Library Search
Ako
- New Zealand Electronic Text Collection / Te Pūhikotuhi o Aotearoa This link opens in a new window
The New Zealand Electronic Text Collection comprises significant New Zealand and Pacific Island texts and materials held by Victoria University of Wellington Library. This encompasses both digitised heritage material and born-digital resources.
- Papers Past This link opens in a new window
Papers Past contains more than seven million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers, periodicals, letters and diaries, and parliamentary papers. Includes publications from all regions of New Zealand plus some Pacific content.
- He Puna Kōrero: Journal of Māori and Pacific DevelopmentPublished by The University of Waikato (2001-2010), He Puna Kōrero: Journal of Māori and Pacific Development publishes papers in all areas of Māori and Pacific Development, including research reports on the political, social, cultural, linguistic and educational development of Māori and Pacific peoples. The aim of the journal is to provide a forum for writers expressing their views on Māori and Pacific development and to represent matters of concern in the development of Māori and Indigenous development. The journal also includes short creative works such as songs and poems as well as book reviews and notification of conferences and meetings.
- Te Kōtihitihi- Ngā Tuhinga Reo MāoriHe hautaka reo Māori tēnei nō ngā Pūkenga Māori o Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato. E whā ngā putanga mai i te tau 2011-2017. All areas of Māori and Pacific Development, including articles which report on the political, social, cultural. Linguistic & educational development of Māori & Pacific Peoples.
- ETV This link opens in a new window
ETV is the largest online video platform for educators in New Zealand with over 150,000 videos recorded or live from over 55 freeview, international and SKY channels.
- Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of selected New Zealand serials, including newspapers, about New Zealand and the South Pacific. Subjects covered include general interest material, social research, current affairs, the arts and humanities.
- Index of Māori names This link opens in a new window
From an unpublished manuscript compiled about 1925 by the missionary Rev. Henry James Fletcher (1868-1933). In its original form it was 987 pages long, a vast index of Māori names referred to in books and journals, including the names of boundaries, Māori individuals, canoes, trees, landmarks and geographical locations.
- Māori Land Court Minute Books Index This link opens in a new window
The Māori Land Court Minute Books index provides easy and quick access to over 1100 minute books between 1865 and 1910, from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Māori Land Court Districts. Created by the University of Auckland Library and hosted exclusively by The Knowledge Basket.
- :Linguistic Society of New ZealandTe Reo is the Journal of the Linguistic Society of New Zealand. The words Te Reo constitute the Māori term for ‘the language’ or ‘language’. The Journal is published annually and has been running for 60 years. It is a peer-reviewed journal with strong representation in the fields of Austronesian linguistics and more recently, New Zealand English. However, it welcomes contributions in all areas of linguistics and from linguists worldwide (no affiliation to a New Zealand institution is necessary).
- Te Aka Māori DictionaryOnline; English-Māori/ Māori-English
- Dictionary of the Maori languageOnline; Māori-English
- Ngata English-Māori DictionaryOnline; English-Māori/ Māori-English
- Wakareo ā-ipurangiOnline; English-Māori/ Māori-English
- PaekupuOnline; aligns with the NZ Curriculum
English-Māori/ Māori-English - He Pātaka KupuOnline- reo Māori
- A modern Māori picture dictionary: He papakupa whakaahua mō te reo Māori o nāianei byCall Number: PL6465.Z5O89 1997ISBN: 019558354XPublication Date: 1997
The Raupō dictionary of modern Māori by Call Number: PL6465 .Z5R923 2012ISBN: 9780143567899Publication Date: 2012
He puna kupu, he manawa aa-whenua Waikato-Tainui: He kohinga kupu noo roto i a Tainui : Collection of words used within Tainui by Call Number: PL6465.Z5 .P75 2019ISBN: 9780143773610Publication Date: 2019
Te Kākano by Call Number: PL6465 .Z77W55 no.1 2001ISBN: 0582543282Publication Date: 2001Te Whanake 1
Te kākano 1: Pukapuka tātaki (study guide) by Call Number: PL6465.M721 2001ISBN: 0582545455Publication Date: 2001
