Library Search
- Asia-Studies Humanities This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed literature dedicated to Asian Humanities - Asian languages, arts, culture, history and religion, covering 53 countries.
- Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
An online directory of academic, peer-reviewed, open access books. Search by keyword or browse by subject.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals, covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
- OLAC: Open Language Archives Community This link opens in a new window
OLAC is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources. Includes details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives.
- ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Psychology, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Social Science, ProQuest Sociology plus Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts. These databases provide citations, abstracts and full text access to literature on a wide range of disciplines, including political science, public policy, international relations, psychology, anthropology, sociology, religious and spiritual studies, social work, criminology, social policy, gender studies, population studies and more.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The complete digital edition of the Times (London) is a primary source for researchers of world history, politics, and literature. Contains articles and letters to the editor from famous writers. The entire newspaper has been captured and is searchable, including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photographs.
Collins Chinese Dictionary by ISBN: 9780007223916Publication Date: 2006-01-02This dictionary offers the learner of Chinese or English a two-in-one reference, a dictionary and a user-friendly language supplement guide in one volume. It contains thousands of examples of how Chinese words are used in context, and complete and up-to-date coverage of all the words and phrases you need in Chinese.
The Columbia Companion to Modern East Asian Literature by ISBN: 0231507364Publication Date: 2003-07-10This extraordinary one-volume guide to the modern literatures of China, Japan, and Korea is the definitive reference work on the subject in the English language. With more than one hundred articles that show how a host of authors and literary movements have contributed to the general literary development of their respective countries, this companion is an essential starting point for the study of East Asian literatures. Comprehensive thematic essays introduce each geographical section with historical overviews and surveys of persistent themes in the literature examined, including nationalism, gender, family relations, and sexuality.
The Columbia History of Chinese Literature by ISBN: 0231109849Publication Date: 2002-03-19The Columbia History of Chinese Literature is a comprehensive yet portable guide to China's vast literary traditions. Stretching from earliest times to the present, the text features original contributions by leading specialists working in all genres and periods. Chapters cover poetry, prose, fiction, and drama, and consider such contextual subjects as popular culture, the impact of religion, the role of women, and China's relationship with non-Sinitic languages and peoples. Opening with a major section on the linguistic and intellectual foundations of Chinese literature, the anthology traces the development of forms and movements over time, along with critical trends, and pays particular attention to the premodern canon.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture by ISBN: 0415241294Publication Date: 2005-02-11This encyclopedia the first reference book to digest this vast cultural output and make it accessible to the English-speaking world.nbsp;It contains nearly 1,200 entries written by an international team of specialists, to enable readers to explore a range of diverse and fascinating cultural subjects from prisons to rock groups, underground Christian churches to TV talk shows and radio hotlines.
Encyclopedia of Modern China by ISBN: 9780684315669Publication Date: 2009-07-31The Encyclopedia of Modern China is designed for academic and professional users -- from advanced high school students and undergraduates to professors, journalists, and business people -- as well as public library patrons.
Han Ying zong he da ci dian = A comprehensive Chinese-English dictionary by Publication Date: 2004- Historical dictionary of modern Chinese literature by Publication Date: 2010Historical Dictionary of Modern Chinese Literature presents a broad perspective on the development and history of literature in modern China. This book offers a chronology, introduction, bibliography, and over 300 cross-referenced dictionary entries on authors, literary and historical developments, trends, genres, and concepts that played a central role in the evolution of modern Chinese literature.
Tuttle Concise Chinese Dictionary by ISBN: 1462910858Publication Date: 2014-08-19This is the most up-to-date Mandarin Chinese Dictionary available today. Tuttle Concise Chinese Dictionary has both Chinese to English and English to Chinese sections. Its compact size allows for easy transport without limiting the content. This Mandarin dictionary is perfect for Chinese language students, or business people and tourists traveling to China who wish to learn Chinese. It contains over 25,000 words and expressions (including all the required words for the official HSK Chinese Proficiency Examination), carefully selected to cover all important aspects of life and commerce in China. In addition, extensive information on Chinese grammar and Mandarin pronunciation are included.
- Junctures: The journal for thematic dialogueA multi-disciplinary academic journal which provides a forum for trans-disciplinary discussion across boundaries - disciplinary, geographic, cultural, social or economic. Each issue of Junctures is organised as a site of encounter around a one word theme. Focusing on New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific, Junctures seeks to address the matters which concern us all as we negotiate the contemporary environment
- New Zealand journal of Asian studiesNew Zealand Journal of Asian Studies is an international peer-reviewed academic journal - official journal of the New Zealand Asian Studies Society (NZASIA). It brings together scholars working in the open, discursive, and contested site of Asian studies and promotes a dialogue between established and emerging scholars, conceptual and empirical analyses, disciplinary and interdisciplinary research.