Library Search
Key Resources
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
This database brings together global scholarly journals with other key resources for access to reliable information in this continuously evolving area of study. Quickly locate precise results from sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.
- Business Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Provides video in a range of areas: corporate training, case studies, executive interviews, expert lectures, instructional films, and documentaries. Hundreds of hours of applied video in this streaming collection complement the business classroom by illustrating practical, real-life applications for relevant topic and skills.
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides bibliographic and full-text content for all business disciplines. It includes thousands of peer-reviewed journals, ebooks and other full-text material such as market research reports and detailed company profiles.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Access around 200 full-text journals and reviews from a further 300 in the fields of management, accounting and finance, public policy, engineering, tourism and computer science.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Extensive coverage of science and technology, social sciences, business and economics, the arts, humanities, literature, health and medicine plus other subjects.
- Informit Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of business fields, including, accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions.
- ProQuest Management This link opens in a new window
Includes ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/Inform Trade & Industry and CBCA Business. The ABI/INFORM Collection provide comprehensive in-depth coverage for thousands of publications and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. CBCA Business focuses on business periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Scroll down to the Document Type box, tick Case Study, and then enter your search terms.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Access around 200 full-text journals and reviews from a further 300 in the fields of management, accounting and finance, public policy, engineering, tourism and computer science.
- From the drop-down menu on the search box pick Case Studies and then enter your search terms. The University has access to the Emerging Markets Case Studies and the CASE Journal.
- MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Advantage provides access to an extensive collection of company, industry and country profiles, with information on 30,000 companies, 3,500 industry profiles and over 200 country profiles. Updated on a daily basis, it is a dynamic access point to the world of market intelligence.
- Pick Case Studies from the drop-down menu and then enter your search terms.
- ProQuest Management This link opens in a new window
Includes ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/Inform Trade & Industry and CBCA Business. The ABI/INFORM Collection provide comprehensive in-depth coverage for thousands of publications and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. CBCA Business focuses on business periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues.
- Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Sage Business Cases is the first discipline-wide digital collection tailored to library needs. These cases bring business to life, inspiring researchers to develop their own best practices and prepare for professional success.
- In depth case studies. Teaching notes are also available by creating a profile and entering University of Waikato code (available through your subject administrator or liaison librarian).
- WARC.com This link opens in a new window
WARC provides the latest evidence, expertise and guidance to make marketers more effective. This database gives access to thousands of award-winning case studies revealing the strategies of leading brands; articles and best practice guides that explain the 'how' and 'why' of marketing challenges; market intelligence trend reports, ad forecasts and spending, plus brand and company profiles and industry news. Includes access to the monthly report series 'The WARC Guide'.
- Thousands of award winning advertising effectiveness case studies revealing the strategies of leading brands, best practice guides that explain the 'how' and 'why' of advertising and marketing challenges, and market intelligence, including trends, reports, adspend and forecasts, company profiles and event reports.
- Business Case StudiesLearn business studies theory online with extensive revision pages, download free case studies from real world companies and associated lesson materials and worksheets for teachers and students.
- CANZ Project by Victoria University of WellingtonCompetitive Advantage New Zealand (CANZ) is an integrated programme of research devoted to understanding how New Zealand enterprises can develop competitive advantage that is world class. Several of the company histories written as part of the project’s research have been released for publication. They may be downloaded as PDF files and reproduced with acknowledgement and without fee.
- Teaching Resources Library at MIT SloanSince 2009, the MIT Sloan School of Management has provided open and free access to our case studies and management simulations. These have been developed for our classroom and made available to management educators and students worldwide. All of the materials featured in this library carry a creative commons license allowing them to be downloaded, copied, and distributed/used free of charge by anyone worldwide, no permission required. While this collection covers a wide array of industries, companies, and organizations, it focuses mainly on areas in which MIT Sloan’s innovative research and teaching are world renowned.
- NZX Company Research This link opens in a new window
NZ company profiles, financials, announcements, annual reports, prices, charts, forecasts, top 50 shareholders, etc.
- NZX Annual ReportsEach year the Tribunal produces an annual regulatory report. This page contains the Tribunal's most recent annual report and archived annual reports.
- DatAnalysis Premium This link opens in a new window
DatAnalysis Premium is a web-based source of comprehensive financial and non-financial information on all ASX & NZX listed and delisted companies.
- MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Advantage provides access to an extensive collection of company, industry and country profiles, with information on 30,000 companies, 3,500 industry profiles and over 200 country profiles. Updated on a daily basis, it is a dynamic access point to the world of market intelligence.
- Passport (Euromonitor International) This link opens in a new window
Passport - Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform - monitors industry trends and gives strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across key countries. Accept Terms and Conditions to proceed to website.
- WARC.com This link opens in a new window
WARC provides the latest evidence, expertise and guidance to make marketers more effective. This database gives access to thousands of award-winning case studies revealing the strategies of leading brands; articles and best practice guides that explain the 'how' and 'why' of marketing challenges; market intelligence trend reports, ad forecasts and spending, plus brand and company profiles and industry news. Includes access to the monthly report series 'The WARC Guide'.
- FindaThis website offers you the ability to search by business type (e.g. accountants) and get basic information on companies that meet that criteria.
- New Zealand Companies OfficeAll New Zealand companies are required to register their company and their information appears on this website.
- Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of selected New Zealand serials, including newspapers, about New Zealand and the South Pacific. Subjects covered include general interest material, social research, current affairs, the arts and humanities.
- New Zealand Legislation This link opens in a new window
New Zealand Acts, Bills and Regulations freely available to download.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Access more than 2,300 major world newspapers, including thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- Newztext This link opens in a new window
Newztext contains the full text of key New Zealand news and business publications. A research tool and a long-term archive that is updated daily. Newztext is produced by The Knowledge Basket, with contributions from numerous publishers.
- Newztext Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes content from New Zealand newspapers (including Fairfax, NZ Herald, Stuff), Newswires (including Radio NZ) and the National Business Review.
- Papers Past This link opens in a new window
Papers Past contains more than seven million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers, periodicals, letters and diaries, and parliamentary papers. Includes publications from all regions of New Zealand plus some Pacific content.
- ProQuest Australia and New Zealand Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers, combining content from Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand, News Limited, Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) and APP newswires, to provide the very latest local, regional and national news.
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives back to the 1980s, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. Exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of the Times (London) is a primary source for researchers of world history, politics, and literature. Contains articles and letters to the editor from famous writers. The entire newspaper is searchable, including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photographs.
- OECD Economic Surveys This link opens in a new window
The OECD's periodic reviews of member and non-member economies. Each issue provides a comprehensive analysis of developments in the subject country, plus chapters covering key economic challenges and recommendations for dealing with these challenges.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The OECD publishes its recommendations, analysis and data on OECD iLibrary to help inform policy makers, researchers and analysts.
- Figure.nz"Figure.nz exists to enable everyone to make sense of data and see Aotearoa clearly." New Zealand statisitcs illustrated with infographics.
- Industry Benchmarks (IRD)The Industry Benchmarking Tool is a joint initiative between Statistics NZ and Inland Revenue to provide information on the financial performance of businesses in 45 industries.
- InfoshareInfoshare provides you with online access to a wide range of time series data. This powerful but simple web-based tool can be used to access, view, and download the most up-to-date information from the largest directly accessible database of New Zealand official statistics, and select data specific to your needs or interests.
Infoshare is free to use. - NZ.StatNZ.Stat is a free web tool that allows you to:
create tables from large datasets. - NZStats - Data for BusinessStatistics about the activity and performance of businesses in New Zealand.
Hospitality and Tourism Management Resources
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism, including hospitality law, market trends, food and beverage management and hotel management. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Advanced Introduction to Tourism Destination Management by ISBN: 1839103892Publication Date: 2020-06-15This Advanced Introduction seeks to integrate macro and micro components of tourism destination planning into a discussion of impacts, destination development, and national, regional and site planning. Exploring the characteristics of tourism destinations, the political framework of tourism and region specific management, this accessible book offers an insightful introduction to the field. Key features include: the implementation of management techniques and policies analysis of the social, economic and environmental impacts of the global tourism industry coverage of essential topics such as the evolution of the tourist destination and marketing as a management tool.
Hospitality Management by Call Number: TX911.3.M27 V36 2019ISBN: 9780170411424Publication Date: 2019Structured in three parts, this text covers the knowledge and skills required of frontline supervisors, managerial topics, and business strategy content. The ‘Industry viewpoint’ at the start of each chapter introduces students to current issues and themes in the hospitality industry, and numerous pedagogical features, examples and illustrations have been included throughout the text to help students engage with the material and extend their understanding. Each chapter includes activities for discussion and debate, with assessment activities requiring the understanding, application and analysis of case studies. Each section concludes with an integrated case study and weblinks to useful industry resources.
