Library Search
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing full-text access to peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, books and other publications.
- APA PsycArticles® on Ovid This link opens in a new window
A leading source for academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
- APA PsycInfo® on Ovid This link opens in a new window
Contains citations in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- APA PsycTherapy® on Ovid This link opens in a new window
A video platform for clinical and counseling psychology. Provides instructors, practitioners, and trainees the opportunity to observe candid psychotherapy videos featuring well known therapists.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of regularly updated evidence-based healthcare databases bringing together research looking at the effectiveness of different health care treatments and interventions.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video Library This link opens in a new window
An invaluable first hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. Contains hundreds of hours of footage from therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Extensive coverage of science and technology, social sciences, business and economics, the arts, humanities, literature, health and medicine plus other subjects.
- Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Over 2500 journals in all subject areas, published by Taylor & Francis.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library is an extensive multidisciplinary resource that provides access to a vast collection of high-quality academic content. This database offers a wide range of scholarly materials, including journals, books, reference works, and other resources across various disciplines.
- British journal of guidance & counselling (Online)The aim of the British Journal of Guidance & Counselling is to publish work that sets trends and provokes fresh thought and innovation in the practice and understanding of counselling, psychotherapy and career guidance. The journal seeks to communicate, enrich and advance theory, research, policy and practice in these fields.
- Counseling today : a publication of the American Counseling AssociationProvides information online to counselors & other mental health professionals who work in private practice, schools, colleges, community agencies, hospitals & government.
- Family process (Online)Family Process is a peer-reviewed journal committed to publishing articles, including theory and practice, philosophical underpinnings, qualitative and quantitative clinical research, and training in couple and family therapy, family interaction, and family relationships with networks and larger systems.
- The international journal of narrative therapy and community work.International Journal of Narrative Therapy & Community Work is an internationally peer-reviewed journal for practitioners who wish to stay in touch with the latest ideas and developments in narrative practice. This journal offers hopeful and creative ideas for counsellors, social workers, teachers, nurses, psychologists and community workers.
- Journal of systemic therapies (Online)This journal presents innovative ideas and approaches for working with children, youth, families and communities. Seeking to inform and extend theory, Journal of Systemic Therapies explores the latest research and practices in such competency-oriented approaches as brief therapies, solution-focused therapy, collaborative dialogical therapies, and narrative therapy.
- New Zealand journal of counsellingThe New Zealand Journal of Counselling is a publication of the New Zealand Association of Counsellors. The Journal’s aim is to promote counselling practice and research that reflect the unique cultural context of Aotearoa New Zealand, respecting and encouraging the partnership principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi.
Deconstructing Psychotherapy by ISBN: 9781446264751Publication Date: 2012-08-21Putting forward the latest arguments on the discursive and postmodern turn in psychotherapy, the contributors reflect on the role of psychotherapy in contemporary culture, and the project of therapy is opened up to critical attention.
Ethics in practice: A guide for counsellors by Call Number: BF636.67 .E83 2011ISBN: 9781877399572Publication Date: 2011- Moemoeā : Māori counseling journeys byCall Number: HV515.5 .M54 2017ISBN: 9781927212332Publication Date: 2017This book is a collection of material by Māori practitioners. It is a practical and accessible resource for those working alongside whānau Māori. Each chapter demonstrates clear links between practice and philosophy, situating these in whakaaro Māori and in contemporary Western ideas. Practice stories show Māori cultural ethics at work in: counselling, supervision, group work, research, advocacy, and professional education. In their weaving of whakaaro Māori and narrative practice, the stories will inform and inspire practitioners who work alongside Māori, in diverse settings. Throughout the book the voices of both whānau and counsellor explore what happens when mana is recognised, called into presence, and engaged in the task of reimagining the future.
The Narrative Practitioner by Call Number: RC489 .S74B47 2014ISBN: 9781137005472Publication Date: 2014-07-04This book offers a clear and succinct introduction to narrative theory and practice across all professions. It not only describes the basic principles and methods in narrative therapy, but it also provides a genuine bridge from theory to practice, making it the perfect tool for students and practitioners alike.
