Library Search
Key Databases and Journals
- DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window
Explore over 34 million open access digital items from more than 200 partners throughout New Zealand, such as libraries, museums, galleries, government departments, the media, and community. Browse by item type, copyright usage conditions, content partner, and other filters.
- DigitalPasifik This link opens in a new window
A large public digital collection containing digital images, artworks, audio files, videos, and ebooks that can be browsed by Island, including smaller Pacific Islands such as Yap, Kosrae, and Tokelau. Users can discuss content in contribution to Indigenous research methodology. Part of the Pacific Virtual Museum Project and implemented by Te Puna Mātauranga: The National Library of New Zealand in collaboration with the National Library of Australia.
- ETV This link opens in a new window
ETV is the largest online video platform for educators in New Zealand with over 150,000 videos recorded or live from over 55 freeview, international and SKY channels.
- Hawaii Climate Data Portal This link opens in a new window
Visualise and export climate datasets for Hawai'i. Contains archival documents, rainfall atlases, moon calendars, cultural resources and sea level visualisations.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- Learning Ground: Indigenous Education Research Database This link opens in a new window
The latest publications focusing on Indigenous education, spanning early childhood, post-school education, adult learning, encompassing areas such as cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, wellbeing, identity and oral language.
- Pacific Data Hub This link opens in a new window
A central repository of data about the Pacific and for the Pacific. Key areas include population statistics, fisheries science, climate change adaptation, disaster risk reduction and resilience, conservation of plant genetic resources for food security, public health surveillance and human rights.
- Pacific Data Hub This link opens in a new window
A central repository of data about the Pacific and for the Pacific. Key areas include population statistics, fisheries science, climate change adaptation, disaster risk reduction and resilience, conservation of plant genetic resources for food security, public health surveillance and human rights.
- Pacific Environment Data Portal This link opens in a new window
Over 18,000 geographic, spatial and environmental datasets of the Pacific region, with access to national environment datasets and environment policies of 17 Pacific countries.
- PacLII (Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
The Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (PacLII) provides free access to legal information gathered from countries in the South Pacific.
- Pofatu This link opens in a new window
A database of archaeological sources, artefacts and geochemical compositions. Utlising geochemical fingerprinting and creating provenance studies to improve the way we view archaeological sites in the Pacific.
- Te Papa Collections / Kohinga Ipurangi This link opens in a new window
Information on almost 800,000 artworks, objects and specimens from Te Papa’s collections, covering Taonga Māori, Pacific Cultures, History, Photography, Art, Botany and Zoology. These items are complemented by over 190,000 images, with over 60,000 available for high resolution download.
- Ulukau This link opens in a new window
One of the largest open access databases of Hawai'i and Pacific materials containing: Music; books; curriculum materials; and photographs. Developed at the University of Waikato.
- Ngā Taonga Sound & VisionThe audiovisual archive of Aotearoa New Zealand.
- Contemporary Pacific (Online)By the University of Hawai’i Press, the Contemporary Pacific covers a wide range of disciplines with the aim of providing comprehensive coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region and the global Pacific diaspora. It features refereed, readable articles that examine social, economic, political, ecological, literary, and cultural topics, along with political reviews, book and media reviews, resource reviews, and a dialogue section with interviews and short essays. Each issue highlights the work of one or more Pacific Islander artists from the year 2000.
- Hawaiian Journal of HistoryContains original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific. Includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes; and a bibliography of recent Hawaiiana titles of historical interest.
- He Puna Kōrero: Journal of Māori and Pacific DevelopmentPublished by The University of Waikato (2001-2010), He Puna Kōrero: Journal of Māori and Pacific Development publishes papers in all areas of Māori and Pacific Development, including research reports on the political, social, cultural, linguistic and educational development of Māori and Pacific peoples. The aim of the journal is to provide a forum for writers expressing their views on Māori and Pacific development and to represent matters of concern in the development of Māori and Indigenous development. The journal also includes short creative works such as songs and poems as well as book reviews and notification of conferences and meetings.
- Journal of Pacific HistoryA leading refereed journal dedicated to research concerning the Pacific Islands, their peoples and their pasts from prehistory to the present. Contains articles on political, economic, religious and cultural history, analysis of contemporary developments, critical surveys and comment. Also includes primary documents, notes on source materials, reviews and review essays on books, exhibitions and other media.
- Journal of Pacific StudiesThe Journal of Pacific Studies (JPacS) is a multi-disciplinary journal that focuses on development issues. Since development issues are a key concern in the Pacific the Journal of Pacific Studies focuses on such contemporary concerns. It is a locally generated area studies journal for the South Pacific which gives primary attention to developmental, economic, historical, geographical and political issues with current investigations in The University of the South Pacific Region and beyond. Publications from 1975.
- OceaniaA social and cultural anthropological focus, relating to the peoples of Australia, Melanesia, Polynesia, Micronesia and insular southeast Asia. Mainly papers resulting from sustained ethnographic research.
- Pacific AffairsPeer-reviewed, independent, and interdisciplinary scholarly journal focussing on important current political, economic, and social issues throughout Asia and the Pacific. Each issue has new articles and 40+ book reviews.
- Pacific EcologistIssues covered include religion and philosophy on the environmental crisis, free trade, nuclear threats, genetic engineering, biofuels, peak oil, and food and agricultural security. Some articles are available on their website.
- Te Kaharoa: The Journal on Indigenous Pacific IssuesTe Kaharoa is an open access and peer reviewed journal dedicated to promoting Māori and Indigenous scholars, artists, filmmakers, and creative writers. Curated by students and staff of Te Ara Poutama at Auckland University of Technology, Te Kaharoa publishes writings in Te Reo Māori and English. The journal includes, but is not limited to, articles, reflections, commentaries, creative works, film and book reviews, and digital and sound recordings of Indigenous communities from Aotearoa, Te Moana-nui-a-Kiwa, and the world.
- Writing the New WorldIndigenous poets Mere Taito, Essay May Ranapiri and Alice Te Punga Somerville read poems that respond to Indigenous archives... in conversation with podcast host Wanda Ieremia-Allan.
