Library Search
-
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
An online directory of academic, peer-reviewed, open access books. Search by keyword or browse by subject.
-
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals, covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
-
ETV This link opens in a new window
ETV is the largest online video platform for educators in New Zealand with over 150,000 videos recorded or live from over 55 freeview, international and SKY channels.
-
Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of selected New Zealand serials, including newspapers, about New Zealand and the South Pacific. Subjects covered include general interest material, social research, current affairs, the arts and humanities.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social sciences with links to current issues available in Project Muse.
-
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy offers a broad collection of streaming videos from producers such as BBC Active, Media Education Foundation, Ronin Films, and more. Films include theatrical releases, documentaries, training films, and art cinema.
-
Screen Studies: Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism module This link opens in a new window
The Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism module is designed to support the study of film and the moving image. Includes a searchable library of screenplays in industry-standard studio format, introductory overview articles that introduce key themes in film studies, along with a wide range of critical and contextual books.
-
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of the Times (London) is a primary source for researchers of world history, politics, and literature. Contains articles and letters to the editor from famous writers. The entire newspaper is searchable, including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photographs.
-
Dangerous Mediations
by
ISBN: 9781501331534Publication Date: 2019-08-22In 2007, an unlikely troupe of 1500 Filipino prisoners became Internet celebrities after their YouTube video of Michael Jackson's ground-breaking hit 'Thriller' went viral. Taking this spectacular dance as a point of departure, Dangerous Mediations explores the disquieting development of prisoners performing punishment to a global, online audience. -
A Dictionary of Film Studies
by
ISBN: 0199587264Publication Date: 2012-09-08Written by experts in the field, this dictionary covers all aspects of film studies, including terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism, national, international and transnational cinemas, film history, film movements and genres, film industry organizations and practices, and key technical terms and concepts in 500 detailed entries. -
Dictionary of Film Terms
by
ISBN: 9781433127274Publication Date: 2015-04-01The Dictionary of Film Terms focus on "aesthetic" terminology dealing with techniques, concepts, genres, and styles that have evolved as a part of cinematic expression and analysis. -
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
by
ISBN: 1628921498Publication Date: 2015-10-22This dictionary provides a basic vocabulary of terms used in the media and entertainment industries. It is ideal for all students of Media Studies and related subjects, as well as those working for the first time in jobs such as journalism, radio and television production and advertising. -
Directory of World Cinema: Australia and New Zealand 2
by
ISBN: 1841506346Publication Date: 2015-05-15Building on and bringing up to date the material presented in the first instalment of Directory of World Cinema: Australia and New Zealand, this volume continues the exploration of the cinema produced in Australia and New Zealand since the beginning of the twentieth century. -
Media, Society, World
by
ISBN: 0745639216Publication Date: 2012-06-18Drawing on Couldry's work on media and social theory, this book explores how questions of power and ritual, capital and social order, and the conduct of political struggle, professional competition, and everyday life, are all transformed by today's complex combinations of traditional and 'new' media. -
Media Studies
by
ISBN: 9781317428305Publication Date: 2021-08-19This revised edition provides a comprehensive introduction to the various approaches to the field, explaining why media messages matter, how media businesses prosper and why media is integral to defining contemporary life. -
Media Studies 101: A Creative Commons Textbook
ISBN: 9780473286491Publication Date: 2014A collaboratively curated open access textbook for Media and Communication Studies students in New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific. -
The Oxford Handbook of Sound and Image in Digital Media
by
ISBN: 9780199757640Publication Date: 2013-12-16The Oxford Handbook of Sound and Image in Digital Media surveys the contemporary landscape of audiovisual media. This collection is conceived as a series of dialogues and inquiries by leading scholars from both image- and sound-based disciplines. -
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory
by
ISBN: 1138849154Publication Date: 2015-01-08Over 50 scholars clearly define, and analyze step by step, many of the fundamental concepts in film theory, ranging from concepts such as 'Apparatus', 'Gaze', 'Genre', and 'Identification', to Alain Badiou's 'Inaesthetics', Gilles Deleuze's 'Time-Image', and Jean-Luc Nancy's 'Evidence'. An ideal reference book for undergraduates of film studies, as well as graduate students new to the discipline. -
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
by
ISBN: 0028657918Publication Date: 2006-12-15This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting and others.
-
Adaptation: The Journal of Literature on Screen StudiesAcademic articles on book to screen adaptation, screen to book adaptation, popular and classic adaptations, theatre and novel screen adaptations, television, animation, soundtracks, production issues, and genres in literature on screen - includes book and film reviews.
