Library Search
Key Databases and Journals
- BWB: The New Zealand History Collection This link opens in a new window
A full-text searchable online collection of high quality New Zealand non-fiction titles. Authors include James Belich, Judith Binney, Aroha Harris, Kuni Kaa Jenkins, Alison Jones, Michael King, Claudia Orange, Tipene O'Regan, Anne Salmond, Angela Wanhalla, Albert Wendt.
- BWB: The Treaty of Waitangi Collection This link opens in a new window
The Treaty of Waitangi Collection is primarily designed to provide a new and authoritative home for Treaty scholarship online, with more books to be added over time. The collection was built with support from the BWB Publishing Trust and the New Zealand Law Foundation.
- DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window
Explore over 34 million open access digital items from more than 200 partners throughout New Zealand, such as libraries, museums, galleries, government departments, the media, and community. Browse by item type, copyright usage conditions, content partner, and other filters.
- ETV This link opens in a new window
ETV is the largest online video platform for educators in New Zealand with over 150,000 videos recorded or live from over 55 freeview, international and SKY channels.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- Papers Past This link opens in a new window
Papers Past contains more than seven million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers, periodicals, letters and diaries, and parliamentary papers. Includes publications from all regions of New Zealand plus some Pacific content.
- Māori Land Court Minute Book IndexThe Māori Land Court Minute Books Index provides easy and quick access to over 1100 minute books between 1865 and 1910, from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Māori Land Court Districts. Created by the University of Auckland Library. Search the index to research a claim, local history, a case study, or whakapapa, and save your references. Print these out, or save them as a PDF to find when you get to the library.
- National Library of New Zealand / Te Puna Mātauranga O Aotearoa This link opens in a new window
Choose from a number of databases including Index New Zealand (abstracts articles from selected NZ journals and newspapers) and Te Puna Search (Search across all NZ Library catalogues and beyond).
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand and South East Asia, this database covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology.
- AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous PeoplesAlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples is an internationally peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal launched in 2005 by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga, New Zealand’s Māori Centre of Research Excellence, based at the University of Auckland in Aotearoa New Zealand. AlterNative presents scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world. It publishes articles in English but also welcomes submissions in Indigenous languages, as well as ones that have been previously published in an Indigenous language and are translated into English.
- He Puna Kōrero: Journal of Māori and Pacific DevelopmentPublished by The University of Waikato (2001-2010), He Puna Kōrero: Journal of Māori and Pacific Development publishes papers in all areas of Māori and Pacific Development, including research reports on the political, social, cultural, linguistic and educational development of Māori and Pacific peoples. The aim of the journal is to provide a forum for writers expressing their views on Māori and Pacific development and to represent matters of concern in the development of Māori and Indigenous development. The journal also includes short creative works such as songs and poems as well as book reviews and notification of conferences and meetings.
- The Journal of New Zealand StudiesThe Journal of New Zealand Studies is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal published by the Stout Research Centre for New Zealand Studies. From 2014 onwards the JNZS will be published on-line twice a year, in June and December. Prospective articles are welcome from any discipline. They should have a New Zealand focus or be comparative with a strong New Zealand element.
- MAI JournalMAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles around Indigenous knowledge and development in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand. Launched in 2012, MAI Journal evolved from MAI Review and complements AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples, which is also published by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga. MAI Journal is also supported by MASS: the Māori Association of Social Science.
- MAI ReviewMAI Review was the journal of the former Capability Building programme of Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga. Published from 2006 until 2011, all MAI Review content is still freely available online. To access this content, visit the MAI Review website.
- New Zealand Journal of HistoryThe New Zealand Journal of History publishes scholarly peer-reviewed articles, book reviews and other media reviews, spanning all aspects of the history of New Zealand Aotearoa, including social, cultural, economic and political history.