- NZCER Journals Online This link opens in a new window
NZCER Journals Online provides access to Set: Research Information for Teachers, Assessment Matters, Curriculum Matters and Early Childhood Folio. These titles cover research in early childhood education, curriculum and assessment in education research, policy and practice.
- FALAH: Research and Innovation for Family Farming, Lifestyle and Health in The PacificA project of the European Union's Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Programme. Publishes the work of 14 institutions across the Pacific Islands, Australia and Europe.
- In Our Language: Journal of Pacific ResearchIn our Language: Journal of Pacific Research (IOL) publishes existing peer reviewed and published research, reviews, poems, short stories and essays that have been directly translated (typically from English) to a Pacific language.
- MAI JournalMAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles around Indigenous knowledge and development in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand. Launched in 2012, MAI Journal evolved from MAI Review and complements AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples, which is also published by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga. MAI Journal is also supported by MASS: the Māori Association of Social Science.
- Pacific Dynamics: Journal of Interdisciplinary ResearchPacific Dynamics is an online open access journal published by the Macmillan Brown Centre for Pacific Studies with the support of the UC Arts Digital Lab, University of Canterbury, New Zealand. Pacific Dynamics aims to promote rigorous debates on theoretical discourses, applied knowledge, and policy issues regarding the Pacific Islands, including New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific Rim using multiple prisms. The journal accepts articles from diverse areas of study including gender studies, indigenous studies, conflict-peace-security studies, minority studies, politics, international relations, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, education, philosophy, literature, development studies, economics, marine studies, environmental studies, and others not mentioned here. To ensure wide circulation, this journal is online with open access and for academic rigor, it has a comprehensive peer review process.
- Pacific Health DialogThe Pacific Health Dialog (PHD) is the Journal of Pacific Research for the Pacific region. It is the only Medline listed medical and public health journal published specifically for Pacific Island countries, with a particular focus on Community Health and Clinical Medicine.
- Waikato Journal of Education: Te Hautaka Mātauranga o WaikatoThe Waikato Journal of Education is a well-regarded peer-reviewed journal. Since the first publication in 1995, the journal has made a major contribution to the scholarship on a wide range of topics in the field of education, particularly issues connected to curriculum, learning and teaching. Papers have included reports on educational research and practice and viewpoints on education policies, theories and practices. Issues often have a special focus.
- Waka Kuaka : The Journal of the Polynesian Society'The Journal of the Polynesian Society' has been renamed as 'Waka Kuaka: The Journal of the Polynesian Society', heralding a new direction for the journal metaphorically reimagined as the waka kuaka 'godwit on the wing' traversing the Pacific. These new directions are explored here within this vision of the waka kuaka as a bird that symbolises collective vision and purpose. The authors, as members of the Council of the Polynesian Society including the editor of the journal, reflect on the history of the journal and discuss what this change means going forward, finally calling on scholars in and of the Pacific to fly with us as part of this new journey.
Languages and Revitalisation
Haia! An introduction to Vagahau Niue: Teachers' guide and support materials.Call Number: Juvenile Literature ; 499.484 HAIISBN: 9780478341232Publication Date: 2010This is a great teaching resource starting at Unit 1: Introductions and up to Unit 20: Ako Niue - Fiafiaaga- Mana of the Pacific: Wisdom from across Oceania by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; PN6519.P28 M68 2021ISBN: 1988550327Publication Date: 2021Mana of the Pacific: Wisdom from across Oceania' brings you inspirational proverbs matched with beautiful photographs that highlight the strength, resilience, wisdom and innovation of people from Samoa, Fiji, Tonga, Tokelau, Cook Islands, Tuvalu, Federated States of Micronesia, French Polynesia, Hawaii, Kiribati, New Caledonia, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and Niue. This collection of proverbs highlight the value of these cultures, knowledge and ways of being, and a set of core values that underpin people's ways of life across this region.
- A new Fijian grammar by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; PL6235 .C45 1973Publication Date: 1973
A new Rotuman dictionary : An English-Rotuman wordlist by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; PL6297 .Z5N48 1998ISBN: 9820201284Publication Date: 1998- Tau hatakiaga ma e vagahau Niue: The Niue language guidelines.Call Number: Teaching Resources Library LC ; PL6481.C67 2012ISBN: 0790341557Publication Date: 2012Perfect the art of teaching the Niue language in English with this resource created by the Niue community and the New Zealand Ministry for Education.
- Tau lologo Niue ma e tau aoga i Niu Silani: Niuean songs.Call Number: Juvenile Literature ; 781.6299480083 TAUISBN: 0790308363Publication Date: 2005A collection of Niuean songs intended for schools to use with students in years 1-10, including compact disc, notes for teachers, lyrics, and information about each song.
Tuvaluan by ISBN: 1134974728Publication Date: 2002-09-11This grammar is the first detailed description of the structure of Tuvaluan, one of the least well-documented languages of Polynesia. Tuvaluan pays particular attention to discourse and sociolinguistics factors at play in the structural organization of the language.
- Tattoo my mouth: Samoan language survival in Australia byCall Number: Journals Level 3 ; GN301.A465Publication Date: 2022Indigenous people experience their worlds simultaneously through and because of language itself. To examine the relationship between language and place, we evaluate the current discourse and state of gagana Samoa (Samoan language) in Australia. As Samoan researchers, we situate ourselves accordingly by drawing on our language accounts and those of others in the diaspora. By focusing on these talanoaga-stories, sharing, and discussions across Queensland and Victoria, Australia, the role and value of gagana Samoa is reinforced through maintaining, developing and ensuring its survival for present and future generations. In this article, language survival is framed in how (re)connection is mobilised and articulated among this community. Our article shows the value this cohort place on their language, and the need for it to be sustained and passed on to the next generation.
- Fakaako e Vagahau Niue: Learn Niue Language AppNote for students
Download the Fakaako e Vagahau Niue app on Google Play or the Apple Store. This is your own pocket guide to the Niue pronunciation of any word you can think of. This app synthesizes reading and listening, tap on a word, a song, or a phrase to hear it spoken by a member of the Niue community. - Gagana Tokelau: Matāeke o Akoakoga a TokelauThe Tokelau Department of Education has a mission to nurture each and every child to be competent and to reach their potential with the support of the teachers and staff at school, parents, families, and the community through an improved quality of education and service delivery.
