Library Search
- APA PsycInfo® on Ovid This link opens in a new window
Contains citations in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
An online directory of academic, peer-reviewed, open access books. Search by keyword or browse by subject.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals, covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- Newztext This link opens in a new window
Newztext contains the full text of key New Zealand news and business publications. A research tool and a long-term archive that is updated daily. Newztext is produced by The Knowledge Basket, with contributions from numerous publishers.
- OLAC: Open Language Archives Community This link opens in a new window
OLAC is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources. Includes details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The OED is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over 500,000 words, both past and present, from across the English-speaking world.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes over 380 journals from over 70 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The complete digital edition of the Times (London) is a primary source for researchers of world history, politics, and literature. Contains articles and letters to the editor from famous writers. The entire newspaper has been captured and is searchable, including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photographs.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
An Introduction to Language by ISBN: 0170261190Publication Date: 2015This book is ideal for use at all levels and in many different areas of instruction, including education, languages, psychology, anthropology, teaching English as a Second Language (TESL), and linguistics.
Linguistics by ISBN: 1118670914Publication Date: 2013-04-19This textbook is written for introductory courses in linguistic theory for undergraduate linguistics majors and first-year graduate students, by twelve major figures in the field, each bringing their expertise to one of the core areas of the field - morphology, syntax, semantics, phonetics, phonology, and language acquisition.
The Concise Oxford Companion to the English Language by ISBN: 0192800612Publication Date: 1998-11-26From Sanscrit to Scouse, this is the most comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date single-volume source of information about the English language.
Dictionary of Languages: The Definitive Reference to More Than 400 Languages by ISBN: 0713678410Publication Date: 2004Covering the political, social and historical background of each language, Dictionary of Languages offers a unique insight into human culture and communication.
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by ISBN: 9781444302776Publication Date: 2009-02-24Includes in excess of 5,100 terms, grouped into over 3,000 entries. Coverage reflects recommendations by a team of experts in phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, sociolinguistics and psycholinguistics, making it comprehensive.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by ISBN: 0080970877Publication Date: 2015-02-17
- English Australia JournalA journal for teachers of English to speakers of other languages, specifically to international students, within and outside Australia.
- In Our Language: Journal of Pacific ResearchIn our Language: Journal of Pacific Research (IOL) publishes existing peer reviewed and published research, reviews, poems, short stories and essays that have been directly translated (typically from English) to a Pacific language.
- International Journal of English for Academic Purposes: Research and PracticeInternational Journal of English for Academic Purposes: Research and Practice is a peer-reviewed platform for the open access publication of research and practice in English for Academic Purposes (EAP) teaching and learning.
- International Review of Applied Linguistics in Language TeachingThis journal is devoted to problems of general and applied linguistics in their various forms, IRAL's covers research concerning first- and second-language acquisition (including sign language and gestural systems).
- Internet TESL JournalProvides articles, research papers, lessons plans, and classroom handouts and links for ESL/EFL teachers.
- Junctures: The Journal for Thematic DialogueFocusing on New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific, Junctures seeks to address the matters which concern us all as we negotiate the contemporary environment.
- New Zealand English JournalAn annual refereed publication which aims to bring research on the varieties of English spoken in New Zealand to a wider audience. As well as articles describing facets of New Zealand varieties of English, it presents research reports, bibliographical lists, summaries of other discussions relevant to its subject matter.
- New Zealand journal of Asian studiesNew Zealand Journal of Asian Studies is an international peer-reviewed academic journal - official journal of the New Zealand Asian Studies Society (NZASIA). It brings together scholars working in the open, discursive, and contested site of Asian studies and promotes a dialogue between established and emerging scholars, conceptual and empirical analyses, disciplinary and interdisciplinary research.
- Transgender Studies QuarterlyAn interdisciplinary journal for innovative research and scholarship that contests the objectification, pathologisation, and exoticisation of transgender lives. Major topics addressed in the first few issues include the cultural production of trans communities, critical analysis of transgender population studies, transgender biopolitics, radical critiques of political economy, and problems of translating gender concepts and practices across linguistic communities.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldA reference for making informed decisions in every language context worldwide.
- International Research Foundation for English Language EducationThe International Research Foundation for English Language Education (TIRF) has provided reference lists for researchers and teachers throughout the world. These lists are created by members of the English Language Research Community.
- Language Science PressLanguage Science Press publishes high quality, peer-reviewed open-access online books in linguistics. All publications are free for both authors and readers. General Editors are Stefan Müller (FU Berlin) and Martin Haspelmath (MPI for the Science of Human History). They are supported by a high-profile Advisory Board.
- Lexicon of LinguisticsSearchable database of linguistic terminology updated with new terms in the areas of Generative Grammar (Minimalism) and Phonetics. Includes bibliography. Provided by the Utrecht Institute of Linguistics at the Utrecht University.
- World Atlas of Language Structures OnlineData and the texts on the structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages from the World Atlas of Language Structures, published in 2005 by Oxford University Press.