How we can help you
Create a solid foundation for your research with the best resources. Our librarians are here to help you start assignments, research topics, learn referencing styles, optimise searches, troubleshoot software issues, and arrange one-on-one consultations with Subject Specialists. We're here to support you every step of the way.
Finding Resources
Create a solid foundation for your research and learning outcomes by separating the good from the bad. Your academic journey deserves the best resources. Let us help you find them.
- Research Commons Research Commons is the University of Waikato's Open Access research repository, housing research publications and theses produced by the University's staff and students.
- Databases A-Z Explore more through our comprehensive Databases collection, covering a vast array of subjects. From scholarly articles to multimedia resources, our databases offer invaluable information for academic pursuits.
- O Neherā A searchable collection of material scanned by the Library. It includes historical images, documents, and first hand accounts which provide unique local insights into Waikato and Aotearoa New Zealand.
- Exam Paper Collection Exam papers for the last few years are available online in the Exam Paper Collection (students and staff of University of Waikato only).For print copies from 1966-2017, inquire at the Level 2 Enquiries Desk in the Student Centre.Confidential exam papers, if deemed non-publishable, can be viewed through arrangements with the relevant department, without photocopying or note-taking permitted.
Academic Writing
You've completed the research; now learn how to convey your ideas clearly and effectively through academic writing. Discover the nuances and enhance your communication skills.
- Te Puna Ako - Academic Skills: Writing Te Puna Ako offers a series of guides and workshops on the skill of "Academic Writing".
- Write & Submit a Thesis Introduction This guide has been prepared by the University of Waikato Library in association with the School of Graduate Research and provides details about each stage of writing and submitting your thesis.
Referencing Tools
Tools and Strategies
Explore a variety of tools and strategies essential for effective research. From database navigation to citation management, discover how to optimise your research process and enhance the quality of your academic work.
Researcher Support
The Library offers a range of services and resources to support research throughout the research lifecycle. The research webpages provide guidance at all levels.
Te reo Māori for Assessment
- Policy on the use of te reo Māori for AssessmentThe University of Waikato endorses the right of its students to use the Māori language in written work for assessment within the University.
Teaching & Learning Librarians
The Teaching and Learning Team can help you with finding quality resources, navigating the Library's databases, and referencing the sources used.
Email: library@waikato.ac.nz
Phone: +647 838-4051
Download EndNote
By downloading these files, you agree to the terms outlined in the EndNote Personal Use Agreement.
EndNote for personal use agreement
EndNote is licensed by the University of Waikato for staff and student use.
You may use the provided copy of EndNote while you are a current student or member of staff of the University of Waikato.
Once you are no longer eligible under the above condition, you may no longer use our licensed copy of EndNote, and will need to remove it from your computer and obtain a copy elsewhere if you wish to continue using EndNote.
NOTE: Newer M1 Chip Macs require Microsoft Word to use Rosetta with the EndNote plugin. To make Word run in Rosetta, select the Microsoft Word app in the Applications folder, go to File, Get Info, and tick Open using Rosetta.
Get EndNote for: