Library Search
Key Resources
- Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School offers resources for students of all levels. Features three unique interfaces to thousands of curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, editor-recommended websites, making Britannica School the go-to site for research for all students.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a digital library of education-relatedliterature (including journals) to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching and educational decision-making.
- ERIC (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC provides access to education literature and research in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- ETV This link opens in a new window
ETV is the largest online video platform for educators in New Zealand with over 150,000 videos recorded or live from over 55 freeview, international and SKY channels.
- FindNZarticles This link opens in a new window
FindNZarticles provides access to New Zealand content, including material by or about New Zealanders, from a range of New Zealand newspapers and journals. Includes index to Te Ao Hou.
- Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of selected New Zealand serials, including newspapers, about New Zealand and the South Pacific. Subjects covered include general interest material, social research, current affairs, the arts and humanities.
- Informit A+ Education This link opens in a new window
An indexing and full-text database, containing in-depth coverage of the learning, teaching and management issues facing all teaching professionals. Contributions come from leading researchers in teacher training and include articles on policy, curriculum and pedagogical developments. Created in partnership with the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER).
- Learning Ground: Indigenous Education Research Database This link opens in a new window
The latest publications focusing on Indigenous education, spanning early childhood, post-school education, adult learning, encompassing areas such as cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, wellbeing, identity and oral language.
- Newztext This link opens in a new window
Newztext contains the full text of key New Zealand news and business publications. A research tool and a long-term archive that is updated daily. Newztext is produced by The Knowledge Basket, with contributions from numerous publishers.
- NZCER Journals Online This link opens in a new window
NZCER Journals Online provides access to Set: Research Information for Teachers, Assessment Matters, Curriculum Matters and Early Childhood Folio. These titles cover research in early childhood education, curriculum and assessment in education research, policy and practice.
- ProQuest Education This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Education database and Sports Medicine & Physical Education Index. These databases provide resources on teaching, educational research, educational administration, literature on primary, secondary, higher, adult and special education as well as home schooling. The collection includes scholarly journals, administration and professional publications, topical journals, theses, dissertations and education-focused newsletters.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Source Online: Subject Guide to Children's Books This link opens in a new window
Australia & New Zealand's online reference guide to children's books, poetry, short stories and literary awards. Includes bibliographic details with annotations and subject headings for thousands of picture books and children's and young adult novels.
Education Studies by ISBN: 1317340310Publication Date: 2017-09-20Written by educational specialists and including over fifty interdisciplinary entries, this essential compendium offers accessible, detailed definitions of the core concepts typically explored on undergraduate Education Studies courses.
The Professional Practice of Teaching in New Zealand by ISBN: 9780170416771Publication Date: 2019The Professional Practice of Teaching contains a wealth of information that pre-service teachers need to know in order to learn to teach effectively. Written specifically for the New Zealand setting, it highlights the range of knowledge and skills that teachers require in order to make a positive difference to their students' lives.
- Education CountsThe goal of Education Counts is to increase the availability and accessibility of information about education statistics and research.
- Education GazetteThe Education Gazette | Tukutuku Kōrero is Aotearoa New Zealand’s source of education news, articles and career development opportunities for education professionals.
- Education Review OfficeThe Education Review Office | Te Tari Arotake Mātauranga (ERO) is the New Zealand government’s external education evaluation agency. They evaluate and report on the education and care of learners in schools, kura, kōhanga reo, puna reo, and early childhood services.
- Journal SurfTo access 'Journal Surf' please login with the following details:
Email address: librarysystems@waikato.ac.nz
Password: Waikato2022 - Ministry of EducationThe Ministry of Education is the Government's lead advisor on the New Zealand education system, shaping direction for sector agencies and providers.
- New Zealand Educational InstituteNZEI Te Riu Roa is the union of more than 50,000 principals, teachers and support staff and specialist staff working in primary, area and secondary schools, early childhood centres, learning support and school advisory services
- PPTA Te WehengaruaPPTA Te Wehengarua is the professional association and union of teachers and principals committed to improving secondary education for New Zealand students.
