Library Search
Key Databases and Journals
- BWB: Te Pouhere Kōrero Collection This link opens in a new window
The ten volumes of Te Pouhere Kōrero: Māori History, Māori People explore the rich narratives of Māori and indigenous history. Covering a wide range of topics, the collection provides a valuable resource for research on the history and culture of Aotearoa New Zealand. This peer-reviewed journal seeks to disseminate and promote Māori mātauranga and perspectives on history to wider audiences.
- BWB: The New Zealand History Collection This link opens in a new window
A full-text searchable online collection of high quality New Zealand non-fiction titles. Authors include James Belich, Judith Binney, Aroha Harris, Kuni Kaa Jenkins, Alison Jones, Michael King, Claudia Orange, Tipene O'Regan, Anne Salmond, Angela Wanhalla, Albert Wendt.
- BWB: The Treaty of Waitangi Collection This link opens in a new window
The Treaty of Waitangi Collection is primarily designed to provide a new and authoritative home for Treaty scholarship online, with more books to be added over time. The collection was built with support from the BWB Publishing Trust and the New Zealand Law Foundation.
- BWB Texts Collection This link opens in a new window
BWB Texts are short books by New Zealand writers. They are succinct narratives spanning contemporary issues, memoir, history and science, with new works published regularly.
- DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window
Explore over 34 million open access digital items from more than 200 partners throughout New Zealand, such as libraries, museums, galleries, government departments, the media, and community. Browse by item type, copyright usage conditions, content partner, and other filters.
- DigitalPasifik This link opens in a new window
A large public digital collection containing digital images, artworks, audio files, videos, and ebooks that can be browsed by Island, including smaller Pacific Islands such as Yap, Kosrae, and Tokelau. Users can discuss content in contribution to Indigenous research methodology. Part of the Pacific Virtual Museum Project and implemented by Te Puna Mātauranga: The National Library of New Zealand in collaboration with the National Library of Australia.
- ETV This link opens in a new window
ETV is the largest online video platform for educators in New Zealand with over 150,000 videos recorded or live from over 55 freeview, international and SKY channels.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- Learning Ground: Indigenous Education Research Database This link opens in a new window
The latest publications focusing on Indigenous education, spanning early childhood, post-school education, adult learning, encompassing areas such as cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, wellbeing, identity and oral language.
- National Library of New Zealand / Te Puna Mātauranga O Aotearoa This link opens in a new window
Choose from a number of databases including Index New Zealand (abstracts articles from selected NZ journals and newspapers) and Te Puna Search (Search across all NZ Library catalogues and beyond).
- Pacific Environment Data Portal This link opens in a new window
Over 18,000 geographic, spatial and environmental datasets of the Pacific region, with access to national environment datasets and environment policies of 17 Pacific countries.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes over 390 journals from over 70 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports every step of a research project, covering qualitative and quantitative methods, including interactive tools such as Methods Map and Project Planner. With hundreds of research methods ebooks, reference, video, case studies, and journal content.
- AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous PeoplesAlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples is an internationally peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal launched in 2005 by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga, New Zealand’s Māori Centre of Research Excellence, based at the University of Auckland in Aotearoa New Zealand. AlterNative presents scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world. It publishes articles in English but also welcomes submissions in Indigenous languages, as well as ones that have been previously published in an Indigenous language and are translated into English.
- Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) Digital CollectionThe world's largest collection dedicated to the Indigenous people of the Australian region of the Pacific.
- The Australian Journal of Indigenous EducationAboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Unit, The University of Queensland, Brisbane.
- Contemporary Pacific (Online)By the University of Hawai’i Press, the Contemporary Pacific covers a wide range of disciplines with the aim of providing comprehensive coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region and the global Pacific diaspora. It features refereed, readable articles that examine social, economic, political, ecological, literary, and cultural topics, along with political reviews, book and media reviews, resource reviews, and a dialogue section with interviews and short essays. Each issue highlights the work of one or more Pacific Islander artists from the year 2000.
- He Pukenga KōreroA journal of Māori studies published by Massey University (1995-2012).
- In Our Language: Journal of Pacific ResearchIn our Language: Journal of Pacific Research (IOL) publishes existing peer reviewed and published research, reviews, poems, short stories and essays that have been directly translated (typically from English) to a Pacific language.
- The Journal of New Zealand StudiesThe Journal of New Zealand Studies is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal published by the Stout Research Centre for New Zealand Studies. From 2014 onwards the JNZS will be published on-line twice a year, in June and December. Prospective articles are welcome from any discipline. They should have a New Zealand focus or be comparative with a strong New Zealand element.
