Library Search
Key Resources
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
This database brings together global scholarly journals with other key resources for access to reliable information in this continuously evolving area of study. Quickly locate precise results from sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.
- Business Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Provides video in a range of areas: corporate training, case studies, executive interviews, expert lectures, instructional films, and documentaries. Hundreds of hours of applied video in this streaming collection complement the business classroom by illustrating practical, real-life applications for relevant topic and skills.
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides bibliographic and full-text content for all business disciplines. It includes thousands of peer-reviewed journals, ebooks and other full-text material such as market research reports and detailed company profiles.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Access around 200 full-text journals and reviews from a further 300 in the fields of management, accounting and finance, public policy, engineering, tourism and computer science.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile offers peer-reviewed, full-text articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Extensive coverage of science and technology, social sciences, business and economics, the arts, humanities, literature, health and medicine plus other subjects.
- Informit Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of business fields, including, accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions.
- ProQuest Management This link opens in a new window
Includes ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/Inform Trade & Industry and CBCA Business. The ABI/INFORM Collection provide comprehensive in-depth coverage for thousands of publications and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. CBCA Business focuses on business periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Scroll down to the Document Type box, tick Case Study, and then enter your search terms.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Access around 200 full-text journals and reviews from a further 300 in the fields of management, accounting and finance, public policy, engineering, tourism and computer science.
- From the drop-down menu on the search box pick Case Studies and then enter your search terms. The University has access to the Emerging Markets Case Studies and the CASE Journal.
- MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Advantage provides access to an extensive collection of company, industry and country profiles, with information on 30,000 companies, 3,500 industry profiles and over 200 country profiles. Updated on a daily basis, it is a dynamic access point to the world of market intelligence.
- Pick Case Studies from the drop-down menu and then enter your search terms.
- ProQuest Management This link opens in a new window
Includes ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/Inform Trade & Industry and CBCA Business. The ABI/INFORM Collection provide comprehensive in-depth coverage for thousands of publications and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. CBCA Business focuses on business periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues.
- Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Sage Business Cases is the first discipline-wide digital collection tailored to library needs. These cases bring business to life, inspiring researchers to develop their own best practices and prepare for professional success.
- In depth case studies. Teaching notes are also available by creating a profile and entering University of Waikato code (available through your subject administrator or liaison librarian).
- WARC.com This link opens in a new window
WARC provides the latest evidence, expertise and guidance to make marketers more effective. This database gives access to thousands of award-winning case studies revealing the strategies of leading brands; articles and best practice guides that explain the 'how' and 'why' of marketing challenges; market intelligence trend reports, ad forecasts and spending, plus brand and company profiles and industry news. Includes access to the monthly report series 'The WARC Guide'.
- Thousands of award winning advertising effectiveness case studies revealing the strategies of leading brands, best practice guides that explain the 'how' and 'why' of advertising and marketing challenges, and market intelligence, including trends, reports, adspend and forecasts, company profiles and event reports.
- Business Case StudiesLearn business studies theory online with extensive revision pages, download free case studies from real world companies and associated lesson materials and worksheets for teachers and students.
- CANZ Project by Victoria University of WellingtonCompetitive Advantage New Zealand (CANZ) is an integrated programme of research devoted to understanding how New Zealand enterprises can develop competitive advantage that is world class. Several of the company histories written as part of the project’s research have been released for publication. They may be downloaded as PDF files and reproduced with acknowledgement and without fee.
- Teaching Resources Library at MIT SloanSince 2009, the MIT Sloan School of Management has provided open and free access to our case studies and management simulations. These have been developed for our classroom and made available to management educators and students worldwide. All of the materials featured in this library carry a creative commons license allowing them to be downloaded, copied, and distributed/used free of charge by anyone worldwide, no permission required. While this collection covers a wide array of industries, companies, and organizations, it focuses mainly on areas in which MIT Sloan’s innovative research and teaching are world renowned.
- NZX Company Research This link opens in a new window
NZ company profiles, financials, announcements, annual reports, prices, charts, forecasts, top 50 shareholders, etc.
- NZX Annual ReportsEach year the Tribunal produces an annual regulatory report. This page contains the Tribunal's most recent annual report and archived annual reports.
- DatAnalysis Premium This link opens in a new window
DatAnalysis Premium is a web-based source of comprehensive financial and non-financial information on all ASX & NZX listed and delisted companies.
- MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Advantage provides access to an extensive collection of company, industry and country profiles, with information on 30,000 companies, 3,500 industry profiles and over 200 country profiles. Updated on a daily basis, it is a dynamic access point to the world of market intelligence.
- Passport (Euromonitor International) This link opens in a new window
Passport - Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform - monitors industry trends and gives strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across key countries. Accept Terms and Conditions to proceed to website.
- WARC.com This link opens in a new window
WARC provides the latest evidence, expertise and guidance to make marketers more effective. This database gives access to thousands of award-winning case studies revealing the strategies of leading brands; articles and best practice guides that explain the 'how' and 'why' of marketing challenges; market intelligence trend reports, ad forecasts and spending, plus brand and company profiles and industry news. Includes access to the monthly report series 'The WARC Guide'.
- FindaThis website offers you the ability to search by business type (e.g. accountants) and get basic information on companies that meet that criteria.
- New Zealand Companies OfficeAll New Zealand companies are required to register their company and their information appears on this website.
- Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of selected New Zealand serials, including newspapers, about New Zealand and the South Pacific. Subjects covered include general interest material, social research, current affairs, the arts and humanities.