- Teaching & Learning Research InitiativeThe TLRI is a government fund for collaborative research about teaching and learning in the early childhood, school and tertiary sectors. It aims to build research capability and to make a difference to teaching and learning in New Zealand.
- Teaching Council of Aotearoa New ZealandThe Teaching Council | Matatū Aotearoa is the professional body representing teachers in early childhood education, primary and secondary schooling.
- TāhūrangiOnline hub for curriculum content, teaching materials and news.
- Set: Research Information for TeachersA well-established research resource for teachers.
- Teachers and Curriculum: Kaiako me te MarautangaTeachers and Curriculum is an online peer-reviewed journal published by the Wilf Malcolm Institute of Educational Research, Division of Education, The University of Waikato. The journal is directed towards a professional audience and focuses on contemporary issues and research relating to curriculum, pedagogy and assessment.
Māori Education
- Learning Ground: Indigenous Education Research Database This link opens in a new window
The latest publications focusing on Indigenous education, spanning early childhood, post-school education, adult learning, encompassing areas such as cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, wellbeing, identity and oral language.
- Anthropology and Education QuarterlyAnthropology & Education Quarterly is a peer-reviewed journal that draws on anthropological theories and methods to examine educational processes in and out of schools, in US and international contexts. Articles rely primarily on ethnographic research to address immediate problems of practice as well as broad theoretical questions.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Informit A+ Education This link opens in a new window
An indexing and full-text database, containing in-depth coverage of the learning, teaching and management issues facing all teaching professionals. Contributions come from leading researchers in teacher training and include articles on policy, curriculum and pedagogical developments. Created in partnership with the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER).
- NZCER Journals Online This link opens in a new window
NZCER Journals Online provides access to Set: Research Information for Teachers, Assessment Matters, Curriculum Matters and Early Childhood Folio. These titles cover research in early childhood education, curriculum and assessment in education research, policy and practice.
- Set: Research Information for TeachersA well-established research resource for teachers.
- Teachers and Curriculum: Kaiako me te MarautangaTeachers and Curriculum is an online peer-reviewed journal published by the Wilf Malcolm Institute of Educational Research, Division of Education, The University of Waikato. The journal is directed towards a professional audience and focuses on contemporary issues and research relating to curriculum, pedagogy and assessment.
- Waikato Journal of Education: Te Hautaka Mātauranga o WaikatoThe Waikato Journal of Education is a well-regarded peer-reviewed journal. Since the first publication in 1995, the journal has made a major contribution to the scholarship on a wide range of topics in the field of education, particularly issues connected to curriculum, learning and teaching. Papers have included reports on educational research and practice and viewpoints on education policies, theories and practices. Issues often have a special focus.
Niho Taniwha by Call Number: LC3501.M3 R55 2023ISBN: 1775506681Publication Date: 2022-04-30Niho Taniwha equips educators with culturally responsive practices to better serve and empower Māori students and their whānau. The book is centred around the Niho Taniwha model in which both the learner and the teacher move through three phases in the teaching and learning process: Whai, Ako and Mau.
Decolonisation in Aotearoa: Education, research and practice by Call Number: LC3501.M3 D43 2016ISBN: 0947509178Publication Date: 2016The book presents a kaupapa Māori and decolonised agenda for Māori education ... divided into three sections: Māori in education, Māori in research and Māori in practice.
Culture Speaks by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC3501 .M3B53 2006ISBN: 1869692799Publication Date: 2007-01-31This book focuses on what it is like to be a young Mâori person in a New Zealand secondary school classroom today. It presents and discusses narratives drawn from the voices of Mâori secondary students, their whânau, principals, and teachers. Whether you are a student, a parent, a principal, or a teacher, this book will help you to examine your own explanations for the educational achievement of students and begin to develop effective responses to the challenges it raises. The book proposes strategies for teachers to increase their effectiveness in the teaching and learning of students from Mâori and Pacific origins.
