Library Search
Key Resources
-
The Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online This link opens in a new window
The collected works of Renaissance writer Ben Jonson. This searchable edition complements and extends on the print edition published by Cambridge University Press in July 2012, edited by David Bevington, Martin Butler, and Ian Donaldson, with a wide array of textual and contextual materials.
-
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ is the worlds leading educational platform for the performing arts, with unlimited access to over 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources. DT+ collaborate with renowned theatre companies, actors and creatives to capture and curate live performances in stunning quality and bring you insights from behind the scenes, and commission bespoke educational resources to support study at every level.
-
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
An online directory of academic, peer-reviewed, open access books. Search by keyword or browse by subject.
-
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals, covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to archival issues of journals with coverage usually ending three to five years before present. Back issues of over 1500 journals in the arts, humanities, science, and social sciences with links to current issues available in Project Muse.
-
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The OED is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over 500,000 words, both past and present, from across the English-speaking world.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes over 390 journals from over 70 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
-
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of the Times (London) is a primary source for researchers of world history, politics, and literature. Contains articles and letters to the editor from famous writers. The entire newspaper is searchable, including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photographs.
-
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
-
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowAn essential tool for anyone engaged in research on Shakespeare or early modern England. Search international Shakespeare scholarship including articles, books, chapters, dissertations, editions, adaptations, and digital projects.
-
Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms
by
ISBN: 9781319035396Publication Date: 2017-12-29The Bedford Glossary of Critical & Literary Terms is a thorough reference book, helping todays students define hundreds of literay and critical terms in way thats relevant to them now.
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Series)A highly acclaimed encyclopedia covering a wide variety of literary topics, periods, and genres, with a focus on American and British literature. Contains biographies and criticism of writers including historians, journalists, publishers, book collectors, and screenwriters. Surveys the major periodicals and literary and intellectual movements for their volumes, and offers lists of further readings.
-
Encyclopedia of the Novel
by
ISBN: 1579580157Publication Date: 1998-11-01First Published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company. -
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
by
ISBN: 9780198715443Publication Date: 2015-07-14Here are clear and concise definitions of the most troublesome literary terms, from abjection to zeugma. It is an essential reference tool for students of literature in any language. Now expanded and in its fourth edition, it includes increased coverage of new terms from modern critical and theoretical movements, such as feminism, schools of American poetry, Spanish verse forms, life writing, and crime fiction. -
Post-Colonial Literatures in English
by
ISBN: 0816173532Publication Date: 1996-06-01This contains annotated listings of critical works on the literature of Southeast Asia, New Zealand, and the Pacific, organized by geographical area and by general works and works by particular authors. -
Reference Guide to Short Fiction
by
ISBN: 1558623345Publication Date: 1993-11-01This new 2nd edition offers thorough coverage of approximately 375 authors and 400 of their works. In a single volume, Reference Guide to Short Fiction features often-studied authors from around the world and throughout history, all selected for inclusion by a board of experts in the field.
-
English Studies in AfricaThis peer reviewed journal promotes the study of world literature in English within African contexts and the study of African literature worldwide, acting as a conduit between Anglo-American and Southern African literary studies.
-
Junctures: The Journal for Thematic DialogueFocusing on New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific, Junctures seeks to address the matters which concern us all as we negotiate the contemporary environment.
-
Nineteenth Century LiteratureResearch and thought on all 19th Century English-language writers. Innovative scholarship, reviews and annotated bibliographies of recent publications in the field of nineteenth-century literature.
-
Transgender Studies QuarterlyAn interdisciplinary journal for innovative research and scholarship that contests the objectification, pathologisation, and exoticisation of transgender lives. Major topics addressed in the first few issues include the cultural production of trans communities, critical analysis of transgender population studies, transgender biopolitics, radical critiques of political economy, and problems of translating gender concepts and practices across linguistic communities.
-
AustLitAn authoritative database about Australian literary, narrative, and print cultures. Contains biographical and bibliographical information, full text, exhibitions and rich online content. AustLit is a non-profit collaboration between researchers from Australian universities and the National Library of Australia, lead by the University of Queensland, the aim of which is to expand knowledge about the place of story in Australian culture in the past and present.
-
Companion to The Norton Anthology of English LiteraturePrepared by the Norton Anthology editors, this extensive, freely accessible Web resource for The Norton Anthology of English Literature offers twenty-seven topics for study and discussion and over 150 literary texts and downloadable audio files.
-
Bartleby VerseOne of the largest free collections of poetry online.
-
English Literature on the WebCovers Medieval, Renaissance 18th Century, 19th Century and 20th Century English literature.
-
FolgerpediaFolgerpedia is the Folger Shakepeare Library's collaboratively-edited encyclopedia off all things "Folger". This scholarly resource with wonderful visuals is a must for students of renaissance culture, history, and lifestyle.
-
HathiTrust Digital LibraryHathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources.
-
Internet Shakespeare EditionsProvides scholarly, fully-annotated texts of Shakespeare's plays, multimedia explorations of the context of Shakespeare's life and works, and records of his plays in performance.
-
Literary Prizes and Book AwardsCurated by Christchurch City Libraries, this page links to winners and nominees for a range of New Zealand and international book prizes and awards.
-
PAL: Perspectives in American LiteratureThis site has individual pages on over 430 American authors, listing of primary works, brief biographies, selected bibliographies and links to other relevant online resources.
-
Project GutenbergA digital library of free ebooks. Includes Book listings, search engine, newsletter, articles and information on how users can help create more free ebooks.
