Library Search
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing full-text access to peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, books and other publications.
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand and South East Asia, this database covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- Oxford Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
Browse journals by title or search across the entire online collection of journals published by Oxford University Press.
- ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Psychology, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Social Science, ProQuest Sociology plus Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts. These databases provide citations, abstracts and full text access to literature on a wide range of disciplines, including political science, public policy, international relations, psychology, anthropology, sociology, religious and spiritual studies, social work, criminology, social policy, gender studies, population studies and more.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Sage publishes journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, science, technology and medicine. Archive access available for some titles.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Over 2500 journals in all subject areas, published by Taylor & Francis.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library is an extensive multidisciplinary resource that provides access to a vast collection of high-quality academic content. This database offers a wide range of scholarly materials, including journals, books, reference works, and other resources across various disciplines.
Introduction to criminological thought. 3rd ed., 2019 by Call Number: HV7215.5 .W35 2019Online and Print versions available.
The text critically examines a range of issues of concern to criminology including the nature and extent of crime in New Zealand; the disproportionate representation of Māori and other ethnic minorities in the criminal justice system; recent increases in corporate fraud and other 'harms'; and those contemporary policies and strategies to reduce the extent and severity of crime and criminal behaviour.
Routledge Handbook of Deviant Behavior. 2011 by The Handbook of Deviant Behavior presents a comprehensive, integrative, and accessible overview . The inclusion of comparative and cross-cultural examples and discussions, relevant case studies and other pedagogical features make this book an invaluable learning tool for undergraduate and post graduate students in disciplines such as criminology, mental health studies, criminal theory, and contemporary sociology.
The Encyclopedia of Research Methods in Criminology and Criminal Justice. 2021 by A comprehensive survey of research methodologies and statistical techniques that are popular in criminology and criminal justice systems across the globe. With contributions from leading scholars and practitioners in the field, it offers a clear insight into the techniques that are currently in use to answer the pressing questions in criminology and criminal justice. Research designs grounded in both qualitative and quantitative approaches. It includes information on popular datasets and leading resources of government statistics. In addition, the contributors cover a wide range of topics such as: the most current research on the link between guns and crime, rational choice theory, and the use of technology like geospatial mapping as a crime reduction tool. A comprehensive survey of international research designs, methods, and statistical techniques Includes contributions from leading figures in the field.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science.
- Ara Poutama Aotearoa | Department of CorrectionsDepartment of Corrections strategic reports, publications, research, statistics and responses to Official Information Act (OIA) requests.
- Ministry of Justice - Research & DataResearch and Data covers a range of information and statistics across a wide variety of activity within the justice sector.
- New Zealand Police: Publications and StatisticsA wide range of material for you to download and read including:
Corporate documents (e.g. annual reports, Commission of Inquiry reviews, policies and strategies).
Guides and Standards (e.g. instructional guides, School and Community Services resources and goAML documents)
Data and statistics (official statistics and reports – both interactive and PDF). - Stats NZ (Crime & Justice)Find information on prosecutions and convictions, types of sentences, and the number of people serving prison or community sentences.
Statistics also include child and youth prosecution information.