Te Kotahitanga by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC3501 .M3B575 2014ISBN: 9781927151914Publication Date: 2014-02-01This is the inside story of an indigenous education success story. Te Kotahitanga is a theory based programme that has made a positive difference to the educational experience and achievement of Ma-ori students in mainstream schools in Aotearoa New Zealand. Drawing on case studies from three schools, this book explores the classroom pedagogy with its focus on responding to students' culture and positive teacher-student relationships. It also highlights the vital role of school leadership. It is essential reading for anyone interested in reforming mainstream schools so that quality education and equity is available for all students, especially those who have been historically marginalised.
Culturally responsive teaching: Theory, research, and practice by Publication Date: 2018
Critical conversations in kaupapa Māori by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; H62.5.N45 H67 2017ISBN: 9781775503286Publication Date: 2017This collection furthers knowledge about kaupapa Māori by examining its effects over the decades, identifying and discussing its conventions and boundaries and reflecting on kaupapa Māori in social and educational research and practice.
Matua rautia: The report on the kōhanga reo claim by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; KUQ716.7 .A15W144 no.2336ISBN: 9781869563066Publication Date: 2013This publication is the outcome of an urgent Waitangi Tribunal inquiry into alleged acts and omissions of the Crown in relation to kōhanga reo, in particular concerning the report of the Government's Early Childhood Education Taskforce and the potential development of Government policy which would affect the operation and support of kōhanga reo.
Kia tangi te tītī : permission to speak : successful schooling for Māori students in the 21st century : issues, challenges and alternatives by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC3501 .M3K52 2011ISBN: 9781877398988Publication Date: 2011
Kia Hiwa Ra! Listen to culture: Māori students' plea to educators by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC3501.M3 M24 2004ISBN: 1877293296Publication Date: 2004-01-01"Kia hiwa ra" literally means "to be alert." This book is intended to alert teachers to models of good teaching in diverse classrooms and to encourage them to be alert to the various cultures that are represented. If we want to extend academic achievement for Māori students, we need to create a strong foundation for their learning. This foundation includes building upon students' cultural and experiential strengths to help them acquire new skills and knowledge. This book records the work and thoughts of culturally-relevant teachers, all of whom demonstrate connectedness with students and who see their classrooms as places where they "listen to culture" in order to forge meaningful relationships that enhance the quality of the learning environment. Kia Hiwa Ra is a book which can help all teachers to become "educultural" helping them to understand themselves, their culture, and the culture of others - and to be more successful with all students.
What's Maori about Maori Education? by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC3501 .M3P45 2010ISBN: 9780864736147Publication Date: 2011-02-01A unique critique of the history and contemporary practice of Maori academics, this examination argues that equality of education has been promised but rarely delivered in New Zealand. It was not until the late 1970s and early 1980s that ordinary Maori in a few key communities throughout the country courageously stepped outside the mainstream system and created an alternative Maori system in order to enhance their own interpretations of what it means to achieve equality, social justice, and fairness through education. Engaging and thorough, this insider's account explores the Maori point of view and asks what "an education for all New Zealanders" really means.
Coloring in the White Spaces by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC196.5.N45 M55 2017ISBN: 9781433134845Publication Date: 2016-10-26This book examines the struggle against racial and cultural inequity in educational systems, presenting the case study of a New Zealand school and its community's determination to resist alienating environments.- Above the clouds: Identifying and nurturing Māori students of promise: Ka rewa ake ki ngā kapua by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; LC3501 .M3M21 2010ISBN: 0473165139Publication Date: 2010
- The professional practice of teaching in New Zealand by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; LB1025.3 .P756 2019ISBN: 9780170416771Publication Date: 2019The Professional Practice of Teaching in New Zealand contains a wealth of information that beginning and more experienced teachers need to know in order to learn to teach well. Written specifically for the New Zealand setting, it highlights a range of knowledges and skills that teachers require in order to make a positive difference to their students' lives. Throughout the text many case studies, activities and stories from real-life teachers and students help readers to link the theory to their classroom practices.