- Ministry for Pacific Peoples — Fijian Language WeekResources for Fijian Language Week.
- Ministry for Pacific Peoples — Tokelau Language WeekResources for Tolekau Language Week.
- Tohi Vagahau Niue: Niue Language DictionaryA digital dictionary transcribed and developed by Niue researcher Nogiata Tukimata from Wolfgang Sperlich's Niue dictionary manuscripts. Use the search bar to search for words, idioms, phrases and proverbs.
- Writing the New WorldIndigenous poets Mere Taito, Essay May Ranapiri and Alice Te Punga Somerville read poems that respond to Indigenous archives... in conversation with podcast host Wanda Ieremia-Allan.
- Writing the New WorldThis is the youtube channel for the 'Writing The New World' podcast.
‘Writing the New World’ is a research project led by Assoc Prof Alice Te Punga Somerville (Te Ātiawa, Taranaki) at the Faculty of Māori & Indigenous Studies, University of Waikato; the research is funded by the Marsden Fund.
The project focuses on writing published by Indigenous people connected to New Zealand, Australia, Fiji and Hawai’i between 1900 and 1975. Some people published books of poetry, fiction, non-fiction and plays before 1975, but most of this writing was published in periodicals: magazines, newspapers, journals.
Sixteen Indigenous researchers have worked with Alice on this journey of connecting with the massive, multilingual and rich legacy of writing in the Pacific region, and the podcast profiles their work and thinking.
- Samoan Language ChannelThis channel was created to assist you in learning the Gagana Samoa.
- First PhD in Samoan language published in AotearoaMuliagatele Vavaō Fetui is an educator who has spent his life passing down his knowledge of the Samoan language and culture.
At the age of 78 he's added another feather to his cap by graduating with his PhD in Pacific Studies from Auckland University.
What makes this extra special is that his was only the second doctoral thesis ever written in Samoan, and the first outside of Samoa itself.
Muliagatele Vavaō Fetui talks to Jesse about his journey.
History
An Indigenous ocean: Pacific essays by ISBN: 9781991033604Publication Date: 2023Spanning a wide range of topics, from race and migration to Pacific studies and empire, these essays demonstrate Salesa’s remarkable scholarship. Bridging the gap between academic disciplines and cultural traditions, Salesa locates Pacific peoples always at the centre of their stories. An Indigenous Ocean is a pivotal contribution to understanding the history and culture of Oceania.- An introduction to Polynesian anthropology by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; GN670.B4 no.187 1971Publication Date: 1971
Ocean As Method: Thinking with the maritime by ISBN: 1003279759Publication Date: 2022-04-21Ocean as Method presents a new way of thinking about the humanities and the social sciences. It explores maritime connections in social and humanistic research and puts forward an alternative to national histories and area studies. As global warming and rising sea levels ring alarm bells across the world, the chapters in the volume argue that it is time to think through oceans to realign discourses which better understand our future.- Oceanic Histories by ISBN: 1108503764Publication Date: 2017-11-27Oceanic Histories is the first comprehensive account of world history focused not on the land but viewed through the 70% of the Earth's surface covered by water. Leading historians trace the history of the Indian, Pacific, and Atlantic Oceans and seas, from the Arctic and the Baltic to the South China Sea and the Sea of Japan/Korea's East Sea, over the longue durée. Individual chapters trace the histories and the historiographies of the various oceanic regions, with special attention given to the histories of circulation and particularity, the links between human and non-human history and the connections and comparisons between parts of the World Ocean. Showcasing oceanic history as a field with a long past and a vibrant future, these authoritative surveys, original arguments and guides to research make this volume an indispensable resource for students and scholars alike.
- Our sea of islands by Publication Date: 1994Challenges the belittling idea that the countries of Polynesia, Melanesia and Micronesia are too small, poor and isolated to develop any meaningful degree of autonomy. Suggests that this overlooks cultural movement and exchange in the pre-European world of Oceania, and the contemporary global movement of Pacific Islanders.
Sweat and salt water by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; DU17 .T43 2021ISBN: 9780824889036Publication Date: 2021-08-31This volume features a selection of Teaiwa's scholarly and creative contributions captured in print over a professional career cut short at the height of her productivity. The collection honors her legacy in various scholarly fields, including Pacific studies, Indigenous studies, literary studies, security studies, and gender studies, and on topics ranging from militarism and tourism to politics and pedagogy. It also includes examples of Teaiwa's poems.
Tangata o le Moana: New Zealand and the people of the Pacific by Call Number: Mātangireia Reference Level 4 ; DU424.5 .P6T14 2012ISBN: 9781877385728Publication Date: 2012-05-01Aotearoa New Zealand has been shaped by a long and dynamic history with the other islands of the Pacific, their people and their cultures. Today, it is home to the largest population of Pacific Islanders anywhere in the world. The first of its kind, this illustrated history tells the fresh and surprising story of over a thousand years of Pacific peoples in New Zealand - a millennium of exploration, encounter and cultural exchange - from the legendary feats of exploration and migration undertaken by the ancestors of modern Maori to the politically explosive dawn raids of the 1970s to Tana Umaga becoming the first PI captain of the All Blacks. Uniquely, Tangata o le Moana puts the Pacific Island viewpoint at its centre, using all new primary sources and a rich cache of oral history material to tell the stories of our shared past. Across fifteen chapters written by leading historians and writers, every aspect of this history is touched on, from migration to tourism, economics to politics, sport to the arts. The book is lavishly illustrated with hundreds of historical and contemporary photos, archival documents, specially commissioned maps and beautiful images of evocative museum objects. Tangata o le Moana is a rigorously researched, but human and colourful, record of the story of New Zealand as a Pacific place.