-
The Folger ShakespeareThe Folger Shakespeare brings you the complete works of the world’s greatest playwright, edited for modern readers. Whether you’re a Shakespeare lover, student, teacher, or scholar, the Folger Shakespeare is a trusted resource for Shakespeare’s plays, sonnets and poems, and for information about his life and world.
-
Open Source Shakespeare: Concordance of Shakespeare's Complete WorksAn alphabetical list of the principal words used in Shakespeare's complete works, listing every instance of each word with its immediate context.
-
Shakespeare's Words: A Glossary and Language CompanionA vital resource for scholars, students and actors, this book contains glosses and quotes for over 14,000 words that could be misunderstood by or are unknown to a modern audience.
Aotearoa Resources
-
Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of selected New Zealand serials, including newspapers, about New Zealand and the South Pacific. Subjects covered include general interest material, social research, current affairs, the arts and humanities.
-
New Zealand Electronic Text Collection / Te Pūhikotuhi o Aotearoa This link opens in a new window
The New Zealand Electronic Text Collection comprises significant New Zealand and Pacific Island texts and materials held by Victoria University of Wellington Library. This encompasses both digitised heritage material and born-digital resources.
-
An Anthology of New Zealand Poetry in English
by
ISBN: 0195583558Publication Date: 1998-04-30Spanning more than a century of verse-writing, this comprehensive anthology reveals the richness, variety, and range of styles found in New Zealand poetry in English. Established figures such as Curnow, Baxter, and Tuwhare are given strong selections and contemporary poets are generously represented, while previously neglected figures such as Jessie Mackay are rescued from obscurity. With an eye to both fairness and range, the editors have compiled a collection of New Zealand poetry remarkable as much for its diversity of poetic forms as for its wealth of voices. -
The Oxford History of New Zealand Literature in English byISBN: 019558385XPublication Date: 1998While major authors figure prominently, this history contains more comprehensive information about New Zealand's literature than has ever appeared before in a single volume, and sheds new light on little-known authors and forgotten periods in our literary history.
-
-
An Anthology of New Zealand Writing Since 1945
ISBN: 0195580974Publication Date: 1983-07-14This is an invaluable collection of the best New Zealand poetry and short fiction of the last forty years, including work by Janet Frame, Maurice Duggan, Joy Cowley, Maurice Gee, and important younger writers.
-
The Aristologist: An Antipodean Journal of Food HistoryThe journal contains the proceedings of the annual New Zealand Food History Society Symposium, new research, opinion, reminiscences, recipes and other culinary oddments - occasionally it reprints old cookery books. It aim is to preserve and disseminate the culinary past of New Zealand, as well as that of our nearest neighbour.
-
BriefBrief published New Zealand poetry, prose, essays and criticism, hybrid forms, and occasionally visual art from established and emerging writers.
-
J.A.A.M. (Just Another Art Movement)Founded in 1995 JAAM (Just Another Art Movement) is an annual literary journal published in Wellington, New Zealand. It contains the work of emerging and established Aotearoa/New Zealand writers alongside international writers, and includes fiction, poetry, essays, and artwork including photography.
-
Journal of Commonwealth LiteratureThe journal provides critical comment on all aspects of ‘Commonwealth’ and postcolonial literature and related areas, such as postcolonial theory, translation studies, and colonial discourse. Recognising that colonialism is not safely in the past, the journal reflects literature's shifting margins, including critiques of texts that explore diasporas and neocolonialism, and which connect gender and sexuality with colonialism, the Commonwealth, and postcoloniality.
-
Mayhem Literary JournalMayhem is a literary journal established in 2014 which showcases creative writing from contributors in and from Aotearoa New Zealand. It emerged from the creative writing programme at the University of Waikato in Hamilton, New Zealand. Mayhem is place for new and established literary presences to explore and establish their voices.
-
Ora Nui: Māori Literary JournalStarted in 2012 Ora Nui includes prose, poetry, art, and photography from Māori and Aboriginal writers, and writers from Asia and Europe. Contributors include Alice Te Punga-Somerville, Hinemoana Baker, and Taika Waititi.
-
Script & PrintThis refereed scholarly journal offers a wide range of approaches to print and text culture, dealing with "books", ephemera, publication history, texts in culture, and local NZ printing. It explores "traditional" texts and also contemporary digital environments for texts and images.
-
Signals: A Literary JournalStarted in 2012 the literary journal of the young writers programme, contains writing from students aged 15-25 years. It is published as an anthology by the Michael King Writers Centre, Auckland, New Zealand.
-
StarlingStarling is an online literary journal showcasing the best new poetry and prose from young New Zealand writers. The young writers featured here will shape and drive what New Zealand writing is to become. Starling is a chance to get a glimpse of where they might take us.
-
TakahēTakahē magazine brings literature and art from Aotearoa New Zealand to the world. Founded in 1989 it contains short stories, poetry and art, as well as essays, interviews, and book reviews. Takahē publishes emerging talents alongside established writers and artists.
-
Landfall ArchiveLandfall is New Zealand's foremost and longest-running arts and literary journal. It showcases new fiction and poetry, as well as biographical and critical essays, and cultural commentary. The archive provides searchable PDFs of the first 20 years of Landfall: every issue up to the end of 1966 (80 issues); and an index of every item published in Landfall up to Vol. 20 No. 4 (December 1966), searchable by author, title and keyword.
-
Memory of the World - Aotearoa New ZealandA register to celebrate and promote New Zealand’s documentary heritage. It seeks to recognise items of recorded heritage which have national significance, to bring their cultural and historic value to people’s attention, alongside the work done by libraries, archives and museums in preserving this valuable heritage.