Public Assembly Venue Management by ISBN: 9781612542065Publication Date: 2015-09-01From sports arenas to concert halls, amphitheaters, convention centers, and stadiums, venues vary greatly in purpose, in size, and in the needs they must address in order to be successful. However, certain core principles underlie the management of all of them. Public Assembly Venue Management explores these fundamental principles while also providing detailed information about specific types of venues and situations. Topics covered include the history of public venues as well as business management and finance, ticketing, safety and security, and booking. Additionally, detailed examples of invoices, rental agreements, and financial statements illustrate the real-world situations managers can expect to address.
Resilient Destinations and Tourism by ISBN: 1138061778Publication Date: 2018-12-11Sustainability is one of the most important issues currently facing the tourism sector. Recently, the role of resilience thinking has been highlighted in sustainable development discussions as an alternative perspective. This book approaches these concepts as interwoven processes and looks at change through a socioecological lens. Instead of seeing resilience and sustainability as alternative approaches, Resilient Destinations and Tourism argues that resilience should be understood as a fundamental part of sustainable tourism thinking for destination systems, and calls for better governance in implementation and management. Improving governance is the key issue in sustainable tourism development. The chapters in this edited collection focus on resilient destinations from a governance perspective, in which tourism resilience is contextualized as an integral part of pathway creation in the process of moving towards sustainable tourism.
The Routledge Handbook of Community Based Tourism Management by ISBN: 0367223910Publication Date: 2020-12-21This Handbook offers an up-to-date and comprehensive overview of core themes and concepts in community-based tourism management. Providing interdisciplinary insights from leading international scholars, this is the first book to critically examine the current status of community-based tourism. Organised into five parts, the Handbook provides cutting-edge perspectives on issues such as Indigenous communities, tourism and the environment, sustainability, and the impact of digital communities. The book considers engaging local populations in tourism development as a way of building stronger and more resilient communities.
Sustainable Tourism by ISBN: 9780415437141Publication Date: 2008-02-13Critical Concepts in the Social Sciences, is a four-volume collection of research in sustainable tourism. As well as bringing together the key studies and journal articles that have shaped serious thought about sustainable tourism, the collection will be welcomed as the first mapping of an area that to date has lacked an interdisciplinary synthesis. The thematic organization of the collection, together with the editors' introductions and their commentaries on the collected texts, help to make sense of the wide range of approaches, theories, and concepts that have informed sustainable tourism, and review the history of the subject and the rise of its identity and research agenda.
Sustainable Tourism Development by ISBN: 0429674783Publication Date: 2019-08-05With consideration to various stakeholders in sustainable tourism development, this book incorporates ideas for new techniques in destination branding and marketing in order to maximize economic impact. The book also discusses the rising influence of social media on tourists' interest. Emphasizing sustainability in tourism development, the chapters address a number of important issues, such as post-disaster tourism marketing, culture and heritage tourism, eco-tourism, community-based nature tourism, community involvement in destination development, benchmarking for destination performance evaluation, sustainable food practices in tourism, and more. Each chapter of this book incorporates a quantifiable trend in tourism development, including various paradigms and studies that relay different statistics about certain areas of tourism.
Tourism Governance by Call Number: G156.5 .S87T67 2012ISBN: 9780415587716Publication Date: 2011-12-13This book explains and evaluates critical perspectives on the governance of tourism, examining these in the context of tourism and sustainable development. The critical perspectives on tourism governance, examined here, challenge and re-conceptualise established ideas in tourism policy and planning, as well as engage with theoretical frameworks from other social science fields. The contributors assess theoretical frameworks that help explain the governance of tourism and sustainability. They also explore tourism governance at national, regional and local scales, and the relations between them. They assess issues of power and politics in policy making and planning, and they consider changing governance relationships over time and the associated potential for social learning.
Tourism Planning: Policies, Processes and Relationships by ISBN: 9780132046527Publication Date: 2007-11-22Tourism and Planning is an essential text for students on travel and tourism degrees and will be of key interest to students and practitioners in related fields including management, marketing, geography, development studies and regional planning. This edition of this text is positioned - through its broad coverage, accessible style and practical application - as the core learning resource for students of tourism planning. With an increased applied focus, a wider range of international case studies and examples, and two new chapters highlighting sustainability as a core tourism concern in the world today, the new edition will appeal across the spectrum of tourism students and practitioners from business and management and the social sciences
- Annals of Tourism ResearchA social sciences journal focusing upon the academic perspectives of tourism. While striving for a balance of theory and application, Annals is ultimately dedicated to developing theoretical constructs.
