Library Search
- AIP Publishing (American Institute of Physics Journals) This link opens in a new window
Current advances and foundational research covering the breadth and depth of the physical sciences. Explore the latest news, peer-reviewed research, reviews, journals, and proceedings from AIP Publishing and partners.
- DimensionsFree version of Dimensions database. Requires you to register a free account to search.
Explore open access content from the internet in a single search. Find scholarly publications, research grants, and policy documents. Covers all subject areas so great for applied mathematics and statistics topics.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) collection of journals, magazines, and conference proceedings, plus all active and historical IEEE standards.
- IOP Science This link opens in a new window
IOP Science offers a comprehensive collection of scholarly journals, covering disciplines such as physics, engineering, optics, and nuclear science. Includes current publications and the IOP Journal Archive, with access to all articles published since 1874.
- PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive) This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of all American Physical Society journals published between 1893 and 2020, as well as the full-text of American Physical Society (APS) journals to which the Library currently subscribes.
- ProQuest Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Science, Sports Medicine & Education Index, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Science & Technology, ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology and ProQuest Telecommunications. These databases provide access to content ranging from health and physical education, sports medicine, dance and physical therapy as well as vocational information focused on science and technology.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) publishes over 50 peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 3500 journals primarily in the Sciences, but also including Business, Education, Linguistics, Management, Sociology, etc.
- SciFinderN This link opens in a new window
SciFinderN, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is the most comprehensive database for chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number. It is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines. New features include PatentPak (patent documents in PDF format), MethodsNow Synthesis (synthetic protocols) and Retrosynthesis Planning (computer-aided synthetic design tool).
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Link is a platform for books, journals, and reference works published by Springer, a major publisher of scientific, technological and medical books and journals. Also includes materials in business & management, economics, mathematics, education, law, humanities and social sciences.
Use the Library Search box at the top of this page to find a range of books held by the University Library covering the topic of physics.
Just one keyword physics will bring you a wide range of books and articles on the many facets of physics.
These results can be filtered or searched more specifically by adding extra keywords.
For example: physics AND ocean*
Advanced studies in ocean physics. 2021 by This book describes a comprehensive selection of ocean processes such as wave phenomena (surface, internal gravitational, and acoustic waves), the influence of surfactants and pollutants on the aquatic environment's dynamics, the models of the stratified natural environment, convective phenomena in the ocean, and the interaction of wave and convective processes. The last section covers unsolved problems in the physics of anomalous waves. The book is of interest to specialists working in the field of ocean physics, as well as undergraduate and graduate students specializing in marine physics and oceanography
Noisy Oceans. 2023 by A comprehensive review of the sources and impacts of different types of marine noise Measuring devices such as ocean bottom seismometers and hydrophones designed to detect earthquakes pick up many other signals. These were previously ignored as background noise from unknown sources, but advanced technology now allows insights into the noise created from icebergs, ships, hydrothermal vents, whales, rain, marine engineering, and more. Includes Case Studies from around the world that span disciplines from geology and geophysicists to biology Published by The American Geophysical Union.
A Dictionary of Physics. 8th ed., 2019 by Now with over 4,000 entries, this new eighth edition has been fully updated to reflect progress in physics and related fields. It sees expansion to the areas of cosmology, astrophysics, condensed matter, quantum technology, and nanotechnology, with 125 new entries including "Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment", "kilonova", "leptoquark", and "muscovium". The dictionary's range of appendices, updated for the new edition, includes the periodic table, the electromagnetic spectrum, and a detailed chronology of key dates. 15 new diagrams add to the clarity and accessibility of the text, with 150 line drawings, tables, and graphs in total, and many entries contain recommended web links. This popular dictionary remains the most up-to-date of its kind: the essential introductory reference tool for students encountering physics terms and concepts, as well as for professionals and anyone with an interest in the subject.
- SPIE eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of optics and photonics ebook titles from the International Society for Optics and Photonics.
- American Institute of PhysicsClick on the Library Tab to search historical and current physics resources.
- CERNFundamental research is CERN’s primary mission, but the Laboratory also plays a vital role in developing technologies, bringing nations together and training the scientists of tomorrow.