- Journal of Pacific HistoryA leading refereed journal dedicated to research concerning the Pacific Islands, their peoples and their pasts from prehistory to the present. Contains articles on political, economic, religious and cultural history, analysis of contemporary developments, critical surveys and comment. Also includes primary documents, notes on source materials, reviews and review essays on books, exhibitions and other media.
- Journal of Pacific StudiesThe Journal of Pacific Studies (JPacS) is a multi-disciplinary journal that focuses on development issues. Since development issues are a key concern in the Pacific the Journal of Pacific Studies focuses on such contemporary concerns. It is a locally generated area studies journal for the South Pacific which gives primary attention to developmental, economic, historical, geographical and political issues with current investigations in The University of the South Pacific Region and beyond. Publications from 1975.
- MAI JournalMAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles around Indigenous knowledge and development in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand. Launched in 2012, MAI Journal evolved from MAI Review and complements AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples, which is also published by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga. MAI Journal is also supported by MASS: the Māori Association of Social Science.
- MAI ReviewMAI Review was the journal of the former Capability Building programme of Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga. Published from 2006 until 2011, all MAI Review content is still freely available online. To access this content, visit the MAI Review website.
- OceaniaOceania publishes contributions in the field of social and cultural anthropology. Its primary regional orientation is to the peoples of Australia, Melanesia, Polynesia, Micronesia and insular southeast Asia.
- Pacific Islands MonthlyThe Pacific Islands Monthly is a periodical founded in Sydney by R.W. Robson, a New Zealand born journalist. His object was to provide a news exchange for residents of the South Pacific Islands. The first issue, which appeared in August 1930, was in newspaper format and consisted of 12 pages. It remained in that format, but with an increasing number of pages, until the seventeenth issue (December 1931) when a magazine format was adopted. The last issue was June 2000.
- Te Kaharoa: The Journal on Indigenous Pacific IssuesTe Kaharoa is an open access and peer reviewed journal dedicated to promoting Māori and Indigenous scholars, artists, filmmakers, and creative writers. Curated by students and staff of Te Ara Poutama at Auckland University of Technology, Te Kaharoa publishes writings in Te Reo Māori and English. The journal includes, but is not limited to, articles, reflections, commentaries, creative works, film and book reviews, and digital and sound recordings of Indigenous communities from Aotearoa, Te Moana-nui-a-Kiwa, and the world.
- Waikato Journal of Education: Te Hautaka Mātauranga o WaikatoThe Waikato Journal of Education is a well-regarded peer-reviewed journal. Since the first publication in 1995, the journal has made a major contribution to the scholarship on a wide range of topics in the field of education, particularly issues connected to curriculum, learning and teaching. Papers have included reports on educational research and practice and viewpoints on education policies, theories and practices. Issues often have a special focus.
Kaupapa Māori Research
Decolonisation in Aotearoa: Education, research and practice by Call Number: LC3501.M3 D43 2016ISBN: 0947509178Publication Date: 2016The book presents a kaupapa Māori and decolonised agenda for Māori education ... divided into three sections: Māori in education, Māori in research and Māori in practice.
Decolonizing Methodologies by ISBN: 9781786998125Publication Date: 2021To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory.This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being.
Māori Philosophy: Indigenous thinking from Aotearoa by Call Number: B5712 .S84 2021ISBN: 9781350101654Publication Date: 2020-09-03Covering the symbolic systems and worldviews of the Indigenous Peoples of Aotearoa, New Zealand, this book is a concise introduction to Māori philosophy. It addresses core philosophical issues including Māori notions of the self, the world, epistemology, the form in which Māori philosophy is conveyed, and whether or not Māori philosophy has a teleological agenda.
Critical conversations in Kaupapa Māori by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; H62.5.N45 H67 2017ISBN: 9781775503286Publication Date: 2017This collection furthers knowledge about Kaupapa Māori by examining its effects over the decades, identifying and discussing its conventions and boundaries and reflecting on Kaupapa Māori in social and educational research and practice.
Kaupapa rangahau: A reader: A collection of readings from the Kaupapa rangahau workshop series by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; HT1595 .M3K38 2015ISBN: 0994121733Publication Date: 2015
- Indigenous knowledge, methodology and mayhem: What is the role of methodology in producing indigenous insights? A discussion from Mātauranga Māori byPublication Date: 2016This article raises some discussion about ‘research methodologies’ being used when discussing mātauranga Māori and Indigenous knowledge (hereafter referred to as IK mātauranga). his article speaks to a gnawing sense that mayhem is at play, as the academic work around IK mātauranga begins to consolidate and become institutionalised away from its indigenous communities and contexts, where it began and where it still informs identities, ways of living and being.