We are the ocean by ISBN: 9780824865542Publication Date: 2008-01-29We Are the Ocean is a collection of essays, fiction, and poetry by Epeli Hau'ofa, whose writing over the past three decades has consistently challenged prevailing notions about Oceania and prescriptions for its development. He highlights major problems confronted by the region and suggests alternative perspectives and ways in which its people might reorganize to relate effectively to the changing world.
Indigenous knowledge and academic imperialism by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; DU28.3.R45 2000Publication Date: 2000A multicentred, dialogic history of the Pacific. Whether set in Samoa, Fiji, Hawaii, Papua New Guinea or elsewhere, each essay addresses questions that are asked by scholars everywhere.
- The oceanic imaginary byPublication Date: 2001
- Our sea of islands byPublication Date: 1994Challenges the belittling idea that the countries of Polynesia, Melanesia and Micronesia are too small, poor and isolated to develop any meaningful degree of autonomy. Suggests that this overlooks cultural movement and exchange in the pre-European world of Oceania, and the contemporary global movement of Pacific Islanders.
- Pacific Data Fale o AotearoaPresents interactive visualisations about Pacific People living in New Zealand.
- Te Ara: The Encyclopedia of New ZealandTe ara in Maori means the pathway. This enyclopedia offers many pathways to understanding New Zealand. When complete, it will be a comprehensive guide to the country's peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy, institutions and society.
- Children of the revolution byCall Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; HM881 .C55 2008Publication Date: 2008Explores the unique lives of five children born to leaders of the Protest Movement in New Zealand, key figures who helped to shape the consciousness and socio-political landscape of Aotearoa during the 70's and 80's.
- Untold Pacific HistoryA dynamic and often provocative account of NZ's relationship with the Pacific.
Law & Politics
Decolonisation and the Pacific by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; GN663 .B36 2016ISBN: 9781107037595Publication Date: 2016-04-26This book charts the previously untold story of decolonisation in the oceanic world of the Pacific, Australia and New Zealand, presenting it both as an indigenous and an international phenomenon. The individual stories told here shed new light on the forces that shaped twentieth-century global history, and reconfigure the history of decolonisation, presenting it not as an historic event, but as a fragile, contingent and ongoing process continuing well into the postcolonial era.
Indigenous Data Sovereignty and Policy by ISBN: 9780367567477Publication Date: 2022-04-29This book examines how Indigenous Peoples around the world are demanding greater data sovereignty, and challenging the ways in which governments have historically used Indigenous data to develop policies and programs. In the digital age, governments are increasingly dependent on data and data analytics to inform their policies and decision-making. However, Indigenous Peoples have often been the unwilling targets of policy interventions and have had little say over the collection, use and application of data about them, their lands and cultures. At the heart of Indigenous Peoples' demands for change are the enduring aspirations of self-determination over their institutions, resources, knowledge and information systems. With contributors from Australia, Aotearoa New Zealand, North and South America and Europe, this book offers a rich account of the potential for Indigenous data sovereignty to support human flourishing and to protect against the ever-growing threats of data-related risks and harms.- Introduction to South Pacific law by Call Number: Law Library Level 4 ; KVC117 .C38 2017Publication Date: 2017
A kind of mending: Restorative justice in the Pacific Islands by ISBN: 9781921666827Publication Date: 2010
Legal Geographies by ISBN: 9781138387379Publication Date: 2019-12-20This book is the first legal geography book to explicitly engage in method. It complements this by also bringing together different perspectives on the emerging school of legal geography. It explores human-environment interactions and showcases distinct environmental legal geography scholarship. Legal Geography: Perspectives and Methodsis an innovative book concerned with a new relational and material way of examining our legal-spatial world. The book explores topics such as Indigenous environmental rights, the impacts of extractive industries, mediation of climate change, food, animal and plant patents, fossil fuels, mining, and coastal environments based on empirical, jurisdictional and methodological insights from Australia, New Zealand, and the Asia Pacific to demonstrate how space and place are invoked in legal processes and contestations, and the methods that may be invoked to explore these processes and contestations.
Mau: Samoa's struggle against New Zealand oppression by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; DU819.A2F5 1984ISBN: 0589014927Publication Date: 1984This book is the story of the deeply racist attitudes of a colonial power - New Zealand - whose Samoan Administrator claimed in 1931 that Samoans were "destitute of reasoning power" and able to learn only with the "quickness of that great imitator the ape ... and not that of the human species." But more than that, it is the story of a courageous and non-violent independence movement. A movement that claimed the support of 95 percent of the population ad was able successfully to defeat all attempts at subjugation without firing a single shot. A movement known as Mau.
Pacific Futures by ISBN: 9781782383512Publication Date: 2014-07-30The Pacific region presents a huge diversity of cultural forms, which have fuelled some of the most challenging ethnographic work undertaken in the discipline. But this challenge has come at a cost. Culture, often reconfigured as 'custom', has often served to trap the people of the Pacific in the past of cultural reproduction, where everything is what it has always been, or worse--outdated, outmoded and destined for modernization. Pacific Futures asks how our understanding of social life in the Pacific would be different if we approached it from the perspective of the futures which Pacific people dream of, predict or struggle to achieve, not the reproduction of cultural tradition. From Christianity to gambling, marriage to cargo cult, military coups to reflections on childhood fishing trips, the contributors to this volume show how Pacific people are actively shaping their lives with the future in mind.
Passage of change: Law, society and governance in the Pacific by Call Number: Law Library Level 4 ; JVC90 .P38 2003ISBN: 9781740760256Publication Date: 2003-01-01These essays cover a number of the most fundamental issues facing Pacific Island countries and their legal systems, including modernization, corruption, custom, human rights, natural resource issues, and disorder.- Reforming the law of sedition by Call Number: Law Library Level 4 ; KVC99 .N48 2006ISBN: 1877316318Publication Date: 2007-01-01
U. S. Museum Histories and the Politics of Interpretation by ISBN: 9781032204505Publication Date: 2023-12-13U.S. Museum Histories and the Politics of Interpretation is the first collection to examine the history of museums in the United States through the lens of the political and ideological underpinnings at the heart of exhibitions, collecting, and programming. Including contributions from historians, art historians, anthropologists, academics, and museum professionals, the book argues that museums have always been embedded in the politics and culture of their time - whether that means a reification of hegemonic notions of race, gender, and progress or a challenge to those normative structures.