Practicing narrative mediation: Loosening the grip of conflict by Call Number: HM1126 .W57 2008ISBN: 9786611766696Publication Date: 2008Practicing Narrative Mediation provides mediation practitioners with practical narrative approaches that can be applied to a wide variety of conflict resolution situations. Written by John Winslade and Gerald Monk - leaders in the narrative therapy movement - the book contains suggestions and illustrative examples for applying the proven narrative technique when working with restorative conferencing and mediation in organizations, schools, health care, divorce cases, employer and employee problems, and civil and international conflicts. Practicing Narrative Mediation also explores the most recent research available on discursive positioning and exposes the influence of the moment-to-moment factors that are playing out in conflict situations. The authors include new concepts derived from narrative family work such as "absent but implicit," "double listening," and "outsider-witness practices."
Safe and peaceful schools : Addressing conflict and eliminating violence by Call Number: LB3013.3 .W58 2012ISBN: 9781452269214Publication Date: 2012This book provides a variety of research-based techniques to help students, school counselors, psychologists, administrators, and other educators develop conflict resolution skills that reduce the need for disciplinary action
Social Constructionism by ISBN: 9781848721913Publication Date: 2015-04-21This book introduces students to the area of social science theory and research known as social constructionism. Using a variety of examples from everyday experience and from existing research in areas such as personality, sexuality and health, it clearly explains the basic theoretical assumptions of social constructionism.
Supervision in the helping professions by ISBN: 9786613852243Publication Date: 2012Written for supervisors working in the helping professions, this fourth edition by Hawkins and Shohet addresses the practical needs of staff and describes ways of enabling them to obtain the support and supervision they require.
What Is Narrative Therapy? by ISBN: 9780957792906Publication Date: 2000-12-01With accessible language, a concise structure, and a wide range of practical examples, this is a very popular easy-to-read introduction to the ideas and practices of narrative therapy. This book covers a broad spectrum of narrative practices including externalisation, re-membering, therapeutic letter writing, and the use of rituals, leagues, reflecting teams, and much more. If you are a therapist, health worker, or community worker who is trying to apply narrative ideas in your own context, this book has been written with you in mind.
When Stories Clash by Call Number: HM1121 .M65 2013ISBN: 9781938552014Publication Date: 2012-10-01In the stories that people tell about conflict, the relationship narrative is commonly shaped to fit the conflict story. But there are always other relationship stories that can be told. This edition shows how to find and grow a counter story to the conflict story and to help people make choices about which story they want to perform.
- The Dulwich CentreFounded in 1983, the Dulwich Centre is an innovative home for narrative therapy, community work, training and publishing. We are also a hub for a growing community of international practitioners.
- The Institute of Narrative TherapyThe Institute of Narrative Therapy has been established to support the highest standards of practice, teaching and research into narrative therapy. It acts as a central regulated body of knowledge and expertise, offering information and consultation about narrative therapy training and supervision.
- Narrative ApproachesNarrative Approaches is an online community, resource and an archive of Narrative Therapy conversations, ideas, inspiration, papers, art-work, poetry, stories, scholarship, and solidarity. It is also home to the Archive of Resistance, a lifesaving armory of words – fired at anorexia, bulimia, and negative body image in the battle for the sovereignty of mind, body and spirit.
- Narrative Therapy InitiativeThe Narrative Therapy Initiative, or NTI, provides training, consultation, and community related to narrative therapy ideas, practices, and worldview.
- New Zealand Association of CounsellorsNZAC is the largest association for counselling professionals in Aotearoa. We are run for and by counsellors and support our members throughout their careers, from student training to retirement.
- New Zealand Christian Counsellors AssociationNZCCA is an organisation for professionally trained Counsellors, who are Christians.
- New Zealand Family Violence ClearinghouseNational centre for family violence and sexual violence research and information.