Library Search
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 80,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
-
APA PsycInfo® on Ovid This link opens in a new window
Contains citations in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
-
DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window
Explore over 34 million open access digital items from more than 200 partners throughout New Zealand, such as libraries, museums, galleries, government departments, the media, and community. Browse by item type, copyright usage conditions, content partner, and other filters.
-
DigitalPasifik This link opens in a new window
A large public digital collection containing digital images, artworks, audio files, videos, and ebooks that can be browsed by Island, including smaller Pacific Islands such as Yap, Kosrae, and Tokelau. Users can discuss content in contribution to Indigenous research methodology. Part of the Pacific Virtual Museum Project and implemented by Te Puna Mātauranga: The National Library of New Zealand in collaboration with the National Library of Australia.
-
Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand and South East Asia, this database covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology.
-
JSTOR World Heritage Sites: Africa This link opens in a new window
World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites through more than 86,000 objects in 30 sub-collections.
-
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Psychology, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Social Science, ProQuest Sociology plus Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts. These databases provide citations, abstracts and full text access to literature on a wide range of disciplines, including political science, public policy, international relations, psychology, anthropology, sociology, religious and spiritual studies, social work, criminology, social policy, gender studies, population studies and more.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
-
Anthropological forum.A peer-reviewed journal covering social & cultural anthropology and comparative sociology. General disciplinary coverage specializing in aboriginal Australia, multi-cultural Australia, Papua New Guinea, & Southeast Asia.
-
Anthropological TheoryAnthropological Theory is an international peer-reviewed journal containing insights into theoretical issues in anthropology and more broadly, social theory.
-
Anthropology and Education QuarterlyAnthropology & Education Quarterly is a peer-reviewed journal that draws on anthropological theories and methods to examine educational processes in and out of schools, in US and international contexts. Articles rely primarily on ethnographic research to address immediate problems of practice as well as broad theoretical questions.
-
Anthropology MattersThe official postgraduate network of the Association of Social Anthropologists of the UK (the ASA), including the open-access peer-reviewed Anthropology Matters Journal and an email list alerting members to jobs, grants, conferences, and other relevant issues.
Addresses issues in learning & teaching anthropology studies. Topics include training, research & anthropological writing techniques. -
OceaniaA social and cultural anthropological focus, relating to the peoples of Australia, Melanesia, Polynesia, Micronesia and insular southeast Asia. Mainly papers resulting from sustained ethnographic research.
-
Waka Kuaka : The Journal of the Polynesian Society'The Journal of the Polynesian Society' has been renamed as 'Waka Kuaka: The Journal of the Polynesian Society', heralding a new direction for the journal metaphorically reimagined as the waka kuaka 'godwit on the wing' traversing the Pacific. These new directions are explored here within this vision of the waka kuaka as a bird that symbolises collective vision and purpose. The authors, as members of the Council of the Polynesian Society including the editor of the journal, reflect on the history of the journal and discuss what this change means going forward, finally calling on scholars in and of the Pacific to fly with us as part of this new journey.
-
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of academic eBooks, hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
-
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An ebook lending platform that offers content across all subject areas from major academic publishers world-wide.
-
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science.
-
Coming of Age in Second Life. Rev. ed., 2015
by
Tom Boellstorff conducted more than two years of fieldwork in Second Life, living among and observing its residents in exactly the same way anthropologists traditionally have done to learn about cultures and social groups in the so-called real world. He conducted his research as an avatar and applied the rigorous methods of anthropology to study many facets of this new frontier of human life, including issues of gender, race, sex, money, conflict and antisocial behavior, the construction of place and time, and the interplay of self and group. -
Culture sketches: Case studies in anthropology. 6th ed., 2012
by
Ideal for any cultural anthropology course, this brief collection of ethnographic case studies exposes students to 15 different cultures, including Samoa. The groups selected are peoples whose traditional cultures are uniquely their own. Each has distinctive patterns and practices; each has faced the challenge of an encroaching world, with differing results. -
Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology. 2nd. ed., 2014
by
The Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology, now in its second edition, maintains a strong benchmark for understanding the scope of contemporary anthropological field methods. -
An introduction to Polynesian anthropology. 1971
by
Call Number: GN670.B4 no.187 1971 Mātangireia Level 4 -
Small places, large issues: An introduction to social and cultural anthropology. 4th ed., 2015
by
This concise introduction to social and cultural anthropology has become a modern classic, introducing countless students to the field and the tools it offers for exploring some of the most complicated questions of human life and interaction. This fourth edition is fully updated, incorporating recent debates and controversies in the field, ranging from globalization and migration research to problems of cultural translation and the challenges of interdisciplinarity. Effortlessly bridging the gap between classic and contemporary anthropology, Small Places, Large Issues remains an essential text for undergraduates embarking on the study of this field.
-
A Dictionary of Cultural Anthropology. 2018
by
ISBN: 9780191836688Provides concise, authoritative definitions for a range of concepts relating to cultural anthropology, as well as important findings and intellectual figures in the field. Entries include adaptation, kinship, scientific racism, and writing culture, providing its readers with a wide-ranging overview of the subject. -
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. 2nd ed., 2015
by
Search by classification "anthropology" or by broader keywords, or individuals in the field of study. -
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology. 2nd ed., 2010
by
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline.