- Kaupapa Maori research: An indigenous approach to creating knowledge byPublication Date: 1999This paper seeks to identify how issues of epistemological racism are addressed in practice within an indigenous Kaupapa (philosophy) Maori approach to research, and how such considerations may impact on the Western trained and positioned researcher.
- Kaupapa Māori research: Some Kaupapa Māori principles byPublication Date: 2015This paper was first presented at a conference of Māori academic staff at Massey University in 1996. It predates the publication of Decolonising Methodologies in 1998. It needs to be read in the context of the 1990s.
- Freeing ourselves from neo-colonial domination in research: A Maori approach to creating knowledge byPublication Date: 1998This paper examines, by reference to a recent meta-study of five research projects conducted within Maori contexts, an indigenous initiative in research within Aotearoa New Zealand, an initiative that is termed Kaupapa (agenda philosophy) Maori research. This agenda for research is concerned with how research practice might realize Maori desires for self-determination, while addressing contemporary research issues of authority and legitimacy.
Indigenous Research
Braiding sweetgrass: Indigenous wisdom, scientific knowledge and the teachings of plants by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; E59.P45 K55 2020ISBN: 014199195XPublication Date: 2020In a rich braid of reflections that range from the creation of Turtle Island to the forces that threaten its flourishing today, she circles toward a central argument: that the awakening of a wider ecological consciousness requires the acknowledgment and celebration of our reciprocal relationship with the rest of the living world. For only when we can hear the languages of other beings will we be capable of understanding the generosity of the earth, and learn to give our own gifts in return.
Decolonizing Research by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; GN378 .D43 2019ISBN: 9781786994615Publication Date: 2019-05-15From Oceania to North America, Indigenous Peoples have created storytelling traditions of incredible depth and diversity. Decolonizing Research brings together Indigenous researchers and activists from Canada, Australia and New Zealand to assert the unique value of Indigenous storywork as a focus of research, and to develop methodologies that rectify the colonial attitudes inherent in much past and current scholarship.
Indigenous knowledge and academic imperialism by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; DU28.3.R45 2000Publication Date: 2000A multicentred, dialogic history of the Pacific. Whether set in Samoa, Fiji, Hawaii, Papua New Guinea or elsewhere, each essay addresses questions that are asked by scholars everywhere.
Indigenous Methodologies by ISBN: 9781442612112Publication Date: 2010-10-23What are Indigenous research methodologies, and how do they unfold? Indigenous methodologies flow from tribal knowledge, and while they are allied with several western qualitative approaches, they remain distinct. These are the focal considerations of Margaret Kovach's study,which offers guidance to those conducting research in the academy using Indigenous methodologies.
The Indigenous Oral History Manual by ISBN: 9780367746810Publication Date: 2023-09-01Using examples from Indigenous community oral history projects throughout Canada and the United States, this new edition is informed by best practices to show how oral history can be done in different contexts. The Manual contains information about selected Indigenous oral histories, legal and ethical issues, project planning considerations, choosing recording equipment and budgeting, planning and carrying out interviews in various settings, stewardship of project materials, and ways Indigenous communities use oral histories. A centerpiece of the book is a collection of oral history project profiles from Canada and the United States that illustrate the range of possibilities that people interested in Indigenous oral history might pursue. It emphasizes the importance of community engagement and adhering to appropriate local protocols and ethical standards, inviting readers to understand that oral history work can take various forms with people whose cultural heritage has always relied on oral transmission of knowledge.
Indigenous research: Theories, practices, and relationships by ISBN: 9781773380872Publication Date: 2018This new edited collection moves beyond asking what Indigenous research is and examines how Indigenous approaches to research are carried out in practice. Contributors share their personal experiences of conducting Indigenous research within the academy in collaboration with their communities and with guidance from Elders and other traditional knowledge keepers.
Indigenous Research Ethics: Claiming Research Sovereignty Beyond Deficit and the Colonial Legacy by ISBN: 9781787693913Publication Date: 2020-10-19Given the extreme variety of research issues under investigation today and the multi-million-dollar industry surrounding research, it becomes extremely important that we ensure that research involving Indigenous peoples is ethically as well as methodologically relevant, according to the needs and desires of Indigenous peoples themselves. This distinctive volume presents Indigenous research as strong and self-determined with theories, ethics and methodologies arising from within unique cultural contexts. Yet the volume makes clear that challenges remain, such as working in mainstream institutions that may not regard the work of Indigenous researchers as legitimate 'science'. In addition, it explores a twenty-first-century challenge for Indigenous people researching with their own people, namely the ethical questions that must be addressed when dealing with Indigenous organisations and tribal corporations that have fought for - and won - power and money. The volume also analyses Indigenous/non-Indigenous research partnerships, outlining how they developed respectful and reciprocal relationships of benefit for all, and argues that these kinds of best practice research guidelines are of value to all research communities.