- No Equity without Data Equity: Data Reporting Gaps for Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders as Structural Racism byCall Number: Law Library Level 4 ; RA395.A3J68Publication Date: 2022
- Going Circular: Indigenous legal research methodology as legal practice byPublication Date: 2020
- Legally invisible: stewardship for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health byPublication Date: 2016
- PacLII (Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
The Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (PacLII) provides free access to legal information gathered from countries in the South Pacific.
- Indigenous Law Research UnitThe ILRU is an academic research unit dedicated to revitalizing Indigenous laws.
Environment, Climate Change & Sustainability
Asserting Native Resilience: Pacific rim indigenous nations face the climate crisis by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; GF798 .A77 2012ISBN: 9780870716638Publication Date: 2012-06-01Indigenous nations are on the front line of the climate crisis. With cultures and economies among the most vulnerable to climate-related catastrophes, Native peoples are developing twenty-first century responses to climate change that serve as a model for Natives and non-Native communities alike. Native American tribes in the Pacific Northwest and Indigenous peoples around the Pacific Rim have already been deeply affected by droughts, flooding, reduced glaciers and snowmelts, seasonal shifts in winds and storms, and the northward movement of species on the land and in the ocean. Using tools of resilience, Native peoples are creating defenses to strengthen their communities, mitigate losses, and adapt where possible.
Environmental law and governance in the Pacific by ISBN: 0367203243Publication Date: 2020-08-13This volume examines environmental law and governance in the Pacific, focussing on the emerging challenges this region faces. The Pacific is home to some of the world's most astonishing biological and cultural diversity. At the same time, Pacific Island nations are economically and technically under-resourced in the face of tremendous environmental challenges. . This volume will be essential reading for students and scholars interested in environmental law and governance in the Pacific region, as well as policymakers, practitioners and NGOs involved in the development and implementation of environmental law and policy.
The Ocean on Fire: Pacific Stories from Nuclear Survivors and Climate Activists by ISBN: 9781478059059Publication Date: 2024Anaïs Maurer foregrounds Pacific literature as a key archive for surviving and thriving in an environment in which Indigenous inhabitants have been bombarded with the equivalent of one Hiroshima bomb a day for half a century.
Pacific Climate Cultures : Living Climate Change in Oceania by ISBN: 3110591413Publication Date: 2018Low-lying Pacific island nations are experiencing the frontline of sea-level rises and climate change and are responding creatively and making-sense in their own vernacular terms. Pacific Climate Cultures aims to bring Oceanic philosophies to the frontline of social science theorization. It explores the home-grown ways that 'climate change' becomes absorbed into the combined effects of globalization and into a living nexus of relations amongst human and non-humans, spirits and elements. Contributors to this edited volume explore diverse examples of living climate change-from floods and cyclones, through song and navigation, to new forms of art, community initiatives and cultural appropriations-and demonstrate their international relevance in understanding climate change.
Pacific Tsunami "Galu Afi" by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; GC222 .S26Y68 2010ISBN: 9780615398402Publication Date: 2010-10-01On the 29th of Sept, 2009, an earthquake and resultant tsunami devastated the islands of Samoa, American Samoa and Northern Tonga, killing 189 people, wiping out entire villages and causing economic losses estimated conservatively at USD $200 million - making the Pacific Tsunami, the "deadliest documented tsunami in the entire region." A wave of rescue and relief assistance from many nations, organisations and individuals began almost immediately afterward. An informative, sensitively articulated and beautifully woven story about the 2009 Pacific Tsunami that shares the voices and experiences of survivors, rescuers, medical teams and aid workers. Not merely a documentary but an interconnected series of tales that records with color and feeling, a significant moment Pacific history. Includes the voices of survivors from NZ, Australia, the UK and Germany. Interwoven first-hand accounts from over 180 people.
Plants in Samoan Culture by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; GN476.73 .W45 2000ISBN: 0964542668Publication Date: 2005-02-28"Samoans have learned by centuries of experience which trees provide the best timber, which plants are edible, which make the best cordage, and which can be used as medicines. However, as people move away from a culture based on the traditional use of the surrounding plants and animals to one based on imported goods, they lose a valuable part of their tradition.... Samoans have been the keepers of this knowledge and these plants for close to three millennia, but as we begin the new millennium, traditional lore is unfortunately no longer being passed on to the younger generation. This loss of traditional plant lore and traditional plants has prompted me to write Plants in Samoan Culture." --from the Preface
Wai Pasifika: Indigenous ways in a changing climate by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; HD1701.5 .Y68 2021ISBN: 9781990048074Publication Date: 2022-02-20David Young focuses on the increasingly endangered resource of freshwater, and what so-called developed societies can learn from the Indigenous voices of the Pacific. Combining nineteenth century and Indigenous sources with a selection of modern studies and his own personal encounters, Young keeps a human face on the key issue of water. He confirms that the gift of Indigenous people to their colonisers is that they offer systematic and different concepts of being in, and experiencing, nature.
- Thesis: AM I NOT YOUR TŪ/AKOI? | A TUVALUAN PLEA FOR SURVIVAL IN A TIME OF CLIMATE EMERGENCYThe purpose of this thesis is to examine the threat posed by climate change to the low-lying
islands of Tuvalu through a lens of what it means to be a neighbour.
- A cost-benefit analysis of small biofuel projects in Fiji: Lessons and implications byPublication Date: 2022Like other developing countries, rural electrification is a longstanding priority for Pacific Island Countries (PICs). Scores of renewable resources are being mobilised to achieve rural electrification and green energy targets, given the growing concerns with fossil fuels. This transition is often costly for PICs, or broadly, poor developing countries. By adopting a nomothetic approach, this study examines the mobilisation of resources for rural electrification projects in Fiji under their National Biofuel Implementation Program.
