Library Search
Key Databases and Journals
- BWB Texts Collection This link opens in a new window
BWB Texts are short books by New Zealand writers. They are succinct narratives spanning contemporary issues, memoir, history and science, with new works published regularly.
- DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window
Explore over 34 million open access digital items from more than 200 partners throughout New Zealand, such as libraries, museums, galleries, government departments, the media, and community. Browse by item type, copyright usage conditions, content partner, and other filters.
- DigitalPasifik This link opens in a new window
A large public digital collection containing digital images, artworks, audio files, videos, and ebooks that can be browsed by Island, including smaller Pacific Islands such as Yap, Kosrae, and Tokelau. Users can discuss content in contribution to Indigenous research methodology. Part of the Pacific Virtual Museum Project and implemented by Te Puna Mātauranga: The National Library of New Zealand in collaboration with the National Library of Australia.
- ETV This link opens in a new window
ETV is the largest online video platform for educators in New Zealand with over 150,000 videos recorded or live from over 55 freeview, international and SKY channels.
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand and South East Asia, this database covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy offers a broad collection of streaming videos from producers such as BBC Active, Media Education Foundation, Ronin Films, and more. Films include theatrical releases, documentaries, training films, and art cinema.
- National Library of New Zealand / Te Puna Mātauranga O Aotearoa This link opens in a new window
Choose from a number of databases including Index New Zealand (abstracts articles from selected NZ journals and newspapers) and Te Puna Search (Search across all NZ Library catalogues and beyond).
- Papers Past This link opens in a new window
Papers Past contains more than seven million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers, periodicals, letters and diaries, and parliamentary papers. Includes publications from all regions of New Zealand plus some Pacific content.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes over 390 journals from over 70 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous PeoplesAlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples is an internationally peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal launched in 2005 by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga, New Zealand’s Māori Centre of Research Excellence, based at the University of Auckland in Aotearoa New Zealand. AlterNative presents scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world. It publishes articles in English but also welcomes submissions in Indigenous languages, as well as ones that have been previously published in an Indigenous language and are translated into English.
- The Australian Journal of Indigenous EducationAboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Unit, The University of Queensland, Brisbane.
- Contemporary Pacific (Online)By the University of Hawai’i Press, the Contemporary Pacific covers a wide range of disciplines with the aim of providing comprehensive coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region and the global Pacific diaspora. It features refereed, readable articles that examine social, economic, political, ecological, literary, and cultural topics, along with political reviews, book and media reviews, resource reviews, and a dialogue section with interviews and short essays. Each issue highlights the work of one or more Pacific Islander artists from the year 2000.
- The Journal of Pacific HistoryThe Journal of Pacific History is dedicated to research of the Pacific Islands history, including its political, economic, religious and cultural history. Launched in 1966, JPH serves a broad community of historians, prehistorians, anthropologists and scholars from a cross-section of disciplines. Articles are published on political, economic, religious and cultural history; critical surveys; comment; and analysis of contemporary developments.
- MAI JournalMAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles around Indigenous knowledge and development in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand. Launched in 2012, MAI Journal evolved from MAI Review and complements AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples, which is also published by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga. MAI Journal is also supported by MASS: the Māori Association of Social Science.
- Te Kaharoa: The Journal on Indigenous Pacific IssuesTe Kaharoa is an open access and peer reviewed journal dedicated to promoting Māori and Indigenous scholars, artists, filmmakers, and creative writers. Curated by students and staff of Te Ara Poutama at Auckland University of Technology, Te Kaharoa publishes writings in Te Reo Māori and English. The journal includes, but is not limited to, articles, reflections, commentaries, creative works, film and book reviews, and digital and sound recordings of Indigenous communities from Aotearoa, Te Moana-nui-a-Kiwa, and the world.
- Waka Kuaka : The Journal of the Polynesian Society'The Journal of the Polynesian Society' has been renamed as 'Waka Kuaka: The Journal of the Polynesian Society', heralding a new direction for the journal metaphorically reimagined as the waka kuaka 'godwit on the wing' traversing the Pacific. These new directions are explored here within this vision of the waka kuaka as a bird that symbolises collective vision and purpose. The authors, as members of the Council of the Polynesian Society including the editor of the journal, reflect on the history of the journal and discuss what this change means going forward, finally calling on scholars in and of the Pacific to fly with us as part of this new journey.
- Waikato Journal of Education: Te Hautaka Mātauranga o WaikatoThe Waikato Journal of Education is a well-regarded peer-reviewed journal. Since the first publication in 1995, the journal has made a major contribution to the scholarship on a wide range of topics in the field of education, particularly issues connected to curriculum, learning and teaching. Papers have included reports on educational research and practice and viewpoints on education policies, theories and practices. Issues often have a special focus.
- Ngā Taonga Sound & VisionThe audiovisual archive of Aotearoa New Zealand.
Indigenous Languages and Revitlisation
A world of Indigenous languages by ISBN: 1788923081Publication Date: 2019-03-13Spanning Indigenous settings in Africa, the Americas, Aotearoa/New Zealand, Australia, Central Asia and the Nordic countries, this book examines the multifaceted language reclamation work underway by Indigenous peoples throughout the world. Exploring political, historical, ideological, and pedagogical issues, the book foregrounds the decolonizing aims of contemporary Indigenous language movements inside and outside of schools. Many authors explore language reclamation in their own communities. Together, the authors call for expanded discourses on language planning and policy that embrace Indigenous ways of knowing and forefront grassroots language reclamation efforts as a force for Indigenous sovereignty, social justice, and self-determination.
Keeping Languages Alive by ISBN: 9781107029064Publication Date: 2013-12-12Many of the world's languages have diminishing numbers of speakers and are in danger of falling silent. Around the globe, a large body of linguists are collaborating with members of indigenous communities to keep these languages alive. Mindful that their work will be used by future speech communities to learn, teach and revitalise their languages, scholars face new challenges in the way they gather materials and in the way they present their findings.
Minority languages, national languages, and official language policies by ISBN: 9780773555877Publication Date: 2018
The Routledge handbook of language revitalization by ISBN: 9781317200840Publication Date: 2018-03-05The Routledge Handbook of Language Revitalization is the first comprehensive overview of the language revitalization movement, from the Arctic to the Amazon and across continents. Featuring 47 contributions from a global range of top scholars in the field, the handbook is divided into two parts, the first of which expands on language revitalization issues of theory and practice while the second covers regional perspectives in an effort to globalize and decolonize the field. The collection examines critical issues in language revitalization, including: language rights, language and well-being, and language policy; language in educational institutions and in the home; new methodologies and venues for language learning; and the roles of documentation, literacies, and the internet. The volume also contains chapters on the kinds of language that are less often researched such as the revitalization of music, of whistled languages and sign languages, and how languages change when they are being revitalized. The Routledge Handbook of Language Revitalization is the ideal resource for graduate students and researchers working in linguistic anthropology and language revitalization and endangerment.
Reversing Language Shift by Call Number: Storage Level 1 ; P115.3.F5 1991ISBN: 1853591211Publication Date: 1991-09-05This superbly organised presentation consists of four introductory theoretical chapters dealing with the why, what and how of RLS, six chapters devoted to 13 separate cases from various parts of the world and four concluding chapters that both restate the underlying theory as well as apply it more broadly, beyond the mother tongue transmission nexus, to second language for which intergenerational continuity is pursued precisely as second languages.
Saving Languages by Call Number: P40.5 .L357G74 2006ISBN: 9780521016520Publication Date: 2006Written not only for linguists and anthropologists, this book serves as a general reference guide to language revitalization for language activists and community members who believe they should ensure the future use of their languages, despite their predicted loss. Drawing extensively on case studies, it highlights the necessary background and central issues such as literacy, policy decisions, and allocation of resources. The volume's primary goal is to provide the essential tools for a successful language revitalization program, setting and achieving realistic goals, and anticipating and resolving common obstacles.
- Teaching Indigenous languages byCall Number: General Collection Level 3 ; PM202 .S73 1997Publication Date: 1997
- Indigenous languages across the generations: Strengthening families and communities byCall Number: General Collection Level 3 ; P119.315 .I452 2011Publication Date: 2011
- Will Indigenous languages survive? byPublication Date: 2005
- AustLangAn interactive map of the Indigenous languages across Australia and the Torres Strait Islands.
- New Zealand National Commission UNESCO-Indigenous Knowledge and the UN Decade of Indigenous Languages.We represent New Zealand to UNESCO, and take relevant UNESCO collective resources, networks, programmes and connections and apply them in a way that benefits Aotearoa New Zealand.