Indigenous Research Methodologies by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; GN380 .C49 2020ISBN: 9781483333472Publication Date: 2019-11-26Author Bagele Chilisa has revised and updated her groundbreaking textbook to give a new generation of scholars a crucial foundation in indigenous methods, methodologies, and epistemologies. Addressing the increasing emphasis in the classroom and in the field to sensitize researchers and students to diverse perspectives--especially those of women, minority groups, former colonized societies, indigenous people, historically oppressed communities, and people with disabilities--the second edition of Indigenous Research Methodologies situates research in a larger, historical, cultural, and global context to make visible the specific methodologies that are commensurate with the transformative paradigm of social science research.
Indigenous Storywork by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; E99 .S21 2008ISBN: 9780774814010Publication Date: 2008-02-06Indigenous oral narratives are an important source for, and component of, Coast Salish knowledge systems. Stories are not only to be recounted and passed down; they are also intended as tools for teaching. Jo-ann Archibald worked closely with Elders and storytellers, who shared both traditional and personal life-experience stories, in order to develop ways of bringing storytelling into educational contexts.
Kanaka 'Ōiwi Methodologies: Mo'olelo and Metaphor by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; DU624.5 .K34 2016ISBN: 0824857518Publication Date: 2015-10-31For many new indigenous scholars, the start of academic research can be an experience rife with conflict in many dimensions. Though there are a multitude of approaches to research and inquiry, many of those methods ignore ancient wisdom and traditions as well as alternative worldviews and avenues for both discovery and learning. The fourth volume in the Hawai'inuiākea series explores techniques for inquiry through some of the many perspectives of Kanaka 'Ōiwi (Native Hawaiian) scholars at work today. Kanaka 'Ōiwi Methodologies: Mo'olelo and Metaphor is a collection of methods-focused essays written by Kanaka scholars across academic disciplines. To better illustrate for practitioners how to use research for deeper understanding, positive social change, as well as language and cultural revitalization, the texts examine Native Hawaiian Critical Race Theory, Hawaiian traditions and protocol in environmental research, using mele (song) for program evaluation, and more.
Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; LB880 .F7314 2015ISBN: 9780826412768Publication Date: 2000-09-01First published in Portuguese in 1968, Pedagogy of the Oppressed was translated and published in English in 1970. The methodology of the late Paulo Freire has helped to empower countless impoverished and illiterate people throughout the world. Freire's work has taken on especial urgency in the United States and Western Europe, where the creation of a permanent underclass among the underprivileged and minorities in cities and urban centers is increasingly accepted as the norm. With a substantive new introduction on Freire's life and the remarkable impact of this book by writer and Freire confidant and authority Donaldo Macedo, this anniversary edition of Pedagogy of the Oppressed will inspire a new generation of educators, students, and general readers for years to come.- Researching Pacific and Indigenous Peoples: Issues and perspectives by Call Number: GN380 .R46 2004ISBN: 0908959079Publication Date: 2004
Research Is Ceremony by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; GN380 .W554 2008ISBN: 9781552662816Publication Date: 2008-09-01Indigenous researchers are knowledge seekers who work to progress Indigenous ways of being, knowing and doing in a modern and constantly evolving context. This book describes a research paradigm shared by Indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, and demonstrates how this paradigm can be put into practice.
Research Methods in Indigenous Contexts by ISBN: 9783319727745Publication Date: 2018-02-12This forward-looking resource offers readers a modern contextual framework for conducting social science research with indigenous peoples. Foundational chapters summarize current UN-based standards for indigenous rights and autonomy, with their implications for research practice. Coverage goes on to detail minimally-invasive data-gathering methods, survey current training and competency issues, and consider the scientist's role in research, particularly as a product of his/her own cultural background. From these guidelines and findings, students and professionals have a robust base for carrying out indigenous research that is valid and reliable as well as respectful and ethical.
Sources and Methods in Indigenous Studies by ISBN: 1315528851Publication Date: 2016-12-19Sources and Methods in Indigenous Studies is a synthesis of changes and innovations in methodologies in Indigenous Studies, focusing on sources over a broad chronological and geographical range. Written by a group of highly respected Indigenous Studies scholars from across an array of disciplines, this collection offers insight into the methodological approaches contributors take to research, and how these methods have developed in recent years.
