Library Search
- Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database containing references from a wide range of peer-reviewed journals. Especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology, toxicology, mental health and medical devices.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of regularly updated evidence-based healthcare databases bringing together research looking at the effectiveness of different health care treatments and interventions.
- DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
DynaMed delivers the most current and accurate, evidence-based content for practicing clinicians. Emergent scientific literature and clinical practice guidelines are systematically and objectively surveyed by a multidisciplinary team. Relevant information is captured, appraised, and synthesised rapidly into DynaMeds clinical content, with 6 rounds of updates a day on the site.
- EBSCOhost CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research. Covers over 50 nursing specialties, as well as allied health subjects such as speech and language pathology, nutrition, physical therapy and more.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Dive into interactive research with 3D models that help make human anatomy concepts easier to understand.
- Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
- Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
A collection of around 400 journal titles from the healthcare, nursing, midwifery, pharmacology, medicine, and science disciplines. Includes APA PsycArticles titles.
- Mary Ann Liebert Journals This link opens in a new window
More than 90 peer-reviewed journals in the areas of biomedical research, biotechnology and regenerative medicine, medicine and surgery, public health research and policy, technology and engineering, environmental research and policy, and law.
- Human Kinetics Journals This link opens in a new window
Human Kinetics Journals publishes peer-reviewed research of the highest quality in the fields of physical activity and education, sport, kinesiology, and public health.
- Learning Ground: Indigenous Education Research Database This link opens in a new window
The latest publications focusing on Indigenous education, spanning early childhood, post-school education, adult learning, encompassing areas such as cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, wellbeing, identity and oral language.
- ETV This link opens in a new window
ETV is the largest online video platform for educators in New Zealand with over 150,000 videos recorded or live from over 55 freeview, international and SKY channels.
- Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy offers a broad collection of streaming videos from producers such as BBC Active, Media Education Foundation, Ronin Films, and more. Films include theatrical releases, documentaries, training films, and art cinema.
- PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
A subset of PubMed, PubMed Central is a repository of the full text of biomedical and life sciences journal literature deposited by participating publishers, as well as for author manuscripts that have been submitted in compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy and similar policies of other research funding agencies.
Community Health and Wellness by ISBN: 9780729543941Publication Date: 2022-10-13With the majority of graduate nurses going on to work in primary health, Community Health and Wellness provides the reader with the knowledge and tools they need to practise competently and safely in the community. The book provides an overview of primary healthcare principles and how to apply them, enabling a deep understanding of the role of the community health nurse in providing holistic individual and community care within an interdisciplinary healthcare environment.
Essential Epidemiology by ISBN: 9781107529151Publication Date: 2016-11-30Taking a practical approach and supported by global examples from all areas of health, the new edition of this popular and highly commended textbook has been updated to reflect current epidemiological thinking and teaching. Based on feedback from teachers and students, material has been reordered to better suit courses and reflect the underlying logic and purpose of epidemiology.
Introducing Pharmacology by ISBN: 9781138549197Publication Date: 2019-04-23This third edition of Introducing Pharmacology provides an accessible and engaging introduction to the subject of pharmacology for nursing and healthcare students - and anyone needing to refresh their knowledge of this important area.
Ira takaro Maori: rethinking health, sport and education in Aotearoa/NZ by ISBN: 9780473585648Publication Date: 2023In this landmark educational publication researcher Harko Brown explains the tenets of Ira Takaro Theory. Brown contends that since the mid-1800's there has been a lack of attention to ira takaro (or the schema) of Tamariki Māori in our health, sports and educational institutes. He says this has often negatively impacted Tamariki Maori via scornful social discourses, for example, by educators critical of Māori children's in-school behaviours, and in their overall academic and health statistics.
Mental Disorders Around the World by ISBN: 9781316336168Publication Date: 2017-12-28This unique book presents original research from the largest cross-national survey of the epidemiology of mental disorders ever conducted. It provides the latest findings from the WHO World Mental Health Surveys based on interviews of nearly 150,000 individuals in twenty-six countries on six continents.
Mixed Methods in Health Sciences Research by ISBN: 9781483306773Publication Date: 2014-10-20This must-have mixed methods resource for any health science researcher presents key theories, concepts, and approaches in an accessible way. Packed with illustrations from the health sciences literature, this ready-to-use guidebook shows readers how to design, conduct, review, and use mixed methods research findings.
Whaiora by ISBN: 9780195584035Publication Date: 1998-11-03Maori health development is about the trials and discoveries of the past, the energies and initiatives of the present, and the priorities and plans for the future. In this welcome second edition of Whaiora, Mason Durie documents progress in Maori health development over the past century, placing special emphasis on the last fifteen years.
- Global Health PromotionGlobal Health Promotion is a quarterly peer-reviewed public health journal that covers health promotion and health education.
- Health (UK)Health is an interdisciplinary journal that engages with and interrogates health and healthcare from the perspectives of the social sciences and the humanities.
- Health education & behaviorThis is a peer-reviewed bi-monthly journal that provides empirical research, case studies, program evaluations, literature reviews, and discussions of theories of health behavior and health status, as well as strategies to improve social and behavioral health.
- Health Education JournalHealth Education Journal is a peer reviewed journal publishing high quality papers on health education as it relates to individuals, populations, groups and communities vulnerable to and/or at risk of health issues and problems.
- Health and History (Aus)Health and History is the journal of the Australian and New Zealand Society of the History of Medicine. It publishes articles on the history of medicine in Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific region.
- International Journal of Health Promotion and EducationThis journal publishes research in global health promotion, health education, public policy for health promotion, health literacy and social determinants of health.
- Journal of Community HealthThe Journal of Community Health, a peer-reviewed publication, offers original articles on the practice, teaching, and research of community health.
- Pacific Health DialogThe Pacific Health Dialog (PHD) is the Journal of Pacific Research for the Pacific region. It is the only Medline listed medical and public health journal published specifically for Pacific Island countries, with a particular focus on Community Health and Clinical Medicine.
- PLOS Digital HealthPLOS Digital Health journal publishes primary research articles, commissioned opinions and reviews that explore digital health tools, methods, data and curation that advance health care technologies and decision-making or broaden accessible, effective care options for diverse communities around the world.