Library Search
Key Resources
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand and South East Asia, this database covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Psychology, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Social Science, ProQuest Sociology plus Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts. These databases provide citations, abstracts and full text access to literature on a wide range of disciplines, including political science, public policy, international relations, psychology, anthropology, sociology, religious and spiritual studies, social work, criminology, social policy, gender studies, population studies and more.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing full-text access to peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, books and other publications.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Extensive coverage of science and technology, social sciences, business and economics, the arts, humanities, literature, health and medicine plus other subjects.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes over 390 journals from over 70 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 3500 journals primarily in the Sciences, but also including Business, Education, Linguistics, Management, Sociology, etc.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- TroveTrove provides access to over 6 billion records about Australia or of interest to the Australian community. Trove focuses on freely available digital content created by Australians and held in the collections of Australian Libraries, Archives, Museums, Galleries, University, Research and community organisations.
- The Hub: New Zealand Social Science ResearchThe Hub is the repository for New Zealand government social science research. It contains
social science research undertaken, commissioned or partly funded by central government in New Zealand. We define 'social science research' as the systematic study of human action and interaction, and may include qualitative and quantitative research. - Ministry of Social DevelopmentThe Ministry of Social Development (MSD) is the lead agency for the social sector. They help the Government to set priorities across the sector, co-ordinate the actions of other social sector agencies and track changes in the social wellbeing of New Zealanders.
Use the search box to find policies by topic for example the Child Protection Policy 2023 - Beehive.govt.nzBeehive.govt.nz is the best place to find Government initiatives, policies and Ministerial information.
- Ministry of Justice - Research & DataResearch and Data covers a range of information and statistics across a wide variety of activity within the justice sector.
- Figure.nz"Figure.nz exists to enable everyone to make sense of data and see Aotearoa clearly." New Zealand statisitcs illustrated with infographics.
A Dictionary of Sociology. 4th ed. 2014 by Authoritative dictionary of sociology contains more than 2,500 entries on the terminology, methods, concepts, and thinkers in the field.
A New Dictionary of the Social Sciences. 2nd ed., 2017 by Excellent source for definitions in social research. The entries include social psychological terms, terms in social and cultural anthropology, terms common to political science, social administration and social work. treatment. A number of short biographical sketches are also included.
Dictionary of Sociology. 2001 by Worth a look as it contains terms not included in newer dictionaries of sociology.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology. 2007 by New content published online twice annually to ensure that it remains the most comprehensive reference available in the field.
The most recent update was in December 2023
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Theory. 2017 by A comprehensive, interdisciplinary compendium of original entries focusing on the origins, evolution, and global development of contemporary social theory.
- The Journal of New Zealand StudiesThe Journal of New Zealand Studies is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal published by the Stout Research Centre for New Zealand Studies. From 2014 onwards the JNZS will be published on-line twice a year, in June and December. Prospective articles are welcome from any discipline. They should have a New Zealand focus or be comparative with a strong New Zealand element.
- Kōtuitui: New Zealand Journal of Social Sciences OnlinePublished by the Royal Society Te Apārangi. Peer reviewed, open-access journal for social sciences of relevance to New Zealand.
- MAI JournalMAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles around Indigenous knowledge and development in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand. Launched in 2012, MAI Journal evolved from MAI Review and complements AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples, which is also published by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga. MAI Journal is also supported by MASS: the Māori Association of Social Science.
- New Zealand SociologyPeer reviewed, published by the Sociological Association of Aotearoa New Zealand.
- Sites: A Journal of Social Anthropology and Cultural StudiesPeer-reviewed journal dedicated to publishing scholarly papers which explore aspects of Pacific societies and cultures. We define the Pacific in its widest possible sense to include the Pacific Rim, Oceania, New Zealand and the diasporas of people outwards from these regions.
- Journal of Sociology (Australian)Official journal of The Australian Sociological Association. It carries peer refereed articles of sociological research and theory on issues of interest to Australian sociology and aims to promote dialogue and exchange between Australian sociologists and the international community of sociology.
- Journal of Social Policy (UK)Peer reviewed articles on all aspects of social policy in an international context. It places particular emphasis upon articles which seek to contribute to debates on the future direction of social policy, to present new empirical data, to advance theories, or to analyse issues in the making and implementation of social policies.
Research
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports every step of a research project, covering qualitative and quantitative methods, including interactive tools such as Methods Map and Project Planner. With hundreds of research methods ebooks, reference, video, case studies, and journal content.