Trans-Indigenous by ISBN: 9780816678181Publication Date: 2012-10-03What might be gained from reading Native literatures from global rather than exclusively local perspectives of Indigenous struggle? In Trans-Indigenous, Chadwick Allen proposes methodologies for a global Native literary studies based on focused comparisons of diverse texts, contexts, and traditions in order to foreground the richness of Indigenous self-representation and the complexity of Indigenous agency. Through demonstrations of distinct forms of juxtaposition--across historical periods and geographical borders, across tribes and nations, across the Indigenous-settler binary, across genre and media--Allen reclaims aspects of the Indigenous archive from North America, Hawaii, Aotearoa New Zealand, and Australia that have been largely left out of the scholarly conversation.
As We Have Always Done by ISBN: 9781517903862Publication Date: 2017-10-17In As We Have Always Done, Leanne Betasamosake Simpson locates Indigenous political resurgence as a practice rooted in uniquely Indigenous theorizing, writing, organizing, and thinking. Indigenous resistance is a radical rejection of contemporary colonialism focused around the refusal of the dispossession of both Indigenous bodies and land. Simpson makes clear that its goal can no longer be cultural resurgence as a mechanism for inclusion in a multicultural mosaic. Instead, she calls for unapologetic, place-based Indigenous alternatives to the destructive logics of the settler colonial state, including heteropatriarchy, white supremacy, and capitalist exploitation.
- Bioethics and the Samoan indigenous reference byPublication Date: 2010
- Centering Indigenous Nations within Indigenous Methodologies byPublication Date: 2015
- Decolonizing quantitative methods within a Pacific research space byPublication Date: 2021
- Fa’afaletui: A Pacific Research Framework byPublication Date: 2022
- Going Circular: Indigenous legal research methodology as legal practice byPublication Date: 2020
- Grounding our collective talanoa: Enabling open conversations byPublication Date: 2021
- Honouring the 3R's of indigenous research methodologies byPublication Date: 2014
- Improving health research among Indigenous peoples in Canada byPublication Date: 2018
- Like Braiding Sweetgrass: Nurturing Relationships and Alliances in Indigenous Community-based Research byPublication Date: 2016This paper expands on the importance of social relationships in the Nehinuw (Cree) worldview by reflecting on an ongoing research partnership among a team of Indigenous and Settler researchers from three universities and one Indigenous community agency. This article will enhance understanding of Indigenous community-based research to promote an epistemological shift toward Indigenous modes of inquiry.
- Masi methodology: Centring Pacific women's voices in research byPublication Date: 2019
- The Pacific Research Paraigm: Opportunities and Challenges. byPublication Date: 2019
- Stitching tivaevae: A Cook Islands research method byPublication Date: 2019
- Su'ifefiloi: A Samoan methodology for transdisciplinary theorising in cosmopolitan worlds byCall Number: Journals Level 3 ; DU400.A1J68Publication Date: 2021As universities make moves toward transdisciplinary research, suʻifefiloi, the Samoan practice of sewing different parts together, offers a culturally grounded research methodology for transdisciplinary theorising by Pacific scholars. Pacific transdisciplinary actors working on theory within the cosmopolitan context requires, as Gordon writes, a willingness to go beyond discipline areas to produce knowledge. Theory work, as this paper argues, requires transdisciplinarity and a willingness to go beyond one's discipline area to extend knowledge. Working with Tuhiwai Smith's assertion on the importance of theory, this paper discusses the usefulness of suʻifefiloi in recent turns to transdisciplinarity.
- Talanoa: A contemporary qualitative methodology for sport management byPublication Date: 2017
- Talanoa Research Methodology byPublication Date: 2006
- Talanoa research methodology: a developing position on pacific research. byPublication Date: 2016This paper contributes to the theorising on Pacific research approaches from a personal and Tongan perspective. At the same time, it suggests that the majority of the thinking and concepts discussed have similarities and common implications for most other Pacific communities in Aotearoa/New Zealand. In the paper, I discuss the underpinnings of what constitutes ‘normality’ in relation to research approaches. In order to theorise an appropriate approach to researching Pacific educational and social issues in Aotearoa, I discuss the influence Pacific indigenous values have on the way New Zealand Pacific peoples see their worlds.
- TEU LE VA: SAMOAN RELATIONAL ETHICS byPublication Date: 2016
- Utilizing Pacific methodologies as inclusive practice byPublication Date: 2018