History
The Routledge companion to global Indigenous history by ISBN: 1351723642Publication Date: 2021-09-30The Routledge Companion to Global Indigenous History starts with an introduction that explores definitions of Indigenous peoples, followed by six thematic sections which each have a global spread. This book illustrates the important role of Indigenous history and Indigenous knowledges for contemporary concerns, including climate change, spirituality and religious movements, gender negotiations, modernity and mobility, and the meaning of 'nation' and the 'global'. Reflecting the state of the art in Indigenous global history, the contributors suggest exciting new directions in the field, examine its many research challenges and show its resonances for a global politics of the present and future.
- First Nations scholars, settler colonial studies, and Indigenous history byPublication Date: 2019Over the last decade or so settler colonial studies has become a key prism through which to interpret the colonial cultures and histories of former British colonies where Indigenous people have since become a marginalised minority in their own homelands, 'replaced' by European settlers who sought to 'eliminate' them and their connections to the land. Yet, in recent years this approach has been subject to more critical evaluations, key amongst them, by some First Nations scholars. This article explores how Indigenous scholars advocate, interrogate, critique or challenge settler colonial studies as an emerging field of enquiry. The article discusses Indigenous-authored extra-colonial histories, which bypass colonial expropriation and exploitation to focus on Indigenous worlds.
- Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) Digital CollectionThe world's largest collection dedicated to the Indigenous people of the Australian region of the Pacific.
Politics
Asian settler colonialism by ISBN: 0824861515Publication Date: 2008-08-31Asian Settler Colonialism is a groundbreaking collection that examines the roles of Asians as settlers in Hawai'i. Contributors from various fields and disciplines investigate aspects of Asian settler colonialism to illustrate its diverse operations and impact on Native Hawaiians. Essays range from analyses of Japanese, Korean, and Filipino settlement to accounts of Asian settler practices in the legislature, the prison industrial complex, and the U.S. military to critiques of Asian settlers' claims to Hawai'i in literature and the visual arts.
Global Indigenous politics by ISBN: 9781138946682Publication Date: 2016-05-12This book examines how Indigenous peoples' rights and Indigenous rights movements represent an important and often overlooked shift in international politics - a shift that powerful states are actively resisting in a multitude of ways. While Indigenous peoples are often dismissed as marginal non-state actors, this book argues that far from insignificant, global Indigenous politics is potentially forging major changes in the international system, as the implementation of Indigenous peoples' rights requires a complete re-thinking and re-ordering of sovereignty, territoriality, liberalism, and human rights.
Ka whawhai tonu matou: Struggle without end by Call Number: DU416 .W183 2004ISBN: 9780143019459Publication Date: 2004-01-01This is a revised edition of Dr Ranginui Walker's best-selling history of Aotearoa, New Zealand, from a Maori perspective. Since the mid-nineteenth century, Maori have been involved in an endless struggle for justice, equality and self-determination. In this book Dr Walker provides a uniquely Maori view, not only of the events of the past two centuries but beyond to the very origins of Maori people.
Mohawk interruptus: Political life across the borders of settler states by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; E99.M8 S56 2014ISBN: 9780822356431Publication Date: 2014-05-09Mohawk Interruptus is a bold challenge to dominant thinking in the fields of Native studies and anthropology. Combining political theory with ethnographic research among the Mohawks of Kahnawà:ke, a reserve community in what is now southwestern Quebec, Audra Simpson examines their struggles to articulate and maintain political sovereignty through centuries of settler colonialism. The Kahnawà:ke Mohawks are part of the Haudenosaunee or Iroquois Confederacy. Like many Iroquois peoples, they insist on the integrity of Haudenosaunee governance and refuse American or Canadian citizenship. Audra Simpson thinks through this politics of refusal, which stands in stark contrast to the politics of cultural recognition. Tracing the implications of refusal, Simpson argues that one sovereign political order can exist nested within a sovereign state, albeit with enormous tension around issues of jurisdiction and legitimacy. Finally, Simpson critiques anthropologists and political scientists, whom, she argues, have too readily accepted the assumption that the colonial project is complete. Belying that notion, Mohawk Interruptus calls for and demonstrates more robust and evenhanded forms of inquiry into indigenous politics in the teeth of settler governance.
The spirit of Maori leadership by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU423 .P63K20 2013ISBN: 9781775501213Publication Date: 2014-10-31The Spirit of Māori Leadership explores what leadership is, discusses different models and styles of Māori leadership, describes the qualities and approaches of Māori leaders and, using this knowledge, looks at the attributes and styles needed in future leaders.The book provides insights into and analysis of traditional and contemporary models of Māori leadership. From this, it identifies three connected themes: understanding what makes a good leader, the importance of people and relationships, and the need to formulate a strategic plan and examines four leadership models: transactional, charismatic, transformational and organic.