- Ako AotearoaAko Aotearoa is a government-funded organisation committed to supporting the country’s tertiary sector teachers, trainers and educators hosting a range of reports, papers, resources, videos and more.
- Ako Aotearoa: From Good to Great: The 10 Habits of phenomenal educators for Pacific learners – Full reportThe Full Report includes 11 case studies describing the phenomenal educators involved in the project. It outlines the methodology, which is built around an Appreciative Inquiry approach. It features student talanoa about their experiences with phenomenal educators and introduces the “Ten Habits’ displayed by those educators.
- Education CountsThe goal of Education Counts is to increase the availability and accessibility of information about education statistics and research.
- Education Review OfficeThe Education Review Office | Te Tari Arotake Mātauranga (ERO) is the New Zealand government’s external education evaluation agency. They evaluate and report on the education and care of learners in schools, kura, kōhanga reo, puna reo, and early childhood services.
- Ka Hikitia-Ka HāpaitiaKa Hikitia, the Māori Education Strategy, has been refreshed as part of the Education Work Programme. It sets out how we will work with education services to achieve system shifts in education and support Māori learners and their whānau, hapū and iwi to achieve excellent and equitable outcomes and provides an organising framework for the actions we will take.
- New Zealand Educational InstituteNZEI Te Riu Roa is the union of more than 50,000 principals, teachers and support staff and specialist staff working in primary, area and secondary schools, early childhood centres, learning support and school advisory services
- Te Aho Arataki Marau mō te Ako i Te Reo Māori - Kura AurakiCurriculum Guidelines for Teaching and Learning Te Reo Māori in English-medium Schools: Years 1-13
- TKI. Te WharekuraSite provides full-text issues of Te Wharekura, a Maori language journal for schools.
- Topic ExplorerThe Topic Explorer helps you find quality, curated resources on a range of topics to support and inspire inquiry. Each topic features a carefully selected set of national and international resources, including websites, images, videos, books and more.
- Tāhūrangi: Te Putāhū Curriculum CentrePreviously TKI.
- StatsNZ: EducationEducation statistics give you information about participation and achievement in formal education.
- Maori Education: Revolution and Transformative Action byPublication Date: 2000Describes alternative educational innovations at all educational levels, developed by the Maori of New Zealand in response to the dual crises of educational underachievement and the loss of language, knowledge, and culture. Major intervention elements are validating cultural identity, incorporating culturally preferred pedagogy, mediating socioeconomic and home difficulties, emphasizing collectivity rather than individuality, and a shared vision and philosophy.
- The origins of Kura Kaupapa Māori byCall Number: Storage Level 1 ; L91.N575Publication Date: 2015Documents the beginnings of kura kaupapa Māori through narratives by some originators of the kura kaupapa Māori movement.
- Sharing, listening, learning and developing understandings of Kaupapa Māori research by engaging with two Māori communities involved in education byPublication Date: 2006This paper is a culmination of common understandings that were elicited from two pieces of research: ‘The Impact of the BHP New Zealand Steel Mining on the Tangata Whenua and the Environment’ and ‘The Impact of Maori Medium Education within a Mainstream Secondary School on the Lives of its Participants, in particular the Teachers, Caregivers and Students’. It was at the conclusion of each research project and as a consequence of informal conversations and discussions that this paper evolved.
- Succeeding as Māori: Māori students’ views on our Stepping Up to the Ka Hikitia Challenge byPublication Date: 2017This paper examines the vision and intent of New Zealand’s Māori education policy, Ka Hikitia, and its implications on the daily lives of Māori students in New Zealand’s education system. Extensive information on the secondary school experiences of rangatahi Māori (youth) have been gathered—originally in 2001 and at the end of 2015, through Kia Eke Panuku: Building on Success (Kia Eke Panuku: Building on Success is a secondary school reform initiative that is fully funded by the Ministry of Education, however, this paper represents the view of the authors and is not necessarily the view of the Ministry).
- Te orokohanga o Te Aho MatuaPublication Date: 2019
- Tātaiako: Cultural competencies for teachers of Māori learners byPublication Date: 2011