- The first climate refugees? Contesting global narratives of climate change in Tuvalu byPublication Date: 2012
- From Genocide to Ecocide: The Rape of Rapa Nui byPublication Date: 2005
- Pacific Data Fale o AotearoaPresents interactive visualisations about Pacific People living in New Zealand.
- Pacific Maps by Ka‘iwakīloumoku: Hawaiian Cultural CenterContains downloadable PDFs of maps with a focus on the Pacific region. This includes a high-quality file of Sir Peter Henry Buck's model of Te Wheke.
- PIMRIS Regional LibraryDocuments, annual reports, project reports and articles of marine and fisheries departments in the Pacific.
- PofatuArchaeological sources, artefacts and geochemical compositions of the Pacific region.
- Trouble in Paradise: Climate change in the PacificSee photographs documenting the effects of the climate crisis in the Pacific, artworks by Sheyne Tuffery, and a selection of historical rare books from the collections of the Alexander Turnbull Library.
- The USP Aquatic RepositoryA University of South Pacific repository for reports about living and non-living marine and freshwater research.
Health
- Uluvehi pūpūo tapuina: The sacred reef passage of Uluvehi by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; DU424.5 .N5F33 2014ISBN: 9780473297428Publication Date: 2014History and traditions of the Niuean village of Mutalau. Includes Niuean creation stories, the influence of Christianity, annexation to New Zealand, education, sport, migration to New Zealand, the establishment of the Mutalau Ululauta Matahefonua Trust in 2004.
Whaiora by ISBN: 9780195584035Publication Date: 1998-11-03Maori health development is about the trials and discoveries of the past, the energies and initiatives of the present, and the priorities and plans for the future. In this welcome second edition of Whaiora, Mason Durie documents progress in Maori health development over the past century, placing special emphasis on the last fifteen years.
- Genomic Justice for Native Americans: Impact of the Havasupai Case on Genetic Research byPublication Date: 2013
- Improving health research among Indigenous peoples in Canada byPublication Date: 2018
- Legally invisible: stewardship for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health byPublication Date: 2016
- Pacific Data Fale o AotearoaPresents interactive visualisations about Pacific People living in New Zealand.
Literature
Albert Wendt and Pacific Literature by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; PR9694 .W473Z87 2003aISBN: 1869403037Publication Date: 2003-01-01Albert Wendt is by far the most prolific and most influential contemporary Pacific Island writer. He has written four books of poetry, three collections of short stories, five novels and has edited three anthologies of Pacific writing. This is the first extended study of this writer.
Always italicise: How to write while colonised by Call Number: PR9708.T253 A49 2022ISBN: 9781869409760Publication Date: 2023-02-08A first book of poetry from acclaimed Maori writer and scholar Alice Te Punga Somerville.
Bloody woman: Essays by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; HQ1240.5 .S23 L66 2021ISBN: 9781988587998Publication Date: 2021This wayfinding set of essays explores the overlap of being Samoan and a woman, as experienced 'from diaspora', by acclaimed writer and critic Lana Lopesi. Writing on ancestral ideas of womanhood appears alongside contemporary reflections on women's experiences and the Pacific. These often deeply personal essays amount to a complex, rich and multi-layered book. Playful, speculative and far-sighted, these essays are written to support 'the narratives not yet written' and the new generations to come.
Niu Voices by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; PR9649.5 .N734 2006ISBN: 1869692543Publication Date: 2007-05-31A collection of poetry, short stories and novel extracts by selected Pacific writers. From serene island settings to the dusty streets of urban tropics, this collection spans island memories of these descendants of the Cook Islands, Fiji, Hawai'i, Kiribati, Niue, Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Wallis and Futuna. They tell stories of New Zealand homes, of love, relationships and identity.
Once Were Pacific by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; DU423 .E85T45 2012ISBN: 0816677573Publication Date: 2012-04-11Native identity is usually associated with a particular place. But what if that place is the ocean? Once Were Pacific explores this question as it considers how Māori and other Pacific peoples frame their connection to the ocean, to New Zealand, and to each other through various creative works.
The Savage Coloniser Book by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; PR9706.A957 S28 2020ISBN: 9781776564095Publication Date: 2021-07-30The Savage Coloniser Book is a personal and political reckoning. As it holds history accountable, it rises in power.
The Smell of the Moon by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; PS574 .S24K54 2006ISBN: 1869692101Publication Date: 2006-01-01The Smell of the Moon celebrates a return to humanity, to family and community, to a place where your senses can live large... where you can smell the moon! If you have ever flirted with the idea of chucking it all in for the good life then you will enjoy this whimsical, satirical and wise take on trading it all in for a slice of paradise.- Some modern poetry from Fiji by Publication Date: 1974
- Some modern poetry from the Solomon Islands by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; PR9670.S62S6 1975Publication Date: 1975
- To feel the Earth as one's skin: An anthology of indigenous visual poetry by Publication Date: 2024To Feel The Earth as One’s Skin covers global issues such as ecological degradation, social injustice and racial disparities, which are issues that, impact people across the globe. The pages within examine the decoloniality of imagination as an escape, a tuning back to some of the precolonial frequencies that have been disrupted or redefined due to the colonial and violent spaces that can encompass current ways of thinking and knowledge.
Vā: Stories by women of the moana by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; PR9645.65 .V22 2021ISBN: 9789829175236Publication Date: 2021Stories that tell Covid how we really feel, where a centipede god watches on with wry humour and wrath, where a sexy Samoan goes on a hot Tinder date in Honolulu, where a New Zealand doctor is horrified to be stuck at her cousin's kava drink up in Fiji, where moana people travel the stars and navigate planets, stories where ancestors and atua live and breathe. Stories that defy colonial boundaries, and draw on the storytelling and oratory that is our inheritance. Immerse yourself in the intrigue, fantasy, humour and magic of beautiful strong stories by 38 writers from across the moana.
