Library Search
Key Resources
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
This database brings together global scholarly journals with other key resources for access to reliable information in this continuously evolving area of study. Quickly locate precise results from sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.
- Business Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Provides video in a range of areas: corporate training, case studies, executive interviews, expert lectures, instructional films, and documentaries. Hundreds of hours of applied video in this streaming collection complement the business classroom by illustrating practical, real-life applications for relevant topic and skills.
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides bibliographic and full-text content for all business disciplines. It includes thousands of peer-reviewed journals, ebooks and other full-text material such as market research reports and detailed company profiles.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Access around 200 full-text journals and reviews from a further 300 in the fields of management, accounting and finance, public policy, engineering, tourism and computer science.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Extensive coverage of science and technology, social sciences, business and economics, the arts, humanities, literature, health and medicine plus other subjects.
- Informit Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of business fields, including, accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions.
- ProQuest Management This link opens in a new window
Includes ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/Inform Trade & Industry and CBCA Business. The ABI/INFORM Collection provide comprehensive in-depth coverage for thousands of publications and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. CBCA Business focuses on business periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Scroll down to the Document Type box, tick Case Study, and then enter your search terms.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Access around 200 full-text journals and reviews from a further 300 in the fields of management, accounting and finance, public policy, engineering, tourism and computer science.
- From the drop-down menu on the search box pick Case Studies and then enter your search terms. The University has access to the Emerging Markets Case Studies and the CASE Journal.
- MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Advantage provides access to an extensive collection of company, industry and country profiles, with information on 30,000 companies, 3,500 industry profiles and over 200 country profiles. Updated on a daily basis, it is a dynamic access point to the world of market intelligence.
- Pick Case Studies from the drop-down menu and then enter your search terms.
- ProQuest Management This link opens in a new window
Includes ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/Inform Trade & Industry and CBCA Business. The ABI/INFORM Collection provide comprehensive in-depth coverage for thousands of publications and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. CBCA Business focuses on business periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues.
- Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Sage Business Cases is the first discipline-wide digital collection tailored to library needs. These cases bring business to life, inspiring researchers to develop their own best practices and prepare for professional success.
- In depth case studies. Teaching notes are also available by creating a profile and entering University of Waikato code (available through your subject administrator or liaison librarian).
- WARC.com This link opens in a new window
WARC provides the latest evidence, expertise and guidance to make marketers more effective. This database gives access to thousands of award-winning case studies revealing the strategies of leading brands; articles and best practice guides that explain the 'how' and 'why' of marketing challenges; market intelligence trend reports, ad forecasts and spending, plus brand and company profiles and industry news. Includes access to the monthly report series 'The WARC Guide'.
- Thousands of award winning advertising effectiveness case studies revealing the strategies of leading brands, best practice guides that explain the 'how' and 'why' of advertising and marketing challenges, and market intelligence, including trends, reports, adspend and forecasts, company profiles and event reports.
- Business Case StudiesLearn business studies theory online with extensive revision pages, download free case studies from real world companies and associated lesson materials and worksheets for teachers and students.
- CANZ Project by Victoria University of WellingtonCompetitive Advantage New Zealand (CANZ) is an integrated programme of research devoted to understanding how New Zealand enterprises can develop competitive advantage that is world class. Several of the company histories written as part of the project’s research have been released for publication. They may be downloaded as PDF files and reproduced with acknowledgement and without fee.
- Teaching Resources Library at MIT SloanSince 2009, the MIT Sloan School of Management has provided open and free access to our case studies and management simulations. These have been developed for our classroom and made available to management educators and students worldwide. All of the materials featured in this library carry a creative commons license allowing them to be downloaded, copied, and distributed/used free of charge by anyone worldwide, no permission required. While this collection covers a wide array of industries, companies, and organizations, it focuses mainly on areas in which MIT Sloan’s innovative research and teaching are world renowned.
- NZX Company Research This link opens in a new window
NZ company profiles, financials, announcements, annual reports, prices, charts, forecasts, top 50 shareholders, etc.
- NZX Annual ReportsEach year the Tribunal produces an annual regulatory report. This page contains the Tribunal's most recent annual report and archived annual reports.
- DatAnalysis Premium This link opens in a new window
DatAnalysis Premium is a web-based source of comprehensive financial and non-financial information on all ASX & NZX listed and delisted companies.
- MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Advantage provides access to an extensive collection of company, industry and country profiles, with information on 30,000 companies, 3,500 industry profiles and over 200 country profiles. Updated on a daily basis, it is a dynamic access point to the world of market intelligence.
- Passport (Euromonitor International) This link opens in a new window
Passport - Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform - monitors industry trends and gives strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across key countries. Accept Terms and Conditions to proceed to website.
- WARC.com This link opens in a new window
WARC provides the latest evidence, expertise and guidance to make marketers more effective. This database gives access to thousands of award-winning case studies revealing the strategies of leading brands; articles and best practice guides that explain the 'how' and 'why' of marketing challenges; market intelligence trend reports, ad forecasts and spending, plus brand and company profiles and industry news. Includes access to the monthly report series 'The WARC Guide'.
- FindaThis website offers you the ability to search by business type (e.g. accountants) and get basic information on companies that meet that criteria.
- New Zealand Companies OfficeAll New Zealand companies are required to register their company and their information appears on this website.
- Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of selected New Zealand serials, including newspapers, about New Zealand and the South Pacific. Subjects covered include general interest material, social research, current affairs, the arts and humanities.
- New Zealand Legislation This link opens in a new window
New Zealand Acts, Bills and Regulations freely available to download.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Access more than 2,300 major world newspapers, including thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- Newztext This link opens in a new window
Newztext contains the full text of key New Zealand news and business publications. A research tool and a long-term archive that is updated daily. Newztext is produced by The Knowledge Basket, with contributions from numerous publishers.
- Newztext Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes content from New Zealand newspapers (including Fairfax, NZ Herald, Stuff), Newswires (including Radio NZ) and the National Business Review.
- Papers Past This link opens in a new window
Papers Past contains more than seven million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers, periodicals, letters and diaries, and parliamentary papers. Includes publications from all regions of New Zealand plus some Pacific content.
- ProQuest Australia and New Zealand Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers, combining content from Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand, News Limited, Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) and APP newswires, to provide the very latest local, regional and national news.
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives back to the 1980s, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. Exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of the Times (London) is a primary source for researchers of world history, politics, and literature. Contains articles and letters to the editor from famous writers. The entire newspaper is searchable, including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photographs.
- OECD Economic Surveys This link opens in a new window
The OECD's periodic reviews of member and non-member economies. Each issue provides a comprehensive analysis of developments in the subject country, plus chapters covering key economic challenges and recommendations for dealing with these challenges.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The OECD publishes its recommendations, analysis and data on OECD iLibrary to help inform policy makers, researchers and analysts.
- Figure.nz"Figure.nz exists to enable everyone to make sense of data and see Aotearoa clearly." New Zealand statisitcs illustrated with infographics.
- Industry Benchmarks (IRD)The Industry Benchmarking Tool is a joint initiative between Statistics NZ and Inland Revenue to provide information on the financial performance of businesses in 45 industries.
- InfoshareInfoshare provides you with online access to a wide range of time series data. This powerful but simple web-based tool can be used to access, view, and download the most up-to-date information from the largest directly accessible database of New Zealand official statistics, and select data specific to your needs or interests.
Infoshare is free to use. - NZ.StatNZ.Stat is a free web tool that allows you to:
create tables from large datasets. - NZStats - Data for BusinessStatistics about the activity and performance of businesses in New Zealand.
Accounting
Accounting by ISBN: 9780730382744Publication Date: 2021A must-have for students who want to succeed in their unit and leave with a rich foundation of technical knowledge for their future study and accounting career, the text focuses on accounting from the perspective of a financial statement preparer.
Accounting: Business Reporting for Decision Making by ISBN: 9780730396499Publication Date: 2020The seventh edition of Birt’s Accounting: Business Reporting for Decision Making is a clear and accessible text that emphasises the relevance of accounting to business. This resource is most suitable for introductory accounting units that have a focus on financial decision making in business rather than the preparation of financial reports. It is also highly suited to first-year units in accounting in business degrees, MBA introductory accounting units and accounting service units.- Accounting at Work byISBN: 9780947496425Publication Date: 2021Accounting at work, now in its 6th edition, is written for students beginning a degree programme in business, commerce or management. It introduces students to the way accounting information is used not only to solve problems, but to structure problems so that they can be solved.