Te pihinga by Call Number: PL6465 .Z77W55 no.2 2001ISBN: 0582543274Publication Date: 2001Te Whanake 2
Te pihinga: Pukapuka tātaki (study guide) by Call Number: PL6465.Z77W55 no.2 2001 Suppl.ISBN: 0582545706Publication Date: 2003
Te māhuri by Call Number: PL6465 .Z77W551 no.3 2003ISBN: 9780582545786Publication Date: 2003Te whanake 3- Te māhuri: Pukapuka tātaki (study guide) byCall Number: PL6465 .Z77W551 no.3 2003 Suppl.ISBN: 058254579XPublication Date: 2004
Maori Made Easy by Call Number: PL6465 .M67 2015ISBN: 9780143570912Publication Date: 2019-10-01The complete and accessible guide to learning the Maori language, no matter your knowledge level. Fun, user-friendly and relevant to modern readers, Scotty Morrison's Maori Made Easy is the one-stop resource for anyone wanting to learn the basics of the Maori language. While dictionaries list words and their definitions, and other language guides offer common phrases, Maori Made Easy connects the dots, allowing the reader to take control of their learning in an empowering way. By committing just 30 minutes a day for 30 weeks, learners will adopt the language easily and as best suits their busy lives. Written by popular TV personality and te reo Maori advocate Scotty Morrison, author of The Raupo Phrasebook of Modern Maori, this book proves that learning the language can be fun, effective - and easy! 'This is not just a useful book, it's an essential one.' -Paul Little, North & South
Māori made easy: For everyday learners of the Māori language. Workbook/Kete 1 by Call Number: PL6465 .M672 2017 v.1ISBN: 0143771701Publication Date: 2017
Māori made easy: For everyday learners of the Māori language. Workbook/Kete 2 by Call Number: PL6465 .M672 2017 v.2ISBN: 9780143771722Publication Date: 2017
Māori made easy: For everyday learners of the Māori language. Workbook/Kete 3 by Call Number: PL6465 .M672 2018 v.3ISBN: 0143771965Publication Date: 2018
Māori made easy: For everyday learners of the Māori language. Workbook/Kete 4 by Call Number: PL6465 .M672 2018 v.4ISBN: 0143771973Publication Date: 2018- Ngā pepeha a ngā tīpuna: The sayings of the ancestors. byCall Number: PN6519 .M35M42 2003ISBN: 086473462XPublication Date: 2003
A Māori Reference Grammar by Call Number: PL6465 .H382 2015ISBN: 9781775502036Publication Date: 2017-12-31Based on a third-year university course Ray Harlow taught for a number of years, this grammar reference book is intended for people whose knowledge of Māori is at that level or higher - advanced learners, native speakers and teachers of Māori. The book provides explanations and examples of all the important sentence types of modern Māori. It guides readers progressively from the simple to the more complicated, starting with words and particles, proceeding through simple clauses and sentences to transformations of these and to complex sentences with elaborate internal structure.
Matamua Ko Te Kupu! by ISBN: 9781776710669Publication Date: 2020-11-05Sir Timoti Karetu is one of the country's chief exponents of te reo Maori - from leading the Maori Language Commission to producing a new generation of language experts through his teaching at Te Panekiretanga o te Reo Maori. He is also an unrivalled creator of waiata and haka, composing songs and judging at Te Matatini and other events.In this book, Sir Timoti shares his extensive experience in the artforms of haka and waiata - from Maori songs of the two world wars to the rise of kapa haka competitions, from love songs to action songs, from Sir Apirana Ngata to Te Puea Herangi, and from Te Matatini to contemporary hui on marae. Throughout the book, he draws on exemplars of Maori song and haka, explaining form and meanings, maintaining his stance that Lyric is Paramount!Written in exemplary te reo Maori, Matamua ko te Kupu! will become a taonga of Maori knowledge and language.
He Kupu Tuku Iho by Call Number: DU423.S63 K37 2018ISBN: 9781869408800Publication Date: 2019-01-01This is a book of chapters on key aspects of Maori language and culture. The authors discuss key cultural language and cultural issues of the modern world. The language used is an exemplar for learners and speakers of te reo Maori. With assistance from a team at Te Ipukarea, the National Maori Language Institute, who transcribed and edited structured conversations between these two kaumatua, this book preserves the voices and ideas of these two renowned scholars for present and future generations.
