Library Search
Searching for Social Policy Articles
Articles covering New Zealand social policy are also published in international journals.
Use zealand in your search,and try a phrase search (quotation marks around the phrase) for the type of policy:
e.g. zealand AND "housing policy"
zealand AND "social policy"
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand and South East Asia, this database covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- Overton This link opens in a new window
Overton is a searchable index of global policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. Explore policy documents citing research from the University of Waikato, or search for specific authors or articles that have been cited in policy documents.
- ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Psychology, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Social Science, ProQuest Sociology plus Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts. These databases provide citations, abstracts and full text access to literature on a wide range of disciplines, including political science, public policy, international relations, psychology, anthropology, sociology, religious and spiritual studies, social work, criminology, social policy, gender studies, population studies and more.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports every step of a research project, covering qualitative and quantitative methods, including interactive tools such as Methods Map and Project Planner. With hundreds of research methods ebooks, reference, video, case studies, and journal content.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 3500 journals primarily in the Sciences, but also including Business, Education, Linguistics, Management, Sociology, etc.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology. 2007 by New content published online twice annually to ensure that it remains the most comprehensive reference available in the field.
The most recent update was in December 2023
Social Policy for Social Work and Human Services in Aotearoa New Zealand. 2016 by Social policy plays a significant role in shaping the response to need in any community or population, through the provision of financial, physical or legislative protections or resources. This volume provides examples of initiatives and examines the making and shaping of contemporary social policy in Aotearoa New Zealand.
Social Policy in Aotearoa New Zealand. 4th ed., 2008 by Social Policy in Aotearoa New Zealand explains and analyses the development of contemporary social policy in Aotearoa New Zealand. It helps students to understand the conflicting values and perspectives in policy-making and implementation, and to relate the theories of social policy with the practices they will encounter in the field.
Social Policy Practice and Processes in Aotearoa New Zealand. 2021 by Call Number: HN930.5.A8 S585 2021This book is essential reading for students in social policy and related subjects, as well as the wider policy-making community.
Society and Politics : New Zealand Social Policy. 2007 2nd ed., by Call Number: HV515.5 .D86 2007Introduction to the essential political ideologies and concepts that have had an enduring impact on the development of New Zealand society.
States and Welfare States. 2022 by Most governments in the world - including many that are autocratic or authoritarian - have taken responsibility for social policy and elected to develop services in health, education and social security.
- Brooking InstituteOne of Washington's oldest think tanks, Brookings conducts research and education in the social sciences, primarily in economics, metropolitan policy, governance, foreign policy, and global economy and development.
- Stats NZ - Population Estimates & ProjectionsStats NZ operates under the authority of the Data and Statistics Act 2022.
Stats NZ makes lots of data available free of charge through this website. They also provide free support for finding and using published data through their Information Centre. - New Zealand Governance & Policy from Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO)This Collection contains policy, research, grey literature, journal articles and other content related to Aotearoa New Zealand.
- Government A-ZFind the Government Department you think will help. Click on the link, and at the next page, choose website from the list under Contact.
Then you can use the search box within your chosen website to search for your topic or just the word "policy":
EXAMPLE: health -> Ministry of Health ->website link -> searchbox - Ministry of Social DevelopmentThe Ministry of Social Development (MSD) is the lead agency for the social sector. They help the Government to set priorities across the sector, co-ordinate the actions of other social sector agencies and track changes in the social wellbeing of New Zealanders.
Use the search box to find policies by topic for example the Child Protection Policy 2023
New Zealand Journals
- Social Policy Journal Of New Zealand Te Puna WhakaaroThe Social Policy Journal of New Zealand was published between 1993 and 2011 by the Centre for Social Research and Evaluation at the Ministry of Social Development. It was a forum for public debate on social policy.
International Journals
- Journal of Human Development and CapabilitiesThe journal aims to stimulate innovative thinking and promote a multidisciplinary debate on concepts, measurement, analysis, policy and practice for human development cutting across economic, social, political, institutional and environmental issues.