Accounting Information Systems by ISBN: 9781292353289Publication Date: 2021Accounting Information Systems covers all of the most recent updates in AIS, including how developments in IT affect business processes and controls, the effect of recent regulatory developments on the design and operation of accounting systems, and how accountants can use AIS to add value to an organisation. Not only will students see how AIS has changed the role of an accountant, but they'll also be prepared for a successful accounting career in public practice, industry, or government.
Financial Accounting (11th ed.) by ISBN: 9780730382706Publication Date: 2021A must-have for students who want to succeed in their unit and leave with a rich foundation of technical knowledge for their future study and accounting career, the text focuses on accounting from the perspective of a financial statement preparer.
Management Accounting by ISBN: 9781743767634Publication Date: 2021Management Accounting explains the contemporary role of management accounting. It takes a broad perspective in viewing management accounting as the efficient and effective use of resources, demonstrating how it creates and enhances value for customers and shareholders, as well as the wider aspects of business. The text has been developed using cases based on real Australian and international businesses and includes numerous 'Real Life' illustrations of current management accounting practices. In keeping with the need to be industry focused, the new edition includes coverage of key contemporary topics including data analytics, big data and business ethics.
Management Accounting: Information for Creating and Managing Value by Call Number: HF5657.4 .L36 2018ISBN: 9781760420406Publication Date: 2017Management Accounting combines authoritative, peer-reviewed content with cutting edge technology and a strong pedagogical framework to provide a closely integrated digital learning solution.
- AbacusSince 1965 Abacus has consistently provided a vehicle for the expression of independent and critical thought on matters of current academic and professional interest in accounting, finance and business. The journal reports current research; critically evaluates current developments in theory and practice; analyses the effects of the regulatory framework of accounting, finance and business; and explores alternatives to, and explanations of, past and current practices.
- Accounting, Organizations and SocietyAccounting, Organizations & Society is a leading international interdisciplinary journal concerned with the relationships among accounting and human behaviour, organizational and institutional structures and processes, and the wider socio-political environment of the enterprise. It aims to challenge and extend our understanding of the roles of accounting and related emergent and calculative practices in the construction of economic and societal actors, and their modes of economic organizing, including ways in which such practices influence and are influenced by the development of market and other infrastructures.
- Accounting and FinanceAccounting & Finance enjoys an excellent reputation as an academic journal that publishes articles addressing significant research questions from a broad range of perspectives.
- Accounting EducationAccounting Education is a peer-reviewed international journal devoted to publishing research-based papers on key aspects of accounting education and training of relevance to practitioners, academics, trainers, students and professional bodies, particularly papers dealing with the effectiveness of accounting education or training.
- Critical Perspectives on AccountingCritical Perspectives on Accounting aims to provide a forum for the growing number of accounting researchers and practitioners who realize that conventional theory and practice is ill-suited to the challenges of the modern environment, and that accounting practices and corporate behavior are inextricably connected with many allocative, distributive, social, and ecological problems of our era. From such concerns, a new literature is emerging that seeks to reformulate corporate, social, and political activity, and the theoretical and practical means by which we apprehend and affect that activity.
- Journal of Accounting and EconomicsThe Journal of Accounting and Economics encourages the application of economic theory to the explanation of accounting phenomena. It provides a forum for the publication of the highest quality manuscripts which employ economic analyses of accounting problems.
- Journal of Accounting and Organizational ChangeJournal of Accounting & Organizational Change (JAOC) is designed to provide a platform for interdisciplinary researchers and practitioners to disseminate information on contemporary organizational changes and accounting practices in industry, public and nonprofit organizations, or in the private sector.
- Journal of Accounting and Public PolicyThe Journal of Accounting and Public Policy publishes research papers focusing on the intersection between accounting and public policy.
- Journal of Accounting ResearchThe Journal of Accounting Research is a general-interest accounting journal. It publishes original research in all areas of accounting and related fields that utilizes tools from basic disciplines such as economics, statistics, psychology, and sociology. This research typically uses analytical, empirical archival, experimental, and field study methods and addresses economic questions, external and internal, in accounting, auditing, disclosure, financial reporting, taxation, and information as well as related fields such as corporate finance, investments, capital markets, law, contracting, and information economics.
- Journal of Applied Accounting ResearchJournal of Applied Accounting Research (JAAR) provides a forum for the dissemination of robust academic research that discusses and proposes field-driven solutions with the potential to change accounting practice and have an impact on the field. The journal clearly communicates insights on highly relevant topics for practice, policymakers and scholars alike.