- Waka Kuaka : The Journal of the Polynesian Society'The Journal of the Polynesian Society' has been renamed as 'Waka Kuaka: The Journal of the Polynesian Society', heralding a new direction for the journal metaphorically reimagined as the waka kuaka 'godwit on the wing' traversing the Pacific. These new directions are explored here within this vision of the waka kuaka as a bird that symbolises collective vision and purpose. The authors, as members of the Council of the Polynesian Society including the editor of the journal, reflect on the history of the journal and discuss what this change means going forward, finally calling on scholars in and of the Pacific to fly with us as part of this new journey.
He Whakaputanga and Te Tiriti o Waitangi
Weeping Waters by Call Number: KUQ1870 .W1W44 2010ISBN: 9781869694043Publication Date: 2011-01-31Weeping Waters details the current debate regarding the Treaty of Waitangi and a constitution for Aotearoa New Zealand. It features essays from eighteen well-known and respected Maori figures including Professor Margaret Mutu, Bishop Muru Walters, Judge Caren Fox, and lawyer Moana Jackson. This is the first book in recent years to offer a Maori opinion on the subject of constitutional change.
Ngāpuhi speaksCall Number: KUQ716.7 .N445 2012ISBN: 0473229811Publication Date: 2012The hearing of the Ngāpuhi Nui Tonu initial claim required the Waitangi Tribunal to look into the Ngāpuhi and Crown understandings of He Wakaputanga - often referred to as the Declaration of Independence - and Te Tiriti o Waitangi. This independent report considers the evidence presented to the Tribunal and, in particular, the assertion by Ngāphui Nui Tonu that in assenting to Te Tiriti they did not cede their sovereignty to the Crown
Colonising myths, Māori realities: He rukuruku whakaaro by Call Number: KUQ519 .I64M55 2011ISBN: 9781869694531Publication Date: 2013-01-31This book brings together a series of papers that reflects on the effect of Pākehā law, legal processes, and teaching on Māori legal thought and practice.
The Treaty of Waitangi / Te Tiriti o Waitangi by Publication Date: 2021The Treaty of Waitangi by Claudia Orange was first published in 1987 to national acclaim, and has since advanced through several new editions. This edition of The Treaty of Waitangi/Te Tiriti o Waitangi: An Illustrated History is the most comprehensive account yet, presented in full colour and drawing on Dr Orange's recent research into the nine sheets of the Treaty and their signatories.
What Happened at Waitangi? by ISBN: 9781927277409Publication Date: 2014Who said what to whom when the Treaty was negotiated - and what lay behind subsequent misunderstandings about its wording? In this extract from her bestselling book 'The Treaty of Waitangi', Claudia Orange reports in detail on the dramatic events which led to the signing of the Treaty on 6 February 1840.
- Tikanga Māori me te mana i Waitangi: Māori laws and values, Te Tiriti o Waitangi, and human rights byCall Number: Law Library Level 4 ; KUQ440 .A13Y43 v.10Publication Date: 2007
- Indigenous peoples and the state: International perspectives on the treaty of Waitangi byPublication Date: 2019Review(s) of: Indigenous peoples and the state: International perspectives on the treaty of Waitangi.
- Waitangi Tribunal: Te Rōpū Whakamana i te Tiriti o Waitangi byPublication Date: 2014Discusses the report produced by the Waitangi Tribunal - 'He Whakaputanga me Te Tiriti - The Declaration and the Treaty' (Wai 1040, 2014) - on Ngāpuhi perceptions and perspectives concerning sovereignty, law enforcement and independence. Comments on the controversial conclusion that the Ngāpuhi chiefs / rangatira who signed te Tiriti in Feb 1840 did not cede their sovereignty to the British Crown. Looks at the influence of the 1972 publication by Ruth Ross that challenged accepted views of te Tiriti, and a recent PhD thesis by Ned Fletcher that challenges Ross's conclusions.