- Te WhanakeThis website provides access to the full range of free online resources for independent learning and interaction, supporting the four core textbooks of the Māori language programme (Te Kākano, Te Pihinga, Te Māhuri, Te Kōhure).
Home to Animations, Podcasts, Videos & streamed television programmes (Tōku Reo, Te Kākano, Te Kai a te Rangatira) to help develop
language skills, particularly listening comprehension. - Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori-ResourcesResources for kupu, booklets, signs, games, songs, and more.
- Māori Language.netAn online Māori Language learning system with pronunciation, words and phrases, songs
- Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori- He MukaHe Muka is a regular publication that began when Te Taura Whiri was established. Originally it was created to share new words that are developed along with ancient words and knowledge. He Muka is entirely in te reo Māori, providing everyday speakers of te reo Māori with reo Māori content, covering current affairs, new words, opinion pieces and more.
- TKI. Te WharekuraSite provides full-text issues of Te Wharekura, a Maori language journal for schools.
- Ngā Taonga Sound & VisionThe audiovisual archive of Aotearoa New Zealand.
- ETV This link opens in a new window
ETV is the largest online video platform for educators in New Zealand with over 150,000 videos recorded or live from over 55 freeview, international and SKY channels.
- Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy offers a broad collection of streaming videos from producers such as BBC Active, Media Education Foundation, Ronin Films, and more. Films include theatrical releases, documentaries, training films, and art cinema.
- Te Hiku MediaTe Hiku Media is a charitable media organisation, collectively belonging to the Far North iwi of Ngāti Kuri, Te Aupouri, Ngai Takoto, Te Rārawa and Ngāti Kahu. The station is an iwi communications hub for iwi radio, online TV and media services. Māori language revitalisation is a core focus of Te Hiku Media, as is archiving and training.
- Tainui LiveKo te reo kia tika, ko te reo kia rere, ko te reo kia Maaori. Our primary objective is to promote Te Reo Maaori me ona Tikanga with a Tainui perspective through innovative programming.
- Taringa PodcastWant to increase your knowledge of te ao Māori (the Māori world)? With a mixture of Māori and English, the Taringa podcast is the perfect way to learn te reo and tikanga Māori in a fun and relaxed way.
- Waatea NewsNews, Podcasts. Opinion in both English & te reo Māori
- Speak MāoriSpeak Māori is the start of a comprehensive Māori Language accelerated learning programme powered by Talknology.
He kōrero mo Maui. Pukapuka 1 by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; GR375 .T4612 2005ISBN: 1869485661Publication Date: 2005Reo Māori comic book.
Polynesian mythology and ancient traditional history of the New Zealand race: As furnished by their priests and Chiefs by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; GR375 .G7 1995ISBN: 0959787313Publication Date: 1995Pūrākau in both English and te reo Māori.- Marama Tangiweto byCall Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; PL6465.Z77M4261 1992Publication Date: 1992He pukapuka tamariki; children's book
Tihore mai te rangi by Call Number: Teaching Resources Library, Te Reo Readers ; MAO TIHISBN: 0908771037Publication Date: 1986He pukapuka tamariki; children's book- Kurī me te ngaro by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; PL6465.Z77H215 1987ISBN: 0477044972Publication Date: 1987He pukapuka tamariki; children's book
- Ko Tahu, ko Rā me te taniwhā by Call Number: Teaching Resources Library, Te Reo Picture Books ; PB GOSISBN: 1869480651Publication Date: 1992He pukapuka tamariki; children's book
- Hatupatu raaua ko Kurungaituku by Call Number: Teaching Resources Library, Te Reo Juvenile Literature ; 398.209931 GOSISBN: 0790000997Publication Date: 1989
I te tīmatanga by Call Number: Teaching Resources Library, Te Reo Juvenile Literature ; 398.209931 GOSISBN: 1869436121Publication Date: 2004He pukapuka tamariki; Children's book
Te hopu a Māui a te rā: How Māui slowed the sun by Call Number: Teaching Resources Library, Te Reo Juvenile Literature ; 398.209931 GOSISBN: 9780143774877Publication Date: 2020He pukapuka tamariki; children's book
Te-ika-a-Māui: The fish of Māui by Call Number: Teaching Resources Library, Te Reo Juvenile Literature ; 398.209931 GOSISBN: 9780143774884Publication Date: 2020
- Tākaro: Numbers, shapes & colours: Te reo memory game byCall Number: PL6465 .G38 2021Publication Date: 2021
- Tākaro: Feelings + emotions: Te reo memory game byCall Number: PL6465 .G36 2021Publication Date: 2021
Te Whakarauora Reo
- BWB: Te Pouhere Kōrero Collection This link opens in a new window
The ten volumes of Te Pouhere Kōrero: Māori History, Māori People explore the rich narratives of Māori and indigenous history. Covering a wide range of topics, the collection provides a valuable resource for research on the history and culture of Aotearoa New Zealand. This peer-reviewed journal seeks to disseminate and promote Māori mātauranga and perspectives on history to wider audiences.