- Management Accounting ResearchManagement Accounting Research aims to serve as a vehicle for publishing original scholarly work in the field of management accounting.
- Review of Quantitative Finance and AccountingReview of Quantitative Finance and Accounting deals with research involving the interaction of finance with accounting, economics and quantitative methods, focused on finance and accounting.
- Accounting and Finance Association of New Zealand and AustraliaThe premier body representing the interests of accounting and finance academics and other persons interested in accounting and finance education and research in Australia and New Zealand.
- American Accounting AssociationThe American Accounting Association is the largest community of accountants in academia.
- Association of Chartered Certified AccountantsThe ACCA is a globally recognised professional accountancy body providing qualifications and advancing standards in accountancy worldwide.
- Auditing and Assurance Standards Board (Australia)The Auditing and Assurance Standards Board (AUASB) is an independent, non-corporate Commonwealth entity of the Australian Government, responsible for developing, issuing and maintaining auditing and assurance standards.
- Australian Accounting Standards BoardThe AASB is an Australian Government agency under the Australian Securities and Investments Commission Act 2001.
- European Accounting AssociationThe European Accounting Association (EAA) is an academic association that supports high-quality accounting research, teaching and knowledge exchange with practice by providing a platform that enables accounting academics to develop themselves and benefit society through their activities.
- External Reporting Board (XRB)XRB website containing information on New Zealand accounting standards. Many standards are available as downloadable PDFs.
- Financial Accounting Standard BoardThe FASB (USA) establishes and improves standards of financial accounting and reporting that foster financial reporting by nongovernmental entities that provides decision-useful information to investors and other users of financial reports.
- Financial Reporting Act 2013Link to the Financial Reporting Act 2013 online (New Zealand legislation).
- Financial Reporting Council UKWe regulate auditors, accountants and actuaries, and we set the UK’s Corporate Governance and Stewardship Codes. We promote transparency and integrity in business. Our work is aimed at investors and others who rely on company reports, audit and high-quality risk management.
- Inland RevenueInland Revenue plays a critical role in improving the economic and social wellbeing of New Zealanders. Inland Revenue collects 80% of the Crown's revenue as well as collecting and disbursing social support programme payments and providing the government with policy advice.
- International Financial Reporting StandardsThe IFRS Foundation is a not-for-profit, public interest organisation established to develop high-quality, understandable, enforceable and globally accepted accounting and sustainability disclosure standards. The Standards are developed by our two standard-setting boards, the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) and International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB).
- INTHEBLACKINTHEBLACK is CPA Australia’s monthly business magazine. It offers insight into strategic business leaders; articles on topical business, career and economic issues; and tools relevant to you as a business professional.
- New Zealand Institute of Economic ResearchNZIER is an independent economic consultancy. Our core values of independence and promoting better outcomes for all New Zealanders and our Public Good programme are the driving force behind why we exist and how we work today.
- NZICA and NZICA Regulatory BoardA governing body that acts as the executive board of NZICA, that is responsible and accountable for ensuring that the statutory regulatory functions are carried out.
Finance
- Financial Times This link opens in a new window
News, analysis and comment from the Financial Times, the world's leading global business publication. Registration is required for access and account personalisation.
Corporate Finance by Call Number: HG4026 .R675 2016ISBN: 9780077861759Publication Date: 2015-10-13Corporate Finance emphasizes the modern fundamentals of the theory of finance, while providing contemporary examples to make the theory come to life. The authors aim to present corporate finance as the working of a small number of integrated and powerful intuitions, rather than a collection of unrelated topics. They develop the central concepts of modern finance: arbitrage, net present value, efficient markets, agency theory, options, and the trade-off between risk and return, and use them to explain corporate finance with a balance of theory and application.
Finance Essentials by ISBN: 0730344592Publication Date: 2017-07-13Finance Essentials has been specifically developed for use in an introductory and core finance unit for students undertaking a business degree. It is eminently more suited for business students who are not completing a major in finance, as it focuses on the impact of finance in business and complex mathematical concepts are presented in a more engaging format.
Financial Institutions and Markets by Call Number: HG4271 .H87 2015ISBN: 9780170244206Publication Date: 2015Financial Institutions and Markets focuses on Australia’s financial system. The book provides a comprehensive and comprehensible integrated account of the activities of Australia’s financial institutions and markets – and their instruments – including the major capital and foreign exchange markets, and the markets for derivatives.
