Library Search
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ is the worlds leading educational platform for the performing arts, with unlimited access to over 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources. DT+ collaborate with renowned theatre companies, actors and creatives to capture and curate live performances in stunning quality and bring you insights from behind the scenes, and commission bespoke educational resources to support study at every level.
- Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
An online directory of academic, peer-reviewed, open access books. Search by keyword or browse by subject.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals, covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
- Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of selected New Zealand serials, including newspapers, about New Zealand and the South Pacific. Subjects covered include general interest material, social research, current affairs, the arts and humanities.
- IPA Source This link opens in a new window
Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social scienceswith links to current issues available in Project Muse.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library is the largest online classical music library, with streaming access to more than 165,000 discs, and more than 2.5 million tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Jazz, blues, world, and pop/rock are also represented.
- Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Naxos Video Library brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch concerts, operas, ballets and music documentaries online.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online, home of Grove Music Online, is the worlds premier online music encyclopedia. The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
- Ulukau This link opens in a new window
One of the largest open access databases of Hawai'i and Pacific materials containing: Music; books; curriculum materials; and photographs. Developed at the University of Waikato.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
Dictionary Plus: MusicISBN: 0191826774Publication Date: 2016This dictionary comprises authoritative, highly accessible entries on people and organizations related to music. These entries are supplementary to other music titles in the Quick Reference collection, and are written by specialist authors. The dictionary is an ongoing project, and more entries will be added over time.
The Grove Book of Operas by ISBN: 0195309073Publication Date: 2006-11-06First published in 1996 to great critical and popular acclaim, the Grove Book of Operas, is a collection of synopses and descriptions of over 250 operas.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by ISBN: 0674011635Publication Date: 2003-11-28This classic reference work, the best one-volume music dictionary available, has been brought completely up to date in this new edition.
Norton Anthology of Western Music by ISBN: 9780393656411Publication Date: 2019-03-15The definitive survey, combining current scholarship with a vibrant narrative. Carefully informed by feedback from dozens of scholars, it remains the book that students and teachers trust to explain what's important, where it fits, and why it matters. Peter Burkholder weaves a compelling story of people, their choices, and the western musical tradition that emerged. From chant to hip-hop, he connects past to present to create a context for tomorrow's musicians.
The Oxford Dictionary of Music by ISBN: 0199578109Publication Date: 2012-10-01For the sixth edition of this classic dictionary, the text has been thoroughly revised and updated. With over 10,000 entries, the Oxford Dictionary of Music (previously the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music) offers broad coverage of a wide range of musical categories spanning many eras, including composers, librettists, singers, orchestras, important ballets and operas, and musical instruments and their history.
Performance Practice by ISBN: 0415941393Publication Date: 2005-04-12Performance Practice: A Dictionary-Guide for Musicians is a first-of-its kind, A-to-Z reference work for students, scholars, and listeners interested in learning more about how musical works were originally performed and subsequently changed over the centuries. It offers entries on composers, musicians/performers, technical terms, performance centers, musical instruments, and genres, all aimed at elucidating issues in performance practice
- AC OnlineAnnotated Catalogue of Chopin's First Editions
- Audioculture - Iwi WaiataThe noisy library of New Zealand music
- CFEOChopin's First Editions Online
- CHARMThe AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music
- Chopin Early EditionsThe Chopin collection at the University of Chicago Library includes over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frederic Chopin.
- Choral Public Domain LibraryHere you will find free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.
- EthnocloudA Platform for Ethnically and Culturally Inspired Music
- NMA OnlineThe digitized version offers the musical text and the critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe.
- Sounz - Centre for New Zealand MusicSOUNZ champions and promotes the sounds and music of Aotearoa, New Zealand.
- UCLA Library - Music Scores and Sheet MusicHow to find music scores and sheet music at UCLA or online: classical, jazz, popular music, etc.
- University of Michigan - Online Music ScoresThis is a guide to online sources for digital copies of music scores.
- The Chopin ReviewThis peer reviewed journal contains the most recent and advanced scholarly research into Chopin, his work and its cultural contexts
- Computer Music JournalCovers digital sound technology and all musical applications of computers
- Contemporary music review (Online)This peer-reviewed journal is concerned with the critical study of music today in all its aspects
- GramophoneA highly-regarded monthly magazine, from the UK, offering classical music reviews, news, playlists, features and blogs.
- LeonardoThe leading international peer-reviewed journal on the use of contemporary science and technology in the arts and music
- Leonardo Music JournalA peer reviewed journal devoted to aesthetic and technical issues in contemporary music and the sonic arts.
- Organised SoundAn international peer-reviewed journal which focuses on methods and issues arising from the use of technology in music today.
- Popular MusicAn international multi-disciplinary journal covering all aspects of the subject - from the formation of social group identities through popular music, to the workings of the global music industry, to how particular pieces of music are put together.
- John Mansfield Thomas Archive (physical resources)90 boxes of papers, photographs and recordings relating to the interests and work of the late John Mansfield Thomson. He was New Zealand's foremost musicologist and the archive includes his studies for the "Biographical dictionary of New Zealand composers" and the "Oxford history of New Zealand music". Also his work on the journal "Early Music", caricature and music in 18th century Britain, and print design.