-
Cinema JournalThis peer reviewed journal contains articles on film, movie history, television, film criticism, acting, production and film writing. Topics covered include Film, Cinema, Television, Media Studies, Visual Arts, Cultural Studies, Film and Media History, and Moving Image Studies.
-
Communication ArtsThe foremost professional publication in graphic design, advertising, photography, illustration, typography and interactive multimedia. Each issue is filled with articles and images that take the reader inside the most creative minds of our time. A must read for creative professionals and students.
-
Digital CreativityA peer-reviewed journal at the intersection of the creative arts, design and digital technologies. Articles cover practical and theoretical aspects of making or using digital media in creative disciplines. Topics include visual arts, interaction design, physical computing and making, computational materials, textile and fashion design, filmmaking and animation, game design, music, dance, drama, architecture and urban design.
-
Film CommentAn arts and culture magazine featuring reviews and analysis of mainstream, art-house, and avant-garde filmmaking from around the world. Founded in 1962, it is the official publication of the Film Society of Lincoln Center.
-
Journal of ScreenwritingExplores the nature of writing for the moving image in the broadest sense, highlighting current academic thinking around scriptwriting. Investigates a broad range of methodologies and approaches to studying the scriptwriting form, in particular: the history of the form, contextual analysis, the process of writing for the moving image, the relationship of scriptwriting to the production process and how the form can be considered in terms of culture and society.
-
Junctures: The Journal for Thematic DialogueFocusing on New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific, Junctures seeks to address the matters which concern us all as we negotiate the contemporary environment.
-
New Writing: The International Journal for the Practice & Theory of Creative WritingThis peer reviewed international journal publishes both critical and creative work – offering a forum for debate, as well as an avenue for the publication of the best stories, poems, creative non-fiction and works for the stage or for the screen. Articles may focus on: creative writing in universities and colleges; pedagogy, practice and research; the processes of creative writers, their drafts and completed work; the history of particular writing forms; analysis of particular creative works.
-
New Zealand journal of Asian studiesNew Zealand Journal of Asian Studies is an international peer-reviewed academic journal - official journal of the New Zealand Asian Studies Society (NZASIA). It brings together scholars working in the open, discursive, and contested site of Asian studies and promotes a dialogue between established and emerging scholars, conceptual and empirical analyses, disciplinary and interdisciplinary research.
-
Pūrātoke: Journal of Undergraduate Research in the Creative Arts and IndustriesPūrātoke is an online, peer-reviewed journal, dedicated to the publication of high-quality undergraduate student research within the creative arts and industries.
-
Screen Industry in New ZealandA statistical picture of the screen industry in New Zealand based on information collected by Statistics New Zealand in the annual Screen Industry Survey for the years 2005 - 2009.
-
Studies in Australasian CinemaA scholarly journal devoted to the screen cultures of, and film scholarship from, the Australian, New Zealand, and Pacific region. Features academic articles focusing on current and historical trends, representations, themes, styles, debates and scholarly work.
-
Transgender Studies QuarterlyAn interdisciplinary journal for innovative research and scholarship that contests the objectification, pathologisation, and exoticisation of transgender lives. Major topics addressed in the first few issues include the cultural production of trans communities, critical analysis of transgender population studies, transgender biopolitics, radical critiques of political economy, and problems of translating gender concepts and practices across linguistic communities.
-
Cinemas of New ZealandDeveloped by Dr Geoff Lealand, associate professor of Screen and Media Studies at the University of Waikato, this site documents and celebrate the abundance of unique art house/independent cinemas in the towns and cities of New Zealand. Cinemas of New Zealand was the inspiration behind Nick Homler’s documentary “The Reel People of New Zealand”, which was first screened in the Doc Edge Festival 2017 in Wellington and Auckland.
-
MediArXiv: The Open Archive for Media, Film, & Communication StudiesPronounced Media Archive, this is a free, nonprofit, scholar-led digital archive for media, film and communication studies. Hosted by the Center for Open Science, for media, film, and communication scholars, this site contains working papers, pre-prints, accepted manuscripts (post-prints), and published manuscripts.
-
NZ On ScreenThis website showcases NZ television, film and music video. You can view over 900 locally-made titles in full, or as excerpts, from 1943-2010. Many titles have background pieces written by those involved in the production. For each title there are profiles of the key cast and crew, and links to related information.
-
Wairoa Māori Film FestivalThe Wairoa Maori Film Festival promotes the indigenous storyteller narrative. The festival was established in 2005 by Te Roopu Whakaata Maori i Te Wairoa - Wairoa Maori Film Festival Inc.