Financial Institutions Management: A Risk Management Approach by ISBN: 1259717771Publication Date: 2017-02-09Provides an innovative approach that focuses on managing return and risk in modern financial institutions. The central theme is that the risks faced by financial institutions managers and the methods and markets through which these risks are managed are becoming increasingly similar whether an institution is chartered as a commercial bank, a savings bank, an investment bank, or an insurance company. Although the traditional nature of each sector's product activity is analyzed, a greater emphasis is placed on new areas of activities such as asset securitization, off-balance-sheet banking, and international banking.
Financial Markets and Institutions by Call Number: HG4910 .S28 2021ISBN: 9781260772401Publication Date: 2021-01-01This book offers a unique analysis of the risks faced by investors and savers interacting through both financial institutions and financial markets, as well as strategies that can be adopted for controlling and better managing these risks. Special emphasis is also put on new areas of operations in financial markets and institutions such as asset securitization, off-balance-sheet activities, and globalization of financial services.
Fundamentals of Corporate Finance by Call Number: HG4026 .R677 2019ISBN: 9781260772395Publication Date: 2021-02-01When the three of us decided to write a book, we were united by one strongly held principle: Corporate finance should be developed in terms of a few integrated, powerful ideas. We believed that the subject was all too often presented as a collection of loosely related topics, unified primarily by virtue of being bound together in one book, and we thought there must be a better way. One thing we knew for certain was that we didn't want to write a "me-too" book. So, with a lot of help, we took a hard look at what was truly important and useful. In doing so, we were led to eliminate topics of dubious relevance, downplay purely theoretical issues, and minimize the use of extensive and elaborate calculations to illustrate points that are either intuitively obvious or of limited practical use.
International Financial Management by Call Number: HG3881 .M277 2015ISBN: 9781133947837Publication Date: 2014-01-01International Financial Management builds on the fundamental principles of corporate finance to provide the timely information and contemporary insights needed to prosper in today's global business environment. This book discusses a wide range of managerial topics using a strong corporate perspective and highlights financial reform and its impact on the international finance today. An emphasis on the most recent financial industry trends further prepares readers to understand and effectively manage within the dynamic field of international finance.
Research Handbook of Finance and Sustainability by ISBN: 1786432625Publication Date: 2018-04-27Sustainability is now an essential objective for all organizations, enabling them to resist adverse shocks and thrive in a disruptive world. This Research Handbook provides expert coverage and practical tips on a wide array of pertinent issues related to current finance and sustainability research. Comprising 31 chapters written by over 60 eminent experts, this Research Handbook provides readers with the latest ideas and propositions regarding finance and sustainability. This includes the significance of corporate social responsibility, environmental and entrepreneurial finance, crowdsourcing, governance and fraud. Despite ethical business practices and corporate social responsibility rules being adopted in various countries, the contributors demonstrate that further efforts are needed to motivate and empower actors to integrate ethical behavior into all business and managerial decisions. Multidisciplinary in reach, this comprehensive Research Handbook features forward-thinking academic and professional literature on corporate social responsibility, sustainability and finance for post-graduate students, researchers and practitioners to explore the forthcoming paths for research.
- Accounting and FinanceAccounting & Finance enjoys an excellent reputation as an academic journal that publishes articles addressing significant research questions from a broad range of perspectives.
- European Financial ManagementThe journal publishes significant new finance research on timely issues and highlights key trends in Europe in a clear and accessible way, with articles covering international research and practice that have direct or indirect bearing on Europe.
- International Review of Economics and FinanceThe International Review of Economics & Finance (IREF) is a scholarly journal devoted to the publication of high quality theoretical and empirical articles in all areas of international economics, macroeconomics and financial economics. Contributions that facilitate the communications between the real and the financial sectors of the economy are of particular interest.
- Journal of Applied Corporate Financee Journal covers a range of topics, including risk management, corporate strategy, corporate governance and capital structure. The Journal also features its popular roundtable discussions among corporate executives and academics, on topics such as integrity in financial reporting.
- Journal of Applied FinancePresents articles for educators, students and practitioners of finance including articles on strategy and philosphy, as well as scholarship and publication.
- Journal of Applied Finance and BankingThe Journal's emphasis is on empirical, applied, and policy-oriented research in banking and other domestic and international financial institutions and markets.