- He TohuHe Tohu is a permanent exhibition of 3 iconic constitutional documents that shape Aotearoa New Zealand: He Whakaputanga, Te Tiriti o Waitangi & Women's Suffrage Petition.
- Pātaka Whenua- Te Kooti Whenua Māori- Māori Land CourtSearch by Land Block, Document, Management Structure, and Ownership.
This is page explains Pātaka Whenua- the online portal- with guides on how to use it effectively both with being a registered user and without. It also has links to the portal. - Te Ara: The Encyclopedia of New ZealandTe ara in Maori means the pathway. This enyclopedia offers many pathways to understanding New Zealand. When complete, it will be a comprehensive guide to the country's peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy, institutions and society.
Whenua Raupatu
A Separate Authority (He Mana Motuhake), Volume I by ISBN: 9783030410414Publication Date: 2020-07-08This book is an ethnohistorical reconstruction of the establishment in New Zealand of a rare case of Maori home-rule over their traditional domain, backed by a special statute and investigated by a Crown commission the majority of whom were Tūhoe leaders. However, by 1913 Tūhoe home-rule over this vast domain was being subverted by the Crown, which by 1926 had obtained three-quarters of their reserve. By the 1950s this vast area had become the rugged Urewera National Park, isolating over 200 small blocks retained by stubborn Tūhoe "non-sellers". After a century of resistance, in 2014 the Tūhoe finally regained statutory control over their ancestral domain and a detailed apology from the Crown.- Law and confiscation: Essays on raupatu in New Zealand history by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; KUQ716.7 .A15O15 no.14ISBN: 9780475123503Publication Date: 2010
Wars without end: The land wars in nineteenth-century New Zealand (Rev. ed.). by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU421.1 .K44 2009ISBN: 9780143203414Publication Date: 2009
Parihaka Invaded by ISBN: 9781927277812Publication Date: 2014-10-03The non-violent defiance of Te Whiti-o-Rongomai, Tohu Kakahi and their followers at Parihaka is one of the great New Zealand narratives.- Ka Aowhia Te Rangi: A rich history poorly known by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU421.2 .R63 2020ISBN: 9780473352127Publication Date: 2020
- 'I riro whenua atu me hoki whenua mai': The return of land and the Waikato-Tainui raupatu settlement byCall Number: Journals Level 3 ; DU400.A1J68Publication Date: 2016The Waikato-Tainui raupatu settlement signed in 1995 focused on the return of land to address grievances related to the war and confiscation that marked the Waikato region in the 1860s.
- Hāwatewate byPublication Date: 2017He whakamārama mō te whakaeke apakura. He whakaeke apakura tēnei hai whakamaumaharatanga ki te kotahi rau e rima tekau tau mai i te murunga whenua o Te Whakatōhea.
- Māori Land Court Minute Book IndexThe Māori Land Court Minute Books Index provides easy and quick access to over 1100 minute books between 1865 and 1910, from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Māori Land Court Districts. Created by the University of Auckland Library. Search the index to research a claim, local history, a case study, or whakapapa, and save your references. Print these out, or save them as a PDF to find when you get to the library.
- Pātaka Whenua- Te Kooti Whenua Māori- Māori Land CourtSearch by Land Block, Document, Management Structure, and Ownership.
This is page explains Pātaka Whenua- the online portal- with guides on how to use it effectively both with being a registered user and without. It also has links to the portal. - Te Ara: The Encyclopedia of New ZealandTe ara in Maori means the pathway. This enyclopedia offers many pathways to understanding New Zealand. When complete, it will be a comprehensive guide to the country's peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy, institutions and society.
- Raupatu byCall Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; HD1120.5 .Z8W142 2005Publication Date: 2005Explores Tainui claim for the return of land still held by the crown.
- Koha. 1984. “Land loss” byCall Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; KUQ716.7 .K64 2015Publication Date: 2015Presents a history of Maori land loss since colonisation and explains how many of the problems facing Maori today are tied to this loss.