- ETV This link opens in a new window
ETV is the largest online video platform for educators in New Zealand with over 150,000 videos recorded or live from over 55 freeview, international and SKY channels.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- Māori Niupepa Project This link opens in a new window
A collection of historic newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1932.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes over 380 journals from over 70 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- Te Kaharoa: The Journal on Indigenous Pacific IssuesTe Kaharoa is an open access and peer reviewed journal dedicated to promoting Māori and Indigenous scholars, artists, filmmakers, and creative writers. Curated by students and staff of Te Ara Poutama at Auckland University of Technology, Te Kaharoa publishes writings in Te Reo Māori and English. The journal includes, but is not limited to, articles, reflections, commentaries, creative works, film and book reviews, and digital and sound recordings of Indigenous communities from Aotearoa, Te Moana-nui-a-Kiwa, and the world.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Humanities, Education, Science and Technology, and Performing Arts.
- :Linguistic Society of New ZealandTe Reo is the Journal of the Linguistic Society of New Zealand. The words Te Reo constitute the Māori term for ‘the language’ or ‘language’. The Journal is published annually and has been running for 60 years. It is a peer-reviewed journal with strong representation in the fields of Austronesian linguistics and more recently, New Zealand English. However, it welcomes contributions in all areas of linguistics and from linguists worldwide (no affiliation to a New Zealand institution is necessary).
The value of the Māori language: Te hua o te reo Maori by Call Number: PL6465 .V34 2014ISBN: 1775501418Publication Date: 2014
Saving Languages by Call Number: P40.5 .L357G74 2006ISBN: 9780521016520Publication Date: 2006Written not only for linguists and anthropologists, this book serves as a general reference guide to language revitalization for language activists and community members who believe they should ensure the future use of their languages, despite their predicted loss. Drawing extensively on case studies, it highlights the necessary background and central issues such as literacy, policy decisions, and allocation of resources. The volume's primary goal is to provide the essential tools for a successful language revitalization program, setting and achieving realistic goals, and anticipating and resolving common obstacles.
Hikoi by Call Number: HT1595 .M3H37 2004ISBN: 1869691016Publication Date: 2004What have Maori been protesting about? What has been achieved? This book provides an overview of the contemporary Maori protest 'movement', a summary of the rationale behind the actions, and a wonderful collection of photographs of the action u the protests, the marches and the toil behind the scenes. And it provides a glimpse of the fruits of that protest u the Waitangi Tribunal and the opportunity to prepare, present and negotiate Treaty settlements; Maori language made an official language; Maori-medium education; Maori health providers; iwi radio and, in 2004, Maori television.
Tōku reo, tōku ohooho: Ka whawhai tonu mātou by Call Number: PL6465 .W564 2011ISBN: 9781869693787Publication Date: 2011
He Reo Tuku Iho by Call Number: PL6465 .T39 2022ISBN: 9781776920174Publication Date: 2023-11-09Reclaiming a language is a slow-burning process, both deeply personal and intricately connected to the socio-economic, historical and political conditions in which we live. In He reo tuku iho: Tangata whenua and te reo Māori, Awanui Te Huia focuses on the lived experiences of tangata whenua and explores ways in which they can reclaim te reo.