- Journal of Banking & FinanceThe Journal of Banking and Finance (JBF) publishes theoretical and empirical research papers spanning all the major research fields in finance and banking. The aim of the Journal of Banking and Finance is to provide an outlet for the increasing flow of scholarly research concerning financial institutions and the money and capital markets within which they function. The Journal's emphasis is on theoretical developments and their implementation, empirical, applied, and policy-oriented research in banking and other domestic and international financial institutions and markets.
- Journal of Corporate FinanceThe Journal of Corporate Finance aims to publish high quality, original manuscripts or shorter format papers in both theoretical and empirical corporate finance. Areas of interest include, but are not limited to: financial structure, governance, product markets, payout, labor, innovation, risk management, financial contracting, and international finance. Papers at the intersection of corporate finance and macroeconomics, asset pricing, household, behavioral, fintech and blockchain, law, financial intermediation, or microstructure also are encouraged.
- Journal of FinanceThe Journal of Finance publishes leading research across all the major fields of financial research. It is the most widely cited academic journal on finance. Each issue of the journal reaches over 8,000 academics, finance professionals, libraries, government and financial institutions around the world.
- Journal of Financial EconomicsThe Journal of Financial Economics (JFE) is a leading peer-reviewed academic journal covering theoretical and empirical topics in financial economics. It provides a specialized forum for the publication of research in the area of financial economics and the theory of the firm, placing primary emphasis on the highest quality analytical, empirical, and clinical contributions in the following major areas: capital markets, financial institutions, corporate finance, corporate governance, and the economics of organizations.
- Journal of International Financial Markets, Institutions and MoneyThe purpose of the Journal of International Financial Markets, Institutions & Money is to publish rigorous, original articles dealing with the international aspects of financial markets, institutions and money.
- Journal of International Money and FinanceA high-quality scholarly journal devoted to theoretical and empirical research in the fields of international monetary economics, international finance, and the rapidly developing overlap area between the two.
- North American Journal of Economics and FinanceThe North-American Journal of Economics and Finance publishes high-quality, original manuscripts in financial economics.
- Review of Financial StudiesThe Review of Financial Studies is a major forum for the promotion and wide dissemination of significant new research in financial economics. As reflected by its broadly based editorial board, the Review balances theoretical and empirical contributions. The primary criteria for publishing a paper are its quality and importance to the field of finance, without undue regard to its technical difficulty. Finance is interpreted broadly to include the interface between finance and economics.
- Review of Quantitative Finance and AccountingReview of Quantitative Finance and Accounting deals with research involving the interaction of finance with accounting, economics and quantitative methods, focused on finance and accounting.
- Accounting and Finance Association of New Zealand and AustraliaThe premier body representing the interests of accounting and finance academics and other persons interested in accounting and finance education and research in Australia and New Zealand.
- BloombergBloomberg is a financial, software, data, and media company. They provide financial software tools such as an analytics and equity trading platform, data services, and news to financial companies and organizations.
- Ministry of Business, Innovation and EmploymentThe Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment is the public service department of New Zealand charged with "delivering policy, services, advice and regulation" which contribute to New Zealand's economic productivity and business growth.
- MorningstarMorningstar is a Chicago-based investment research firm that compiles and analyzes fund, stock, and general market data.
- New Zealand Institute of Economic ResearchNZIER is an independent economic consultancy. Our core values of independence and promoting better outcomes for all New Zealanders and our Public Good programme are the driving force behind why we exist and how we work today.
- New Zealand Stock ExchangeNew Zealand’s Stock Exchange
- New Zealand TreasuryThe Treasury - Te Tai Ōhanga is the Government’s lead economic and financial adviser and steward of the public sector financial management and regulatory systems.
- Reserve Bank of New ZealandThe Reserve Bank of New Zealand is the central bank of New Zealand. It was established in 1934 and is currently constituted under the Reserve Bank of New Zealand Act 2021.
- ReutersThe world’s largest multimedia news provider
- World Development Indicators (WDI)The World Bank’s premier compilation of cross-country comparable data on development. Includes time series indicators for over 200 economies.
Banking and Fin-Tech
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of indexed and full-text content offers a vast knowledge base pertaining to traditional computing and applied sciences challenges and resources. It is an outstanding source for content concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
- Financial Times This link opens in a new window
News, analysis and comment from the Financial Times, the world's leading global business publication. Registration is required for access and account personalisation.
- ProQuest Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Science, Sports Medicine & Education Index, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Science & Technology, ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology and ProQuest Telecommunications. These databases provide access to content ranging from health and physical education, sports medicine, dance and physical therapy as well as vocational information focused on science and technology.
