Library Search
- APA PsycInfo® on Ovid This link opens in a new window
Contains citations in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of regularly updated evidence-based healthcare databases bringing together research looking at the effectiveness of different health care treatments and interventions.
- Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of selected New Zealand serials, including newspapers, about New Zealand and the South Pacific. Subjects covered include general interest material, social research, current affairs, the arts and humanities.
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand and South East Asia, this database covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowIncluded in this database: Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, which cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Also includes ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Psychology, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Social Science, ProQuest Sociology
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 3500 journals primarily in the Sciences, but also including Business, Education, Linguistics, Management, Sociology, etc.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library is an extensive multidisciplinary resource that provides access to a vast collection of high-quality academic content. This database offers a wide range of scholarly materials, including journals, books, reference works, and other resources across various disciplines.
- Newztext This link opens in a new window
Newztext contains the full text of key New Zealand news and business publications. A research tool and a long-term archive that is updated daily. Newztext is produced by The Knowledge Basket, with contributions from numerous publishers.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search tool which allows searches across many disciplines and sources. By accessing Google Scholar from this site, any search results which are part of a Library subscription will be indicated by the Find@Waikato link.
Evidence Discovery and Assessment in Social Work Practice. 2015 by Chapter Two "Finding the evidence for practice in social work" outlines principles for finding information for practice in social work, locations to search, and criteria for evaluating evidence: Social workers play a crucial part in contemporary society by ensuring that individuals are able to address, overcome, and manage obstacles in their daily lives. In an effort to better serve their clients, many practitioners have turned to evidence-based practice. This book provides practitioners with the tools necessary to locate, analyze, and apply the latest empirical research findings in the field to their individual practice.
Social Work Research Methods. 2020 by Social Work Research Methodsis a step-by-step journey through the process of conducting research. With over 30 years of teaching experience, author Reginald O. York helps readers discover how research can enable them to better serve clients in the field. Each chapter features a hands-on approach to producing research, with practical chapter exercises that reinforce methods mastery. Using their own data, students engage in realistic research activities and gain an appreciation for science-informed practice as a means of evaluating client outcomes.
Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Social Work. 2nd ed., 2019 by Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Social Work introduces the key ideas of evidence-based clinical social work practice and their thoughtful application. It intends to inform practitioners and to address the challenges and needs faced in real world practice. This book lays out the many strengths of the EBP model, but also offers perspectives on its limitations and challenges. An appreciative but critical perspective is offered throughout. Practical issues (agency supports, access to research resources, help in appraising research) are addressed - and some practical solutions offered. Ethical issues in assessment/diagnosis, working with diverse families to make treatment decisions, and delivering complex treatments requiring specific skill sets are also included.
Introduction to Applying Social Work Theories and Methods, 2nd ed., 2014 by 1 Introduction to theories and methods; 2 Systems theory and the ecological perspective; 3 The strengths perspective; 4 Empowerment and use of language; 5 Social constructivism; 6 Feminist theory and practice; 7 Person-centred approach; 8 Motivational interviewing; 9 Cognitive behavioural therapy; 10 Solution-focused practice; 11 Task-centred social work; 12 Crisis intervention; 13 Community work; 14 Groupwork.
Social Work Skills for Community Practice. 2nd ed., 2023 by ISBN: 9780826158345This second edition presents new information that includes self-care for the community practitioner, social work grand challenges, cultural humility, community dialogue, trauma-informed and resiliency-focused community development, environmental justice, and many other topics. Emphasizing community practice through the application of macro, mezzo, and micro social work skills, the book uses frameworks drawn from generalist social work practice as well as core competencies identified by CSWE's EPAS. Its focus on a broad range of community practice models makes it accessible to all social workers.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Link is a platform for books, journals, and reference works published by Springer, a major publisher of scientific, technological and medical books and journals. Also includes materials in business & management, economics, mathematics, education, law, humanities and social sciences.
Aotearoa New Zealand Association of Social Workers
ANZASW is the professional Association for Social Workers in Aotearoa New Zealand.
Australian and New Zealand Social Work and Welfare Education and Research
Australian and New Zealand Social Work and Welfare Education and Research (ANZSWWER), an independent commentator on social work and welfare education, encourages membership from social work and welfare educators, field supervisors, practitioners and students in Australia and New Zealand. Together we work towards sustainable, quality and world class social work and welfare education through networking, national and international relationships, our journal, annual symposium and the recognition of achievements in the field.
The Campbell Collaboration is an international social science research network that produces high quality, open and policy-relevant evidence syntheses, plain language summaries and policy briefs.