Maori by Call Number: PL6465 .H375 2007ISBN: 9780521808613Publication Date: 2007-04-12Māori, the indigenous language of New Zealand, is an endangered, minority language, with an important role in the Māori community's culture and identity. This comprehensive overview looks at all aspects of the Māori language: its history, its dialects, its sounds and grammar, and the efforts being made by its speakers to ensure its survival. A succinct survey of a language with a wealth of interesting features, it will interest anyone wishing to study the structure of a minority language, as well as those interested in endangered languages and their preservation.
Can Threatened Languages Be Saved? by Call Number: P40.5.L28C36 2001ISBN: 9781853594922Publication Date: 2001-01-05Defenders of threatened languages all over the world, from advocates of biodiversity to dedicated defenders of their own cultural authenticity, are often humbled by the immensity of the task that they are faced with when the weak and the few seek to find a safe-harbour against the ravages of the strong and the many. This book provides both practical case studies and theoretical directions from all five continents and advances thereby the collective pursuit of "reversing language shift" for the greater benefit of cultural democracy everywhere.
Minority languages, national languages, and official language policies by ISBN: 9780773555877Publication Date: 2018
The Routledge Handbook of Language Revitalization by ISBN: 9781317200840Publication Date: 2018-03-05The Routledge Handbook of Language Revitalization is the first comprehensive overview of the language revitalization movement, from the Arctic to the Amazon and across continents. Featuring 47 contributions from a global range of top scholars in the field, the handbook is divided into two parts, the first of which expands on language revitalization issues of theory and practice while the second covers regional perspectives in an effort to globalize and decolonize the field. The collection examines critical issues in language revitalization, including: language rights, language and well-being, and language policy; language in educational institutions and in the home; new methodologies and venues for language learning; and the roles of documentation, literacies, and the internet. The volume also contains chapters on the kinds of language that are less often researched such as the revitalization of music, of whistled languages and sign languages, and how languages change when they are being revitalized. The Routledge Handbook of Language Revitalization is the ideal resource for graduate students and researchers working in linguistic anthropology and language revitalization and endangerment.
Reversing Language Shift by Call Number: Storage Level 1 ; P115.3.F5 1991ISBN: 1853591211Publication Date: 1991-09-05This superbly organised presentation consists of four introductory theoretical chapters dealing with the why, what and how of RLS, six chapters devoted to 13 separate cases from various parts of the world and four concluding chapters that both restate the underlying theory as well as apply it more broadly, beyond the mother tongue transmission nexus, to second language for which intergenerational continuity is pursued precisely as second languages.
Keeping Languages Alive by ISBN: 9781107029064Publication Date: 2013-12-12Many of the world's languages have diminishing numbers of speakers and are in danger of falling silent. Around the globe, a large body of linguists are collaborating with members of indigenous communities to keep these languages alive. Mindful that their work will be used by future speech communities to learn, teach and revitalise their languages, scholars face new challenges in the way they gather materials and in the way they present their findings.
- Te Puni Kōkiri
Ministry of Māori Development - Pataka Raraunga
Pātaka Raraunga brings together data, tools, and reports on Te Āo Māori. You can access data from reputable sources that is free for you to take and use. Dig into data on health, wellbeing, Papatūānuku, and more. Read reports on the value of data to Māoridom, Māori data sovereignty, and other topics. And explore tools and other resources made for or by Māori
- Te MātāwaiYouTube channel explaining the hows & whys of te reo Māori revitalization.
Te Reo Ahurei
- Matamua Ko Te Kupu! by ISBN: 9781776710669Publication Date: 2020-11-05Sir Timoti Karetu is one of the country's chief exponents of te reo Maori - from leading the Maori Language Commission to producing a new generation of language experts through his teaching at Te Panekiretanga o te Reo Maori. He is also an unrivalled creator of waiata and haka, composing songs and judging at Te Matatini and other events.In this book, Sir Timoti shares his extensive experience in the artforms of haka and waiata - from Maori songs of the two world wars to the rise of kapa haka competitions, from love songs to action songs, from Sir Apirana Ngata to Te Puea Herangi, and from Te Matatini to contemporary hui on marae. Throughout the book, he draws on exemplars of Maori song and haka, explaining form and meanings, maintaining his stance that Lyric is Paramount!Written in exemplary te reo Maori, Matamua ko te Kupu! will become a taonga of Maori knowledge and language.