The (near) Future of Central Bank Digital Currencies by ISBN: 9783034342759Publication Date: 2021-02-26The value of global cashless payments has been radically increasing worldwide. Despite cash being the most used payment instrument in the world, technological innovation and new consumer preferences are decisively transforming the way consumers pay and manage money. The COVID-19 pandemic may also have been an accelerator of the cashless mega-trend. Private players currently dominate the digital payment ecosystem, urging central banks to seek solutions to ensure public access to legal tender if cash is phased out. In this context, the idea of a Central Bank Digital Currency (CBDC) is gaining momentum. Nevertheless, there is a need to better understand the implications in terms of risks, benefits and potential costs of CBDCs. From privacy concerns to macroeconomic effects, these implications blur the boundaries of the payment and financial systems, challenging the core functions of our economy and society.
The AI Book: The Artificial Intelligence Handbook for Investors, Entrepreneurs and Fintech Visionaries by ISBN: 1119551927Publication Date: 2020-04-09Written by prominent thought leaders in the global fintech investment space, The AI Book aggregates diverse expertise into a single, informative volume. Key industry developments are explained in detail, and critical insights from cutting-edge practitioners offer first-hand information and lessons learned.
Bankruption by ISBN: 1119273870Publication Date: 2016-10-25Community banking can flourish in the face of fintech and global competition with a fresh approach to strategy Bankruption + Website offers a survival guide for community banks and credit unions searching for relevance amidst immense global competition and fintech startups. Author John Waupsh is the Chief Innovation Officer at Kasasa, where he helps spearhead financial product development and implementation across hundreds of institutions. In this guide, he draws on more than a decade in the industry to offer clear, practical advice for competing with the megabanks, direct banks, non-banks, and financial technology companies. The discussion separates futurist thinking from today's realities, and dispels common myths surrounding the U.S. community banking model in order to shed light on the real challenges facing community banking institutions. It follows with clear solutions, proven strategies, and insight from experts across banking and fintech.
Cryptocurrency All-In-One for Dummies by ISBN: 1119855829Publication Date: 2021-12-16Learn the skills to get in on the crypto craze The world of cryptocurrency includes some of the coolest technologies and most lucrative investments available today. And you can jump right into the middle of the action with Cryptocurrency All-in-One For Dummies, a collection of simple and straightforward resources that will get you up to speed on cryptocurrency investing and mining, blockchain, Bitcoin, and Ethereum. Stop scouring a million different places on the web and settle in with this one-stop compilation of up-to-date and reliable info on what's been called the "21st century gold rush." So, whether you're just looking for some fundamental knowledge about how cryptocurrency works, or you're ready to put some money into the markets, you'll find what you need in one of the five specially curated resources included in this book.
Disrupting Finance FinTech and Strategy in the 21st Century by Publication Date: 2019This open access Pivot demonstrates how a variety of technologies act as innovation catalysts within the banking and financial services sector. Traditional banks and financial services are under increasing competition from global IT companies such as Google, Apple, Amazon and PayPal whilst facing pressure from investors to reduce costs, increase agility and improve customer retention. Technologies such as blockchain, cloud computing, mobile technologies, big data analytics and social media therefore have perhaps more potential in this industry and area of business than any other. This book defines a fintech ecosystem for the 21st century, providing a state-of-the art review of current literature, suggesting avenues for new research and offering perspectives from business, technology and industry.
Financial Technologies: Artificial Intelligence, Blockchain, and Crowdfunding by ISBN: 9781839097157Publication Date: 2019Financial technologies, known as "FinTech", have brought disruptive changes to virtually every aspect of financial services, and is currently revolutionizing the whole financial industry (Goldstein, et al., 2019). Driven by start-ups and technology firms, FinTech covers a wide range of applications from cryptocurrency, mobile payments, marketplace financing, robo-advisors, to smart contracts and even decentralized autonomous organizations (Böhme, et al., 2015; Yu, et al., 2017).
Fintech: The New DNA of Financial Services by ISBN: 1547400900Publication Date: 2018-12-03Written by leading players in a burgeoning technology revolution, is about the merger of finance and technology (fintech), and covers its various aspects and how they impact each discipline within the financial services industry. It is an honest and direct analysis of where each segment of financial services will stand. Fintech: The New DNA of Financial Services provides an in-depth introduction to understanding the various areas of fintech and terminology such as AI, big data, robo-advisory, blockchain, cryptocurrency, InsurTech, cloud computing, crowdfunding and many more. Contributions from fintech innovators discuss banking, insurance and investment management applications, as well as the legal and human resource implications of fintech in the future.