- New Zealand Legislation This link opens in a new window
New Zealand Acts, Bills and Regulations freely available to download.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- Newztext This link opens in a new window
Newztext contains the full text of key New Zealand news and business publications. A research tool and a long-term archive that is updated daily. Newztext is produced by The Knowledge Basket, with contributions from numerous publishers.
- Newztext Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes content from New Zealand newspapers (including Fairfax, NZ Herald, Stuff), Newswires (including Radio NZ) and the National Business Review.
- Papers Past This link opens in a new window
Papers Past contains more than seven million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers, periodicals, letters and diaries, and parliamentary papers. Includes publications from all regions of New Zealand plus some Pacific content.
- ProQuest Australia and New Zealand Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers, combining content from Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand, News Limited, Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) and APP newswires, to provide the very latest local, regional and national news.
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives back to the 1980s, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. Exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The complete digital edition of the Times (London) is a primary source for researchers of world history, politics, and literature. Contains articles and letters to the editor from famous writers. The entire newspaper has been captured and is searchable, including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photographs.
- OECD Economic Surveys This link opens in a new window
The OECD's periodic reviews of member and non-member economies. Each issue provides a comprehensive analysis of developments in the subject country, plus chapters covering key economic challenges and recommendations for dealing with these challenges.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The OECD publishes its recommendations, analysis and data on OECD iLibrary to help inform policy makers, researchers and analysts.
- Figure.nz"Figure.nz exists to enable everyone to make sense of data and see Aotearoa clearly." New Zealand statisitcs illustrated with infographics.
- Industry Benchmarks (IRD)The Industry Benchmarking Tool is a joint initiative between Statistics NZ and Inland Revenue to provide information on the financial performance of businesses in 45 industries.
- InfoshareInfoshare provides you with online access to a wide range of time series data. This powerful but simple web-based tool can be used to access, view, and download the most up-to-date information from the largest directly accessible database of New Zealand official statistics, and select data specific to your needs or interests.
Infoshare is free to use. - NZ.StatNZ.Stat is a free web tool that allows you to:
create tables from large datasets. - NZStats - Data for BusinessStatistics about the activity and performance of businesses in New Zealand.
Specific Business Analytics Resources
Analysis of Economic Data by Call Number: HB141 .K644 2013ISBN: 9781118472538Publication Date: 2013-09-23Introduces students to basic econometric techniques and shows the reader how to apply these techniques in the context of real-world empirical problems. The book adopts a largely non-mathematical approach relying on verbal and graphical inuition and covers most of the tools used in modern econometrics research. It contains extensive use of real data examples and involves readers in hands-on computer work.
Business Analytics by ISBN: 0357902386Publication Date: 2023Develop the analytical skills that are in high demand in businesses today. Master the full range of analytics as you strengthen descriptive, predictive and prescriptive analytic skills. Real examples and memorable visuals illustrate data and results for each topic. Step-by-step instructions guide you through using Microsoftr Excel, Tableau, R, and JMP Pro software to perform even advanced analytics concepts. Practical, relevant problems at all levels of difficulty further help you apply what youve learned.
Hands-On Machine Learning with R by ISBN: 9781138495685Publication Date: 2019-11-11Hands-on Machine Learning with R provides a practical and applied approach to learning and developing intuition into today's most popular machine learning methods. This book serves as a practitioner's guide to the machine learning process and is meant to help the reader learn to apply the machine learning stack within R, which includes using various R packages such as glmnet, h2o, ranger, xgboost, keras, and others to effectively model and gain insight from their data. The book favors a hands-on approach, providing an intuitive understanding of machine learning concepts through concrete examples and just a little bit of theory.
Quantitative Methods for Business Research: Using Microsoft Excel by Call Number: HD30.215 .D85 2014ISBN: 9781408064825Publication Date: 2014This book and its online resources approach quantitative methods with the assumption that applying the powerful statistical tools available in Excel doesn't require any special competence in mathematics or statistics. It's all about knowing which tools to use and how to use them, not what makes them work (the mathematicians did that behind the scenes and we all thank them!). This book aims to promote two things: the conviction that quants is well within your capabilities; and an enduring interest in the subject that will carry you on beyond the ambition and scope of this work.
R for Data Science: Import, Tidy, Transform, Visualize, and Model Data by ISBN: 9781491910399Publication Date: 2017-01-31Learn how to use R to turn raw data into insight, knowledge, and understanding. This book introduces you to R, RStudio, and the tidyverse, a collection of R packages designed to work together to make data science fast, fluent, and fun. Suitable for readers with no previous programming experience, R for Data Science is designed to get you doing data science as quickly as possible.
Text Mining with R: A Tidy Approach by ISBN: 9781491981658Publication Date: 2017-07-18Much of the data available today is unstructured and text-heavy, making it challenging for analysts to apply their usual data wrangling and visualization tools. With this practical book, you'll explore text-mining techniques with tidytext, a package that authors Julia Silge and David Robinson developed using the tidy principles behind R packages like ggraph and dplyr. You'll learn how tidytext and other tidy tools in R can make text analysis easier and more effective.
- International Journal of Business AnalyticsThis journal bridges the gap among different disciplines such as data mining, business process optimization, applied business statistics, and business intelligence/information systems. It supports and provides tools to allow companies and organizations to make frequent, faster, smarter, data-driven, and real-time decisions.
- International Journal of Business Analytics & IntelligenceThe International Journal of Business Analytics & Intelligence is one of the emerged international journal for presenting novel and fundamental advances in the fields of statistical modeling applications, applied analytics, computing techniques, information technology and sciences.
- The Joy of StatsHans Rosling says there’s nothing boring about stats, and then goes on to prove it. A one-hour long documentary produced by Wingspan Productions and broadcast by BBC, 2010.