- Ngā Mōteatea: Part 1 by Call Number: PL6465 .Z77N461 1945Publication Date: 1945The largest and most comprehensive collection of Māori waiata and a unique contribution to New Zealand poetry.
- He Kupu Tuku Iho by Call Number: DU423.S63 K37 2018ISBN: 9781869408800Publication Date: 2019-01-01This is a book of chapters on key aspects of Maori language and culture. The authors discuss key cultural language and cultural issues of the modern world. The language used is an exemplar for learners and speakers of te reo Maori. With assistance from a team at Te Ipukarea, the National Maori Language Institute, who transcribed and edited structured conversations between these two kaumatua, this book preserves the voices and ideas of these two renowned scholars for present and future generations.
Te Reo Kapekape by Call Number: PN6519.M35 B53 2023ISBN: 9781990042379Publication Date: 2024-02-29Following on from the successful He Iti te Kupu: Māori Metaphors and Similes, Hona Black's new book explores the rich vein of humour in Māori life. This book will be a valuable resource for anyone wanting to spice up their te reo or English with some fun and cheeky Māori sayings, and will appeal to both language learners and fluent speakers of te reo Māori.- Te herenga reo: Indigenous storytellers, Matariki, 2015 by Call Number: PR9657.7 .H542 2015ISBN: 9780473328788Publication Date: 2015
Always italicise: How to write while colonised by Call Number: PR9708.T253 A49 2022ISBN: 9781869409760Publication Date: 2023-02-08A first book of poetry from acclaimed Maori writer and scholar Alice Te Punga Somerville.
Puna Wai Korero by Call Number: PR9658 .M5P984 2014ISBN: 9781775587477Publication Date: 2015-01-01From revered, established writers as well as exciting new voices, the poems in Puna Wai Korero offer a broad picture of Maori poetry in English. The voices are many and diverse: confident, angry, traditional, respectful, experimental, despairing, and full of hope, expressing a range of poetic techniques and the full scope of what it is to be Maori.
Ko nga moteatea, me nga hakirara o nga Maori by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; PL6465 .Z77G69 2010ISBN: 9781145812888Publication Date: 2010-02-01This is a reproduction of a book published before 1923. This book may have occasional imperfections. We believe this work is culturally important, and despite the imperfections, have elected to bring it back into print as part of our continuing commitment to the preservation of printed works worldwide. We appreciate your understanding of the imperfections in the preservation process, and hope you enjoy this valuable book.- Ngā tau rere: An anthology of ancient Māori poetry. by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; PL6465 .Z77T36 2003ISBN: 079000853XPublication Date: 2003
- Kupu: A collection of contemporary Māori poetry by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; PL6465 .Z77O74 2007ISBN: 0473126265Publication Date: 2007
Songs of a Kaumatua: As Sung by Kino Hughes. by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; M1842.S64 2002ISBN: 1869402588Publication Date: 2001-04-28Sixty traditional Maori songs of Tuhoe sung by Kino Hughes are presented in this book and CD collection. The text of each song is given in both English and Maori along with a musical transcription.
Ngoingoi Pēwhairangi :An extraordinary life by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; ML410 .P49K33 2008ISBN: 9781869693176Publication Date: 2009-06-30This is the biography of Ngoingoi Pèwhairangi, a loved and respected Mâori leader who was born on the cusp of te ao kohatu (the old Mâori world) and the beginning of some significant changes in contemporary Mâori society and who utilized knowledge from both worlds throughout her entire life. Includes a CD of music composed by Ngoi.
Kāti au i konei :A collection of songs from Ngāti Toarangatira and Ngāti Raukawa by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; PL6465.Z77R86 1994ISBN: 0908975066Publication Date: 1994
Te awa o kupu by Call Number: Mātangireia Level 4 ; PR9649.7 .A964 2023ISBN: 9780143777953Publication Date: 2023Over 80 contemporary Māori writers explore a vast array of issues that challenge, stimulate and intrigue. With originality and insight, these poems and short stories express compassion, concern, curiosity, suffering and joy.