Whetu Moana by ISBN: 1869405749Publication Date: 2002-01-12This unique anthology of contemporary indigenous Polynesian poetry collects poems written over the last 20 years from more than 60 poets in Hawaii, Tonga, Samoa, Aotearoa/New Zealand, the Cook Islands, Niue, and Rotuma. Well-known poets such as Hone Tuwhare, Alistair Te, Ariki Campbell, and Haunani-Kay Trask are joined by talented young voices in a way that presents both an overall Polynesian identity and a focus on individual style. Traditional laments mix with street-smart rap rhythms, and images of seascape and landscape mingle with portraits of urban slums. Political anger is a powerful force in these poems, but many are personal and particular. The impression of the anthology as a whole is of an active, changing, varied, creative scene that confronts both a complex colonial past and a fast-moving global present with energy, courage, and vitality.
Education
Critical conversations in kaupapa Māori by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; H62.5.N45 H67 2017ISBN: 9781775503286Publication Date: 2017This collection furthers knowledge about kaupapa Māori by examining its effects over the decades, identifying and discussing its conventions and boundaries and reflecting on kaupapa Māori in social and educational research and practice.
Understanding Oceania: Celebrating the University of the South Pacific and its collaboration with The Australian National University by ISBN: 9781760462895Publication Date: 2019- Weaving the mat of Māori and Pacific learner success: Report on the data-informed initiatives to inform Māori and Pacific student achievement project by ISBN: 1988562414Publication Date: 2022This project reflects the collective commitment
to positive change within the University of
Waikato for Māori and Pacific students.
- Culture and the Curriculum in the South Pacific byPublication Date: 1993
- Of Waves, Winds and Wonderful Things: A Decade of Rethinking Pacific EducationSelected papers from the 2011 Vaka Pasifiki Education Conference
- A Relational Approach to Learning Environments: Learning from Pacific Wisdom byPublication Date: 2022
- Waikato Journal of Education: Te Hautaka Mātauranga o WaikatoThe Waikato Journal of Education is a well-regarded peer-reviewed journal. Since the first publication in 1995, the journal has made a major contribution to the scholarship on a wide range of topics in the field of education, particularly issues connected to curriculum, learning and teaching. Papers have included reports on educational research and practice and viewpoints on education policies, theories and practices. Issues often have a special focus.
- Family Knowledge and Practices Useful in Tongan Boys' Education byPublication Date: 2017
- Grounding our collective talanoa: Enabling open conversations byPublication Date: 2021
- Ako Aotearoa: From Good to Great: The 10 Habits of phenomenal educators for Pacific learners – Full reportThe Full Report includes 11 case studies describing the phenomenal educators involved in the project. It outlines the methodology, which is built around an Appreciative Inquiry approach. It features student talanoa about their experiences with phenomenal educators and introduces the “Ten Habits’ displayed by those educators.
- NZQA: Takiala Pasifika 2020-2023Information about the Takiala Pasifika, our action plan for Pacific learner success.
- Pacific Data Fale o AotearoaPresents interactive visualisations about Pacific People living in New Zealand.
- Pasifika Education CommunityReports and resources for the classroom. Provided by Te Kete Ipurangi (TKI).
- TapasāThis explores a cultural competency framework used by the Ministry of Education named Tapasā. Here you can learn about effective teaching and learning outcomes for Pacific learners.
- Talanoa With Dr. TThe educational and conversation-based Talanoa with iTaukei academic and researcher Dr. Tarisi Vunidilo speaks with guests about Fiji history, language & culture, Indigenous determination, climate awareness and the Pacific. Dr. T reminds us that academic publishing isn't only about books and articles, but also connecting, communicating, creating, singing, reminiscing, and recalling.
Arts & Creative Practice
Cultural crafts of Niue: Pandanus weaving: Tau koloa fakamotu ha Niue: Tau koloa laufa by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; NK8996 .N5C65 1996ISBN: 9823460019Publication Date: 1996
Hiapo by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; GN434.5 .P85 2005ISBN: 1877372005Publication Date: 2005-01-01"Hiapo" is the word for barkcloth or tapa in the language of Niue. The aim of this book "is to reveal the power of a remarkable art, that until now has been obscure to all but a few specialists" - the painted hiapo of Niue island in central Polynesia.
Tatau: Samoan tattoo: New Zealand art, global culture by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; GT2346 .S24A32 2010ISBN: 9781877385551Publication Date: 2010When Tatau was first published in 2010, Mark Adams' renowned images documenting a great Polynesian art tradition were a revelation. It told the story of the late Sulu'ape Paulo II, the pre-eminent figure of modern Samoan tattooing. A brilliantly innovative and often controversial man, he saw tatau as an art of international importance. Tatau documented his practice, and that of other tufuga ta tatau (tattoo artists), in the contexts of Polynesian tattooing, Samoan migrant communities and New Zealand art. Long out-of-print, this revised and extended new edition, with its handsome large format and texts by distinguished scholars, makes a cultural treasure available once more.
Te Wheke: Pathways across Oceania by Call Number: N7406 .W57 2020ISBN: 9781877375637Publication Date: 2020Te Wheke tells a new story of Aotearoa’s art history, looking from the Pacific outwards.Te Wheke features work by more than 70 artists from Aotearoa and the Pacific, including Shane Cotton, Fatu Feu’u, Charles Goldie, Bill Hammond, Lonnie Hutchinson, Yuki Kihara, Colin McCahon, Ani O’Neill, Fiona Pardington, Michael Parekowhai, Lisa Reihana, Bill Sutton, Robin White and many more.- Their world was anything but tiny by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; N7406.7 .T54 2015Publication Date: 2015A book of essays on how art of the Pacific region looks today and how the contemporary can be better understood (and not just through a European cultural lens). Item accompanies the exhibition entitled "Pacific materiality held from 4th March to 28 March 2015 at Studio One, 1 Ponsonby Road, Auckland.
- Nai Ya Vakaviki - Na Ka Mareqeti, Fiji: Pacific Collection Access ProjectA visual representation of just a sample of the work undertaken on the Fijian and Rotuman Collections, as guided by knowledge holders from those communities. Follow this link for a visual representation of a sample of the work in Fijian and Rotuman Collections, at The Auckland War Museum. This is a collaboration between Google Arts & Culture and The Auckland War Museum.
- NZ Hip Hop Stand UpUnearthing the stories behind some of the most influential tracks in Aotearoa hip hop.
