Library Search
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom. Pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes over 390 journals from over 70 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Psychology, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Social Science, ProQuest Sociology plus Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts. These databases provide citations, abstracts and full text access to literature on a wide range of disciplines, including political science, public policy, international relations, psychology, anthropology, sociology, religious and spiritual studies, social work, criminology, social policy, gender studies, population studies and more.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Feminist Studies: A Guide to Intersectional Theory, Methodology and Writing. 2010 by Feminist theory, epistemology and methodology.
Gender Trouble: Feminism and the Subversion of Identity. 2006 by One of the most talked-about scholarly works of the past fifty years, Judith Butler's Gender Trouble is as celebrated as it is controversial. Arguing that traditional feminism is wrong to look to a natural, 'essential' notion of the female, or indeed of sex or gender, Butler starts by questioning the category 'woman' and continues in this vein with examinations of 'the masculine' and 'the feminine'. Best known however, but also most often misinterpreted, is Butler's concept of gender as a reiterated social performance rather than the expression of a prior reality.
The Palgrave Handbook of the Psychology of Sexuality and Gender. 2018 by The Palgrave Handbook of the Psychology of Sexuality and Gender combines cutting edge research to provide a thorough overview of all the normative - and many of the less common - sexualities, genders and relationship forms alongside psychological and intersectional areas relating to sexuality and gender.
Sport, Identity and Inclusion in Europe. 2023 by This book explores and critically assesses the challenges and experiences of LGBTQ people within sport in Europe. A focus on sport policy, sport systems, and issues around anti-discrimination and inclusion. The book introduces the theoretical and methodological foundations of research into LGBTQ people in sport and then presents in-depth comparative surveys of systems and experiences in Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, the UK, and Spain.
Questioning Gender: A Sociological Exploration. 4th ed., 2021 by Call Number: HQ1075 .R95 2021Serves as a point-of-departure for productive conversations and questions about gender and as a resource for exploring answers to many of those questions. Rather than providing definitive answers, this book takes a global approach and aims to challenge readers' preconceptions about gender and to demonstrate how gender as a system creates and reinforces inequality.
Dictionaries
Historical Dictionary of Feminism. 2nd ed., 2004 by Includes more than 1,000 entries covering the persons, organizations, campaigns and court cases, goals and achievements, and current and future directions of the feminist movement. This second edition also features a more internationally focused introduction that provides an overview of the history and development of feminism as a movement and as a philosophy.
Encyclopedias
- Feminism & PsychologyAn international, feminist, peer-reviewed journal, for encouraging, supporting, and showcasing cutting-edge and transformative feminist theory and research.
- Gender & SocietyPeer-reviewed journal covering theory and research in the study of gender as a primary social category and its relationship to social order; emphasizing the study of gender and feminist scholarship.
- Journal of Gender StudiesInterdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal publishing articles relating to gender from a feminist perspective.
- Journal of HomosexualityA peer-reviewed journal publishing a variety of disciplinary and interdisciplinary scholarship to foster a thorough understanding of the complexities, nuances, and the multifaceted aspects of sexuality and gender.
- The Journal of Sex ResearchJSR is a peer-reviewed journal covering diverse topics in contemporary sexual science. The journal publishes empirical reports, brief reports, theoretical essays, review articles, methodological articles, commentaries, and letters to the editor.
- Sex RolesA peer-reviewed journal publishing original research articles, theoretical manuscripts and critical reviews concerned with the underlying processes and consequences of gender role socialization, perceptions, and attitudes.
- SexualitiesSexualities is an established international journal and an invaluable resource, publishing articles, reviews and scholarly comment on the shifting nature of human sexualities.
- Transgender Studies QuarterlyAn interdisciplinary journal for innovative research and scholarship that contests the objectification, pathologisation, and exoticisation of transgender lives. Major topics addressed in the first few issues include the cultural production of trans communities, critical analysis of transgender population studies, transgender biopolitics, radical critiques of political economy, and problems of translating gender concepts and practices across linguistic communities.
- United Nations - Gender EqualityWomen and girls represent half of the world’s population and, therefore, also half of its potential. Gender equality, besides being a fundamental human right, is essential to achieve peaceful societies, with full human potential and sustainable development. Moreover, it has been shown that empowering women spurs productivity and economic growth.