Child Poverty Action Group (CPAG) is an independent, registered charity founded in 1994 who work to eliminate child poverty in New Zealand through research, education and advocacy.
Enhancing the readiness to practise of newly qualified social workers
A collaborative, three-year project that aimed to develop a professional capabilities framework, clarifying the capabilities of newly qualified social workers and social workers at experienced and advanced levels of practice.
International Federation of Social Workers
The International Federation of Social Workers (IFSW) is a global organisation striving for social justice, human rights and social development through the promotion of social work, best practice models and the facilitation of international cooperation.
New Zealand Family Violence Clearinghouse
The New Zealand Family Violence Clearinghouse is your national centre for research and information on family and whānau violence in Aotearoa New Zealand. We provide information and resources for people working towards the elimination of family violence.
Re-Imagining Social Work in Aotearoa New Zealand
Re-Imagining Social Work (RSW) is a collective of social workers, social work academics, researchers and others who share a passion for, and a commitment to the development of modern, progressive, inclusive, democratic, and culturally responsive social work services in Aotearoa New Zealand.
Social Care Online is a UK database of information on all aspects of social work and social care. It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, reports, and journal articles. Social Care Online is free to use and includes some full-text content. If an item you want is not available in full text, try searching Library Search to see if we have access, or ask a librarian.
Social Workers Registration Board
The Social Workers Registration Board (SWRB) is the Crown entity regulatory authority responsible for the registration of social workers.
- Ara Poutama Aotearoa | Department of CorrectionsDepartment of Corrections strategic reports, publications, research, statistics and responses to Official Information Act (OIA) requests.
- Family Court of New ZealandThe Family Court is a division of the District Court. It provides help to New Zealanders with family problems. On these pages you will find information about the Family Court jurisdiction, including useful legislation, and tips on how to find Family Court judgments.
- Ministry of Health - Māori HealthLinks to strategies, inquiries, pānui, kaupapa and more.
- Ministry of Social DevelopmentThe Ministry of Social Development (MSD) is the lead agency for the social sector. They help the Government to set priorities across the sector, co-ordinate the actions of other social sector agencies and track changes in the social wellbeing of New Zealanders.
Use the search box to find policies by topic for example the Child Protection Policy 2023 - Family Services DirectoryPart of the Ministry of Social Development website, a searchable online database listing information about family support organisations and the services/programmes they offer to support New Zealand families. The organisations in the Family Services Directory are called "providers").
The purpose of the Family Services Directory is to connect people with providers who can help them to cope with common issues and problems.
Affilia: Journal of Women and Social Work
Affilia: Journal of Women and Social Work, published quarterly, is the only peer-reviewed, scholarly social work journal from feminists' points of view, offering a unique mix of research reports, new theory and other creative approaches.
Aotearoa New Zealand Social Work
Aotearoa New Zealand Social Work is an international, open access, peer-reviewed journal that provides a platform for research, analysis and scholarly debate on social work theory, policy and practice.
British Journal of Social Work
Published for the British Association of Social Workers, this is the leading academic social work journal in the UK. It covers every aspect of social work, with papers reporting research, discussing practice, and examining principles and theories.
The leading international journal in its field, covering a wide range of topics, reviewing significant developments and providing a forum for cutting-edge debates about theory and practice.
The Journal of Community Practice is an interdisciplinary journal grounded in social welfare. The journal provides a forum for community practice, including community organizing, planning, social administration, organizational development, community development, social action, and social change.
Journal of Ethnic and Cultural Diversity in Social Work
Journal of Teaching in Social Work
Qualitative Social Work provides a forum for those interested in qualitative research and evaluation and in qualitative approaches to practice.
Research on Social Work Practice
Social Policy Journal of New Zealand Te Puna Whakaaro
The Social Policy Journal of New Zealand was published between 1993 and 2011 by the Centre for Social Research and Evaluation at the Ministry of Social Development. It was a forum for public debate on social policy.
Social Work Education publishes articles of a critical and reflective nature concerned with the theory and practice of social care and social work education at all levels. It presents a forum for international debate on important issues and provides an opportunity for the expression of new ideas and proposals on the structure and content of social care and social work education, training and development.
This journal offers quality articles on clinical practice, education, research, collaborative relationships, mental health policy, and the delivery of mental health care services.
Coverage: No. 1 (July 1995) - 52 (March 2015)
The Practice Journal of the New Zealand Children and Young Persons Service = te hautaka Āwhina Tāngata a Te Uehā Mātātahi o Aotearoa.