing 40 countries and 29 languages. A sample of topics would include: climate change, border security, fake news, cybersecurity, electric vehicles, artificial intelligence, energy policy, gender issues, terrorism, remote learning, recent trends in business and economics, and various public health issues, including COVID-19.