Culture & Identity
The Art of Clothing: a Pacific Experience by ISBN: 1134056656Publication Date: 2014-05-22The Art of Clothing: A Pacific Experience is a collection of richly textured and tremendously engaging empirical studies of cloth and clothing in colonial and post-colonial Pacific contexts. By challenging readers to reconsider the very nature of the materiality of clothing, the editors productively situate this volume at the intersection of a number of ongoing interdisciplinary projects that are coalescing around an interest in cloth and clothing. The book as a whole speaks lucidly to issues of current concern in a wide range of academic fields - including cultural studies, material culture, Pacific history, art history, history of religions, and museum studies.
Samoan Queer Lives by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; HQ76.3.S23 M36 2018ISBN: 9781877484094Publication Date: 2024-03-31Samoan Queer Lives is a collection of personal stories from one of the world's unique indigenous queer cultures. The first of its kind, this book features a collection of autobiographical pieces by fa`afafine, transgender, and queer people of Sāmoa, one of the original continuous indigenous queer cultures of Polynesia and the Pacific Islands.
Spirits in Culture, History and Mind by Call Number: General Collection Level 3 ; BL477.S66 1996ISBN: 1136758526Publication Date: 2012-12-06Spirits in Culture, History and Mind reintegrates spirits into comparative theories of religion, which have tended to focus on institutionalized forms of belief associated with gods. It brings an historical perspective to culturally patterned experiences with spirits, and examines spirits as a locus of tension between traditional and foreign values. Taking as a point of departure shifting local views of self, nine case studies drawn from Pacific societies analyze religious phenomena at the intersection of social, psychological and historical processes. The varied approaches taken in these case studies provide a richness of perspective, with each lens illuminating different aspects of spirit-related experience. All, however, bring a sense of historical process to bear on psychological and symbolic approaches to religion, shedding new light on the ways spirits relate to other cultural phenomena.- Velevelega tupua by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; PR9665.9.T35V4 1997Publication Date: 1997Describes the relationships between Samoan men and women, how they speak and relate to one another, including proverbs and a glossary of difficult words.
Whispers and Vanities by Call Number: Mātangireia Pacific Level 4 ; BR1495 .S3W45 2014ISBN: 9781775501602Publication Date: 2015-02-28This collection of essays and selected poetry responds to an address on Samoan religious culture given by Samoa's Head of State, His Highness Tui Atua Tupua Tamasese Ta'isi Tupuola Tufuga Efi, to the 2009 Parliament of the World's Religions. The address challenges some fundamental aspects of and assumptions in modern Samoan indigenous religious culture.
- Cultural Rupture and Indigeneity: The Challenge of (Re)visioning "Place" in the Pacific byPublication Date: 2001What does it mean to be "indigenous"? Is indigeneity a matter of physical "space"? Or is it a cognitive-cultural "place"? Or both? How do Islanders negotiate indigeneity in a time of transnational and interisland migration and cultural conflict?
- The culture of graves on Rotuma byCall Number: Storage Level 1 ; GN2.P783Publication Date: 2016In this article we look at graves on Rotuma, a volcanic island in the South Pacific, from a cultural and historical perspective. We argue that graves reflect attitudes towards death and ancestors, towards hierarchy and social position; that the location of graves involves spatial conceptions; that grave goods reflect notions of material value; and that grave visitations are indicative of the nature of social relationships between various categories of persons. We explore the way social and cultural changes have affected how Rotuman graves are produced and maintained, and the ways in which the graves, in turn, reflect changes that have taken place in Rotuman society.
- Pasifika diaspora connectivity and continuity with Pacific homelands: Material culture and spatial behaviour in Brisbane byPublication Date: 2020This paper presents an interesting discussion and analysis of Pasifika (specifically Tongan and Samoan) migrants in Brisbane, and the diverse adaptive cultural practices they use to promote a sense of wellbeing and cultural continuity in diaspora contexts.
- Rotuman identity in the Electronic AgeThis open access tools look into the modern-day implications for Rotuman identity and language, with a particular focus on how technology can both aid and regress Rotuman culture.
- Digital diaspora, reinvigorating indigenous identity and online activism: Social media and the reorientation of Rotuman identity byCall Number: Journals Level 3 ; P87.M488ISBN: 3110591413Publication Date: 2018The island of Rotuma in Fiji poses a paradox. Indigenous Fijians make up more than 60% of Fiji's population. However, as a unique ethnic group, Rotumans are a demographic minority, with their language listed on the UNESCO list of endangered languages. This is caused by extensive outmigration, with more than 80% of Rotumans residing outside of Rotuma. Recently, Rotuman migrants have heavily relied on Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) and new media, as tools for reinvigorating culture, rekindling familial ties and being a platform for political discourse on Rotuman issues. This article examines how Rotumans have innovatively used social media to reinvigorate culture and how this has evolved to take on an increasingly political dimension.
- Pacific Data Fale o AotearoaPresents interactive visualisations about Pacific People living in New Zealand.
- The profile of Pacific peoples in New ZealandA data-based paper about Pacific peoples including statistics from a range of publicly available data sources. Information includes Pacific peoples’ participation in employment, incomes, benefit receipt and housing, health, education, Pacific peoples and family violence, Pacific peoples’ experiences of crime and the justice system, Pacific peoples’ experience with Child Youth and Family and characteristics of Pacific children at greater risk of poor outcomes as adults.
- Teine Sā — the feminist icons of SāmoaLana Lopesi on the other-worldly Teine Sā, and why she covers her mirrors at night, in this extract from her new book Bloody Woman published by BWB.
- Episode 3: Samoa: Culture and ConnectionPacific rugby has had a strong cultural influence in communities worldwide. Samoan, Tongan, Fijian and Pacific professional players discuss where identity, personhood and rugby intersect.
- The land has eyes byCall Number: Feature films Level 3 ; LANPublication Date: 2004A critically acclaimed film by Vilsoni Hereniko. It appeared in the 2004 Hawaii International Film Festival and received recognition for its themes of cultural identity and depiction of Rotuman life.