As We Have Always Done by ISBN: 9781517903862Publication Date: 2017-10-17Winner: Native American and Indigenous Studies Association's Best Subsequent Book 2017 Honorable Mention: Labriola Center American Indian National Book Award 2017 Across North America, Indigenous acts of resistance have in recent years opposed the removal of federal protections for forests and waterways in Indigenous lands, halted the expansion of tar sands extraction and the pipeline construction at Standing Rock, and demanded justice for murdered and missing Indigenous women. In As We Have Always Done, Leanne Betasamosake Simpson locates Indigenous political resurgence as a practice rooted in uniquely Indigenous theorizing, writing, organizing, and thinking. Indigenous resistance is a radical rejection of contemporary colonialism focused around the refusal of the dispossession of both Indigenous bodies and land. Simpson makes clear that its goal can no longer be cultural resurgence as a mechanism for inclusion in a multicultural mosaic. Instead, she calls for unapologetic, place-based Indigenous alternatives to the destructive logics of the settler colonial state, including heteropatriarchy, white supremacy, and capitalist exploitation.
Decolonisation
Decolonial love: Salvation in colonial modernity by ISBN: 0823281906Publication Date: 2018Bringing together theologies of liberation and decolonial thought, Decolonial Love interrogates colonial frameworks that shape Christian thought and legitimize structures of oppression and violence within Western modernity. In response to the historical situation of colonial modernity, the book offers a decolonial mode of theological reflection and names a historical instance of salvation that stands in conflict with Western modernity.
Decolonisation and the Pacific by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; GN663 .B36 2016ISBN: 9781107037595Publication Date: 2016-04-26This book charts the previously untold story of decolonisation in the oceanic world of the Pacific, Australia and New Zealand, presenting it both as an indigenous and an international phenomenon. The individual stories told here shed new light on the forces that shaped twentieth-century global history, and reconfigure the history of decolonisation, presenting it not as an historic event, but as a fragile, contingent and ongoing process continuing well into the postcolonial era.
Decolonizing methodologies by ISBN: 9781786998125Publication Date: 2021To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory.This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being.Now in its eagerly awaited third edition, this bestselling book includes a co-written introduction and features contributions from indigenous scholars on the book's continued relevance to current research. It also features a chapter with twenty-five indigenous projects and a collection of poetry.
Theory and praxis by ISBN: 9780367408039Publication Date: 2020-01-22This book proposes a New Enlightenment - a new way of looking at the non-Western world. Breaking new ground, the essays chart a course beyond Eurocentric discourses (which completely ignore the contributions of Asia, Africa and Latin-America) and forms of nativism (which are usually ethnocentric discourses). This book will be of great interest to scholars and researchers of social theory, education, politics and public policy.- As We Have Always Done by ISBN: 9781517903862Publication Date: 2017-10-17Winner: Native American and Indigenous Studies Association's Best Subsequent Book 2017 Honorable Mention: Labriola Center American Indian National Book Award 2017 Across North America, Indigenous acts of resistance have in recent years opposed the removal of federal protections for forests and waterways in Indigenous lands, halted the expansion of tar sands extraction and the pipeline construction at Standing Rock, and demanded justice for murdered and missing Indigenous women. In As We Have Always Done, Leanne Betasamosake Simpson locates Indigenous political resurgence as a practice rooted in uniquely Indigenous theorizing, writing, organizing, and thinking. Indigenous resistance is a radical rejection of contemporary colonialism focused around the refusal of the dispossession of both Indigenous bodies and land. Simpson makes clear that its goal can no longer be cultural resurgence as a mechanism for inclusion in a multicultural mosaic. Instead, she calls for unapologetic, place-based Indigenous alternatives to the destructive logics of the settler colonial state, including heteropatriarchy, white supremacy, and capitalist exploitation.
- Decolonisation through reconciliation: The role of Pākehā identity byPublication Date: 2020
- Imagining decolonisation in AotearoaWhat does decolonisation mean and how does the concept inspire Māori and Pākehā New Zealanders' vision for Aotearoa?
- e-tangataE-Tangata is an online Sunday magazine run by the Mana Trust, which is dedicated to building a stronger Māori and Pacific presence in the New Zealand media.