- Current Issues in TourismOffers a readable format for extended peer-reviewed papers, commentaries, letters and reviews, all designed to spark off further debate. It contains both applied and theoretical work that addresses tourism inquiry, method and practice.
- Harvard Business ReviewMagazine for business executives.
- International Journal of Tourism ResearchThis journal promotes and enhances research developments in the field of tourism. The journal provides an international platform for debate and dissemination of research findings whilst also facilitating the discussion of new research areas and techniques.
- Journal of Sustainable TourismThe Journal of Sustainable Tourism is a tourism journal which advances critical understanding of the relationships between tourism and sustainable development. It publishes theoretical, conceptual and empirical research that explores one or more of the economic, social, cultural, political, organisational or environmental aspects of the subject. Critical views and perspectives are encouraged, as well as new ideas and approaches in relation to the theory and practice linking tourism and sustainability.
- Journal of Travel ResearchJournal focusing on travel and tourism behavior, management and development.
- Tourism & Hospitality ResearchThis journal covers applied research in the context of Tourism and Hospitality in areas such as policy, planning, performance, development, management, strategy, operations, marketing and consumer behaviour.
- Tourism Management PerspectivesTourism Management Perspectives is an interdisciplinary journal concerned with the planning and management of travel and tourism, including tourist experiences and the consequences of those experiences for communities, economies and environments. It is also concerned with the creation of image, the shaping of tourist experiences and tourist perceptions, and the ways in which tourist organizations manage themselves and destinations.
- Tourism Recreation ResearchThis journal focuses on tourism and/ or recreation. The articles explore fields such as hospitality, leisure, events, and sport.
- ASEAN TourismTourism news and information from Southeast Asia.
- Business Case StudiesLearn business studies theory online with extensive revision pages, download free case studies from real world companies and associated lesson materials and worksheets for teachers and students.
- CANZ Project by Victoria University of WellingtonCompetitive Advantage New Zealand (CANZ) is an integrated programme of research devoted to understanding how New Zealand enterprises can develop competitive advantage that is world class. Several of the company histories written as part of the project’s research have been released for publication. They may be downloaded as PDF files and reproduced with acknowledgement and without fee.
- Center for Responsible Travel (CREST)The Center for Responsible Travel (CREST) is a globally recognized nonprofit organization dedicated to transforming the way the world travels. Based in Washington, DC but with an international scope, CREST provides solutions, resources, and support to governments, policymakers, tourism businesses, and nonprofit organizations to confront tourism’s most pressing issues.
- Horwath HTLHospitality and tourism consulting, and useful publications.
- Hospitality Association of New ZealandA membership organisation that provides expert advice and guidance for hospitality and accommodation operators in Aotearoa New Zealand
- Hospitality BusinessNew Zealand's independent source of news, insight, business advice and opinion for the hospitality and liquor sectors.
- Hospitality TrendsHospitality research reports
- New Zealand Travel - The Official WebsiteMarketing page for travellers to New Zealand.
- OECD Centre for Entrepreneurship, SMEs, Regions and CitiesTourism statistics and policy analysis from the OECD.
- Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA) Free PublicationsTourism research, news, analysis and events with a focus on the Asia Pacific region.
- Restaurant Association of New ZealandRepresents the food service industry in New Zealand.
- ServiceIQServiceIQ is the industry training organisation for the aviation, hospitality, retail, travel, tourism and museums sectors.
- Statistics New Zealand (Tourism)New Zealand Tourism industry statistics
- Teaching Resources Library at MIT SloanSince 2009, the MIT Sloan School of Management has provided open and free access to our case studies and management simulations. These have been developed for our classroom and made available to management educators and students worldwide. All of the materials featured in this library carry a creative commons license allowing them to be downloaded, copied, and distributed/used free of charge by anyone worldwide, no permission required. While this collection covers a wide array of industries, companies, and organizations, it focuses mainly on areas in which MIT Sloan’s innovative research and teaching are world renowned.
- Tourism Data and Statistics from MBIETourism data and statistics from New Zealand's Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE).
- Tourism Industry AotearoaTourism Industry Aotearoa (TIA) is the only independent association that represents all sectors of New Zealand's large and diverse tourism industry.
- Tourism New ZealandData sets and reports from Tourism New Zealand.