FinTech Future: The Digital DNA of Finance by ISBN: 9353882494Publication Date: 2020Fintech is challenging banks and squeezing all our financial transactions onto a mobile screen! Should we be worried? We make payments via PayPal or Paytm, shop on Amazon or Flipkart, book accommodation on Airbnb or Oyo and call a cab using Uber or Ola apps. The big tech companies are taking care of all our finances virtually while new technologies such as artificial intelligence (AI), internet of things (IoT), blockchain, big data, 5G and quantum computing promise to raise a new storm in the future of finance. Fintech Future is the story of technology disrupting finance - from coin to bitcoin, banknote to cloud and stodgy old banks to AI - viewed from the perspective of whether it helps make the world a better place.
Global Fintech: Financial Innovation in the Connected World by ISBN: 0262369532Publication Date: 2022This book offers global perspectives on technology-fueled transformations in financial services, with contributions from a wide-ranging group of academics, industry professionals, former government officials, and current government advisors. They examine not only the struggles of rich countries to bring the old analog world into the new digital one but also the opportunities for developing countries to “leapfrog” directly into digital. The book offers accessible explanations of blockchain and distributed ledger technology and explores big data analytics. It considers, among other things, open banking, platform-based strategies for banks, and digital financial services.
The Palgrave Handbook of FinTech and Blockchain by ISBN: 9783030664329Publication Date: 2021-06-02Financial services technology and its effect on the field of finance and banking has been of major importance within the last few years. The spread of these so-called disruptive technologies, including Blockchain, has radically changed financial markets and transformed the operation of the industry as a whole. This is the first multidisciplinary handbook of FinTech and Blockchain covering finance, economics, and legal aspects globally. With comprehensive coverage of the current landscape of financial technology alongside a forward-looking approach, the chapters are devoted to the spread of structured finance, ICT, distributed ledger technology (DLT), cybersecurity, data protection, artificial intelligence, and cryptocurrencies. Given an unprecedented 2020, the contributions also address the consequences of the current emergency, and the pandemic stroke, which is revolutionizing social and economic paradigms and heavily affecting Fintech, Blockchain, and the banking sector as well, and would be of particular interest to finance academics and researchers alongside banking and financial services professionals.
- Digital FinanceDigital Finance is a leading journal exploring cutting-edge research in digital financial technologies and their impact on the financial industry.
- Journal of Applied Finance and BankingThe Journal's emphasis is on empirical, applied, and policy-oriented research in banking and other domestic and international financial institutions and markets.
- Journal of Banking & FinanceThe Journal of Banking and Finance (JBF) publishes theoretical and empirical research papers spanning all the major research fields in finance and banking. The aim of the Journal of Banking and Finance is to provide an outlet for the increasing flow of scholarly research concerning financial institutions and the money and capital markets within which they function. The Journal's emphasis is on theoretical developments and their implementation, empirical, applied, and policy-oriented research in banking and other domestic and international financial institutions and markets.
- Journal of Corporate FinanceThe Journal of Corporate Finance aims to publish high quality, original manuscripts or shorter format papers in both theoretical and empirical corporate finance. Areas of interest include, but are not limited to: financial structure, governance, product markets, payout, labor, innovation, risk management, financial contracting, and international finance. Papers at the intersection of corporate finance and macroeconomics, asset pricing, household, behavioral, fintech and blockchain, law, financial intermediation, or microstructure also are encouraged.
- Bank for International SettlementsThe Bank for International Settlements' (BIS) mission is to support central banks' pursuit of monetary and financial stability through international cooperation, and to act as a bank for central banks.
- Banking Ombudsman SchemeThe Banking Ombudsman Scheme investigates complaints about its members.
- Financial Stability InstituteThe Financial Stability Institute (FSI) was jointly created in 1998 by the Bank for International Settlements and the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision. Its mandate is to assist supervisors around the world in improving and strengthening their financial systems.
- New Zealand Banking AssociationThe New Zealand Banking Association – Te Rangapū Pēke is the voice of the banking industry. We back our banks to deliver for New Zealanders by shaping policy and telling the industry’s story.